Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"It's what you do next that counts"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Woddle wrote: »
    7.17 miles in 1 hour, pace 8:30
    Average HR 79%

This was followed by 7x118 meters all done at 23 seconds except for 1 at 19 seconds.

The first run since Dublin marathon that I actually enjoyed,HR probably still a little high but getting there. Off to indoor football now.

Whats the idea with the 100's at the end, is it to improve leg turnover , havent read much about doing them at the end of an hour run?

have you some secret plan that your holding back on us ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Strideouts are suppose to eliminate unnecessary movements and maintain control at fast speeds.These adaptations may lead to improved running economy at marathon pace. Along with improved running form,you'll gain power in your legs and trunk that may also contribute to improved running economyAlso you don't do them at 100% sprinting, you should feel some what relaxed and he feels you should concentrate on one aspect such as relaxed arms or complete hip extension
    And I wish I had some secret formula ;) but I don't so hard work here I come :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Strideouts are suppose to eliminate unnecessary movements and maintain control at fast speeds.These adaptations may lead to improved running economy at marathon pace. Along with improved running form,you'll gain power in your legs and trunk that may also contribute to improved running economyAlso you don't do them at 100% sprinting, you should feel some what relaxed and he feels you should concentrate on one aspect such as relaxed arms or complete hip extension
    And I wish I had some secret formula ;) but I don't so hard work here I come :D
    yep its always hard work, so your setting yourself up for the 4th Pb in a row..

I'm hoping to smash my pb but as yet I don't know by how much, the motivation is back now in full swing and it killed me taking a rest day but I did get 2 bad kicks at indoor football, I'm getting quicker at those 50:50 balls and there not so bang take that you little ****e :D

I had planned 12 miles today but with time constraints threatening my plans I decided to jump on the treadmill while I waited for the wife to come home from work and then the plan was to go out on the road and finish the remaining miles.Got 4 miles done and was ready to go but sadly it didn't happen. She came in in foul humour and is now in bed still recovering from her drinks last night, so I'll get it done in the morning instead when kids are in school. Thursdays is the 3 year olds day off from playschool just if yous were wondering why I didn't go this morning.
    4 miles in 34:14, pace 8:33
    Average HR 69%
    Looking forward to tomorrows run

Not quite the 12 but 10.50 miles over a verry hilly course, I can really feel it in my quads now. My longest run since the marathon and although I've only done 26 miles so far this week, it's still the most I've done since DM. I feel like I'm back in the swing of things now.

10.52 miles in 1:34, pace 8:58
    Average HR 75%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sweater

Fair play Woddle,

Looks like you're keeping busy. The log is gargantuan now. I've only just logged back in to boards today looking for info on the Aware race. I abandoned my log about three months ago. Work ramped up & I've been tending to avoid computers on my days off! Happliy I've kept up the training tho! :)

I'll have to take some time & go through your log. What's the next big target for you?

I applied for Ballycotton 10' entry this week & am planning the Zurich marathon next year. London was full & I couldn't commit to raising £1500 sponsorship for charity so I figured the Zurich marathon (which is held on the same day) was the next logical option..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Good stuff Woddle. I'm only catchin up with your log now. Paris I'm quite envious its on my list but but haven't got around to it yet.

Hi Sweater the goal races are
    Jingle bell 5K
    Raheny 5 mile
    Ballycotton 10 mile (if I get in)
    Paris marathon

Didn't feel too great this morning, don't know if it was nerves or the chipper from the night before or both. Decided to aim for 6:40 pace for the first mile which is the slightest of climbs and try and make time back on the hill to hit my sub 20 target. Went to plan 6:42 for the first mile but Gerard65 had just passed me and I tried to stay with and couldn't, so I knew sub 20 was out of the question and this was confirmed with a 6:45 second mile. The course was not as I remembered and running through the trails I found it tough going, mile 3 in 6:45. I was giving up just before the 3rd mile but then someone said well done Stephen. Stephen is very nice chap that I had met on last weeks coaching course, so when I heard his name I stepped it up to the finish line, running the last 150 meters in 29 seconds and just finishing ahead of him.
    5k race in 20:42, pace 6:42
    Average HR 90% and I reached a new max of 199.
    Oh and Boards IT won grade 2 making it 3 wins in a row. :D

And according to my race points calculator, it's my best race performance this year, giving me a points total of 635

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

great running Woddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Well done Woddle! Curious... what is the points calculator about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Good running Woddle. Keep it up!

MCOS wrote: »
    Well done Woddle! Curious... what is the points calculator about?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055277626&page=18
    Go down to my post on the 12th of that month and you will see an excel project, I reckon it's the best running log out there and you can input data form different races over different distances and it will give you a points score, so you can compare your 10 mile race performance with your 5K race performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great running Woddle! You can probably take another 20 seconds from your time for the visit to the chipper the night before. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Well done Woddle - plenty of time to get the sub 20 at least you now know where you stand

Thanks everyone for your nice words but I'm not going to pat myself on the back yet. This Sunday at the jingle bells run I'm going to have a crack at sub 20 and starting this morning and for the rest of the week I'm going to eat properly and drink water, no chippers and no more bpm's. I figure I need to increase my speed by 14 seconds a mile, doesn't seem alot, but sure we'll see but I'm going to give it a go and I won't be doing 10 hilly miles 2 days before, looking forward to it.

5.42 miles in 42:18, pace 7:48
    Average HR 78%

7.61 miles, pace 8:33
    Average HR 74% which according to Krustys HR zones just about qualifies as an aerobic run.
    Followed the run by 6x118 meter strides and then I had a go at 100 meters all out, 16 seconds, I thought I was faster than that but my legs were moving fast and I felt I had no control over them, so I'll work on this a little bit to. Indoor football in just under an hour.

I bought a pair of racers, nike lunars today. I was hoping they might give me an edge for Sundays race. I took them out for a 5 mile run, 1/2 mile slow, 1/2 mile fast, after the 3rd fast 1/2 mile my left ankle felt like it was being ripped apart. I got home, blood on my socks and my new runners, I guess when you,ve run over 800 miles in brooks adrenaline, your foot gets used to a certain shoe and it's fit. I was wearing very light/skinny socks so maybe a thicker pair will do or plasters or maybe I'll just wear the brooks?

5 miles in 39:11, pace 7:50
    1st half mile 2:59
    2nd half mile 3:03
    3rd half mile 3:03

Average HR 79%

Also I've booked Berlin for September :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I got home, blood on my socks and my new runners,

Also I've booked Berlin for September :D

Was the blood just from rubbing? It might be something that once they are broken in they are fine, or it could be that the fit doesn't suit you, maybe the 'cup' is too high for you and so rubbing off just below your ankle. The first time I wore flats, I thought they were incredibly uncomfortable - just seemed to have no support, but after a few races I was used to them and always race in them now. I like to warnm uop in normal trainers and then put on flats and do a few mins in them just before the race - you feel so light in them after the normal trainers.

I occasionally get rubbing around my Achilles/ankle with normal shoes, if so I place some simple insoles/arch supports into the shoe, to raise me up a tad to clear the rubbing. Just the 7quid medial longitudinal arch suports you can get from any chemists, the ones that just go to the ball of the foot. However, I would not do this with my running shoes as I would not want the extra weight...

Delighted to see your Berlin target. Well within you I think. One of the fellows running with us went from 3.35 to 3.01 in a year (would have gone comfortably sub 3 I think but for an Achilles injury and subsequently trying to squeeze the last 22 in a week before Dublin); another went from 3.20 to 2.55 in a year and a few years back one of our better runners went from 3.15 to 2.35 in a year. The first 2 are normal run of the mill runners like me and you though, and one had done around 8 previous marathons in the 3.15-3.30 range. He puts the sudden dramatic improvement down to more focused consistent training.

You can probably guess what I'm going to say....knock Paris on the head!!! What about asking the wife if you can go shopping with her in Paris 'instead of doing the stupid marathon?':D I don't see what doing another marathon will add to your training. Endurance is not a problem to you as evidenced by 3 marathons in 9 weeks with PBs in all 3. So what you might need to focus on is your ability to run faster, for longer.

My advice would be to split the year in two and concentrate on the first half on improving your 10mile/half marathon times and the second half on the marathon. There's a 10mile in Waterford in mid February usually which might suit you, or Ballycotton March 8th. Then maybe in April/May do a half marathon. I wouldn't bother with Connemara, but maybe Omagh, Berlin, Bantry-Glengarriff...Hopefully by training specifically for 10mile to half, you'll smash your time in both and really improve your lactate threshold.

Then after a short break, a week or so, launch into a typical marathon training plan late May/early June. In this manner by the time you do a 10mile and half marathon as part of your Berlin training (July/August), you'll have great targets to go for, that you'll have to work hard to beat, but through continuing improved fitness, you probably will. 6 or so 20-22 mile runs on top of this new improved lactate threshold and you'll give yourself a great chance to reach your marathon target.

Two other things I would suggest...

Pick and chose your races wisely. A 10 mile on Saturday and a 22mile on Sunday might serve you better than a 5k Sunday race, which means you miss your long run and have a low mileage week. So race every 3 or 4 weeks, but unless it is a long race I wouldn't train down too much. Don't race every race there is.

Can you train with others for some sessions? I know you are involved with Boards AC for races etc., but I don't think the likes of Sportsworld or Rathfarnhman near you would have any objection with you joining in their sessions. Doing some speedwork and long runs with others will more than likely bring you on. Even if only occasionally.

Anyway, my 2 cents, fairly predictable as usual! Best of luck with it, I'll be following your progress with interest.

RF cheers for the faith regarding the future Berlin attempt at 2:59.
    I think you write alot of sense, I do plan on doing Paris though as it's how I want to celebrate my 30th but giving what your saying is there a possible balance I could achieve that would allow me to do Paris while getting my 10 mile time down. I don't mind treating Paris as a long run as I have applied to ballycotton and would love to nail this race. Is there any other schedule you would recommend knowing now what my targets are?
    And always appreciate your imput and I do take it on board.

Forf the racers and my ankle my footwear expert of a wife ( she has alot of shoes) reckons it's only a matter of breaking them in but it was amazing how light they felt and they give you a sense of bounce in your stride, very cushiony.

I haven't ran since Thursday in an effort to let my ankles heal. Over the last couple of days I have been trying to keep a cold away by loading up on vit c and hot drinks but this morning I woke up and my resting heart beat was a good 20 beats higher than normal. I met my uncles and cousin before the race and I really had no idea what their levels of fitness were, I just knew I wanted to be top dog. Race hooter went and I got away ok but straight from the off my arms were annoying me they couldn't find a rhythm. I started at sub 20 pace and went through mile 1 in 6:29 but I knew this wouldn't last as it felt so hard. Second mile in 6:52 and again like last week wanted to give up. getting closer to the finish and I went through mile 3 in 6:51 and then my cousin went passed me on the hill and I couldn't go with, he took me by surprise as I thought he would have been a good minute behind me as he's recovering from an injury. Got to the finish line in 20:49, 7 seconds slower than last week and my ankles didn't even bother me that much till I was finished and as I was in the chute I saw one of my uncles warming down and I just thought ah bollox. He did 19:50 and he is 58. I hated everything about my performance in this run and my ankles are killing me. Stupid racers that I couldn't even wear. I got to meet alot of the olding day runners thanks to my uncles as there both ex donore runners and it was great listening to them go on about back in the day. It got me wanting to create a few stories of my own, so to 2009 and beyond :D

Taking the day off as this cold has finally got me but I did register for the dungarvan 10 mile and I have just booked my flights and hotel for Berlin, the whole package including the entry stuff is 840 euro that's for me and her for 2 nights :eek: http://www.kempinski-berlin.de/en/hotel/index.php

Races I have planned

Stephens day 5K
    New years day 5K
    Raheny 5 mile 25/1/09 target sub 34
    Dungarvan 10 mile 1/2/09 sub 72
    Ballycotton 10 mile 8/3/09

There will also be a few business houses races thrown in.
    Still have a cold
    Monday rest
    Today 8 miles in 64:20 3 of which were at current 10 mile race pace,pace 8:02
    Average HR 82%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Hey Woddle, I see you like to keep yourself busy ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Races I have planned

Stephens day 5K
    New years day 5K
    Raheny 5 mile 25/1/09 target sub 34
    Dungarvan 10 mile 1/2/09 sub 72
    Ballycotton 10 mile 8/3/09

Might be hard to run a good 10mile just a week after a 5mile, but could be good training all the same. If doing both 10miles I'd be looking at doing a top Raheny, and using Dungarvan as a training run on the way to a top Ballycotton.

I have done the Stephen's Day/NYD combo before, see it as a good way to keep the speed sessions up over Christmas, but even though it's only 5k, the legs feel heavy towards the end of the NYD 5k...but again, probably good training on the way to Raheny.

Did you measure the distance of the Jingle Bells race? A few people weer wondering if it was a bit short considering the times were so much quicker than last year, but perhaps this was just because the course was shifted forward so that there was more downhill at the end making it a greater net downhill course than last year?

Cheers RF, I measured it exactly at 3.10 but overall it probably was a fastish 5K with only one small climb, yeah the times were very quick OK .

Indoor football last night, I played like a God again :D, I have a break form this now for 2 weeks so hopefully I can use these 2 weeks well, as I do find playing indoor so late after a run on Tuesday messes me up for Wednesday and sometimes even Thursday.

4 mile recovery run on the treadmill, 35:19, pace 8:50
    Average HR 71% (I must add that this is the heart rate reserve formula)
    I find it much harder running on the treadmill , I reckon the same 4 miles outside at the same HR would easily be done at 8:20 pace but I didn't want to go outside in case my ankles caused me to cut the run short. Yesterdays run and todays has irritated the skin again, feckin racers

3118260789_f6d424e4f8.jpg

My wife thought I was being a bit mad when she saw me cutting my runners, as you can see theres a nice V shape to them now and more importantly they didn't annoy my ankle, my ankle looks alot better but you could see why it would be irritating.
    Today 5.2 miles in 39:43, Pace 7:38
    Average HR 80%
    The session was 0.25 fast, 0.25 slow, average pace 1:32 approx, I did 9 fast ones in total, at the end I tried to do a tenth at my fastest but gave up halfway, I have to work on the mental toughness.
    10 miles planned for tomorrow.

http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/activity/7300689

This was tough, after reading alot about what the Wicklow lads are doing on their runs I decided to head out and find some scenery, So I left the house swung a left and just though sure why not, lets see how long it takes me to get to the hell fire club, not long is the answer, about 35 mins if I remember right, but the climb was tough as you can see. Distance wise it wasn't as long as I had hoped so on the way back down I headed over to Marlay park to bring the days run up to
    10.31 miles in 94:26, pace 9:09, I actually ran further but my garmin turned itself off for about 0.3 miles.
    Average HR78%

My garmin drove me mad last night aswell but Krusty I finally got it, it had been disabled in device manager by the new microsoft update I put on, don't ask me why :mad: but at least it's sorted, going out tonight so day off tomorrow which is just aswell cause that's 4 days on the trot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Fair play on that. I tried to get up to the HC a couple of years ago but gave up halfway up the hill. Thats a tough climb, I'm hoping to have a go at kilakee carpark in the next couple of months, but parts of that hill is a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Glad to hear you sorted out the Garmin. That's a hell of a run (accidental pun!). Interesting to look at your heart rate against the elevation profile. It didn't drop too much on the downhill. You must have been pushing it quite a bit. Great cardio workout!