TV License

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

It is possible to pay it in installments, you know?

It's also possible to make a principled stand and tell them to go fu*k themselves! Paying that for 800K a year for Pat Kenny and 400K for Gerry Ryan, two walking advertisements for not paying a TV licence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

I possess an electric cooker, a microwave, an electric kettle, and one of those electric thingies for opening cans although I never have used it. I have always wondered why the government hasn't woken up to the tax opportunities there. After all, like a TV set, they could be defined as luxury items that the politicians seem to have a thing about (but not ministerial Mercedes). I could cook my food on an open fire on the sitting room floor, could heat things by shaking them vigorously, and could open cans with a hatchet. Ah, but the difference of course is that the TV can receive a signal while the other things can't. So who owns the signal? The government? Who gave them ownership?

Anyway, according to the press the whole business is going to change tomorrow. BL (apt initials) is apparently going to impose swinging carbon taxes, so no doubt TV sets will attract some of that in addition to the licence fee. Oh, and I don't accept that RTE is crap. It's much worse than that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,647 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

oleras wrote: »
    Did the previous licence expire on Aug 31 2008 ? If so, that should answer your question.

No, it was my first ever licence.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭NibNib

syklops wrote: »
    I have just received a letter called a Statutory Declaration telling me to declare whether I have a license or not. I have to return this within 14 days or I will get a fine. If I renew my TV license now, and then wait a week or so for it to come out, and then fill out the statutory form with the details, will I be ok?

I think you can pay for the 160quid license in the post office and get the license straight away without having to wait. Then you should be able to declare you do have a license? However, the 160quid won't last you for the year. It will expire on the day you 1st acquired your license next time round...

I also find it hard to cough up the 160euro in one go (probably will go up again for next year). So I buy TV license stamps each month from the post office. They are 4euro each. It didn't seem as painful when I paid for the license this year after doing that religiously for 12months!

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I filled in the direct debit mandate for the tv licence last year.
    My previous licence had expired so I decided to do it the easy way by paying by the month. However, the first payment taken from my account was the full €158 because I had been in arrears. As far as I was concerned they broke the direct debit contract by trying to take the full amount so I cancelled it and called them and the woman I spoke to agreed with me that they broke the rules by trying to take the full amount. By pure chance I didn't have enough cash in my account at the time to pay the DD.
    I have since received several letters from them asking me to renew the licence, but why should I pay for a new licence when they show the same f*cking crap year in year out.
    Haven't heard from them in months now..
    A woman I used to work with was brought to court by them, and had since gotten a licence, she told me that all she did was go into court with the licence, the judge asked if she had a licence, she showed it to him and the case was dismissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

pingpongz wrote: »
    Lol, you actually pay your tv licence?

Yeah, those losers. Many lolz at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

+1 what would happen if no one paid their license.

and i dont get the argument that the license is for the tv itself and not rte, where the f' does the money go. of course it is for rte and lol at anyone who pays it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

syklops wrote: »
    I bought a TV license last year when I bought a funky new telly (32" LCD) and it ran out a few weeks ago. I got a letter telling me to renew it, and I couldnt afford to renew it at the time(who can afford to spend 160 quid out of the blue, the same month as the ESB and Gas Bill?).

I have just received a letter called a Statutory Declaration telling me to declare whether I have a license or not. I have to return this within 14 days or I will get a fine. If I renew my TV license now, and then wait a week or so for it to come out, and then fill out the statutory form with the details, will I be ok?

I really do think the TV license is a load of Bollix and that the administration uses up the money you pay in the first place. No wonder they have no money left to show anything decent on RTE.

Now I'm no expert, but as far as I know you're supposed to pay it every year, so then it's hardly out of the blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Vain wrote: »
    Iv a great idea just pretend you don't speak english when they call to your door. Im almost certain they dont speak english is Barbados.. So say your from Barbados:pac:
    Call them racist and tell them you speak Bajan, not English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

woah, woah, people actually pay this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mollydolly271

Get a video camera, record your microwave making some soup. Connect said video camera up to the t.v. When the inspector comes, flick on the video. "Eh, it's not a tv, just a giant flat microwave with a humongous bowl of soup inside it..."

lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

Lads I have a TV license & its up in Jan i have no intention on renewing it , i live in an apartment complex & cant see myself living there that long.

Can I say I have sold my tv end of story nice doing business with you? how would they follow something like that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

utick wrote: »
    +1 what would happen if no one paid their license.

and i dont get the argument that the license is for the tv itself and not rte, where the f' does the money go. of course it is for rte and lol at anyone who pays it

It pays the likes of Pat F***in Kenny 800 grand a year or 29 grand a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I know an old guy and when the inspector called to see his TV license he told the inspector that he didn't have a TV. The inspector said to him
    "ya have an aerial on the roof"

To which the old guy returned quick as a light
    "I've got milk in the fridge, but that doesn't mean I have a cow".

The inspector walked away and left him alone then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Lads I have a TV license & its up in Jan i have no intention on renewing it , i live in an apartment complex & cant see myself living there that long.

Can I say I have sold my tv end of story nice doing business with you? how would they follow something like that up.

You will be posted a statutory declaration form, where you must declare whether or not you have a TV.
    Its a criminal offence not to fill in this form, and a criminal offence to lie on this form (supposedly more serious offences than not a having a TV License).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

It the declaration form is address to "the householder" just bin it it has no legal value as you cannot charge "the householder" with any offence.

In your own name then a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

It the declaration form is address to "the householder" just bin it it has no legal value as you cannot charge "the householder" with any offence.

In your own name then a different story.

And if they spelled your name wrong?
    They keep bothering me with this ****. Already "escaped" court once a few years ago.
    I can easily afford the 160, no problem there. But if i spend 160 i want something nice for it.
    it is not even the **** you see on RTE that bothers me. That is a matter of taste or not.
    The thing that annoyes me most is the commercial breaks every 15/20 minutes. Just as much as on TV3, Sky or any other of the commercial channels.
    Pay the 160 and get rid of commercial breaks? I might consider it but now it just feels wrong to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

inforfun wrote: »

Unless the spelling is wildly different no good. If you are only staying a couple of more months in the apartment you should go the ignore all correspondence route. In a court of law only letters where they are registered and you sign for them are accepted as proof of delivery, all other correspondence is bluff. So needless to say do not accept registered post during this period.

The appartment keeps the inspector at arms length so its hard to get caught red handed.

Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

inforfun wrote: »
    They keep bothering me with this ****. Already "escaped" court once a few years ago.
    I can easily afford the 160, no problem there. But if i spend 160 i want something nice for it.
    it is not even the **** you see on RTE that bothers me. That is a matter of taste or not.
    The thing that annoyes me most is the commercial breaks every 15/20 minutes. Just as much as on TV3, Sky or any other of the commercial channels.
    Pay the 160 and get rid of commercial breaks? I might consider it but now it just feels wrong to pay.
    I'm in America right now. i would give ANYTHING to have RTE style commercial breaks here. Words cannot describe how frustrating these ads are.
    Let's see: you have the ad break after the opening credits, ad breaks every 5 or 10 minutes, and my favourite one, the one BEFORE the end credits! There are 17 minutes worth of ads for your average hour long show.

So I forked out an extra 40 dollars a month for DVR. Record all the shows and watch them an hour later where you can fast forward the ads. It's STILL frustrating even then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

I personally dont mind paying the fee cause it keeps big fat Gerry Ryan on the air waves. I mean who would'nt want to listen to that gob sh1te talking about wagu beef and expensive wines. The money that moron costs the state is bewildering.If he was in the UK he would'nt get a job in a teenage disco. Pay the fee OP and he will keep eating and eventually with a bit of luck he will explode his overly inflated ego. Its only a matter of time. Oh! and lets not forget the other two boring bas***ds Kenny and stick insect Turbity. God help us all. Our money keeps these nobodys on the airwaves and the telly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 130 ✭✭tedstriker

Part of the license also goes to TV3 and TG4 and also RTE make some great shows like Glenroe, Eastenders, The Bill, Home & Away, Neighbours, Dr. Phil, Magnum P.I., The Bill repeated and also The View with John Kelly and 3 pieces of timber. Worth every penny and you should inquire as to when the next increase is due and if you could donate a little extra to be a better Irish citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

chamlis wrote: »
    I'm in America right now. i would give ANYTHING to have RTE style commercial breaks here. Words cannot describe how frustrating these ads are.
    Let's see: you have the ad break after the opening credits, ad breaks every 5 or 10 minutes, and my favourite one, the one BEFORE the end credits! There are 17 minutes worth of ads for your average hour long show.

So I forked out an extra 40 dollars a month for DVR. Record all the shows and watch them an hour later where you can fast forward the ads. It's STILL frustrating even then!

The country where i am from also has a kind of a tv license. Although they call it there what it is: contribution to the public channels.
    They also still have commercials but at least they are only in between 2 programs, not during.

I suppose you are talking about the American commercial channels?
    I would not bother watching tv if that would be the way. i would just download everything i want to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭DavidLive

That's what ticks me off- the fact that RTÉ is such a dreadful broadcaster.

I have no problem paying money to other broadcasters, and I know that money from the licence funds other things, including radio (which I work in), but if RTÉ does not improve, I would hope they get in trouble, and are dealt with.

Overall, I feel RTÉ is a terrible broadcaster.