Mickey Rourke's IRA tattoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

He said he got it whilst making a movie about the IRA, and now regrets:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/theticket/2009/0109/1231405971958.html

His incessantly flappy mouth continued to attract adverse publicity. In 1987 he played an IRA man in Mike Hodges's iffy thriller A Prayer for the Dying and began to identify himself with the Provos. It is said that he got an IRA tattoo and that he donated his income from a later film to "the cause".

"Oh yeah, yeah, yeah," he says, wagging his head wryly. "I am not talking about that. Hey, I can't even hear what you are asking me. What's that? Look, I got carried away in a role. I was immature and got carried away with the research. I was advised not to do it by Richard Harris. He said it would be trouble and I should have listened to him. Look, if I was doing a cowboy and Indian film, I would have researched that. It was just very bad timing. I look back and think: yeah, I should have listened to Richard Harris."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Tom65 wrote: »
    He said he got it whilst making a movie about the IRA, and now regrets:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/theticket/2009/0109/1231405971958.html

LOL, if Richard tells ya something will ye bother, you should listen!

Voice of experience and all that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MS.MONEYPENNY

seanybiker wrote: »
    feck some people get their knickers in a twist over the smallest of things. Its his body if he wants a tattoo he gets one. He dont have to prove to anyone what he does or doesnt know.

Here, here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth. The catholics and the protestants coexisted peacefully until Bernadette Devlin & co. started spouting hate and creating trouble out of thin air. There was some preference in housing and jobs and some gerrymandering in elections but nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully.

stop highlighting your ignorance of the situation.

Agreed, but I'd add Royal Seahawk to the ignorance.

TBH, One is as bad as the other.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Here, here!

Is that 'here, here' or do you mean 'hear, hear'? There is a difference!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭petrochemical

The troubles were created out of thin air. Nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully. Scumbag elements fanned the flames for their own agenda. This has been confirmed to me by many people from there at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Or he could be one of those idiots who believes in the IRA's cause
    without that cause, we would still be under british rule

We still are under Brits rule because of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Seanies32 wrote: »
    We still are under Brits rule because of them.

ehh???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭Degag

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth. The catholics and the protestants coexisted peacefully until Bernadette Devlin & co. started spouting hate and creating trouble out of thin air.

Regardless of whether catholics and protestants got along together, the irish and british didn't... i think there is evidence of that going back 800 years.
    There was some preference in housing and jobs and some gerrymandering in elections but nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully.

This is a serious LOL. How could this have been resolved peacefully? Seriously, How???
    The IRA are, and were, scumbag gangsters who brutally tortured and murdered countless innocent people, and ruined peoples lives, and all for nothing. And you dare to support them?

I think that you will find that the IRA was not established for this. In any case you will also find that thed British also "brutally tortured and murdered countless innocent people, and ruined peoples lives"
    Also most Irish were happy to consider themselves British until 1916.

Really? First i heard of this:rolleyes:
    Many gladly went off and fought in WW1. Indeed many went in WW2 also, out of a retained loyalty. By 1916 the people of Ireland were considered part of the Empire, and were by no means "immorally enslaved".

I think loyalty had next to nothing to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth. The catholics and the protestants coexisted peacefully until Bernadette Devlin & co. started spouting hate and creating trouble out of thin air. There was some preference in housing and jobs and some gerrymandering in elections but nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully. The IRA are, and were, scumbag gangsters who brutally tortured and murdered countless innocent people, and ruined peoples lives, and all for nothing. And you dare to support them?

Also most Irish were happy to consider themselves British until 1916. Many gladly went off and fought in WW1. Indeed many went in WW2 also, out of a retained loyalty. By 1916 the people of Ireland were considered part of the Empire, and were by no means "immorally enslaved".

LOL. We we all rejected our British heritage only after 1916? I guess you missed 1798 in history class, or perhaps 1641? Or perhaps you just skipped history altogether, and went straight to British Propaganda 101.

You have written quite possibly, the most historically and factually inaccurate post in the history of boards.

And as for civil rights being a myth, I literally spit a mouthful of tea out with laughter. Your understanding of the situation in the North, especially Derry for catholics is extremely skewed and uninformed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

So about that Mickey Rourke guy eh? Remember the story of Johnny Depp's tattoo? He had Winona Forever on his arm and after they broke up he had the na removed :D.

Any suggestions on what Mickey could do with his tat to make it look less foolish? I'd put "st" before it and "as seen on the late late show" after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Tis funny how the anti ira and pro ira are trying to belittle each other over some yank who got a tattoo. Makes ya proud to be Irish.
    Some fella got a tattoo. Who cares. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm looking forward to the first poster who will accuse another of being a "West Brit."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I'm looking forward to the first poster who will accuse another of being a "West Brit."
    Ha ha ha . Suprised it hasnt popped up yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth. The catholics and the protestants coexisted peacefully until Bernadette Devlin & co. started spouting hate and creating trouble out of thin air. There was some preference in housing and jobs and some gerrymandering in elections but nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully.

Emmmmm....What drugs are you on? After 50 years of institutional discrimiination at every level, there was a peaceful civil rights movement which was batoned off the streets.
    This has been confirmed to me by many people from there at the time

Ah yes, the anecdote. I've a whack of those too, but as they aren't really worth a ****, I'll keep them to myself. I prefer facts.....

[QUOTE=Viscount Brookeborough]
    Many in this audience employ Catholics, but I have not one about my place. Catholics are out to destroy Ulster...If we in Ulster allow Roman Catholics to work on our farms we are traitors to Ulster...I would appeal to loyalists, therefore, wherever possible, to employ good Protestant lads and lassies.[
    [/QUOTE]
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basil_Brooke,_1st_Viscount_Brookeborough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MS.MONEYPENNY

dolliemix wrote: »
    Is that 'here, here' or do you mean 'hear, hear'? There is a difference!:)
    It's his body if he wants to deface it he can, thats all, I'm sure he has enough money 2 remove it now if he really wanted to.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

seanybiker wrote: »
    Ha ha ha . Suprised it hasnt popped up yet

What, the West Brit or the accusation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,068 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth. The catholics and the protestants coexisted peacefully until Bernadette Devlin & co. started spouting hate and creating trouble out of thin air. There was some preference in housing and jobs and some gerrymandering in elections but nothing that couldn't have been resolved peacefully. The IRA are, and were, scumbag gangsters who brutally tortured and murdered countless innocent people, and ruined peoples lives, and all for nothing. And you dare to support them?

Also most Irish were happy to consider themselves British until 1916. Many gladly went off and fought in WW1. Indeed many went in WW2 also, out of a retained loyalty. By 1916 the people of Ireland were considered part of the Empire, and were by no means "immorally enslaved".
    The events of the 30th of January 1972 disagree with you.

As for the wars, there were also plenty of Irish people in the French, German, Spanish (mostly) and various other armies.
    I'd imagine they still considered themselves Irish though.

Having family who fought in both world wars on the side of the British, I can tell you in no uncertain terms that they considered themselves 100% Irish and they only wwent to war for the money. They were anti-IRA, but that does not make them anti-Irish either.

Let's not allow facts get in the way of post-IRA apologetic history though.

Christ, we must be the only former colony in the world which apologises to its former oppressors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Karoma wrote: »
    "great actor"= clearly a trolling. Down with that sort of thing.

He was great in sin city, can't take that away from him...

Ah i'm sure he has his reasons for supporting them. Their not all scumbags ;) regardless of what you say.

Well put julep :) Very nice indeed. Petrochemical, educate yourself, you look like a fool posting crap like that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

And whats so bad about supporting the IRA back in the 70's and 80's?

Royal Seahawk Sounds like a classic British made WW2 naval drama starring "little" Johnny Mills and Jack Hawkins, full of stiff upper lips in the freezing North Atlantic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

9 1/2 weeks, Ice cubes......
    Angel Heart

He played some cool characters :cool:

Fat bastard now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

9 1/2 weeks, Ice cubes......
    Angel Heart

He played some cool characters :cool:

Fat bastard now though

Do you want me to hold your coat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The "lack of basic human rights" is a bullsht myth

Whats a bullsht myth without a few white coffins eh?

Revisionism of the worst kind, whatever you think of the IRA or the history of militant insurrectionists in the north, innocent children being shot with plastic bullets, civil rights protesters being fired on with live ammunition and the British Army storming housing estates in the dark of night constitutes a lack of basic human rights.

Also most Irish were happy to consider themselves British until 1916.

http://www.google.com http://www.wikipedia.org

have fun.

There were rebellions before 1916 that were more class based and had greater levels of national participation, and we're not just talking the United Irishmen either. The relationship between the British and the Irish was always complex and never straight forward, if you pretend it ever was you're historically and politically ignorant.

I still can't get over your claim about human rights in the North. If terms like B Specials,Gerrymandering and calls for 'one man one vote' mean nothing to you, you've a library to find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Do you want me to hold your coat?

No need, I'd take him whilst wearing my finest sheepskin coat no problem
    (Thanks to being an internet warrior and all that):D

Fat Bastard is a mark of respect in Thailand (Pompoi) and in the BGRH brotherhood :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Well said. That is very true. I read it in a book somewhere, may have been Ian Paisley biography or something like that.

Good read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Petrochemical, educate yoursel
    fool

Well said. :pac:

Right, I am off to edit the History of Zimbabwe. If only those farmers had of just talked to that very pleasant chap Mugabe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

People - especially Irish people - who dismiss the IRA as just one homogenous "bunch of murdering scumbags" irrespective of what era they're referring to and irrespective of the cause and irrespective of the utter sh1te which catholics in Northern Ireland (especially poor catholics) had to put up with pre Civil Rights... are either woefully ignorant or woefully attention-seeking or both.
    Yes, the IRA did have many murdering bastards, yes it did get involved in corrupt, illegal activities, yes the power went to members' heads... but how appalling to just forget the injustices of hundreds of years.

Alison Doody married Gavin O'Reilly (Tony "Independent Newspapers" O'Reilly's son).

Mickey Rourke, in his hey day of the 80s, was an extremely hot, sexy, Brando-esque actor who looked like a cross between Bruce Willis and Russell Crowe (his best film in my opinion: Angel Heart) but sadly became a joke in the late 80s/early 90s due to poor film choices and ridiculous rejections (e.g. Butch in Pulp Fiction) and making a second foray into boxing which destroyed his once awesome looks... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Dudess wrote: »
    Mickey Rourke, in his hey day of the 80s, was an extremely hot, sexy, Brando-esque actor who looked like a cross between Bruce Willis and Russell Crowe (his best film in my opinion: Angel Heart) but sadly became a joke in the late 80s/early 90s due to poor film choices and ridiculous rejections (e.g. Butch in Pulp Fiction) and making a second foray into boxing which destroyed his once awesome looks... :(

Yeah, now he looks like a cross between a melted candle and a thunderbird puppet.