kdouglas wrote: » Had a problem with my Eotech 553 ordered from ebaybanned a few months back. Once it was clarified that it was an airsoft replica sight and not a real one and that it was intended for use on an airsoft replica and not a real firearm then I got it delivered no problem.
With the amount of people having to say that these sights are airsoft only to get them, what happens when a real sight is stopped, as in a kobra or some reasonably priced red dot that is real. They aren't restricted or illegal in the first place, shouldn't that be the point pressed home?
Stercus Accidit wrote: » With the amount of people having to say that these sights are airsoft only to get them, what happens when a real sight is stopped, as in a kobra or some reasonably priced red dot that is real.
They aren't restricted or illegal in the first place, shouldn't that be the point pressed home?
Lemming wrote: » When a real eotech box lands on your desk, you'll know. I've held & examined one.
Odds are when I get a new ak74, I'll be getting a real Kobra red-dot, think russian eotech. I worry how customs will perceive it.
Puding wrote: » have to agree as far as im aware the real steel is not illegal anyway? im unshore on the law regarding real steel optics and red dots thought, but i've had Russian optics real steel stop but it was released without issue after i talked to them and explain to them what it was for
Puding wrote: » already brought one in myself without any problems
Stercus Accidit wrote: » I wonder if a spring has ever been stopped
G3-Nut wrote: » well i do posses 2 firearms licsenses for 3 years now so even if they say they are for real firearms and not airsoft i probably could send a photocopy of them stamped by the local sarge? had to do this before
Shiva wrote: » Just outta curiosity - What prompted this thread ? Have you had something stopped ?
Hivemind187 wrote: » I wouldnt. Don't associate your airsoft with your real firearms because this is precisely what the authorities are worried about. "The big scary thing like off the TV" If they believe that your EoTech is going to wind up on a real firearm (whether that is your intention or not) it is likely to get it stopped permanently.
kdouglas wrote: » Seconded. When my Eotech was stopped, I had two Garda detectives call to my door about it. One of the first things they asked was do I have any real firearms.
Fallschirmjager wrote: » christ, i bet that meant you had no issues in the digestive transit arena for a while...
DavDav wrote: » Jeasus not the type of fellas ya want calling to the door!:eek: Hope they left you and your stuff alone. Do any of ye lads know if this is still happening? the stopping of stuff not the garda appearing at the door and givin ya a spare underpants moment! I was gonna get one of those ACOG things fomr one of those china shops, not much point if the lads in customs head off with it for checks and stuff.