Russell Brand & Jonathan Ross suspended

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

No, he should just turn it off!!!!

I was talking about Sachs actually. And you didnt address my questions.

Given in the UK, your license fee goes towards the BBC and those clown's salary, they have every right to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Say you come home and there are abusive and rude phone calls left on your machine. You listen to them on your own - they're hardly going to be funny.

If it was Johnathan Ross and Russel Brand then I wouldnt give a ****, that would be cool!

In fairness, they're acting like this was the first time a celebrity has ever been crank called live...it's a joke, LIGHTEN UP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭robtri

No, he should just turn it off!!!!

it was on his answering machine.... but no let me guess thats his fault... he should unplug his answering machine......

anybody here have a daughter.... how would you like messages left on your answering machine bragging how they rode your daughter....
    very few people would like this....
    this isn't comedy or humour, it is trying to appeal to the lowest F*cking denominator.... getting your kicks from stuff like this is pathetic....
    And I gaurantee if anybody starting talking and publishing stuff like that about his daughter he would be the first one to complain and sue for libel....
    the pair of them are ********** fill in your own swear words

RANT over, normal business will resume shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭veritable

faceman wrote: »
    Why are they idiots? So a 78 year old man should just put up with it and find it funny? Where do you draw the line? Should we allow tv shows to be aired that promote racial hatred?

mate, where are you getting this racial hate thing from???

Manuel was meant to show up but didnt, so they took the piss out of him on the phone. Fair enough.

On another note, I'm sick of this age-ism rubbish that people go about. If old people want to be treated like everybody else, they should be able to roll with the punches and take a few jokes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

faceman wrote: »
    Given in the UK, your license fee goes towards the BBC and those clown's salary, they have every right to complain.

Its the same here, my TV licence money goes towards paying for the bullshyte sports and politics programmes that RTE show that I dont like. Do I have a right to complain about that?

The only person that can complain is Sach and the bird they were talking about.

EDIT: I thought the 78 year old Faceman was on about was just some general old guy listening, not Sachs himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Whatever about Brand being the biggest tool going, the reaction to this has as per usual been blown way out of proportion.

What they did while immature & mind boggling, if they had done it as part of a stand up comedy piece without it involving Sach's answering machine, would have gone un-noticed & without such furore.

What is mind boggling also is the producers who thought it was air-able. I am wondering if the person who gave it the green light is an ex-XFM producer, cos the stuff they used to let Ricky Gervais say live on SAturday afternoons was borderline mind-boggling!!! :eek:

Fact is - typical stiff-upper-british-people getting their knickers in a knot over something that is nowhere as bad as they are making out.

If they REALLY wanted to complain about license fee wasting, the EuroVision & the rapid decline in the quality of the BBC news service would be far more appropriate, or the continuance of the BBC's investment in reality TV game shows.

I think the people who produced that show have alot more to answer for thn the pair, as their actions would have been discussed at a pre-show meeting, which all radio shows generally have, & certainly even as it was continuing being recorded, they had the chance to go 'lads, knock it off - gone beyond satire or funny now'. Those people need holding to even more account, as it is their jobs to control the content being transmitted.

Was what they left on his answering machine wrong? yes.
    Was it in poor taste? What they said was debatable, the fact they left it on an answering machine, yes.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

TV forum, Celebs and their Sheeple, Recycle Bin please, Carol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

SetantaL wrote: »
    You would though
    Like the fist of an angry god, I would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If someone left messages on my phone that someone was shagging my daughter I would SERIOUSLY not be impressed.
    If the person didn't have the common decency to speak to me in person about such a private matter but instead leave a (rude and sniding) message, I would consider him nothing more than scum.
    That said I don't ever think Russel Brand has ever been anything else but scum dragged out of the gutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭genericgoon

You'd think with a financial crisis and a US Presidential Election the newspapers and people would have enough to talk about. But then again the sad state of news these days is that a silly story about a celebrity prank call is given equal billing to these rather more important events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I think wheter Brand had sex with your women or not its just not on to leave messages like that on someones answer phone.And all the people saying they should be allowed do it i can guarentee if it was about your daughter you wouldnt find it funny.Its not as if they know him well and did a gag but hes 78 he shouldnt have to come home ,turn on the answerphone and listen to that.Somebody should ring Brands Ma up and Rosses daughter and leave that kind of message im sure theyd find it funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

How ridiculous, theres a hell of alot worse out there...

Majority of people are such MOANS .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

The BBC have no one to blame for this but themselves, they market Russell Brand as a kind of Howard Stern character 'ooh, whatever will he say next', but when he does actually say something a little contoversial, they drop him like a hot spud.

I think the piece was in pretty bad taste, but it has been majorly blown out of proportion. The BBC are acting on reflex because they don't want to take the same kind of flack as C4 took during the BB Race row. I wonder if the producers who though it was a good idea to air the piece un-edited have also been suspended?

PS: Jonathan Ross came across as so pathetic during this piece, he sounded like a nerdy kid who was desperately trying to impress his cooler friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wish I could shag Russell Brand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Biggins wrote: »
    If someone left messages on my phone that someone was shagging my daughter I would SERIOUSLY not be impressed.
    If the person didn't have the common decency to speak to me in person about such a private matter but instead leave a (rude and sniding) message, I would consider him nothing more than scum.
    That said I don't ever think Russel Brand has ever been anything else but scum dragged out of the gutter.

Fair enough you would be pissed off but keep in mind what actually happened.

a) Sachs was supposed to appear but didn't. So they decided to ring him.
    b) They got an answer phone message and decided to leave a message.
    c) They went to a song or something (either here or earlier on Brand told Ross he rode your one)
    d) They came back and started to leave a message which was suppose to be a funny why didn't you come on the show sort of thing
    e) In the middle of this Ross says "He f*cked your granddaughter"
    f) They hang up.
    g) They ring back a couple of times to apologise but don't really make things better but nothing really bad either.

Now fair enough it was wrong to say what Ross did but apart from the inappropriateness of saying "He f*cked your granddaughter" on air and leaving a message saying so on the phone nothing else really happened.

Now it was wrong, it should have been cut from the programme and they should apologise to Sachs and granddaughter.
    But it wasn't premeditated and wasn't really that offensive of language or content to be going out on a late night show.

What is ridiculous is that two entertainers who are extremely popular (whatever you may think of them) could lose there jobs over this and that the media are having a feeding frenzy and that top political figures in Britain are all having their say on the matter.

The way it's supposed to work is that if you hear something that offends you ring OffCom and complain. If they uphold that the broadcaster must make a public apology and pay a fine. They may also have to change their production practices.

There should be none of this moral outrage over something which happens up and down the country every day. Deal with it in the way thats laid down and tell political figures to stay out of something which doesn't affect them

phasers wrote: »

O' dear gawd NOooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The BBC has sacked a few over the years for doing less than that pair, Kenny Everett, for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Weird. The most popular shows on air these days all involve the exploitation and humiliation of the dim-witted, ugly and vulnerable for the titillation of the public, yet an asinine gag has said public reaching for the phone.

Poor Beeb. They have to try and guess where the (nominal) line is between offense and entertainment. You can almost see the honcho who OK'd the show going I know its offensive, but that's what the fcuking imbeciles want. They're willing to watch Kerry Katona have liposuction, for fcuks sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

+1 kevmy
    Its much a do about nothing
    + am p*ssed that Wossy show is pulled.
    Its the only thing that makes me laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

All aboard the bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Eamo71

An absolute storm in a teacup. The listeners to Brand's radio show would not be in the last bit offended by this.
    It's the Daily Wail that propagated this, took it to the middle-aged fuddy duddys in Tunbridge Wells who reacted exactly as planned took this and turned it into a witch hunt.

The BBC really needs to grow a set.

If the Daily Wail wants to go down this route why don't they call on Sachs and Cleese to apologise to all the Spaniards they offended with the Manuel chracter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Its good to note that the English economy is doing so well, and their various wars are jogging along, that theres nothing so much to worry the bould Gordo and various talking heads as two eejits on the radio.

Had I the time I'd see if the same people slagging off Ross were slagging off the yanks over the reaction Janet Jacksons "nipple gate".
    phasers wrote: »

Have two legs, a pulse and be in the right club and you're half way there.
    marti101 wrote:
    think wheter Brand had sex with your women or not its just not on to leave messages like that on someones answer phone.And all the people saying they should be allowed do it i can guarentee if it was about your daughter you wouldnt find it funny.Its not as if they know him well and did a gag but hes 78 he shouldnt have to come home ,turn on the answerphone and listen to that.Somebody should ring Brands Ma up and Rosses daughter and leave that kind of message im sure theyd find it funny.

While it is indeed questionable to leave that kind of thing on somebodys phone, when they aren't known for that kind of humour, it should be pointed out that the grand-daugher is a burlesque dancer who goes under the name of "Voluptua" (or thereabouts). She can be seen looking "outraged" on The Suns website, amidst pictures of herself in various types of lingerie.....

What is ridiculous is that two entertainers who are extremely popular could lose there jobs over this...
    They ring back a couple of times to apologise but don't really make things better but nothing really bad either.

Its one thing to do this at street level but if your coming across the airwaves as a public figure, for a start what sort of example are you setting for listeners?
    (If you wonder why kids are unruly today, them hearing this going on across common airwaves does not help to instil even a basic form of manners and decency)
    Besides the huge money they are getting, the positions they hold is given to them along the understanding that they actually have a brain in their heads, to be able to tell the difference when and when not to cross the line.
    If they can't even do that - they should be sacked, no question, no hesitation.

If they then go further and take the piss more so by their mock of an apology (which they did), its not that they should be sacked, they should be beaten around the head with a two by four!

If you think that is a bit strong, try being a parent in todays society.
    Try installing some level of manners into your child when this sort of garbage is thrown at them across the airwaves!
    People are out there today scratching their heads wondering why kids today are street brats and home thugs.
    Such behaviour as Brand and co in combating their thuggishness DOES NOT HELP!
    (and yes, I am a parent of three, soon to be four)

SACK THEM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Meh is what i say to this. I'm not a fan of either Ross or that other git, but i think it was a bit out of line what they did. On the one hand i would hope that they loose their jobs over it, but then again if this did happen, they would probably be immortalised for it and be even more popular than before. So i give it a big fat MEH!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »
    Its one thing to do this at street level but if your coming across the airwaves as a public figure, for a start what sort of example are you setting for listeners?
    (If you wonder why kids are unruly today, them hearing this going on across common airwaves does not help to instil even a basic form of manners and decency)
    Besides the huge money they are getting, the positions they hold is given to them along the understanding that they actually have a brain in their heads, to be able to tell the difference when and when not to cross the line.
    If they can't even do that - they should be sacked, no question, no hesitation.

If they then go further and take the piss more so by their mock of an apology (which they did), its not that they should be sacked, they should be beaten around the head with a two by four!

If you think that is a bit strong, try being a parent in todays society.
    Try installing some level of manners into your child when this sort of garbage is thrown at them across the airwaves!
    People are out there today scratching their heads wondering why kids today are street brats and home thugs.
    Such behaviour as Brand and co in combating their thuggishness DOES NOT HELP!
    (and yes, I am a parent of three, soon to be four)

SACK THEM.

Spot on Biggins.

You would think that the big bucks that these guys are getting, they would know where to draw the line. I would expect "Responsibility" to be mentioned somewhere in their contracts, at least once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

This has to be the most ridiculous over reaction ever.

I only heard the full thing this morning and to be honest, I laughed my ass off.

I do like Russell Brand and I am not a big fan of Jonathan Ross but this was funny!

It should be taken at face value and nothing else.

Plus a lot of stuff that Tommy Tiernan has done recently has been WAY worse yet people still say hes funny! Double standards much?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Its the same here, my TV licence money goes towards paying for the bullshyte sports and politics programmes that RTE show that I dont like. Do I have a right to complain about that?

Yeah you do.

http://www.bci.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

hah! YORE GRANDAUGHTER!!!

that's like YORE MA x 10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

The main question we gotta ask ourselves here...is she hot? Cos that does make all the difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

vinylmesh wrote: »
    hah! YORE GRANDAUGHTER!!!

that's like YORE MA x 10.
    christ you're like one of those guys that go ''wasssupp''..