Extortionate ESB bill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The guy wrote: »
    My eircom router uses 15 watts, which is nothing.

Tks good to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

You haven't jammed a fork into a plug socket ala The Snapper have you?

last year we got a 793euro bill for 2 months.. it was never paid obviously.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

sudo911 wrote: »

Maybe a faulty meter? ;)

Thats what I have. Its only 2 foot :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

wow Im either very good or very mean.....3 bed detatched house and our bills have never gone over €100. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Wish to fcuk someone would invent a hamster type wheel for us to throw the kids into.

Want your xbox so much now? Sweat for it. Hungry? an hour on the wheel should cover dinner too.

feck this cotton wool generation.

Mean mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

For the people who are getting bills of over €200, how many people are in the house, how many rooms, etc?

My highest ESB bill ever was about €100 sharing with two other people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

33e each over two months?

Jusus man, you're allowed turn on the lights sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It'd probably be about €150 now, but still can't understand how peoples bills are that high unless thay leave the emersion on for stupidly long amounts of the day or have electric heaters on in several rooms for long hours every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

themadchef wrote: »
    Wish to fcuk someone would invent a hamster type wheel for us to throw the kids into.

Want your xbox so much now? Sweat for it. Hungry? an hour on the wheel should cover dinner too.

feck this cotton wool generation.

Mean mammy.

Speaking of putting your kids on a hamster wheel - I read about one of those green houses near us in Wellington recently that generate their own electricity (I believe it is solar panels and the like) and sometimes, in the summer they generate more then they use, because they're connected to the national grid, as they need to buy electricity in the winter months sometimes the electricity people owe them money so their account. Now that's living the dream. The electricity company owing you money!

You should get the kids prepared for that one (although apparently people in Ireland do this to but the ESB don't put their accounts in credit - baxtards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭GHOST MGG2

i also got a mental bill of 372 euro or something like it..happens every year when they come read the meter,but if your using dishwashers,washing machines and those spotlights outside your gaf that turn on when something moves they all eat the leccie:-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

Usual ESB is €140. Myself, Herself and the Babs. 4 bed semi d. Oil CH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

My ESB bill is usually between €250 and €300.

It's 6 bed house though (hope they never bring the rates system back in!).

No dish washer, and use the tumble dryer about twice a month at most. Electric shower is on twice a day. Emmersion can be on for an hour a day though.

The killer on my bill is the compressor pump thingy in the Bison sewerage system. Sister has a holiday home here with a similar pump system and shes only down here once a month or so. Her bills are around the €200 mark.

I'm definately more concious of appliances being left on stand by and lights on in rooms with no one in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

On the subject of iver-the-top bills, I was just wondering...

Me and 2 lads share a house in Athlone. We got a bill for just over €130 a month after moving in. I thought this was a bit high but said we'd wait until we get the second bill to see if there was a problem. Second bill came 2 months later, over €380 it was. I knew something was defo up, since we're only here from Sunday night to Friday afternoon (college week) - 4 and a half days, plus we're only here from about 6pm onwards.

So that was a total of over €510 for 3 months, we contacted them and got the to redo the bill (it was estimated since we're never usually there during the day). Got a letter couple of weeks ago saying that we have credit of €405 with them, which our future bills will be taken from.

So we'll be closing our account with them in May because we'll be moving out, and I don't expect to spend anywhere near €400 by then, so will they put the remaining credit back in to the bank account the bills are taken from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

Last bill was 73 euro, always in and around that mark. This bill 185!! No idea why there's a jump, the bloody cooker was even broken for a week. 2 bed apartment, no electric used during the day and very little lights on etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Came home today after work only to be presented with a F*CKER of an ESB bill of €473!!!!!!!!!

Holy Cow Batman!

I know they were increasing prices, but this is madness!!!!

Out of interest, what is everyone else paying?

Is there a service you can avail of to get someone in to see what is consuming all the elecy?

Prob yr next door neibour has run a cable from yr supply into his place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm not going to read through all the thread but apperently ESB made a mistake about sending bills in the last couple of weeks. My parents got a crazy high bill and phoned them and were told it was some kind of system error and they would get credit off the next bill/s to balance the amount back out to the correct amount that should have been paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

T.G Catter wrote: »
    Last bill was 73 euro, always in and around that mark. This bill 185!! No idea why there's a jump, the bloody cooker was even broken for a week. 2 bed apartment, no electric used during the day and very little lights on etc.
    jesus that's some jump. I'm in pretty much the same situation, Bill's due the next few days, I better get some lubricant on the way home, looks like I'm about to be financially raped...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Came home today after work only to be presented with a F*CKER of an ESB bill of €473!!!!!!!!!

Holy Cow Batman!

I know they were increasing prices, but this is madness!!!!

Out of interest, what is everyone else paying?

Is there a service you can avail of to get someone in to see what is consuming all the elecy?

my last esb bill was 7 euro

i kid you not

was over estimated on my last 2 bills

the joys:)

• Moderators Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Spocker

My bill is usually around the €180 mark, 3bed semi, gas heating and lots of computers.

However, as it's fresh in my memory, the most recent bill came earlier this week and I did notice that it was from the middle of October to early January. I don't remember the exact dates, but it was for almost 3 months, not the normal 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A hidden extension cable to the nearest street lamp usually helps mitigate rising ESB bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Last bil €65
    This bill € 125

Small apartment but with loads of electrical appliances.
    Also had the electric heater on quite a bit.
    My bills are never estimates.
    Although almost 2x as much as last time i wasnt that surprised. I expected to be over €100 at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm dreading getting this bill. Mine are all over the place they can range from€20 to €250 with no explanation why it varies so much.

I've had my electric heat on fairly constant and bought a heat lamp for them stupid turtles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

i would get the esb out to check the wiring. A few months ago an aunt of mine was getting massive bills for a while before she eventually got it checked. As it turned out, the neighbours were tapping into her meter. Dirt bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Damo9090 wrote: »
    Storage heaters are a major drain on the bill, even with the night saver plan!

I stopped using mine. Thought it was a money-saver but turned out to be the total opposite as the heat drains away during the day when im not there (cant turn them totally off). Started just switching the heat on for an hr or 2 in the evening and halved my next bill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'm dreading getting this bill. Mine are all over the place they can range from€20 to €250 with no explanation why it varies so much.

I've had my electric heat on fairly constant and bought a heat lamp for them stupid turtles.

Doesn't it take too long, making turtle soup with a heat lamp?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 doggone

Once a state body eventually got the 'electric' to every corner of the country. Then there was plenty of change and have no fear. They are pumping billions into sustainable energy AND YOU PERSONALLY ARE PAYING NOW FOR SUITS TO SIT AND WATCH WATER FLOW AND WINDS HOWL ACROSS THE COUNTRY. Never minded the lads in the vans or the 300 staring into the abyss of any old hole in the ground but nowadays i can't even phone a person to speak to so no advice available. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

Bill is usually €160 per 2 month but has just gone up to €200 this time for no extra usage. There is something up alright. Go to Youtube and look up how to reduce your electrical bill... some very interesting stuff there :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

A Faulty Meter is very unusual and most unlikely.

You are probably burning the juice by the sound of it.

Tumble Dryer, Immersion heater, Electic space heaters (anything that involves creating heat basically), Plasma TV, some PCs, Electric showers all have high loads. If you want to check that nothing is wrong with the meter take a rading last thing at night and again first thing in the morning. If should only show 2 0r 3 Units as only a fridge would be running through the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Ours was 570 this month. Its a new house combined with poor insulation, poor builders and a Air to Water heat pump with an immersion backup.