Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engineering Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Yep, I'm correcting them. I've already failed half the class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭TheAmateur

Peleus wrote: »
    ye thats actually exactly how im doing it. only thing is im definately not referencing his notes. I don't think he'd be happy if you didnt look any further into transport engineering than just his notes.
    Nice thanks, I've seen that format in a few reports but I don't mind extra reassurance. I suppose I'll find another source for the figure then, I was only referencing the notes for one figure. I'll post up mine when it's done if someone wants to proof read it. Not too worried about anyone plagiarizing this piece of crap tbh ha...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

I dont think theres much problem with referencing his notes a bit.. once theyre not your only source of information.
    Bits of information sourced here and there from his notes should be grand..

Reference everything you use.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Boston wrote: »
    Reference everything you use.

And use more than one source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭uprooted shane

jmccrohan wrote: »
    Does she sign her texts the same way she signs the emails? :P
    it was bebo actually :L

but to not let ya walk over me

im giving another responce

look at it this way, i get more personal responces from your ma nomatter how the texts are ended :L

You're seeing jmccrohan's ma? Fair play to her, not so good for you I'm afraid.

scoreing matthews on the side too, isnt that true mat :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭pocket aces

just wondering is there anywhere on the trinity website where u can find the template for the physics lab reports? i lost my one :pac:

Dunno, don't think so though. Just scanned an extra one I have here, if it's any use:
    page 1
    page 2
    page 3
    page 4

Also: Finished the 1e8 yoke! I can upload it to rapidshare or something before I print it and forget it, if anyone wants to proof read it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭pocket aces

thanks a mil! but now i've no excuses not to start working.... yeeeah i should start that 1E8 project as wel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

tehe.png

http://innealtoir.com/baza210/bridge_collapse.mov

70N, woo.

Also, Maths is sofa king boring.

Baza210 wrote: »
    That's pretty impressive. We only managed 25N...
    Also, Maths is sofa king boring.
    But not easy enough to sleep through/miss:(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

tehe.png
    Watcha do?

how come you have an innealtoir account????? :P

That bridge is very impressive... did it break badly??

jmccrohan wrote: »
    Watcha do?
    That was in regard to the Shane situation.
    mathew wrote: »
    how come you have an innealtoir account????? :P
    Cba coming up with my own domain name to host files..
    That bridge is very impressive... did it break badly??
    Mm, it was fairly intact afterwards, one or two beams snapped..

bridge.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 phalaris

Hey any fourth year C/CD/D people here?
    I'm in third year doing CD, with an extra subject. My problem is that I think it's all so ****ing awesome that I can't decide which four subjects to pick for next year! :rolleyes:

The reason I ask now is that I'm looking at summer internship possibilities with a view to doing a final year project. SO I guess I have to decide soon.

Basically I have to pick four of:
    [C]
    Digital Control Systems & Digital Signal Processing
    Integrated System Design & Digital Media Systems
    [D]
    Distributed Systems & Advanced Microprocessor Systems
    Computer Graphics
    Computer Vision
    Knowledge and Data Engineering & Artificial Intelligence

I would love to do all six, but life is a bitch and it has to be 4 total with at least one from C and D.

Any feedback on how interesting/challenging the modules are, and how good the lecturers are, would be really appreciated! You know yourself how sometimes the stuff that sounds **** turns out to be good, and vice versa..

Well allot of those courses interlock. Computer graphics and computer vision tend to link up. You don't need to do both but if you're interested in working in the area of computer graphics in the future its good to have that wide skill set. Computer vision gives you a very good grounding in C/C++ development from an application point of view, so if that's all you want just do that course.

If you're interested in the hardware behind computer graphics then integrated System Design & Digital Media Systems is a good choice as you'll learn about the FPGA, you'll also learn about image and video encoding schemes and the like in the Media System part. If you've done as course with Anil, then its basically more of the same, but more in-depth. Tbh I don't know how much use this would be to you. Designing for FPGAs is extremely difficult and tends not to be a skill overly required in industry, and the Digital Media System theory seemed not to link up to well with the FPGA stuff.

Distributed Systems & Advanced Microprocessor Systems. The distributed systems part of this course is worthless. Very poorly taught. If you've done distributed systems in third year, this will bring nothing new. The tech is very specific as well, so unless you're going for a job using .net, forget about it.

The microprocessor systems course is extremely interesting and while I didn't have the lecturer whose teaching it now, he has a good reputation for quality lectures. If you plan to be working with computer hardware, (such as the cell processor or the like) this stuff is very relevant.

Knowledge and Data Engineering & Artificial Intelligence. Very good course, not directly related to any of the others, but the one most likely to teach you a skill which you can apply to industry right away (database management). what more can I say bar, depending on your career it maybe of no use.

Digital Control Systems & Digital Signal Processing: First off, these two courses are only together because you need DSP for DCS. DCS however is pretty much a mechanical subject. Don't expect to find allot of applications outside that field. Digital Signal Processing high level maths, which you much have if you're serious about computer graphics or Digital media systems. You won't be making best friends with Quinn but he is a very competent lecturer.

Aha. Applied Maths question 10. Finally, a Maths lecture I can sleep in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 phalaris

Well allot of those courses interlock. Computer graphics and computer vision tend to link up. You don't need to do both but if you're interested in working in the area of computer graphics in the future its good to have that wide skill set. Computer vision gives you a very good grounding in C/C++ development from an application point of view, so if that's all you want just do that course.

If you're interested in the hardware behind computer graphics then integrated System Design & Digital Media Systems is a good choice as you'll learn about the FPGA, you'll also learn about image and video encoding schemes and the like in the Media System part. If you've done as course with Anil, then its basically more of the same, but more in-depth. Tbh I don't know how much use this would be to you. Designing for FPGAs is extremely difficult and tends not to be a skill overly required in industry, and the Digital Media System theory seemed not to link up to well with the FPGA stuff.

Distributed Systems & Advanced Microprocessor Systems. The distributed systems part of this course is worthless. Very poorly taught. If you've done distributed systems in third year, this will bring nothing new. The tech is very specific as well, so unless you're going for a job using .net, forget about it.

The microprocessor systems course is extremely interesting and while I didn't have the lecturer whose teaching it now, he has a good reputation for quality lectures. If you plan to be working with computer hardware, (such as the cell processor or the like) this stuff is very relevant.

Knowledge and Data Engineering & Artificial Intelligence. Very good course, not directly related to any of the others, but the one most likely to teach you a skill which you can apply to industry right away (database management). what more can I say bar, depending on your career it maybe of no use.

Digital Control Systems & Digital Signal Processing: First off, these two courses are only together because you need DSP for DCS. DCS however is pretty much a mechanical subject. Don't expect to find allot of applications outside that field. Digital Signal Processing high level maths, which you much have if you're serious about computer graphics or Digital media systems. You won't be making best friends with Quinn but he is a very competent lecturer.

Yeah I was interested in 4D1 mainly for the Distributed Systems aspect, so I might leave that out. And I had doubts about 4S1. Anil himself recommends DCS & DSP even though he is not teaching them.

Thanks a lot for the feedback, I really appreciate that!

phalaris wrote: »
    Yeah I was interested in 4D1 mainly for the Distributed Systems aspect, so I might leave that out. And I had doubts about 4S1. Anil himself recommends DCS & DSP even though he is not teaching them.

Thanks a lot for the feedback, I really appreciate that!

The Distributed Systems course is waffle for the most part. If you where actually taught what it claims to teach, it would be very good. I received a high first in this subject so this isn't sour grapes.

As for DCS and DSP, You need a solid founding in DSP for most computer and electronic engineering Jobs. DCS will be largely something you just have to put up with as the focus is almost totally mech.

There was alot of confusion over 4S1 last year and what exactly the coruse conntent was. I'd be weary.

That was in regard to the Shane situation.

[/IMG]

that me or a different shane?:confused:

That be you I believe :P

Sure what other Shane is there? ; P

ok, i am SO lost :L

what did ya do bazza? actaully come to think of it, i havnt seen you around at all

I just accidentally someone my C++ program which they're supposed to do this afternoon.

Fuck

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I just accidentally someone my C++ program which they're supposed to do this afternoon.

Fuck
    You what? I can't make out the verb..

It's not so bad. You have this guy lurking around for company too..
    aed20597a0851a620d0e611043eb586c_thumb.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Mm, it was fairly intact afterwards, one or two beams snapped..

bridge.jpg

If you ever design something warn me before I use it

Do you like rotary-powered sports cars?