Luxury holiday with no alcohol. Would you go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Pighead wrote: »
    But Saudi Arabia is supposedly a beautiful country with a fabulous climate, wonderful scenery, with the most delicious scent of petrol continuously permeating the air. Would you not give up the booze for four weeks to experience this?

You do realise you are not allowed to talk to women. Any! At all! If u are lucky enough to go over with a married woman then I suppose its a trivial matter. No way if I was single.

I work in a company where we travel all over the world. The middle east is a very common destination. Couple of lads went to Saudi Arabia recently, stayed in a class hotel, everything. They just stayed in work all day earning overtime (the customer said he could work as much as he wanted - they have infinite amounts of money over there) because there was nothing else to do. No drink, not much entertainment, arabic tv, no women, nothing. He reckoned that some girls tried to communicate with him through Bluetooth.

Whats worse, it was during ramadan, so it wasn't just alcohol, for most of the day they couldn't drink water.

Whats the point in all that scenery if you can't do **** all but look at it all day.

I wouldn't consider it luxury at all. There is only one reason to go to Saudi Arabia and that is if you are an engineer in which case you have an opportunity to earn loads of money. With the very slight possibility of a kidnapping and some nice publicity thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

biko wrote: »
    I'd take the dry holiday, but ask if they could change it a better country, like Botswana. Saudi Arabia is a ******* oppressing *****.

Botswana is probably the nicest African country to go. Apparently the only one that is officially at peace and has no debt.

Nice people too, but full of prostitutes! Or to rephrase that for some people here: Nice people too, and full of prostitutes!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

oeb wrote: »
    Hippy

Hey, just because I appreciate nature and healthy living and I have long hair doesn't make me a...

Hang on, wait, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

An Fhile wrote: »
    Hey, just because I appreciate nature and healthy living and I have long hair doesn't make me a...

Hang on, wait, what?

Don't worry, I just see anyone who has values that differ from mine as a hippy. (Even hitler)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

oeb wrote: »
    Don't worry, I just see anyone who has values that differ from mine as a hippy. (Even hitler)

Hitler wasn't a hippy, he was just confused thats all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I wouldn't mind either, I don't drink that much anyway. It wouldn't be hard to completely give up either. You have a few grand to spend too, see the world buy some things, alcohol is not the be all and end all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

You do realise you are not allowed to talk to women. Any! At all! If u are lucky enough to go over with a married woman then I suppose its a trivial matter. No way if I was single.

I work in a company where we travel all over the world. The middle east is a very common destination. Couple of lads went to Saudi Arabia recently, stayed in a class hotel, everything. They just stayed in work all day earning overtime (the customer said he could work as much as he wanted - they have infinite amounts of money over there) because there was nothing else to do. No drink, not much entertainment, arabic tv, no women, nothing. He reckoned that some girls tried to communicate with him through Bluetooth.

Whats worse, it was during ramadan, so it wasn't just alcohol, for most of the day they couldn't drink water.

Whats the point in all that scenery if you can't do **** all but look at it all day.

I wouldn't consider it luxury at all. There is only one reason to go to Saudi Arabia and that is if you are an engineer in which case you have an opportunity to earn loads of money. With the very slight possibility of a kidnapping and some nice publicity thrown in.
    Hmmm not quite so idyllic as Pighead had hoped then. No booze AND no talking to women. Pigheads guessing that headache tablets don't do much of a trade in old Saudi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I would go. Although Saudi Arabia is not somewhere I would choose if I was picking my own holiday, I'd rather take the money and go somewhere else instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd take it and then flog it to some unsuspecting vegetarian non drinker gay bloke.

SteveC wrote: »
    I'd take it and then flog it to some unsuspecting vegetarian non drinker gay bloke.
    Sending a gay bloke to Saudi Arabia is a bit like sending degsy to the ladies lounge. Not really compatible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Sending a gay bloke to Saudi Arabia is a bit like sending degsy to the ladies lounge. Not really compatible.
    Nor is sending a pork eating alcoholic womaniser hence the 'unsuspecting' qualifier.

I'd still rather take the prize and flog it to someone/anyone rather than letting that bint Pat Kenny keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

There's plenty of places to get a drink in Suadi Arabia though :confused: ??

It's just not permitted under their religious beliefs so there's not many establishments around to sell it but you can get alcohol there as you can also in Dubai and other such places. It's just not widely known and there's little interest locally for fear of being caught drinking and beaten/imprisoned but tourists/visitors can get a drink if they really wanted one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'd go. Just imagine...

...a holiday without having to run into larger louts
    ...a holiday without screaming and shouting in the streets from drunk Europeans who think they run the world!
    ...a holiday without hangovers - gosh, I'd be up early and get to see more of the culture, not just the 4 walls of the nearest bar!
    ...a holiday without being knocked into by drunk bums.
    ...a holiday without slipping on alcohol on a dance floor.
    ...a holiday without drunk men and women wearing their underwear arround their heads.
    ...a holiday without additional hassles for children and more public areas for them to frequent.

Yep, wifey and I would go in a flash. Where do we apply?

Assuming you're not Terry (who'd probably tell Pat to go fcuk himself and his absolute sham of a prize) what would you do? Would you accept the month long luxury holiday and forsake the delights of alcohol for a month or would you do a Terry and tell him where to shove it?

Yes of course I'd accept; don't really drink anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

these people are almost proud of the fact that they dont drink.....that sickens me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,587 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Definitely.
    A month in a 5 start resort is definitely worth no alcohol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

flyton5 wrote: »
    these people are almost proud of the fact that they dont drink.....that sickens me!

lol ...and the over consumption of alcohol and hangover don't?

What's your secret? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭cooperla

Don't think I'd book a month in an alcohol free area but winning it.... yes, defo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Biggins wrote: »
    lol ...and the over consumption of alcohol and hangover don't?

What's your secret? ;)

My secret is "I'm not someone who drinks like a girl"

This post in no way endorses the idea that girls can't drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I wouldn't go, Saudi Arabia is quite a ****ed up country.

I'd stay well away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'll trade it for the Austrian family holiday please. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

So . . . what you're saying is . . . I get to miss work?

Right.

What time's my flight???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Frisbee wrote: »
    Definitely.
    A month in a 5 start resort is definitely worth no alcohol

Unless that resort isn't in a Western compound.

And if it isn't and you're a woman, your opportunity for fun is very limited. No public outings without being covered head to toe in the Wahabi muslim burqa style outfit, no going out without a male relative in tow, no driving, no transactions, no anything.

Not so much a holiday as house arrest really.

Unless that resort isn't in a Western compound.

And if it isn't and you're a woman, your opportunity for fun is very limited. No public outings without being covered head to toe in the Wahabi muslim burqa style outfit, no going out without a male relative in tow, no driving, no transactions, no anything.

Not so much a holiday as house arrest really.
    Pighead has just checked the details of the holiday and unfortunately for Frisbee it isn't in a Western compound. Poor old Frisbee. She's agreed to it now. No turning back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Pighead has just checked the details of the holiday and unfortunately for Frisbee it isn't in a Western compound. Poor old Frisbee. She's agreed to it now. No turning back.

This is always going to happen if you don't check the small print.

Of course she won't be allowed enter the country if she doesn't have a man accompanying her, or a letter from the 'head' man in her life giving her permission to travel. And she won't be allowed leave the airport without a male relative to take 'possession' of her...

And then there's the issue of tourists not being allowed in Saudi Arabia at all.

Problems, problems.

Was it Saudi Arabia where people got put in prison for having sex outside?

Then no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

its not a holiday unless there is beer there. Personally i dont go on holidays. I would rather spend my holiday money on beer. That and i suffer from extend agoraphobia so ill stay in my 2 mile radius of my house like i been doing the last 4 years

seanybiker wrote: »
    its not a holiday unless there is beer there. Personally i dont go on holidays. I would rather spend my holiday money on beer. That and i suffer from extend agoraphobia so ill stay in my 2 mile radius of my house like i been doing the last 4 years
    :eek: Are you trying to tell Pighead that you've never been on a holiday? Never! Not even to Mosney? The Aillwee caves even?

Don't you feel incomplete? Like a rose without a thorn, like a bowl of jelly without ice cream, like a dwarf without a complex. Get on a plane seany, a boat even. Fcuk it even a bicycle. Cycle to Wexford. Take in the sights, enjoy the strawberrys. Don't be scared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

A five star hotel without a bar or any alcohol at all? Sounds mental! I think that's worth seeing to believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

:eek: Are you trying to tell Pighead that you've never been on a holiday? Never! Not even to Mosney? The Aillwee caves even?

Don't you feel incomplete? Like a rose without a thorn, like a bowl of jelly without ice cream, like a dwarf without a complex. Get on a plane seany, a boat even. Fcuk it even a bicycle. Cycle to Wexford. Take in the sights, enjoy the strawberrys. Don't be scared!
    i was abroad a few times years ago then whatever happened i just cant go anywhere. Ill get over it. Tis a shame having a decent bike and not been able to go anywhere for a spin on it. Got to mooncoin last year for a bike rally thats furthest i been in years. Me lack is from wexford she can bring me up some strawberries lol