Would you let Michael O'Leary run the health service here for a year?

• 02-12-2008 02:01PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭

Not that Im whoring out another thread I started, but in Acc & Prop, the forecasted cost of housing is a bit all over the place ranging from tightly backed opionions to the usual makey up figures plucked form thin air. And now its slowly starting to lean towards another immigration slugfest.

Someone brough up the point about lettting Michael O'Leary run the country for a year and let him sort it out. That was the last post, it will be interesting to see what is returned.

So heres my question. Would you let him run it? Just for a year. And what changes do you think he would implement based on his track record.

Ill start with I think he would give pharmasists more power in consulting. Instead of waiting to see your doctor and then paying €50, you pop along to any pharmasist, pay him say.....€15....tell him whats up and then he can prescribe within a certain limit of illnesses. Obviously if you need a more indepth examination, he will send you to the doctor or have the power to refer you to a specialist.

That would cut down on the curative process from the start and free up doctors time for the people who really need it. Or maybe it wouldnt, Im just thinking it through at the mo. :) Im sure there are sloip ups such as misdiagnosis to be contended with.

I def think he would have the balls to introduce drunk charges for those who clog up A&E at night because they are high or off their heads with drink.

So.....any more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

But but.."beds and blowjobs"! Fantastic! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The first change i'd like to see involves a snyper, Mary Harney, a rifle and one decent shot to the head.

After that i really dont mind.

He would definately decriminlaise prostitution, and set up state owned brothels so he could screw you while you get screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

A glass of water would run the country better than the current peanut gallery...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

The first change i'd like to see involves a snyper, Mary Harney, a rifle and one decent shot to the head.

Im not so sure Snyper would like to die just yet. And Mary Harney mightnt want to shoot him. Youll have to check with her. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Deepsense wrote: »
    Ill start with I think he would give pharmasists more power in consulting. Instead of waiting to see your doctor and then paying €50, you pop along to any pharmasist, pay him say.....€15....tell him whats up and then he can prescribe within a certain limit of illnesses.

Yeah, you'll get a prescription for the most expensive brand they sell ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I would let him have a go, let's face it it would be hard to do worse, I would however draw the line at the ambulence dropping you off near a major hospital!

I would however draw the line at the ambulence dropping you off near a major hospital!

I knew it wouldnt take long!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Im not so sure Snyper would like to die just yet. And Mary Harney mightnt want to shoot him. Youll have to check with her. :)

In that she could have surprise sex with him, i'm thinking he'd do the job himself after! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I think having him look after the budget would be a good move, he'd be going through everything thoroughly.

There are a lot of positives that could come from it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Not that Im whoring out another thread I started, but in Acc & Prop, the forecasted cost of housing is a bit all over the place ranging from tightly backed opionions to the usual makey up figures plucked form thin air. And now its slowly starting to lean towards another immigration slugfest.

Someone brough up the point about lettting Michael O'Leary run the country for a year and let him sort it out. That was the last post, it will be interesting to see what is returned.

So heres my question. Would you let him run it? Just for a year. And what changes do you think he would implement based on his track record.

Ill start with I think he would give pharmasists more power in consulting. Instead of waiting to see your doctor and then paying €50, you pop along to any pharmasist, pay him say.....€15....tell him whats up and then he can prescribe within a certain limit of illnesses. Obviously if you need a more indepth examination, he will send you to the doctor or have the power to refer you to a specialist.

That would cut down on the curative process from the start and free up doctors time for the people who really need it. Or maybe it wouldnt, Im just thinking it through at the mo. :) Im sure there are sloip ups such as misdiagnosis to be contended with.

I def think he would have the balls to introduce drunk charges for those who clog up A&E at night because they are high or off their heads with drink.

So.....any more?
    If that prick was running the country id move to Somalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Philush

he sort the country out not a bother,he knows what hes at,at the moment brian cowens runnin the place-an accountant, in my own experience, i know there can be exceptions, but you never leave an accountant in charge of anything, because unless it all works out in the facts and figures on paper they wont take chances etc etc,

sorting out the health service is big job, need to get rid of the HSE anyway because they are ruining it,pushing paper from here to there,theres more admin staff in the health service than there is actual medical professionals,how can that work?

Michael o leary actually gave a very good interview on the ray darcy show few weeks back, well worth a listen can dl it free from i tunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

I wouldn't let O''Leary run for a bus! The only thing he is interested in is profit pure and simple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I read Michael O'Leary as David O'Leary and was thinking WTF would he know about running a country when he fucked Leeds up. :o

/Goes back to bed.

In that she could have surprise sex

Always with the surprise sex...always! Youd have "Leap out of a cupboard and <insert Tommy Tiernan pronunciation of "rrrraaaappppeeeeeee" here from the Declan on a plane story here> someone day" if you could.

*Locks cupboards

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

themadchef wrote: »

It would hardly take a snyper to hit her............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I'd vote for the Workers Party if it meant Snyper have gun toting danger sex with Mary Harney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Always with the surprise sex...always! Youd have "Leap out of a cupboard and <insert Tommy Tiernan pronunciation of "rrrraaaappppeeeeeee" here from the Declan on a plane story here> someone day" if you could.

*Locks cupboards

:pac::pac:

This post actually made my face bleed.. what the hell are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

im thinking the buttsekz with mary harney would be like trying keep a stiff one while getting head from your parish priest.

If you can keep it up long enough you know you will eventually shoot the beans - but would you tell anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

andrewh5 wrote: »
    I wouldn't let O''Leary run for a bus! The only thing he is interested in is profit pure and simple!

Ryanair just happen to have one of the best safety records in the airline industry by accident do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

I would love to see Michael O'Leary run the health service, dam hell, he could run the whole country only if it was "not for profit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

andrewh5 wrote: »

:confused: what else is he meant to be interested in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

A calendar with all the TD's, ah, no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

:confused: what else is he meant to be interested in?

Michael O'Leary is not over interested in profit. The goal of any business and hence it CEO is to maximise longterm shareholder wealth while maintaining the business as a viable entity. IE drive up the share price via company growth while at the same time providing reasonable dividends if appropriate. Profit just happens to feed into this directly.

Anyway same principle applies to the government - maximise the longterm wealth of the nation by running it cost effectivly and investing in infastructure (health, education, transport, etc)

O'Leary for Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

I dont see why everyone hates Michael O'Leary so much. His company does exactly what it says on the tin. It gets you from A to B for cheap as chips. Yeah theres bag taxes, credit card charges, charges for X and charges for Y but still when you add it all together its cheaper than Aer Lingus. They are rarely late, they never loose bags. Ive never had a problem with them and i've used them alot.

If this doesnt suit you, pay the extra bucks and fly Aer Lingus.

At the end of the day Michael O Leary is a brilliant business man and knows exactly how to make money, esp from a bad situation. Even his views on the budget when he was on the Ray D'Arcy show, they just made sense. I'd be for him running the country at this time. It'd be better than those shower of twats there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

As long as the guidelines set are: free health-care

Then yes, I think he'd do an excellent job. I don't think he's this evil guy that a lot of people make him out to be...where he doesn't know the difference between right or wrong.
    He does.

It'll be difficult to cut costs without affecting the service provided to sick patients, but if anyone can do it it's definitely O'Leary.

I think he'll start by charging A LOT more for private beds. People will moan and groan as they do with Ryanair, but if they want a private bed badly enough then they'll pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

to be quite honest i would give him command of the country altogether, forget the HSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Michael O'Leary is not over interested in profit. The goal of any business and hence it CEO is to maximise longterm shareholder wealth while maintaining the business as a viable entity. IE drive up the share price via company growth while at the same time providing reasonable dividends if appropriate. Profit just happens to feed into this directly.

i was just mocking his insinuation that running a business efficiently for profit was a bad thing, he's probably some bearded lefty that thinks aer lingus is wonderful for running a public service and keeping all those nice people employed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

keeping all those nice people employed.

just about

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I wouldn't let Michael O'Leary run a tap.

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

But would you let Mary Harney run Ryanair ?

There would be planes dropping out of the sky daily.

Plane tickets would cost €1,000 & other airline rivals would be obliged to subsidise their competitors.

You would need to drive around the airplane debris just to make it to work each day.

I think he would do a better job at the health service than Harney. A broken toothpick would do a better job running the health service than mary 'the jobs half done lets have some cake' harney.

With leary obviously the goal would not be to turn the health service into a profit making enterprise - just one that actually worked and cost a smidge less than the current level.