the chipper - what do you eat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Terry wrote: »
    Once again, nice to see you acclimitising. :)
    Welcome to Ireland and the Irish version of Italian food.

Thank you! I love the food here, so delicious! I was really excited when (what I presume to be) a native gave the same answer...made me feel all legit. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭gebbel

Don't tell me you actually mix ketchup with curry sauce.

I do! I love an occassional large curry chips, but I must have Chef Ketchup (and it must be Chef) to go with them. Squeeze a dollop of it in the corner of the tray and dunk each curry chip into it! I must admit I get slagged off each time but I 've gotten used of it at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Home once a month or so and its straight up to the chipper for a snack box with a breast and a rib joined by a cold glass of milk, slices of batch bread followed up by a cup of tea. Bruno's up on oxmantown road

I'm hungary :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Just wondering what everyone else gets when they go to get some food from a chipper?
    Myself i'd get a good ol' 1/4lber with cheese a nice big diet coke to wash it down and of course a bag of chips or when im broke a curry chips does the job quite nicely.

Everything...

Woden wrote: »
    Home once a month or so and its straight up to the chipper for a snack box with a breast and a rib joined by a cold glass of milk, slices of batch bread followed up by a cup of tea. Bruno's up on oxmantown road

I'm hungary :(

Hey, what's batch bread? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Quackles wrote: »
    If your children like you, you're not doing your job right as a parent ;)

Yes, spicy chicken fillet burgers rock my world. They're spicy, coated in a kind of sweet chilli sauce.. They come with salad, and a kind of mayo/ketchup mix, you take them home and lather them with a bit of barbeque sauce and we're talking heaven.

Feck it, I'm starving now :(

Nyom buy me one of those please; the recession is hitting me hard :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

PillyPen wrote: »

Type of loaf, check dunnes. Can't remember what its made from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

http://www.brennansbread.ie/product_range/batch/

This stuff. Regular Brennans sliced pan is also acceptable and sometimes prefared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I could murder a Borza's right about now. :/

I usually get a double burger and cheese, nothing else, and frieds, and then bring 'em home and cover 'em in JD's bbq sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Snackbox and a can of coke!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

garlic cheese chips,chicken burger,batter burger

im hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LEGEND24

well i have to say lads,gr8 thread haha interestin to see wat lads get! i used to be a snackbox man but dont bother as much now,usually its a sausage n batter n chip,sometimes a potatoe scallop thrown in(love them:)) if its a burger type its nearly always a breast of chicken fillet burger,loadsa sauce,couldnt bate it wi a sstick lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Oh dear lord.
    Nobody has introduced you to the god of breads that is batch?

Your local supermarket will have it.

You really need to try it.
    Fry some sausages, eggs, bacon and black and white pudding.
    Make a sandwich with YR brown sauce on it and you are living the dream.

aslo, try a crisp sandwich.

Tayto or king cheese and onion on fresh batch.

You also need to eat the heel and the crust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I could murder a Borza's right about now. :/

I usually get a double burger and cheese, nothing else, and frieds, and then bring 'em home and cover 'em in JD's bbq sauce.

Are borza's a chain? There's on in Sligo now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Doner kebab and chips

Each chipper makes them different, Best ones are from Borza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Oh dear lord.

Don't go near that muck. HP is far superior...

Are borza's a chain? There's on in Sligo now.

Extended family as far as I know.

There's one in Donnybrook, one in Sandymount and one in Dalkey and various others strewn about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LEGEND24

theres 2family of borzas chippys in drogheda at the min that i know of,cud be more related,dunno. but,have to say,prob the best 2 chippys in town!!been der years now,maybe 20!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,160 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Half pounder and chips.

Only meat, cheese and ketchup in the burger buns. None of that salad or mayo bollox.

Oh dear lord.

I have been sadly neglected, my friend. I've been wondering what brown sauce goes on.

Crisp sandwich sounds delicious. What's a king cheese and where does one get a crisp sandwich? Also, what's a heel? Sorry for all the questions; I am fresh of the boat, so to speak. :rolleyes:

I have been sadly neglected, my friend. I've been wondering what brown sauce goes on.

Crisp sandwich sounds delicious. What's a king cheese and where does one get a crisp sandwich? Also, what's a heel? Sorry for all the questions; I am fresh of the boat, so to speak. :rolleyes:

Heels the end of a loaf.

King Crisps are a brand - King Cheese and Onion are widely held to be the best Irish crisps.

A crisp sandwich usually involves butter bread and cheese and onion crisps. :P

And that's about the extent of Irish cuisine. :pac:

Don't go near that muck. HP is far superior...
    Don't mind him. He's English.

LEGEND24 wrote: »
    theres 2family of borzas chippys in drogheda at the min that i know of,cud be more related,dunno. but,have to say,prob the best 2 chippys in town!!been der years now,maybe 20!!!!

What the fúck are you trying to say here?

Did someome allow a two year old child near their computer, or are you just dumb?

Heels the end of a loaf.

King Crisps are a brand - King Cheese and Onion are widely held to be the best Irish crisps.

Thank you! I think we just call it the end piece or something, good to know what a heel is.

Is that all that's on the sandwich? No cheese or anything? I'm skeptical...crazy paddies. :p

Heels the end of a loaf.

Most of what he said.

The heel is usually thicker than the other slices.

Tayto and king are brand names and they both do cheese and onion flavour crisps. (both are now owned by the tayto company).
    wiki wrote:
    The potato chip remained otherwise unseasoned until an innovation by Joe "Spud" Murphy (1923 – 2001),[4] the owner of an Irish crisp company called Tayto, who developed a technology to add seasoning during manufacture in the 1950s. Though he had a small company, consisting almost entirely of his immediate family who prepared the crisps, the owner had long proved himself an innovator. After some trial and error, he produced the world's first seasoned crisps, Cheese & Onion and Salt & Vinegar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Don't mind him. He's English.

What the fúck are you trying to say here?

Did someome allow a two year old child near their computer, or are you just dumb?

Add a poll for this post Terry; I vote "Dumb".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

cant beat garlic and cheese chips with chicken nuggets. or curry chips and a battered smoked cod... beautiful...:D

damn im hungry now..:(

Thank you! I think we just call it the end piece or something, good to know what a heel is.

Is that all that's on the sandwich? No cheese or anything? I'm skeptical...crazy paddies. :p
    Crisp sanwiches came about through us being poor.

We now throw crisps into all sorts of sandwiches.

Ham, cheese, coleslaw, turkey, chicken, salad etc.

Nah, that's about it. ^^

Crisp sanwiches came about through us being poor.

We now throw crisps into all sorts of sandwiches.

Ham, cheese, coleslaw, turkey, chicken, salad etc.

Ha, I put crisps on sandwiches too. Adds such a satisfying crunch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Oh my god this thread has got me so missing home

I'd love to have a snack box with a tub of curry mmmmmmm
    Aussies don't do curry sauce EVER, they have chips and gravy, but look at you like you just shat in their cornflakes when you say curry sauce.

All the chippers over here use frozen chips - can never find a real chip anywhere :( and would love to have some on brendens batch bread with butter and ketchup