• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I was born. Enough said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

A major domestic event was Shamrock Rovers being forced to leave Milltown when the owners sold the ground to property developers.
    It's the one thing that stands out for me from 1987. I still remember marching in protest with my older brother and cousins, wearing my K.R.A.M. badge and green and white hooped t-shirt....I was 8 years old and thought I was the bees-knees:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I too was born!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Ghosts were made illegal in 1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Hard Larry wrote: »
    Didn't Hurricane Charley wreck the place this year?

Smashed up the Blue Peter Garden and Kew Gardens in England.

Nope, that was August 1986, I was born just as it was starting (what an omen!)

The only significant thing that happened in my life in 1987 was getting septicaemia, so in my opinion 1987 was a crap year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Sofaspud wrote: »
    I too was born!

Strange roe doesn't usually go for the older ones... :pac:

I may be in trouble for the above comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Fishie wrote: »
    Nope, that was August 1986, I was born just as it was starting (what an omen!)

The only significant thing that happened in my life in 1987 was getting septicaemia, so in my opinion 1987 was a crap year
    Could be worse.
    Phil Lynott died the day I was born :(
    So I'm either a reincarnation or I exist to feck up decent music :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i took my first steps in feb 1987, that's pretty fecking important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 mr0bojangles

I was born.

Lotto started.

I took my first steps.

Yeah I think thats it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

lots actually,well,not in ireland obviously :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1987

With the death of the last individual, the Dusky Seaside Sparrow becomes extinct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Seriously. Without consulting wikipedia or google, I cant think of any major world event or noteworthy thing that happened that year. Can ye!?
    Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭half pint

My Mammy and Daddy collected tokens off the cornflakes boxes, sent them away and got me :D

Then they realised i was defective and tried to send me back. But the cornflakes peoples just laughed and said you're stuck with her now :p

Happy Birthday to all who turned 21 in '08!!! Good night had I hope??

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

half pint wrote: »
    My Mammy and Daddy collected tokens off the cornflakes boxes, sent them away and got me :D

Then they realised i was defective and tried to send me back. But the cornflakes peoples just laughed and said you're stuck with her now :p

Happy Birthday to all who turned 21 in '08!!! Good night had I hope??

eh Ya.. ask ec18 :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Sumire

Ah on my 6th birthday - and I had a t shirt with the cross from the album on it. I was so cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

i ate human flesh for the first time...... geddit?

.... *gets hat & coat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

bohsboy wrote: »
    Gary Mc Kay struck an injury time winner for Scotland against Bulgaria in Sofia to send us through to Euro 88. Still remember it today, RTE decided to show the game even though we had almost no chance of qualifying. Flicked between stations all afternoon on a miserable wet Wenesday in November in depression thinking of Ireland failing once again to qualify for a tournament. :(

Flicked back and the Bulgarians were kicking off in injury time again going ballistic and the crowd booing like mad.....! With the little "0-1" in the corner of the screen. :) Cue the beginning of Ole Ole and all that....!

Great year.;)

??? The score wasn't on in the corner of the screen on RTE then?? That only came in after Sky started doing it in 92

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I was born aswell. Good times.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Liverpool signed Barnes, Beardsley and Aldridge. Ian Rush scored in the league cup final before departing to Italy. That was the first time Liverpool lost a game that he scored in. Damn Charlie Nicholas. I'm older than most of ye though since I remember it.

1976 ftw!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭gabigeist

Hurricane Charlie.
    I remember we were just back from a holiday at Butlins in England and they showed the park we stayed in with all the chalets blown apart. Awesome school yard boast for a 7 year old!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

We got a new car registration system e.g. 87 D 123 or 87 C 321

Genealogy Forum Mod

gabigeist wrote: »
    Hurricane Charlie.
    I remember we were just back from a holiday at Butlins in England and they showed the park we stayed in with all the chalets blown apart. Awesome school yard boast for a 7 year old!

That was 1986 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Charley_(1986) I said in an earlier post that it hit Ireland just around the time I was born
    Could be worse.
    Phil Lynott died the day I was born :(
    So I'm either a reincarnation or I exist to feck up decent music :pac:
    Think positively, you're probably a reincarnation. Do you have a fro? That would be a dead giveaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I was 21,
    Dumped by my first serious girlfriend.
    Rush released their album Hold Your Fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

What happened in 1987! What happened!

Only the severest blast of cold of the century!

Idiot!

http://www.wetterzentrale.de/archive/ra/1987/Rrea00119870113.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

The Ice Age Ended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I was born. High 5 to all '87 babies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭alo1587

Toyota built the last of the rwd twincam corollas in 1987.Sad time for me.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

The ice age ended
    I was born. High 5 to all '87 babies.

Could these two events be linked? Maybe as a baby you produced a steaming pile of fetid shite which melted all the ice. The first of many, I'm sure. Your more recent defaecations are the cause of the present global warming crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Budd Dwyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

In 1987 that wonderful institution Everton FC won the league title with some style...

The Ice Age Ended

Ah yes, the same day that Marathon bar became Snickers I believe?