Are you ashamed of where you come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

I grew up in Cork, so yes I am very much ashamed of that. It is a horrible horrible place

Cough... BS(either that or you were there till you were 2 - and now you disparage it to ingratiate yourself with your mates - either way bad form)

I know that song. Isnt it "Get the **** out of here you*****ing ***** ***** of a ********* and ******* the ***** off ******* with a melon"

No, but if you sung those lyrics, you would probably get this part of the song...

"When I woke up I was all alone

With a broken heart and a ticket home"

You certainly wouldn't get this part of the song...

"And she asked me up to her flat downtown"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Nope, not ashamed at all.
    I love telling people I'm from Mallow, you can see the fear in their eyes - they're thinking "He's gonna steal and burn my car isn't he?" :pac:

It's funny because Mallow isn't that rough at all. And I'm not from the actual town, I'm from the country about 11km from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Walkinstown. Nodoby cares :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I hate being asked where I'm from, but more because I can never answer it properly. Moved around a lot, like a nomad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

JohnGalt thats says more about them then you.
    I grew up in finglas lived there from age 3 to age 21.
    I've had people be shocked and surprised when I have said that, cos I am not a skanger,
    which only shows their own ignorance and predjuice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

luckylucky wrote: »
    Cough... BS(either that or you were there till you were 2 - and now you disparage it to ingratiate yourself with your mates - either way bad form)

Nope, I was born in Dublin but moved to Cork when I was like 3 and stayed there till I finished school and could get the fuck out of there. I still have alot of friends there (and family) but I rarely go cos I just dont like the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Thaedydal wrote: »
    JohnGalt thats says more about them then you.
    I grew up in finglas lived there from age 3 to age 21.
    I've had people be shocked and surprised when I have said that, cos I am not a skanger,
    which only shows their own ignorance and predjuice.

I get that too, it varies though my friends Mam, told me that I don't even sound like I'm from Dublin, but then I have others tell me my accent is really thick. I just have a normal accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Meh, I'm not ashamed. But I have become cynical about talking to people in College after one too many "we don't hear many with your accent around here" comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Not ashamed at all but on nights out and stuff I may get a few comments thrown my way. I am from a very nice area in Dublin and generally I will get these ****wits from working class areas acting like I must not have worked a day in my life to get to where I am and relied on 'daddy' to sort me out my whole life. That somehow because they grew up in a financially less well off area that their achievements are superior to mine.

I am a bit out of place in my line of work as in usually it would be rough lads working my job who tend to come from rough areas so you cannot even begin to imagine the stick I get from coming from the area I do. In fact in some places I have worked the co workers have actually gone and complained to the owner that they don't feel I am up to the job because of where I am from!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

That just goes to show it doesn't matter where you are from, people will still discriminate against you. It's the people who treat you like that for no reason that should be ashamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭lostinnappies

I am ashamed of Ireland in general. Having lived outside for a number of years and seen what other nationallities actually think of us im inclined to agree with them (after being in denile for a long time).

Ireland is now seen as a country filled with nothing but corrupt politicians, inept builders, a failing health care system and nothing but chancers who would try and convince you to part with every cent you have for an inferior service/product.

As they say themselves "its a nice place to visit, but i wouldnt want to live there"

You dont have to agree with me, im thinking not many people will. This is just my own personal observation ..... im just waiting for an ear bashing of how wrong I am, but you wont convince me otherwise.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i bought a house in finglas 4 years, am orginally from wicklow. i have to say it is disgracefil the reaction you get when people hear you live in finglas.

but i am not ashamed to say i live there. My manager very seriously asked me if sold drugs in finglas, is that why i moved there!!!!

My manager very seriously asked me if sold drugs in finglas, is that why i moved there!!!!

I very, very much doubt that.

i bought a house in finglas 4 years, am orginally from wicklow. i have to say it is disgracefil the reaction you get when people hear you live in finglas.

but i am not ashamed to say i live there. My manager very seriously asked me if sold drugs in finglas, is that why i moved there!!!!

Ha ha, good one............wait, what? I hope you didn't take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Grew up in, and currently living in a council estate. I'm 25. Parents and most neighbours own their houses at this stage but there are some people (single mothers etc) who are living there for free.

Estate is in a nice town in Munster but the estate itself wouldn't have the best reputation. Went through it the other day and every second house has kids or parents with serious drug or drink problems. Cant believe my mother managed to raise and get 4 boys through 3 levels of education without one of us being a mess.

I'm not ashamed of it at all (very proud of my parents actually) but I do feel others in the town would look down on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

I am ashamed of Ireland in general. Having lived outside for a number of years and seen what other nationallities actually think of us im inclined to agree with them (after being in denile for a long time).

Ireland is now seen as a country filled with nothing but corrupt politicians, inept builders, a failing health care system and nothing but chancers who would try and convince you to part with every cent you have for an inferior service/product.

As they say themselves "its a nice place to visit, but i wouldnt want to live there"

You dont have to agree with me, im thinking not many people will. This is just my own personal observation ..... im just waiting for an ear bashing of how wrong I am, but you wont convince me otherwise.

i doubt very much that much foreigners actually have that much interest in ireland that they wud know about our corrupt politicians, health care and inept builders etc n i think many countries prob think the same about their own place.

me thinks ur talking ****e.

and how is the actions of a goverment, an opinion on ''us''??? they could hardly know anything about the place unless they lived here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

reading these threads makes me think that ireland is turning into a class society-accents are great i always say never trust a man without a accent -when i meet some one with a accent i know i can trust him -too many people in the uk are trying to put on a false [queens english-posh] accents. be proud of your accent it tells your character.

I very, very much doubt that.

really do you not? i grow my own organic vegetables and one day, i brought few shopping bags full of herbs in to work to give out and he said "we know why you moved to finglas now, so you can sell your "marjuana (sp) on the street corners"

This guy also asked one of the african guys "how many wives are you allowed in your tribe?"

he said to one of the girls from Palmerstown, "you can deal with the phone calls from the northside because at leas they will be able understand you"

really do you not? i grow my know organic vegetables and one day, i brought few shopping bags full of herbs in to work to give out and he "we know why you moved to finglas now, so you can sell your "marjuana (sp) on the street corner"

This guy also asked one of the african guys "how many wives are you allowed in your tribe?"

he said to one of the girls from Palmerstown, "you can deal with the phone calls from the northside because they will understand you"

Please tell me this is a guy in the retail/supermarket/hotel/restaurant business? I've worked in a lot of places, and I wouldn't be surprised one bit if it came from a person in a managerial position in any of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

really do you not? i grow my own organic vegetables and one day, i brought few shopping bags full of herbs in to work to give out and he said "we know why you moved to finglas now, so you can sell your "marjuana (sp) on the street corners"

he said to one of the girls from Palmerstown, "you can deal with the phone calls from the northside because at leas they will be able understand you"

You work for David Brent? :pac:

Oh and one thing I will say, is that usually reputations come about for some reason. I would have no problem with someone saying "Vegeta, you live in that estate, its fairly rough isn't it" because its true. I would have a problem if they called me a scumbag just for living there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

20 years ago OP's question would not have being asked because a large % of the people who now live in other Leafy suburbs would have being born there and quite proud of it to, so it say's how much ireland has changed in that time .Address should not be an indication that a person is of lower class or inferior in any way .Poorer / less well off maybe .

Sounds like the guy is making jokes. Do you have a sense of humour?

I mean I doubt if he actually thought you were selling marijuana he would of let you hand it out to your co workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I come from a council house on the Southside and I've got a good few friends from Blackrock and Foxrock etc. I tend to shy away about where I come from but whenever I mention it, they're all cool about it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Vegeta wrote: »
    Grew up in, and currently living in a council estate. I'm 25. Parents and most neighbours own their houses at this stage but there are some people (single mothers etc) who are living there for free.

Estate is in a nice town in Munster but the estate itself wouldn't have the best reputation. Went through it the other day and every second house has kids or parents with serious drug or drink problems. Cant believe my mother managed to raise and get 4 boys through 3 levels of education without one of us being a mess.

I'm not ashamed of it at all (very proud of my parents actually) but I do feel others in the town would look down on it.

Fair play to your mother. ;)

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Please tell me this is a guy in the retail/supermarket/hotel/restaurant business? I've worked in a lot of places, and I wouldn't be surprised one bit if it came from a person in a managerial position in any of the above.

He is an accountant
    Vegeta wrote: »
    You work for David Brent? :pac:

David Brent is funny
    Sounds like the guy is making jokes. Do you have a sense of humour?

I mean I doubt if he actually thought you were selling marijuana he would of let you hand it out to your co workers.

No, he wasnt making a joke, he is the ultimate snob. he keep telling everyone how much his is worth, even though he is 46 and lives with his mother.

he could tell you so many other things he said, this guy is the ultimate snob, he thinks because he is from terunure and his house is worth €2 million, he is better then anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭chalad07

I'm from a council estate, and if anyone has a problem with that i'll break their ****ing face in,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

How many of people's experiences are just from jokes though?

I get ribbed in work all the time for growing up in Tallaght but I know it's only a joke.

We call one of our best mates (a northern protestant), Billy or Hun, or some of our country mates stuff like Silage head, and whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

OP, I'm ashamed on your behalf, if you won't have the decency to be ashamed of being from Finglas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

he could tell you so many other things he said, this guy is the ultimate snob, he thinks because he is from terunure and his house is worth €2 million, he is better then anyone else.
    Bricks and mortar are a poor example of superiority .Sounds like an asshole