What's your best fall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

The Saint wrote: »
    When I fell from heaven. Yes it did hurt and no you can't have my number!!!

Dudum tissssss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Overflow wrote: »
    Dudum tissssss
    Thanks. I'm here all week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Overflow wrote: »
    Ah happened to me many a time, i also had a ridgeback who ran around like he was possessed knocking people clear off their feet into the air.
    it's not a very pleasant experience....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

borrowed a friends bike, was cycling through town and an old lady walked out in front of me, i hit both breaks but the back ones didnt work, front wheel had a buckle in it and when it got as far as the breaks the bike came to a sudden stop and i went over the handle bars, it was about 1pm and i was lucky there was no cars behind me on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

a mate of mine got out of a taxi wearing a coat. as soon as he stood up he shoved his hands in his pockets then slipped and couldn't get his hands out of his pockets fast enough so he skidded on his ear

when i was a kid i was on a trampoline that had padding around the edges to cover up the springs. some kid was bouncing away but he bounced on a part that was missing springs and fell right into the gap. he just went "bounce, bounce, bounce, gone!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Stepped out of my apartment with a bottle of miller. Stupid landlady bitch had someone mop the floor and they didnt put a sign up. next thing I know im on my ass. And I've dropped by miller, which has landed standing up strangely, but half empty. Angry at the loss of good beer, I stand myself back up only intent on punting the bottle down the hall; falling on my ass a second time, and missing the beer completely.

The entire affair was caught on CCTV.

The other best fall was when I stole my brothers bicycle from him in the driveway. When I came back with it he was so mad he tried to chase me down with a sock full of gravel. Speeding off and quite pleased with my escape I turned back to yell trash. Turn back around and im 3 feet from a mailbox pushing 20mph. Bike slams head on, im flipped totally over the box, on my ass (again) and laughing at the cartooniness of it. Then I saw my hand was completely bloodied up, and I cried.

edit: oh yeah. Last week at disneyworld. They dont serve alcohol so me and my brother and his friends headed back to the car for bottles of JD and some smoke. By the time we got back to the turnstile to get back in, I'm completely baked, and buzzing. Ticket goes in the slot, I have to scan my fingerprint but it didnt go through. Assuming it had, I let myself fall into the turnstile not expecting any resistance and rocked the damn thing over. Security guard gave me funny looks and my brother couldnt stop laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Fell 2 feet from the 1st branch of a tree when I was 5, broke my arm.. I cried so much. Trees are dangerous.

it was snowing and i was making a snow man in the back garden. i'd run out of snow on the ground but there was some on the shed roof so i went to climb up the oil tank.

i'd done hundreds of times before but never when it was snowing and slippy. my foot slipped and i fell forward, smacked my face off it and smashed a lower tooth so it was only hanging on with the nerve

fair play to the dentist though he glued it to the teeth on either side for a few months and it completely healed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,081 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I think this is the best one ever tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭S.I.R

fell while running down the sugar loaf mountin...

a good 40 odd ft.

didnt exactly tickle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

when i was a kid i raced down the jacko valley on my bike and went over the handel bars.

about six months ago I was hanging a picture at the top of the stairs and I fell the whole way, lying in agony at the bottom of the stairs I asked my 4 year old daughter to get my mobile... and she said 'no' and walked off. Luckly I wasn't seriously injured as I doubt my little princess would be getting any award for her bravery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

ive had a few scrapes with death in my time

1. i was about 3 in my olld house and i was playing tag in the house, sprintin as fast as my little legs would take me when i tripped over a pair of shoes and went through my glass front door- 4 stiches

2. when i was 7 or 8 jumpin on a bed i hoped straight off it ah landed head first onto a radiator, sore one that one

3.bout 16 and cyclin with friends to shop(were in the country). the thing was i dislocated my shoulder a couple of weeks earlier and i was in a sling and cycling with one hand. we got to a steep hill with a 50mph regional road at the end. I took it on like a champ untill i found out half way down i had no brakes. Couldnt stop in time and went straight across the road 5 seconds after a car passed and then fell off on a grassy bankment. i was just blessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Learning to ride a bike in my back garden, was coming to the end of the garden where the bin is and pressed the front breaks rather than the back ones... ALMOST ended up in the bin.

That would have sucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Getting on the bus one day, and the driver shut the doors on me, so I jumped forward and wound up with one leg either side of the pole that used to be there on the older buses. Bus drove off and I lost my footing, swung round and landed in a heap at the door. Fantastic. Then I had to walk down the bus and act like nothing happened with people wetting themselves laughing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

I was completely wasted and saw a skateboard, so I thought id try and recapture some of my youth by taking a run with it...as soon as my foot was on it the board flew one way and my body went up in the air landing elbow first into the cement fracturing the one...this was followed by multiple people at the hospital asking me what happened and then having a good laugh when I told the truth as it was obvious I am not of skateboarding age any longer.
    ya, I think its best to leave my youth behind at this stage, falling now hurts a lot more than it did back then.

first time on a dirtbike, we werent riding in the dirt, we were riding up and down my cousins street and the first time on for me was a balst, I took to it like Id been riding for years so I had a second go at it and was too cocky going highspeed and took a turn too fast..the bike and myself went down and skidded on the cement for about 20 feet ripping my knee open and causing permanenet nerve damage. Both of these incidences were in the same summer that I was out of work and a bit bored...go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

I've had a fair few falls as a kid, and have the scars to show. My best was when i was about 4 or 5 and I was climbing over rocks in the rain on the beach. I slipped and fell about 15foot and used my face as a brake. I had cut just under my eye to the bone and a cut all through my eyebrow to the bone. I was pretty chuffed when i had 27 stiches through my face. They hid all the scars on my face pretty well too, so no harm done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was completely off me noodle walking to a friends house from somewhere. It was pretty late so I was probably coming from someone else house or just on walkabout. I was walking down the street looking up at the night sky so I didn't notice some farmer **** parked his tractor with the transport box sticking out onto the footpath. I went head over heels into the bucket of farm muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Best fall I've ever seen was the day I was on the bus into town. Two stops after mine, a little dog jumps on the bus and as there weren't many passengers, I get up to try and make him get off. After a few minutes, nothings working so the driver gets up, tells me to sit in the driver's seat of the bus and to push the big red button when he says 'Now'. Grand so. The driver picks up the dog and is able to sort of push him off the bus. As he shouts 'Now' to me, his foot slips on a banana skin and he ends up lying on his back on the floor of the bus with one of his feet trapped in the doors that I've just closed.

And, yep, as soon as I pressed the button to open the doors again, the dog gets back on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

The Fall of 1998. I was a young lad with hope in my heart, she was a free spirit, we met, fell in love and had the time of our lives.

Ahh yes, that was my best fall.

There was also the time i fell off a railway bridge when i was pissed, ripped my arm on barbed wire on the way down and finished up face first in a bunch of nettles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

#1 - When I was 9 I was hopping over a spiked fence to play some football. The lads were in the field already playing and they'd hopped the fence too because the gate was locked. The ball hit the fence, I fell and skewered my right leg. I was left dangling by my leg upside down facing back the way I came. Never felt a thing and thought I got stuck between the spikes, oh the naïvité of childhood

#2 - Just the other morning about 8am, quite possibly the strangest fall I've ever had. Pulled into Hamills on the Mullingar Bypass to fill the wiper tank with water. It'd been like -4 overnight but of course I'd forgotten this since I'd only had 1 hour of sleep and was knackered. I pulled up beside the tap in the car, put on the brakes, car stopped. I got out, and the next thing I remember is staring at the sky wondering what the fk just happened. I was absolutely baffled for nearly 3 seconds before I realised I was on the ground, it was cold and had maybe 3 inch thick ice for about 10ft square around me. When I was driving in there was some lad drinking a can of red bull outside his car and as I struggled to my feed I noticed he was looking around, clearly for something. It was only when he saw me getting up that he saw what he was looking for so obviously I fell down as quick as lighting, so fast he missed it. I can remember falling and I've no pain or bruises, a strange fall but **** me I'd say it's funny if ya saw it on CCTV :D

#3 - Driving a motorbike on ice heading to school one morning back in 2003. Caught the shine of the black ice too late, didn't even have to lean over to make the bike go out for under me. Slid for maybe 150ft or more (across a bend in the road I might add :eek:) and ended up in a heap after hitting a wall. The bike was grand though, fascia's got a bit scratched but it'd ran off into grass and not hit the wall. I'd have rathered the other way around to be honest, my leg was in bits for ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Was living on campus at UCD while at college there years ago. Decided to have a 100 metres race on the running track there after a night out. It was pitch dark so we couldn't see the big metal chain which stretched across the track at waist height some sort of gate in place (was holding some sort of gate in place). Cue six drunken lads face first into the asphalt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Trying to impress a young lady many years ago i cycled my bike through a set of goal posts at maximum speed. The idea was to grab onto the crossbar of the goalpost and let the bike run free while i do a flip and land to a perfect 10. However it didnt quite work out that way. I woke up about 20 seconds later with my fair lady and many others laughing their asses off.

Oh yeah how could i forget this.
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8bZShDRukRI

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,097 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Walking home one night after an absolute tankful of drink, saw the big Christmas tree in temple bar square and decided I was going to climb it. Climbed to the top of it while my mates where shouting at me to get off or I'd be arrested and started to get down when I thought the branches were going to break. Got to the bottom of the tree and fell off the container it was in as I tried to climb down. Woke up the next day with a hand twice the size as it should be and throbbing with pain. Went to A&E and spent almost 24 hours there and missed my brothers 21st party and got told I had broken my scaphoid bone in my hand and needed a massive cast for 6 weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Tried to jump between two walls.. now when I saw walls they were about 2 foot high with a 2 foot gap between them. I was about 6 so I thought they were massive! Anyway.. Halfway through the jump I chickened out and there was a hole in the pavement about the same size as an ashtray and ended up smashing my nose into it.. blood everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

A friend ran out in front of my bike when I was 11, I pulled the brakes, evidently only the front one, off I went over the handlebars, hit my face full force off the kerb, my fingers stayed on the handlebar so did a kind of rolling grinding thing into the ground as i went arse over elbow.

Broke my nose, had 4 loose front teeth for 2 weeks and 2 of my nails ended up coming off, good times good times :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

In primary school we were having a game of chase in the yard.

I was being chased by the fat kid in the class...easily winning until i tripped and fell flat on my face onto concrete and was knocked unconcious then apparently the fat kid who was chasing couldnt stop so fell ontop of me, and broke my arm.

They banned running in the yard after that...people in the school blamed me, i blamed the fat kid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Hazys wrote: »
    In primary school we were having a game of chase in the yard.

I was being chased by the fat kid in the class...easily winning until i tripped and fell flat on my face onto concrete and was knocked unconcious then apparently the fat kid who was chasing couldnt stop so fell ontop of me, and broke my arm.

They banned running in the yard after that...people in the school blamed me, i blamed the fat kid...

that's actually hilarious! and how on earth could they ban running in a schoolyard? :confused::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭half pint

Dancing in a night club (in flats) giving it loads, started to fall backwards, went from one end of the dance floor to the other before my ass hit the floor :eek:

Jumped up, every one had seen of course :o Kept dancing anyway thinking "God my foot hurts, need more alcohol.."

Got up the next morning and couldn't stand.....And so a day spent in A&E followed :(

Good times.....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Years ago, started work in a well known Irish fast-food restaraunt chain... was being shown around the premesis.

It was night-time and I have very poor vision in low light, especially when going from a well lit room into relative darkness.

I was being shown the compactor and all the bins and stuff. I was just walking around, in near darkness...

I didn't know they had a truck loading bay, with a 7 or 8 foot drop where I walked off it. It was so bizzare, I didn't know I had even fallen until after I had landed back square on my feet again. Didn't fall back or forward, was very lucky not to have smacked my head off the edge of the bay.

The poor girl that was showing me around nearly got a heart attack.

I also have a bad knee from my antics while at a house party one night. I was heading across the road to stock up on munchies in Tescos. I didn't really feel the full impact of it until I sobered up a few days later...