Russell Brand & Jonathan Ross suspended

• 29-10-2008 02:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭

http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/tv_and_radio/article5037322.ece

Toss Pots ... "Jonathan Ross and Russell Brand have been suspended from their highly-paid BBC jobs amid the ongoing controversy over their prank phone calls to the veteran Fawlty Towers actor Andrew Sachs, BBC Director General Mark Thompson has also apologised to Mr Sachs for the calls which he said had caused “severe offence”. He said it was inappropriate for the pair to broadcast until the investigation was complete."

Apparently he was meant to go on the show, he never turned up, so they bombarded him with rude prank phone calls live on air, saying that brand sha**ed Andrew Sachs grandaughter etc ...

I thought Johnathon Ross would be more mature than that .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I hate Russell Brand more than war, famine and aids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

What a load of crap.

Some sad people out there to care about a little gagg such as this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 philangela

mmm a very mature comment-NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

I thought people woulda been more mature then to get all fussy over two comedians making a silly prank phone call....

I can't believe this is even on the news its so retarded.
    Britain being over PC is finally hitting hard on one of the best things about the UK. British humour.
    & I can't believe how easily so many freaking sheep are jumping on the "Russell Brand & Jonathan Ross are bold boys" bang wagon.

I don't even like Russell Brand, but this is feckin mindblowingly stupid.

It was a prank phone call, not ww3, get the **** over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3681498

You would though.

Here's the call:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=uAxPkcnlyNM&feature=rec-fresh

Good thing he didn't catch them at it.

Ah Manuel, I no no what happened. I no NAA-thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Geology

No publicity is bad publicity. Jonathan Ross, Russell Brand and the granddaughter have all gained out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

efla wrote: »
    I hate Russell Brand more than war, famine and aids

Does he still have that annoying habit of explainign his jokes after he's told them?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Getting suspended because 18000 people rang in complaining, I can guarantee more than 18000 people taught it was funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The grandaughter has hired Max Clifford. So maybe they should be suspended after all for creating another reality tv little wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Geology wrote: »
    No publicity is bad publicity. Jonathan Ross, Russell Brand and the granddaughter have all gained out of this.

+1 ....Bigtime.

Ahhh, Max Clifford is now in the mix - so she'll be milking this out. She'll do the best out of this between all of em.
    So, the 2 ejits are now Suspended - whilst she still sluts around in her SUSPENDERS!
    2105033520104150087S500x500Q85.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Obviously he did do her and left or or some sit and shes bitter as **** and this is her revenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The stupid bitch needs a slap....talk about milking something to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Getting suspended because 18000 people rang in complaining, I can guarantee more than 18000 people taught it was funny.

People with a crap sense of humour! There is funny and there is rude. While rude can be funny, it isn't always.

Say you come home and there are abusive and rude phone calls left on your machine. You listen to them on your own - they're hardly going to be funny.

But if you were with the guys at the time, having a laugh and then it was said - maybe it might be funnier then. Maybe not in this situation though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Only 2 people who heard the show complained. All the complaints came when he story was on the front page of the mail 3 or 4 days later. People really are going out of their way to be offended these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

She Devil wrote: »
    I thought Johnathon Ross would be more mature than that .....

You did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Pair of twats the both of 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

edit : Scratch that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I would have thought this prank phone call gag of his would have been seen as far more serious.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7508863.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭TriciaDelicia

The granddaughter is loving this sure it's publicity for the Satanic Sluts. It says it all in the name for Gods sake

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

She is a fúcking roide though!!! And the comments on her bebo are hilarious!! haha

Also, there was another dj on sky news this morning who said that it was unlikely a message was even left and that they just record the greeting.

Oh, and, only a few people complained at the time of airing, only when it was in the paper the next day did it get the majority of complaints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Good publicity stunt in fairness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I didnt find this funny and I usually find prank calls quite entertaining.

Given Sachs is 78 and it was messages left as opposed to speaking with him directly, it makes it that bit more distasteful and frankly retarded.
    Thats a pretty high number of complaints too for the UK.

Then again Brand is a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭veritable

Russell Brand did have sex with the grand daughter. Fair play!

Just cos 18,000 geriatrics ring up and complain. Can nobody see the funny side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Oshare Bones

I want those 20 minutes of my life back. It's not offensive, not funny, not anything. What's the point like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

People who complain about TV or radio shows are fucking cunts. If you dont like something then just stop watching or listening or reading. Its just idiots getting on their high horse about this.

If Johnathan Ross isnt on this Friday I'm gonna complain to the BBC about this travesty!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Ross's Friday night show is rubbish. He always sounds a bit too grateful to have his guests on and is sycophantic in the extreme. And don't get me started on his background research on guests. Not a patch on Parky.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

People who complain about TV or radio shows are fucking cunts. If you dont like something then just stop watching or listening or reading. Its just idiots getting on their high horse about this.

If Johnathan Ross isnt on this Friday I'm gonna complain to the BBC about this travesty!!!!

Why are they idiots? So a 78 year old man should just put up with it and find it funny? Where do you draw the line? Should we allow tv shows to be aired that promote racial hatred?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

faceman wrote: »
    Why are they idiots? So a 78 year old man should just put up with it and find it funny? Where do you draw the line? Should we allow tv shows to be aired that promote racial hatred?

No, he should just turn it off!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I would have thought this prank phone call gag of his would have been seen as far more serious.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7508863.stm
    Look at the Audience Members name.... Hannah Gee :D:D
    faceman wrote: »
    That's Big Brother mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Well fair enough that Andrew Sachs would be a bit pissed off that 2 lads acting the eejit on the radio rang him up and left rude comments on his answerphone but really this is waaaaay out of proportion.

David Cameron and Gordon Brown commenting on it. I mean ffs. The economy is falling down around their ears and this is what they choose to talk about.

If Andrew Sachs or your one the grandaughter or any member of the public want to complain to OffCom (which regulates British Broadcasting) fair enough but let the issue work it's way through and don't vilify the lads over some idiotic comments or get your knickers all in a bunch.

I mean cop on and grow up.

But I suppose when most people read the Sun and the Daily Mail this is the kind of sh1t they will have to put up with