Just listened to the Andrew Sachs phonecall

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Isn't it blatently obivous to these people, Brand falls into the same catagory!

THATS WHAT I'VE BEEN TRYING TO SAY!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No, though she'll be feckin sore when she pulls that duct tape off....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Nodin wrote: »
    No, though she'll be feckin sore when she pulls that duct tape off....

I can cum on her tits so the tape will peel off easier....

:eek: OH NOES!!!!!!!! I hope Max Clifford doesnt read this or I will be fired from teh internetzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I can cum on her tits so the tape will peel off easier....

Thanfkfully no foodstuff I plan consuming need be left off the menu due to that comment.
    :eek: OH NOES!!!!!!!! I hope Max Clifford doesnt read this or I will be fired from teh internetzzzz

Actually, the worst case of "fair comment" being thwarted I heard of related to Sheffield Wednesday. Never came to court but they had a legal threat hanging over them for over 2 years. I asked about, and theres no legal come back for those in this position, apparently.

This is the context in which Sheffield Wednesday went to court to demand the names and email addresses of 14 people who had posted comments on owlstalk. Here are some of the comments over which the club complained. "What an embarrassing, pathetic, laughing stock of a football club we've become." "Another day, another blunder. I doubt even Leeds were in such a mess this time last summer, and look what happened to them." "I am waiting with bated breath to hear who the Chuckle Brothers have signed after their trip to watch players abroad. With the amount of money they have to spend and the wages they can offer the best we can hope for is that little known Transvestitavian International I Sukblodov, who last scored in a brothel."
    Linky

On the bright side, certain Irish managers never got the same idea. Be more than 14 names they'd need there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

asdasd wrote: »
    Quote some marvellous lines from Brand. Of course he is a moron. An inarticulate unfunny moron who appeals to morons.

The Guardian, Times and most of the broadsheets were anti-Brand as well. In any case it is clear from this thread that, in general, idiots support Brand.

Count the punctuation errors in this piece.

You do realise Brand has written two books himself and has a weekly column in the Guardian? If you were to actually listen to some of his shows I feel it's pretty obvious that he's far from an "inarticulate unfunny moron".

Count the errors in my post. I think Brand is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

javaboy wrote: »
    I didn't say they should have been sacked

SACK ME?! I MADE THE BBC!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I dont think they had a right to complain at all. They didnt hear the programme until the paper told them to. If they were regular listeners then yes, but the only reason they listened was so they could get angry and complain. They seeked it out themselves so they had no right to complain. They may pay their licence fees but so do the people that listen and love the show.

And as I've said a couple of times already, the complaints should be given less weight by the BBC because of how they've been generated. They should take into account the fact that a lot of the complaints are coming from people the show is not aimed at.

The people who listen to the show regularly are just as entitled to whinge at the BBC for suspending them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

You do realise Brand has written two books himself and has a weekly column in the Guardian? If you were to actually listen to some of his shows I feel it's pretty obvious that he's far from an "inarticulate unfunny moron".

Maybe. I have never seen him as other than incredibly unfunny on TV,and I remember being forced to watch BBBM by an ex. Still though he did have a good line recently.

When asked if he was sorry that the controller of programmes at the BBc was sacked over his incident he said he was, but could not resign twice, he wasnt Peter Mandelsohn or anything.

That was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

DarkJager wrote: »
    30000 people should make complaints about Songs Of Praise for using the word "Christ", which is offensive to atheists. That might make the 30000 who complained about this feel exactly like the whiny little ***** they are. 30000 people with extremely non eventful sad lives...

Off topic, I wouldnt mind if boards could organise something like this :D

Maybe. I have never seen him as other than incredibly unfunny on TV,and I remember being forced to watch BBBM by an ex. Still though he did have a good line recently.

When asked if he was sorry that the controller of programmes at the BBc was sacked over his incident he said he was, but could not resign twice, he wasnt Peter Mandelsohn or anything.

That was good.

And therein lies your problem. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

How many more thread can we have on this topic.

There is already like at least 3! :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

There is now a very hardcore lesbian sex tape of her doing the rounds

The Master wrote: »
    There is now a very hardcore lesbian sex tape of her doing the rounds

Good to see the Daily Mail's efforts to defend Andrew Sachs and his grand-daughter's honour have worked out well for all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

dreamers75 wrote: »
    she is an exotic dancer in a group called satanic sluts :confused:

tbh if my kids did that would prefer the phonecall than knowing my kid a borderline prossie in a group called satanic sluts :o

True. Half the people on this thread have probably fu*ked her. I know I have.

I'd love to hear Gervais ripping the p!ss out of Ross over this one!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,735 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

[Jackass] wrote: »
    True. Half the people on this thread have probably fu*ked her. I know I have.

I'd love to hear Gervais ripping the p!ss out of Ross over this one!! :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_qpnUCHHSY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sachs strikes me as a classy enough guy in this video:

It really is too bad he had to be dragged into all this. It seems that he's the completely innocent party here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ross is suspended for 12 weeks. He's losing like €1.2 million over this.
    Pittance to him TBH, he'll probably kick back & enjoy the holiday, maybe write a book.

You say Brand is off to America, but if this story breaks over there then he can kiss that dream goodbye.
    That was the first thing that popped into my head. He did the music awards there and was quite abusive. And of course the story would break there, that would be the big selling point "wildman, banned by the BBC and proudly brought to you by HBO".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

if u read the daily mail u should be culled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Quote some marvellous lines from Brand. Of course he is a moron. An inarticulate unfunny moron who appeals to morons.

His Big Brother programme was horrible, and I will not defend his actions in this instance. However, his stand-up can be genuinely, properly brilliant at times. I'd suggest looking up one of his rants about the Daily Mail, for instance...

... oh hang on. Daily Mail? The newspaper in question?

The newspaper that Brand has built entire shows around despising for pulling exactly this kind of stunt?

Why yes, it is.

Hmm.

ridiculous.. there was no discrimination was there?

30,000 knobheads tryin to all pc about somethin they only found out about in a shit newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

it was'nt offensive
    but more importantly it was'nt funny

brand is a child on speed being told by everyone around him that every word that comes out of his mouth is funny....its not

ross is an ageing presenter who granted can be very funny but should really stick to what he does best and not get involved with idiots

thank you and goodnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭alexiadexia

You say Brand is off to America, but if this story breaks over there then he can kiss that dream goodbye.

Just finished reading his book - There are defo a lot more skeletons in his closet that'd kiss his dream goodbye. Do have a weak sppot for the crazy lothario though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

And therein lies your problem.

Yes because it was a vaguely intelligent remark.

i have just looked up the transcript
    “Abort, abort. Please watch that show. I am out of The Bill, starring Andrew Sachs, I’m out of The Bill... Put the phone down, put the phone down, code red code red. I’m sorry Mr Fawlty I’m sorry, they’re a waste of space...”
    She was on a swing when I met her. Oh no!”
    RB: “And even after the show’s finished Jonathan we can find out where Andrew Sachs lives, kick his front door in and scream apologies into his bottom... We can just keep on troubling Andrew Sachs... let’s do it, right, ok.

We can let the Daily Mail worry about the offence on that one. I, myself, worry about how this deranged inarticulate half-wit is considered by lumpens to be "funny". Possibly we have a lower class of lumpens these days.

Manuel was funny, by the way, ( if offensive to people from Barcelona). I am sure that John Cleese wrote the lines - it would be interesting to see what Cleese, or any actual funny writer has to say about Brand.

surely they despise him/

Yes because it was a vaguely intelligent remark.

i have just looked up the transcript

We can let the Daily Mail worry about the offence on that one. I, myself, worry about how this deranged inarticulate half-wit is considered by lumpens to be "funny". Possibly we have a lower class of lumpens these days.

Manuel was funny, by the way, ( if offensive to people from Barcelona). I am sure that John Cleese wrote the lines - it would be interesting to see what Cleese, or any actual funny writer has to say about Brand.

surely they despise him/

In fairness, reading a transcript is always going to make something seem worse, and less funny. Read transcripts of any comedian's work without having seen it before and it'll seem shít. The last quote seems pretty funny to me anyway, laughing at how much worse they made the situation with the follow-up phone calls.

Have a watch of his stand up comedy (Doing Life Live is great) and you'll probably change your mind.
    I fail to understand why you continue to call Brand "inarticulate" or a "half-wit". He has quite a way with words.

I don't understand why Manuel is held in such regard really. He played a dim-witted Spanish chap in a dozen episodes. Not written by him. Fawlty Towers was great and Sachs played the part well, but really, what the fúck else has he done?
    I've much more respect for a man that's all of a journalist, author, stand-up comedian, presenter and actor in successful films.

it would be interesting to see what Cleese, or any actual funny writer has to say about Brand.

From, IMHO, one of the funniest writers in modern media journalism...

Personality Of The Year
    was Russell Brand, who was everywhere, polarising opinion. A few weeks ago I appeared on an episode of Have I Got News For You alongside Brand and, prior to the recording, received a couple of emails urging me to have a go at him. There seems to be a crossover between people who like me and people who hate him. Well sorry, but I like Russell Brand.

That wasn't always the case. At the start of the year I found him intensely annoying. Maybe you have to pass through a wall of tolerance, or maybe it depends what "mode" he's in... but by the end of the year I discovered, to my shock, that I counted myself among his fans. My turning points were his radio show, an old documentary in which he confronts the BNP that I found on YouTube, and a strangely mesmerising interview conducted by Dawn French on BBC4. He's a huge show-off, to be sure - and at his worst, downright grating - but in a relaxed, ballbag-and-dinkle-free frame of mind, he's funny, charming, intelligent and lucid. The man's kicked heroin and transformed himself into a preposterous dreaming clown; a cross between David Bellamy and a startled cat. He's done a beautiful thing, for God's sake.

TV hasn't found the right platform for him yet, but it will. He'll still be going in 20 years time. I point that out specifically to enrage his detractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Read another article about this in Saturday's Daily Mail. The journalist wrote something like : ''As a child, Andrew Sachs fled persecution from Nazi Germany as a Jewish refugee. 50 years later, he is being persecuted again by two unfunny 'comedians'. "
    Cop on, FFS!

Okay, it was a fairly unpleasant joke/prank, but come on, aren't comparisons to the Third Reich a bit much? Just a tad?

Holy crap, Real-Life Godwin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Two people were originally offended .The other 40,000 or so and counting just used the right to voice their opinions of whether they thought it was offensive, which as tv/radio licence payers they are entitled to .

Interesting article by David Mitchell here too : http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2008/nov/02/bbc-british-identity-ross-brand

And that Dawn French interview mentioned above, Part one : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CbLhnIp7jg