Pair of shoes thrown at Bush at news conference!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Lovely-jubley

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'd say they'd be happy if he was given the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

There's nicer ways of telling someones army to shoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was expecting to see some guns and a dead Iraqi... Nice reflexes mr bush... poor bastard :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Tongue in cheek stuff right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

What he said about a free society was possibly the smartest thing he's said in 8 years...pity the US isn't a free society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

That incident was laced with irony, because the Iraqis used shoes to beat Hussein's statue following the liberation.

While he's no shoo in for a Nobel prize, Bush spoke the truth when he said that that was the kind of thing that happened in a free society.

I'd imagine the sole reason for his visit is to try and claim back some much needed positive PR. At least he's on his uppers about it, rather than being a heel, as usual.

Stilleto in the waters of Iraqi discontent will do him no harm at all, as he's been rather a loafer in terms of foreign policy during his eight years.

I'm sorta looking at the video and wondering how it took the secret service so long to react? Or where in fact they were ..

++ edit - alright .. so I see the agent ran to his side and you can hear BUsh saying "I'm alright .." but still.. WTF ? Leaves little hope for Obama !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You all mock but fair play to your man for giving it socks, he certainly put his best foot forward.

deise59 wrote: »
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/7782422.stm

BAHAHAHA!!! Can't stop laughing!

Nice reflexes though.

He doesn't look remotely surprised o.O
    And the guards took a while to react... from far away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Doubt that guy will get off lightly, he will prob get a few years banged up.

Vain wrote: »
    Doubt that guy will get off lightly, he will prob get a few years banged up.
    Guantanimo! He's a terrorist !! The next news conference will be barefoot only I reckon ! Has anyone mentioned the shoe bomber yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Is that the standard that Secret Service do?
    If that was a gun he'd be dead (yeah, yeah, throw in your "I wish statements":rolleyes:)

Watched that video and my reaction was:
    • Good reflexes there from President Bush, fair play
    • Sloppy and slow reaction from the Secret Service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

nice find creepingdeath :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

i think its funny that he dodged the first one so well, then when yer man stood for a couple of seconds before the second one, bush hardly moved and the PM's hand got to it...lets admit, woulda been priceless if he was hit the second time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

whatever about the shoes - i thought he put together the most sensible and effective reply i have ever heard him come out with

ahhh we will miss him when he is gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Einstein wrote: »
    i think its funny that he dodged the first one so well, then when yer man stood for a couple of seconds before the second one, bush hardly moved and the PM's hand got to it.

You'll never make it as a football commentator Einstein
    Watch it again, the PM didn't touch the second shoe at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

muletide wrote: »
    whatever about the shoes - i thought he put together the most sensible and effective reply i have ever heard him come out with

ahhh we will miss him when he is gone

It's a fairly standard reply to hecklers in the States, particularily if they're anti-war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

micmclo wrote: »
    You'll never make it as a football commentator Einstein
    Watch it again, the PM didn't touch the second shoe at all

No handball?

Pfff. Linesman was clearly flagging.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

It's a fairly standard reply to hecklers in the States, particularily if they're anti-war.

Doesn't make it inaccurate though. Would anyone care to guess that guy's chances if he was lobbing shoes at the Iraqi President/PM/Dictator for Life back six years ago?

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

And all it took for 200,000+ of his countrymen to die so he would have the freedom to throw that shoe...Makes me well with pride and think of the stars and stripes, and I'm not even an American! :rolleyes:

Doesn't make it inaccurate though. Would anyone care to guess that guy's chances if he was lobbing shoes at the Iraqi President/PM/Dictator for Life back six years ago?

0 would be my guess. Which doesn't make Bush any smarter, or less worthy of (at the very fu/cken least) a shoe in the gob either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i watched the vid and couldn't really hear it, so went to the volume and put it up full.
    it goes all the way to 11.
    brilliantastic

And all it took for 200,000+ of his countrymen to die so he would have the freedom to throw that shoe...Makes me well with pride and think of the stars and stripes, and I'm not even an American! :rolleyes:

And just think...63 out of 80 odd of his countrys oil fields are now controlled by foriegn interests, with the majority of wealth heading out of the country...

You can almost smell the mom and apple pie...old yeller, the Gipper..Bonzo!!!!

I feel a tear coming on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭pm.

he should of been a boxer with reflexes like that

pm. wrote: »
    he should of been a boxer with reflexes like that

He learnt how to duck out of harms way in the National Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

The guy should have taken off both shoes before he started throwing

Rookie mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

the real question is why couldn't he have had a gun instead of a pair of shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    the real question is why couldn't he have had a gun instead of a pair of shoes

Metal detectors anyone?