customs vs eotech

• 19-11-2008 04:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭

Anyone have any details on customs recent habit to prevent all eotech replicas from getting to paying customers? they are even stoping stores from bringing in registered airsoft brands replica eotechs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Had a problem with my Eotech 553 ordered from ebaybanned a few months back. Once it was clarified that it was an airsoft replica sight and not a real one and that it was intended for use on an airsoft replica and not a real firearm then I got it delivered no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

kdouglas wrote: »
    Had a problem with my Eotech 553 ordered from ebaybanned a few months back. Once it was clarified that it was an airsoft replica sight and not a real one and that it was intended for use on an airsoft replica and not a real firearm then I got it delivered no problem.

How did you clarify it was intended for airsoft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Horse84

Got an eotech replica 552 from ebaybanned about 2 weeks ago along with a few other things. It was stopped and checked and I had to pay duty on it but other than that no problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

With the amount of people having to say that these sights are airsoft only to get them, what happens when a real sight is stopped, as in a kobra or some reasonably priced red dot that is real.

They aren't restricted or illegal in the first place, shouldn't that be the point pressed home?

Real Lasers, and night vision are restricted, thats it as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

With the amount of people having to say that these sights are airsoft only to get them, what happens when a real sight is stopped, as in a kobra or some reasonably priced red dot that is real.

They aren't restricted or illegal in the first place, shouldn't that be the point pressed home?

have to agree as far as im aware the real steel is not illegal anyway? im unshore on the law regarding real steel optics and red dots thought, but i've had Russian optics real steel stop but it was released without issue after i talked to them and explain to them what it was for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I got a Hurricane EoTech 551 about 18 months ago and I got it no problem, probably because I or ordered it from within the EU, you pay more with the VAT included but end up with less hassle with no customs charges and extra duty to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,178 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

When a real eotech box lands on your desk, you'll know. I've held & examined one.

I would have thought that myself.

Lemming wrote: »
    When a real eotech box lands on your desk, you'll know. I've held & examined one.

Odds are when I get a new ak74, I'll be getting a real Kobra red-dot, think russian eotech. I worry how customs will perceive it.

OMG it am teh real!

Ya, and its perfectly legal please send it to me.

No, it must be ballistically tested!

Its a freakin innanimate object, its not restricted.

And so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I think wolfarmouries.co.uk are selling what look like real deal EoTechs, they have 551s for €400 mark and NV compatable models also a 552 for around €500, they look like the real steel prices to me and I know Wolf are a bit expensive though:D.

They a L3 communications branded aswell which are a government equipent agency I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭MacAonghusa

Since real guns are legal and you can buy sights in the shops why would importing any kind of sight be an issue? Makes no sense. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Odds are when I get a new ak74, I'll be getting a real Kobra red-dot, think russian eotech. I worry how customs will perceive it.

already brought one in myself without any problems

Puding wrote: »
    have to agree as far as im aware the real steel is not illegal anyway? im unshore on the law regarding real steel optics and red dots thought, but i've had Russian optics real steel stop but it was released without issue after i talked to them and explain to them what it was for

Any time this issue pops up, I make a point of asking bullets or one of the shooters what the story is, and back when we were reading the legislation regarding lasers, I had a gander at what else was restricted.

IIRC it is completly legal to have real optics and sights, without restriction, as long as it isnt a visible laser or emits a beam of light, or enhances light, night vision.

If my sight gets stopped in future, I'll be sending a copy of the relevant legislation and clarifying it isnt a laser or night vision.
    I think thats all thats required.

Airsoft gear being stopped is just over reaction though.

I wonder if a spring has ever been stopped :D

Puding wrote: »
    already brought one in myself without any problems

As has Fiach.

It just takes one mistake at customs and all of a sudden, its red tape central tyring to get it back by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,178 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I wonder if a spring has ever been stopped :D

I believe someone had a spring stopped a few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well springs are quite dangerous lads... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

NOT WRITTEN AS THE IAA.

All kinds of everything get stopped by customs, not just EoTechs.

Springs,
    Gearboxes
    BB's
    Whole guns
    Inner barrels
    Receivers
    M203's
    Tac Vests

Everyone of the above has been reported as having been stopped, held up, searched and/or sent for ballistic testing and the majority of them have been stopped in the last 4 months.

The reason: Many of these products could be construed to be a component part of a firearm under the definitions in the CJA2006 (yes, THAT problem again). According to the DoJ and a couple of other sources the unprecedented rise in popularity of airsoft has become a concern for the customs officials whom, understandably, have to ensure that items entering the country are not illegal. They are not firearms or airsoft experts nor are the qualified as ballistic scientists (mostly) and as such they can not make a call as to whether or not the devices are real or imitation, dangerous or not dangerous, CJA2006 compliant or not compliant. Considering that tonnes of airsoft equipment is entering Ireland on a nearly daily basis it is not suprising that they are stepping up the hold proceedure to ensure that dangerous products are not being brought into the country.

To the average airsofter this seems draconian (and viewed from an educated position it is just that) but put yourself in the shoes of the individual running an x-ray machine or examining boxes with pictures of what appear to be functional NATO weaponry - if you had to make the call with limited training and information, what decision would you make?

To us the measures and restrictions may seem unreasonable, but we have the education and exposure, we know the difference and the science behind all of it - we can't assume that everyone else does or even that they have the time to learn. While this remains the case it is safer for the person doing the check to err on the side of caqution and hold the device until someone or something answers the fundamental question: is it legal.

So where does this leave us? Well, if I'm honest, not in a very good position. Airsoft is imported in large quantities (especially the lower end, cheap and nasty stuff destined to grace the shelves of head shops and fly-by-nighters) and the time and effort involved in checking all of this makes life difficult for the people in customs. It means that they have to expend disproportionate man hours to examining and checking boxes which could be better spent looking for things that are actually against the law or in breach of the customs duty acts. In order to train up the individuals who are likely to come in contact with the kit it would mean a reduced workforce during the training period (from what I've heard customs is over stretched as it is) and begs the question: who supplies the training? What will the training consist of? How long will it take to implement? How much will it cost? Who will bear the burden of these expenses?

Further the benefit of such training to the customs people is going to be dubious anyway since they are still not ballistic experts and are under equipped to perform testing to any recognisable level (our chronographs are not accurate enouogh to stand up to questions in court which is the standard that would be required). The equipment would still be held or sent on to garda ballistics (who have their own problems and yet are inundated with requests for checks on airsoft kit at present).

So what is the answer? At the moment, not a lot. The IAA have been working on various solutions as indicated previously but these take time and are bourne of limited resources. In many cases the kit is being held until the authorities can ascertain whether the kit is being sent to responsible adults etc (as our own Keith Douglas can attest to) trouble is - how do they know one way or the other?

For now the best thing you can do if you are confronted with your device being held by the authorities is to be co-operative and patient - you arent their only case. Take your time, answer their questions, provide themwith evidence supporting your case that you are a responsible individual and that the device is legal under legislation. Allow them time to confirm these things themselves. Don't lose the head, don't get aggressive (regardless of how justified you might feel about doing so - believe me, I understand).

Things that will help your case
    A copy of your purchase receipt and any correspondence with the supplier with regard to downgrades etc.
    A copy of the advert you bought it under (particularly where it mentions the muzzle energy)
    A copy of the relevant CJA2006 article defining a firearm as a device with a muzzle energy in excess of 1 joule.
    A copy of your IAA membership (if you have one).
    Copies of your personal identification.
    Patience.

Thats about all I can say on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

'the unprecedented rise in popularity of airsoft'

well thats certainly nice to hear......

well i do posses 2 firearms licsenses for 3 years now so even if they say they are for real firearms and not airsoft i probably could send a photocopy of them stamped by the local sarge? had to do this before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

G3-Nut wrote: »
    well i do posses 2 firearms licsenses for 3 years now so even if they say they are for real firearms and not airsoft i probably could send a photocopy of them stamped by the local sarge? had to do this before

Just outta curiosity - What prompted this thread ? Have you had something stopped ?

G3-Nut wrote: »

I wouldnt.

Don't associate your airsoft with your real firearms because this is precisely what the authorities are worried about. "The big scary thing like off the TV" If they believe that your EoTech is going to wind up on a real firearm (whether that is your intention or not) it is likely to get it stopped permanently.

Remember, the lasers issue? Because the kit it was being mounted to didnt qualify as a firearm it was viewed as not being a "component part" (essentially) - however- the stipulation was that it needed to be manufactured for a non-firearm and the issue of whether it would become illegal should it be attached to a live device was never actually answered (lets not drag the whole thing up again, it's just an example).

Shiva wrote: »
    Just outta curiosity - What prompted this thread ? Have you had something stopped ?

Ya:(

I wouldnt.

Don't associate your airsoft with your real firearms because this is precisely what the authorities are worried about. "The big scary thing like off the TV" If they believe that your EoTech is going to wind up on a real firearm (whether that is your intention or not) it is likely to get it stopped permanently.

Seconded.

When my Eotech was stopped, I had two Garda detectives call to my door about it. One of the first things they asked was do I have any real firearms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

Seconded.

When my Eotech was stopped, I had two Garda detectives call to my door about it. One of the first things they asked was do I have any real firearms.

christ, i bet that meant you had no issues in the digestive transit arena for a while...

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 DavDav

Seconded.

Jeasus not the type of fellas ya want calling to the door!:eek: Hope they left you and your stuff alone.

Do any of ye lads know if this is still happening? the stopping of stuff not the garda appearing at the door and givin ya a spare underpants moment! I was gonna get one of those ACOG things fomr one of those china shops, not much point if the lads in customs head off with it for checks and stuff.

DavDav wrote: »
    Jeasus not the type of fellas ya want calling to the door!:eek: Hope they left you and your stuff alone.

Do any of ye lads know if this is still happening? the stopping of stuff not the garda appearing at the door and givin ya a spare underpants moment! I was gonna get one of those ACOG things fomr one of those china shops, not much point if the lads in customs head off with it for checks and stuff.

At the moment you are better off buying Irish (in my opinion you always are). You'll spend a few quid more but you wont have to wait three weeks to be told that it's being sent for examination by Garda Ballistics or some such.

No need for spare underpants moments, I'd nothing to hide.

I brought the Gardai in, explained to them a little about airsoft (they knew nothing about it) and showed them some of my kit. Be helpful and welcoming and you wont have any problems if you ever do have any dealings with Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

Well I've a ACOG (a 4x scope not the red dot) that customs were playing with for the last week that winging its way to me, but all they wanted was to charge me the vat.

I'd imagine you'd be fine importing it but you can always try one of the Irish shops and see if they have it or are able to get one for you.

Eirsoft sell a wonderfull acog for 70 quid, its G&G too so you can believe me when i say its tough