Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you find 'campness' annoying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,910 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Bugs me.

I dont understand it either, its like most men who come out seem to immediately inherit the same personality. Why?! Just cause a lad realises he finds women hot, or a woman finds men hot, their whole personality doesn't suddenly morph to a ridiculous stereotype. I know 2 gay chaps, who are completely like any other guys i know, except that they happen to fancy men, and they dont really understand the whole thing either...

why does what people happen to find attractive have to dominate every other characteristic of their persona?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Yes. Over the top camp people annoy the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Kinda like Born again christians annoying you at the door... yes you're christian just don't go ramming your beliefs down peoples throats.

Do you find homosexual men ramming their sexuality down your throat happens very often? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

javaboy wrote: »
    Do you find homosexual men ramming their sexuality down your throat happens very often? ;)

I was waiting for a comment like that LMFAO

Thankfully no that has never happend no would i ever be in a position for it to happen LOL

have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Most camp men are a pain in the arse.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was waiting for a comment like that LMFAO

Thankfully no that has never happend no would i ever be in a position for it to happen LOL

have you?

Yeah javaboy, we're gagging to find out. Ooooooh! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Campness bugs me.

I have the same feeling towards girls who scream and shout in my ear. You're not really that excited, don't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Naos wrote: »
    Campness bugs me.

I have the same feeling towards girls who scream and shout in my ear. You're not really that excited, don't lie.

Maybe they are. Maybe they're just simple. It's not that they act like women, it's that they act like the most annoying women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

Naos wrote: »
    Campness bugs me.

You're obviously not giving the ladies the right attention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

ntlbell wrote: »
    I've been to the george.

I've met lesbians who are a bit "manly"

but they don't sqeek in my ear when I'm drinking and don't annoy the f*ck out of me.

No, but they do wear men's clothes and have deep voices and adopt male affectations... which is what you were saying they didn't do? Right?
    Women don't tend to put on funny voices and pretend to be men.

not in my experience anyway

I agree that campness can be annoying, I was just giving you an example of where women "put on funny voices and pretend to be men".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

shellyboo wrote: »
    No, but they do wear men's clothes and have deep voices and adopt male affectations... which is what you were saying they didn't do? Right?

I agree that campness can be annoying, I was just giving you an example of where women "put on funny voices and pretend to be men".

I've met lots of straight women who have deepish voices.

I've met lots of straight women who like wearing guys clothes.

I have NOT met a straight guy that talks like a f*cking squeeky annoying gremlin.

deep voiced tomboys i can handle squeeky little nanices i cannot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Roadend wrote: »
    Most camp men are a pain in the arse.......
    Your ass maybe. I kill them before they have the chance

/not literally kill........anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I have NOT met a straight guy that talks like a f*cking squeeky annoying gremlin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Kold wrote: »
    Makes me very uncomfortable when people put on such a big front.

Oooh, get you and your big front, duckie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,933 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I'm not anti gay at all; but I do think a lot of Gay men play on their 'gayness' a little too much.
    Everything is so OTT and in your face. Relax, you're gay, I'm straight, chill and relax!

I guess it's the feminine side; though most gay men are a lot more feminine that most bloody women, see, it' OTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

If they're the loud, annoying, "look at me, i'm queer" type then yes, it annoys the hell out of me and irritates me no end because it just seems put on and fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,991 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It bugs the shite out of me.

Purely attention seeking. You're gay, we get it so stfu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I quite like the campness! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

You're obviously not giving the ladies the right attention!

Well if they're screaming and shouting in my ear I must be doing something good ;)

But I mean the annoying "OMG lets have a DMC *scream*" ones...

DMC = Deep Meaningful Conversation - I wanted to headbutt the person who said that to me the first time I heard it.

stovelid wrote: »

lulz.

Say it to his face, see who's squeeking then bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

No. I find it funny most of the time particularly if the person clams not to be gay I know a few people like this but I have told them to shut up the odd time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, I detest it.

I've two mates, grand lads - until they came out, then they started all that girlie sh*t.

It annoys the bollox out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I know a few girls who went out with a friend of mine's younger brother. Ever since he was young it was blatantly obvious what way he was or would be swinging. I couldn't comprehend how these girls didn't know, he is so camp and such a drama queen. He's the type of person who throws his phone when a trivial conversation about where to meet someone that night doesn't go his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It depends. It can be funny... but it can also be annoying. I think a lot of gay guys are inherently camp though. But yeah, the really OTT stuff is likely to be exaggerated.

Dudess wrote: »
    It depends. It can be funny... but it can also be annoying. I think a lot of gay guys are inherently camp though. But yeah, the really OTT stuff is likely to be exaggerated.

because they do the bum they inherited girly ****?

that's just crazy talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Don't have any OTT camp gay friends, you'd know they were gay like but they don't go around sipping appletini's and telling everyone they're "just awful, omg slap me titter titter". Though occasionally they do something really camp, and it's funny because they don't do it all the freaking time.
    The only kind of campness that really annoys me is the type where there's references to their sexuality peppering every ****ing sentence. You're gay, I'm cool with that, shhhhhhh. I think with many guys it's genuinely not put on though, the physical mannerisms, cadence of speech, general girliness and all that. I've seen eight year old boys who are unbelieveably camp like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭FGR

I'm sure it's already been mentioned..but I don't know how people love that guy on Coronation Street so much..

Talk about a head wrecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Paris Hilton pisses me off. So blokes acting like her would probably piss me off even more.

I don't like those camp comedians mentioned in the thread. Mainly cause they're not funny.

I've yet to talk to any gay people who were "fabulous " in RL so maybe it wouldnt annoy me as much as I think it would....but it probably would.

Feck sake it must be exhausting to act like that all day. By the end of the day they're probably too knackerd to actually get their gayness on lol.

I reckon that type of act pisses off a lot of normal gay blokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I'm sure it's already been mentioned..but I don't know how people love that guy on Coronation Street so much..

Talk about a head wrecker!

Girls love the gheys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE