Bono slated by New Internationalist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Bono. pfft.

The cheek of him being finacially astute and sauccessful the world over.
    It sickens me to my very core.
    Even more than this guy and his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Bono is as useful as big tits on a nun - Fact.

there we go lads... Facts in the AH ?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

It's well known that U2 transferred a huge portion of their businesses outside of Ireland when the government changed the law about not taxing musicians and artists.

The man is a f*cking hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I don't think it's actually his name. :P

Paul David Hewson - Panda Should View

I think that says it all really.

Hi ho Silver!
    You got me Lone Ranger!

Now that's a tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Terry wrote: »
    I also heard that he eats African babies.

Would that some be the same some that other companies locate in Ireland to take advantage of our low corporation tax?

You don't have to move the entire company to take advantage of lower taxes for the entire company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Dell eat babies?

Apparently so.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I heard Bono's periods attract bears!

Is there no end to this man's outrageous behaviour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Ah don't be so harsh on yourself.

Would you like to buy some magic beans btw? They're magic.

Oooh... how much? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is there no end to this man's outrageous behaviour?

He came from a normal background and has made a lot of money through a very successful music career as well.

Some say that is his biggest crime of all:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

He came from a normal background and has made a lot of money through a very successful music career as well.

How convenient! Indeed! *holds braces*

He did get with them two lassies though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Ruu wrote: »

He's kinda 'hawt in that pic :o

:P

Only in Ireland and if you're Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Although he can act like a tit some times, I like the guy (not the music, though). Geldof and himself have certainly done more to highlight the plight of Africa over the years than all the begrudgers combined.

That Bono (or his accountant) has decided to move his royalty income to The Netherlands says nothing about the private contributions he decides to give (either financially or in terms of his own time/ image) to charitable organisations. It's a pathetically weak argument to say that by not paying royalty tax in Ireland - something he is perfectly entitled to do - he is effectively guilty of hypocrisy, and is cheating the cause he trumpets on about so much. One wonders how much of this royalty tax would go to Africa if it remained in Ireland (I'm guessing a tiny percentage), or if more money is really the solution. Certainly the objectives of Live 8 were more nuanced than simply throwing more money at the problem.

That article is pure gutter journalism - myopic, negative, hateful and without any substantive message other then conforming with the tiresome 'I hate Bono' troop.

Although he can act like a tit some times, I like the guy (not the music, though). Geldof and himself have certainly done more to highlight the plight of Africa over the years than all the begrudgers combined.

That Bono (or his accountant) has decided to move his royalty income to The Netherlands says nothing about the private contributions he decides to give (either financially or in terms of his own time/ image) to charitable organisations. It's a pathetically weak argument to say that by not paying royalty tax in Ireland - something he is perfectly entitled to do - he is effectively guilty of hypocrisy, and is cheating the cause he trumpets on about so much. One wonders how much of this royalty tax would go to Africa if it remained in Ireland (I'm guessing a tiny percentage), or if more money is really the solution. Certainly the objectives of Live 8 were more nuanced than simply throwing more money at the problem.

That article is pure gutter journalism - myopic, negative, hateful and without any substantive message other then conforming with the tiresome 'I hate Bono' troop.
    That's all well and good, but he eats African babies.

Who doesn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

That's a silly argument. Why is it only Bono who is hated worldwide, not just by the Irish? You never hear the rest of U2 derided in the press.

And there are plenty of other Irish musicians who are respected by their fellow countrymen and women.

Why is it that a pious, self-righteous twit like Bono is unpopular? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Ruu wrote: »
    How convenient! Indeed! *holds braces*

Two girls, one..................nah! Never mind!

eth0_ wrote: »
    That's a silly argument. Why is it only Bono who is hated worldwide, not just by the Irish? You never hear the rest of U2 derided in the press.

And there are plenty of other Irish musicians who are respected by their fellow countrymen and women.

He's doing fairly well for someone so unpopular.

As for the article, that news is about a year or more old.

Hated worldwide! How do you know this? No doubt through your objective and exhaustive research on the matter. Anyway, I'm quite sure that you could find a few folks around the world who like him - probably one or two in Africa.

Yes, he can be a bit of a gas bag, but whatever pious and insufferably self-righteous speechs you have to listen to (I personally can remember the last time I heard Bono giving a speech, let alone a pious and self-righteous one) really isn't that bad in comparison to the good, life changing causes he tries his best to promote.

Fair play to the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

that would be the rest of the band that not only support Bono's causes, but also played an equal part in moving their business to holland for tax reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

It's a pathetically weak argument to say that by not paying royalty tax in Ireland - something he is perfectly entitled to do - he is effectively guilty of hypocrisy, and is cheating the cause he trumpets on about so much.

au contraire, the argument is impressively strong. How can accusing a hypocrite of hypocrisy be a weak argument?
    One wonders how much of this royalty tax would go to Africa if it remained in Ireland (I'm guessing a tiny percentage), or if more money is really the solution. Certainly the objectives of Live 8 were more nuanced than simply throwing more money at the problem.

That kind use of percentages is misleading. We should look at the cost of Bono not paying taxes.

lets take U2. Lets assume that they earn 100 M a year in royalties. Lets assume we could tax that at 35%, thus we get about 35M. That 35M could go to Africa, deferring the need to tax the PAYE sector that 35M. How many taxpayers does it take to pay 35M?

Well, we take about 40% of a single worker's pay. The average industrial is about 40K. that's 16K per single average guy. So the 35M that U2 are not paying is equal to the entire tax take from about 2,100 single taxpayers, and more from all taxpayers. ( single taxpayers are taxed the highest).

Is 100M too high a figure? Maybe for U2. Not for all the people who tax exile themselves. Maybe its a billion in revenue.

It is also clearly ridiculous to demand that someone who earns 40K a year ( 0.4% of 100M) pay tax some of which has go to Africa because of the moral issue of the differential in wages between the West and Africa, but that the people on 100M a year don't have to.

It seems the principle of worldwide distribution of income is, like taxes, for the little people.

€100 million a year and that would all go to Africa?
    Are you ****ing joking?

The band are worth about €400 million between them.
    They would probably make about €10 million a year in royalties, if that.

They moved some, not all, some of their money to The Netherlands.

Anyone who honestly thinks that the government would set aside all taxes paid by U2 and give that money to African nations is as deluded as they seem to think Bono is.

That man does more good for charity than most of us put together will ever do.

Hypocricy? I say begrudgery.

asdasd wrote: »
    au contraire, the argument is impressively strong. How can accusing a hypocrite of hypocrisy be a weak argument?

I'm not overly impressed with playground debating tactics.
    asdasd wrote: »
    That kind use of percentages is misleading. We should look at the cost of Bono not paying taxes.

I never mentioned a number. You, on the other hand, have conjured the figure 100M from thin air and needlessly and emotively contrasted it against the finances of the ordinary, salt of the earth, punter. It all smacks of bitterness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Are you ****ing joking?

The band are worth about €400 million between them.
    They would probably make about €10 million a year in royalties, if that.

They moved some, not all, some of their money to The Netherlands.

Anyone who honestly thinks that the government would set aside all taxes paid by U2 and give that money to African nations is as deluded as they seem to think Bono is.

That man does more good for charity than most of us put together will ever do.
    Hypocricy? I say begrudgery.

Yeah but he's a shortarse and has a big nose! So there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

er. It all smacks of bitterness.

Naw. I wouldnt give a **** if he were not lecturing me on paying more taxes. were this a thread about Elton John not paying tax my sole contribution would be "Fair play Elton".

I said we could take 35%, so I got 35M. Ok so it is 3.5 M if they make 10M a year. Still a considerable sum. Instead of getting it from them, we get it from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

except that demanding that governments apportion a larger chuck of everybody else's tax contributions to any given cause while minimising your own tax exposure is still rankest hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Bono held the world record for being the worlds largest crap until October 2007.

He likes the bitty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,101 ✭✭✭✭walshb

And I thought I was the only one who could see thru Bono's act.

He's simply an egotist who is not in one bit genuine. He has to my
    knowledge, given next to zero of his own vast fortune to help
    alleviate any poverty ANYWHERE, including his own County Dublin.

And this crap of 'it's his own business and maybe he has given money' is crap.

As far as we know, he hasn't; because he has never said or never provided proof.

If he really wants to be taken serious as a 'SAINT,' then set a bloody example and
    prove to the people that you are serious. Show us what YOU Bono have done personally
    to alleviate poverty, apart from waffling and lecturing and meeting Pope's and Presidents and having your foto taken at every opportunity. That's all ego tripping and it doesn't fool me. Before you lecture my people and other countries people on how they should spend their hard earned tax; try pay your own bloody way; or donate a substantial portion of your wealth and record it and prove it; not just waffle and words!