• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

1987 is Rick Astley year!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I started working in a particular bank in July 1987. Black Monday happened in October 1987. Nobody has ever been able to prove that the two events are related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

April 20 - Professional cyclist and reigning Tour de France winner Greg LeMond is accidentally shot while turkey hunting.

People hunt Turkeys???
    Of all the animals to hunt, bears, foxes, dear etc, they pick turkeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

I was born, seems to be a few of ye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

The Saint wrote: »
    Below is all the events from 1987 according to Wikipedia. See if you can resist fooker.:p
    .............blah blah blah blah.................
    Christ what a pretty ****e year.
    1986 FTW!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

1987 Rep of Ireland 1 v Brazil 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

Fairytale of New York was released

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Christ what a pretty ****e year.

Appetite For Destruction makes up for all the ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

more than people realise

I too am an 87 baby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wow. Couldn't have picked a more eventFUL year, OP. Even though I was only nine that year, I was aware of so much happening:

- Enniskillen bombing
    - "Irangate" - Reagan busted for selling arms to the Iranians to fund the anti government Contra rebels in Nicaragua. Colonel Oliver North became as familiar as Madonna...
    - Zeebrugge ferry disaster
    - Fire in King's Cross station, London
    - Hungerford massacre by lone gunman (England)
    - Massive storm in Britain that caused fatalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Holsten wrote: »
    I was born in 1987.

That's about it.
    emo!! wrote: »
    i was born!!!
    Zangetsu wrote: »
    Me.
    buzzybee wrote: »
    Me too, best year to be born me thinks :P so nice to be 21!!
    grasshopa wrote: »
    I happened
    RedXIV wrote: »
    more than people realise

I too am an 87 baby

Fook you all! Now I feel really old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

everton won their last league title in 1987, they have only won one trophy since then (1995 fa cup) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

U2 played Pairc Ui Caoimh in Cork that Summer. I think UB40 and Kim Wilde supported.

Was the Lockerbie plane crash that year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭S.I.R

guns n roses was released 1986 i thought.

also

for any car/drifting fans this is the last year that the Rear wheel drive toyota corrolla was in production

the nissan skyline got a newwer engine line-up

deawoo where still making their version of the opel kadett, but in rwd set-up !!

the 300zx was still being fished off

and the supra was being perfected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Roche won the Giro d'Italia, the World Championship and the Tour de France.

Haughey was there with him on the podium for the latter, looked like he wanted to take some credit for it himself, hilarious and embarrassing at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,408 ✭✭✭Ardent

Yeah, I thought Slash said in his autobiography tha Appetite For Destruction was released late '86 or so? Went stellar in 87 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

chakotha wrote: »
    Was the Lockerbie plane crash that year?
    Nope. '88.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Whitesnake's album 87 was released.
    Their best album ever.
    Rock on David Coverdale and John Sykes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Dudess wrote: »
    Nope. '88.

We need a 1988 thread.

Feck, we need threads for every year since 1900, thats one way to spam After Hours :D:pac:

Wasn't there a financel crisis in the Japanese and related Asian tiger economies?
    No matter, cause they came roaring back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I suspect El Presidente Fox of Mexico had something to do with that, however remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭dceire

I was born!!! :D

I was conceived on Hallowe'en of that year. I'll spare the details....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

S.I.R wrote: »
    for any car/drifting fans this is the last year that the Rear wheel drive toyota corrolla was in production

Damn you... was sure i would get in with that before anyone else

Burgundy FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

It was the start of my Smash Hits buying years. I got my first issue because it had a poster of A-Ha in it :o Top of the Pops was still going strong - I can still remember the Pet Shop Boys performing It's A Sin (great song), Rick Astley being no. 1 forever, Freddie Mercury duetting with a Spanish opera singer and T'Pau with Carol Decker and the mad red hair. It was also the start of house music hitting the charts. There was Jack Your Body early in the year, then Pump Up The Volume by M/A/R/R/S in the autumn. Bruce Willis also made a stab at a singing career in 1987 even though he didn't have a note in his head :pac:

Mullets were still in fashion. Bono had one. So too did Glenn Hoddle and Chris Waddle who performed this "classic" on TOTP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Sabotage wrote: »
    Fook you all! Now I feel really old!

I was also born, sorry I only saw the thread now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

And the classic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCARADb9asE

I'm certain that Star Trek song came out in 1987, my bro who was a rocker at the time held his head in his hands in disgust when that song went to No.1 !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Didn't Hurricane Charley wreck the place this year?

Smashed up the Blue Peter Garden and Kew Gardens in England.

Ireland qualified for Euro 88? or at least won a game that put them through IIRC.

Was this the year Zammo died of an OD in Grange Hill?