Ever call the emergency services? CONJOINED

• 05-01-2009 10:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering about this the other day... did you ever find the need to call the emergency services (999 etc... or other when abroad) for any reason?

I've only ever rang them twice - both for road traffic accidents that occured outside my house.
    That last time was over 5 years ago though. Hopefully won't have to ring for them any time soon!

So, have you needed to call, and for what reason?

Ever need to call 999? 136 votes

Nope - never had to! Yet...
    0% 0 votes
    Only once
    30% 42 votes
    A few times I think
    35% 48 votes
    Buzz them every few weeks it seems!!
    31% 43 votes
    Atari Jaguar (with blue flashy lights...)
    2% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

only the once, have rang the local garda station as well a couple of times for really minor stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,774 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I used to ring them as a kid reporting false incidents. Was a hoot until the cops turned up at my door with an offical charge. I had a juvey record after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Had them called on my behalf a couple of times, cannot remember ever dialling them myself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Matter of fact I had to call the cops the other night. I had ordered a pizza at around 7.30ish. By 8.45pm it still hadn't arrived. I was getting worried and I just panicked I guess. What was I to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Only called them once myself, a colleague was having a suspected heart attack, had them called once for me by my GP who was convinced I was about to have a seizure! thankfully both of the above turned out to be minor things.

I do remember reading some ridiculous stories about people dialing 999 for silly things, can't find the exact story but came across these......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7801917.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7781379.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/beds/bucks/herts/7803169.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/3806299.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Never called 999 in Ireland. Called 911 twice in the US though. One for a robbery and the other for an OD. Mate had too much shrooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Only called them once myself, a colleague was having a suspected heart attack, had them called once for me by my GP who was convinced I was about to have a seizure! thankfully both of the above turned out to be minor things.

I do remember reading some ridiculous stories about people dialing 999 for silly things, can't find the exact story but came across these......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7801917.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7781379.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/beds/bucks/herts/7803169.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/3806299.stm

I was working in a petrol station when 2 lads in ballaclavas came in with knives and hammers and robbed the place. Strangely enough, it took a couple of seconds after they left to think, does this warrant 999 or the garda station down the road? Went with 999 in the end. But some of those people above are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭LEIN

Called Garda few times over little fools smashing up cars out side a shopping center.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

noblestee wrote: »
    I was working in a petrol station when 2 lads in ballaclavas came in with knives and hammers and robbed the place

Did you not have a panic button? You definitly should have had one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I did once, i asked them to send more paramedics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

mikemac wrote: »
    Did you not have a panic button? You definitly should have had one

Dont even get me started on the 'silent' alarm. I had been there 5 years, and always knew about the alarm under the counter. Couldn't get to it when the lads were on their way in, but hit it as they were running out. Cue alarm bells and flashing lights. When I complained to management about it, saying I could have got a whack of a hammer had I hit it on their way in, they shrugged it off and said the 2 scumbags might have panicked and left. Didn't stay in the job much longer after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Was about to ring it yesterday but got beaten to it, friend of mine had an epileptic fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

noblestee wrote: »
    Couldn't get to it when the lads were on their way in, but hit it as they were running out. Cue alarm bells and flashing lights..

:mad:

I also worked in one, and had to use ours (which was actually a foot one) when I got robbed. I'd have been furious if that had set off an actual alarm, as the guy had a handgun (which thankfully turned out to be a replica anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I rang 911 a few times in North America. One time it was for something non-emergency, but the emergency numbers were not picking up and there was some idiot outside our apartment window at 3am (since 2am) with his speakers blaring and I had a test the next day. As soon as an operator picked up I apologised for the fact that my call was not an emergency.

I've rung 999 in Ireland plenty of times. Minor assaults, and one time some teenagers riding a children's four wheeler down a busy road after dark. They weren't particularly visible or being very careful, it was an accident waiting to happen. When I called I was told they'd already had a few calls from motorists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Xiney wrote: »
    and there was some idiot outside our apartment window at 3am (since 2am) with his speakers blaring and I had a test the next day. As soon as an operator picked up I apologised for the fact that my call was not an emergency.

What did the operator say?

stovelid wrote: »
    What did the operator say?

She said it was fine. Apparently you're supposed to call 911 if the non-emergency numbers are off duty for the night.

And 15 minutes later I heard sirens, and so did the jerk outside who sped off. My night's sleep was already ruined, though.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Have had to call an ambulance a few times. Once when my Dad had a massive heart attack and a few times for my Mam.

Oh and had to call the Guards when a joyrider crashed into our front wall. Silly fecker hit the wall so hard that he pinned himself into the car :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Yeah I have.

Once for my 87 year old granny who passed out and knocked her head whilst falling/ was completely unconscious. Took the Ambulance crew an amazing 1hour and 50minutes to get to us.
    By which time a local doctor had come around and nursed her and gave her a check up.
    So the ambulance crew then gave out to me as I "wasted their time". Fúcking díckheads.

Oh yeah! Called 911 for my dad when he fell off a ladder. Onto his HEAD.

The man is a reactor physicist. I'm not joking. So how can he be so freakin' stupid?

Anyway, we sat him down in the computer chair and wheeled him into the house. He kept falling straight asleep and snoring - everything I'd ever heard about concussions was to not let the concussed sleep. I was terrified he'd given himself brain damage (who wants to hire a brain damaged physicist??) and I kept yelling at him and playing games with him to try and keep him awake while we waited for the ambulance. It was really scary.

I forgot about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Once to report a stolen car
    Once to report an assault I witnessed from a passing bus
    Once to report a housefire
    Once to report a break-in at a building site
    Once when my business was robbed

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Yeah I have.

Once for my 87 year old granny who passed out and knocked her head whilst falling/ was completely unconscious. Took the Ambulance crew an amazing 1hour and 50minutes to get to us.
    By which time a local doctor had come around and nursed her and gave her a check up.
    So the ambulance crew then gave out to me as I "wasted their time". Fúcking díckheads.

unbelievable :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Somewhere in my mind there's a vague memory of having called an Ambulance or the Guards once but I can't for the life of me remember why I did it or where I was or anything.

Weird.

I did once. At a bus stop these kids were walking towards me and they were sitting down around me. One girl walking kinda funny and they all thought this was a hoot. I heard somebody say, "oh she can't handle it". The girl then slowly sat on the ground and lay down. They thought this was hilarious, even on their backs with laughter.

One of the other girls bent down beside her. And started screaming. And screaming. There was blood coming out the girl's mouth/nose. She wasn't moving whatsoever or re-acting to anything they were doing. So I rang 999 and the ambulance got there in about 10 minutes.

The other kids were more worried about getting caught for whatever it was that they were doing, than for their friend. So by the time the ambulance got there, only 2 of them were left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

A few years back I had an incident at work were a couple of female collegues were assaulted. As yer man was making his escape I dialled 999. THE STUPID BIACH TOLD ME THAT I CALLED A DUBLIN NUMBER AND SHOULD RING THE LOCAL STATION INSTEAD! :eek:.

It was about 10 minutes later I realised what she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

twice for road accidents.. they were both down the country and i had no idea where i was... had to wait till a local arrived to get them where it was tho.... almost left my mobile with one because i forgot i gave it to him.. :o:o back before everyone had them...

the crashes werent too bad so it wasent life threathing...

edit...

forgot about this one.. the local drunk was out shooting a week before x-mas at about 9pm at night... was ****ting it he was just out side the house and would shoot at the house...

prick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

when I was a kid the fire brigade were called to my house as I got my head stuck in the stairs.they had to break 1 of the steps to free me:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yeah when my house got robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Dialled 911's number... along the N11 going towards Shankill 2 weeks ago to see if they had any rashers, sausages and pudding left for a breakfast roll.

Parents weren't home to cook me dinner so kinda was an emergency.