Study clears cannabis of schizophrenia rap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Toiletroll wrote: »
    That comment actually tells me that you want to be spoon fed I'm afriad.

V for Vendetta - check it out ;)

Might be your dream universe :P

eh? Is this turning into a FIGHT TEH POWAH!!

Maybe you should stop posting links to support your pro-drugs views and read the charter first.

You attacked a poster and not his post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I dont agree that its harmless. I do not drink and its far more hamfull.

I want to be able to CHOOSE the lesser of two evils.

I hope this can make logical sense to some of the other people above...

If you're so massively successful, why don't you use your vast wealth to go public. Do a Ganley and start your own pro-drug political party. You could call it The Social Delusionist Party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Toiletroll

I am so surprised that any time I post a thread on here about this subject the plethora of personal attacks that come my way is rediculous.

I may be successful but that takes 100% of my day. In the future I may just go public! Who knows?

But if I had loads of time on my hands, then that would be a complaint in itself.

Generally the people who respond to my posts start off with a personal attack for good measure. That tells me enough in itself, so I keep posting to find out who is who... Interesting times

Now everyone - Back OT :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I am so surprised that any time I post a thread on here about this subject the plethora of personal attacks that come my way is rediculous.
    I have looked through a couple of your posts. I now conclude that you are an idiot.

The only one throwing personal attacks around here is you.

I may be successful but that takes 100% of my day. In the future I may just go public! Who knows?

But if I had loads of time on my hands, then that would be a complaint in itself.

Generally the people who respond to my posts start off with a personal attack for good measure. That tells me enough in itself, so I keep posting to find out who is who... Interesting times

Now everyone - Back OT :P

Persecution complex? :eek: Advising someone to put their money where their mouth is is not a personal attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

There are always exceptions, that's what make them exceptional. All I know is that since I quit smoking every day I no longer walk around feeling like my head is clouded by a perpetual fog and I can now pay attention to something for more than 15 seconds that isn't a repeat of "Friends."

Most people who smoke cannabis don't smoke every day. Of course you'll have a foggy head and lack concentration WHILE YOU'RE STONED. The intelligent smokers will go out and do a days work, come home, and perhaps have a joint after dinner / while watching a movie the odd night.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Persecution complex? :eek: Advising someone to put their money where their mouth is is not a personal attack.

No that post is fine and I responded that I may do it in the future. Why go to the bother of doing something unless you know that you can commit enough time for that "something" to succeed... I cant believe how you can take that from what I posted. Shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

"Study clears cannabis of schizophrenia rap"

I'm 'both' of us are glad to hear it ;)

marcsignal wrote: »
    "Study clears cannabis of schizophrenia rap"

I'm 'both' of us are glad to hear it ;)

Lol. Did Lucy 'come' round for dinner again? ;)

No that post is fine and I responded that I may do it in the future. Why go to the bother of doing something unless you know that you can commit enough time for that "something" to succeed... I cant believe how you can take that from what I posted. Shocking

If you're shocked by what I said, your perception levels must have all gone to pot. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

As someone who can count the amount of joints he's ever smoked on two hands, I am astounded by the sheer amount of petulant aggression directed at someone who claims to be both a smoker and successful.

Such bitterness, it's bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭wordcount

What do the studies say about it turning you into a paranoid, self obsessed, boring, dope head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭wordcount

TPD wrote: »
    Most people who smoke cannabis don't smoke every day. Of course you'll have a foggy head and lack concentration WHILE YOU'RE STONED. The intelligent smokers will go out and do a days work, come home, and perhaps have a joint after dinner / while watching a movie the odd night.

Do you know how increadably sad that sounds. I really pity the person who comes home after work has his dinner and smolkes a joint. How very sad. Probably a couple of kids in bed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

The OP was good but a shower of idiots have made this an unpleasant thread. GG.

Kold wrote: »
    The OP was good but a shower of idiots have made this an unpleasant thread. GG.

So true...

Zillah wrote: »
    As someone who can count the amount of joints he's ever smoked on two hands, I am astounded by the sheer amount of petulant aggression directed at someone who claims to be both a smoker and successful.

Such bitterness, it's bizarre.

There won't be any aggression in thirty years time, just a planet entirely populated with chilled out cabbage-like beings who won't give a flying fig about anything. Spacers - the final frontier.

Yes a society without agression. What a great idea.

Perhaps we can use the extra time to expand our knowledge.

Whereas most people today just live to pay... They live within their own confined realm and small minded views on certain issues.

wordcount wrote: »
    Do you know how increadably sad that sounds. I really pity the person who comes home after work has his dinner and smolkes a joint. How very sad. Probably a couple of kids in bed too.

How is that any different from having a glass of wine, a whiskey or brandy?

Also, your whole "probably a couple of kids in bed too" thing reeks of biased hysteria. Step three is eating the children because of munchies, right?

haha so true. I feel sorry for a majority of members that I have come across on boards. I can understand the narrowmindedness of the few but to have such an overwhelmingly large amount of such people scares the hell out of me! I fear for the future... Well if the recession / depression hits worse in the coming years at least the bul****ters will be "weeded" out and the true innovators get their chance to shine... Oh how the world works... love it / hate it... I love it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Or the nightly crywank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

mp3guy wrote: »
    I don't know any intelligent people who smoke cannabis on a regular basis.
    Grimes wrote: »
    And just like mp3guy I have never met an intelligent person who smokes onn a regular basis.
    So what % of people that you meet would you describe as intelligent? And do you really quiz them all about their drug intake? Many people will not openly disclose their drug use to some friends and colleagues, I expect the more intelligent they are the more they keep it under wraps n (i.e. high up businessmen with their job at risk). There is a huge stigma against users, you only have to read this and similar threads. People are branded as stupid stoners. People know these hypocritical opinions are out there so just try and avoid them, and do not want to be branded by self-righteous people who usually use a different drug of choice.

I imagine your opinions are based on over use, i.e. it is blatantly obvious that they are smokers, the equivalent to a wino.
    Research published in the medical journal The Lancet rates the most dangerous drugs (starting with the worst) as follows:
    1. Heroin
    2. Cocaine
    3. Barbiturates
    4. Street methadone
    5. Alcohol
    6. Ketamine
    7. Benzodiazepines
    8. Amphetamine
    9. Tobacco
    10. Buprenorphine
    11. Cannabis
    12. Solvents
    13. 4-MTA
    14. LSD
    15. Methylphenidate
    16. Anabolic steroids
    17. GHB
    18. Ecstasy
    19. Alkyl nitrates
    20. Khat

I'm still in favour of decriminalisation but it's plainly untrue to say that it's harmless.
    Of course it is not harmless. Not sure how it came about but some people apply a strange logic that cannabis must first be proven to be totally harmless before even considering making it legal again. This is not the case for any other drugs though. Many drugs with potential for harm are legal, as should be the case.
    Oh no think of the kids:rolleyes: Many will also go home and have a glass of wine or pint to unwind too. How very sad:rolleyes:. It is a simple form of self medicated stress relief, the real sad thing is he is branded a criminal.
    http://www.leap.cc/cms/index.php

Yes a society without agression. What a great idea.

Perhaps we can use the extra time to expand our knowledge.

Whereas most people today just live to pay... They live within their own confined realm and pre-historic views on certain issues.

The use of mind-altering drugs is pre-historic, therefore so unbelievably primitive.

I've lost count of the friends and relatives who went down this path. There was no convincing them - they lost the plot - and everything else in the end.

There's no convincing people like you because you're in a deep rut. I hope that one day you'll find the guts to climb out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Baffles me that people are claiming to not know any intelligent people who smoke weed.

I guess Carl Sagan just isn't up to your particular level of genius? The Beatles? Bob Dylan? Various other musicians? Arthur Conan Doyle? Irvine Welsh? Thomas Jefferson? Shakespeare? Oscar Wilde? Nietsche? Hemmingway? Hunter S. Thompson?!

Must all be a bunch of idiots...

Marijuana is better for you than tobacco or alcohol. Or, at the very least, a lot less harmful with added medical benefits. It needs to be legalized. It's hypocritical to keep it as is.

rubadub wrote: »
    So what % of people that you meet would you describe as intelligent? And do you really quiz them all about their drug intake? Many people will not openly disclose their drug use to some friends and colleagues, I expect the more intelligent they are the more they keep it under wraps n (i.e. high up businessmen with their job at risk). There is a huge stigma against users, you only have to read this and similar threads. People are branded as stupid stoners. People know these hypocritical opinions are out there so just try and avoid them, and do not want to be branded by self-righteous people who usually use a different drug of choice.

I imagine your opinions are based on over use, i.e. it is blatantly obvious that they are smokers, the equivalent to a wino.

Of course it is not harmless. Not sure how it came about but some people apply a strange logic that cannabis must first be proven to be totally harmless before even considering making it legal again. This is not the case for any other drugs though. Many drugs with potential for harm are legal, as should be the case.

Oh no think of the kids:rolleyes: Many will also go home and have a glass of wine or pint to unwind too. How very sad:rolleyes:. It is a simple form of self medicated stress relief, the real sad thing is he is branded a criminal.

Fantastic post my man/woman! :D

Not everything from the past is primitive.

Go build the great Pyramids... I bet you can't! The Egyptians couldnt match them either!

We have been drinking tea for thousands of years. Its both good and bad for you. Ani-oxidants & Caffene... Mind altering etc...

Make the tea illegal! nnnnnnnnaaaaaarrrrooooooooooooo
    The use of mind-altering drugs is pre-historic, therefore so unbelievably primitive.

I've lost count of the friends and relatives who went down this path. There was no convincing them - they lost the plot - and everything else in the end.

There's no convincing people like you because you're in a deep rut. I hope that one day you'll find the guts to climb out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

Grimes wrote: »
    What about the social effects? What people want to do to themselves is grand but when peolple do things that effect society then it becomes societies business.And just like mp3guy I have never met an intelligent person who smokes onn a regular basis.

My intelligent friend gave it up after he heard of Schizophrenia running in his family.

Although even still I don't think he smoked it that often anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yay, another cannabis thread.

*yawn*

He just told you that he's running a successful business! Have you decided he is lying or are you just so biased you've ignored that fact? Why is it so hard to accept that someone might actually be both happy/successful and a cannabis smoker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Yet its perfectly acceptable to come home after dinner and have a beer, glass of wine, or maybe even more?

If I were a child I would much rather be minded by a stoned person than a drunk person.

I would rather everyone was stoned when they pile out of clubs at 2 in the morning. Violence would drop sharply, sales in fast food places would increase dramatically.

Seriously, you are the one who sounds sad. You can't let people enjoy themselves. You may not like smoking, you may know people who have taken it too far, but that does not mean it is wrong, or that others shouldn't be allowed. I pity you, in fact. You are narrow minded, and yet you will probably think I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

On the fence for cannabis use. Like i said, I haven't meet many intelligent cannabis users. Infact one was quite intelligent then smoked himself into a retard. It seemed as easy as a nicotine addiction.

A question for the pro-cannabis posters.

Do you seriously think an Irish government is going to make cannabis legal?