Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Essential Zombie Survival Tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

O.K here is the Dublin Area 3 part Zombie Survival plan.

The plan is divided into teams and begin operations as soon as possible. This might mean springing into action at only a scare rather then the real thing, but I'd be happy to accept a few civilian fatalities rather then lose the entire city due to complacency.
    Each team has a precise objective that will ensure survival and later defeat of the Zombie masses. Assuming the majority of zombies are shamblers with some runners, mutants and none of which can use weapons.

Team 1, Objective :Defense
    So far I've identified Trinity College as the best main HQ, with thick high gates, many resources and supplies, central location, size and divisibility.
    Team one's objective will be to immediately lock up trinity as best possible. First with quick measures such as locking gates, then ensuring no zombies are already inside and rounding up any survivors already in there and segregating them just in case. After it has been further locked down, a secondary objective is to start on the manufacture of explosives, traps improv. weapons etc etc

Team 2)Team 2 Objective Assault
    Team Two will as quickly as possible get to the closest Fire station/Army barracks/construction yard/other place where there maybe heavy duty weapons, vehicles, body armor anything else they deal of use. I have the Civil Defense esplanade on the keys marked as a start point. From there their mission is to secure any buildings that may be of use later anything that can be quickly sealed up, build bridges between buildings, creating barricades, setting zombie traps securing vital locations, and whenever possible destroying zombies. Later on this team will be tasked with eradication and boarder patrol.

Team 3) Objective Survivor Rescue
    This is the scout and recon team, remember any survivor rescued will not become a zombie and in turn will not infect more people. In the event of a pre zombie panic many people will head into the country side, it is team 3's job to rescue as many people as possible and make count on zombie population and movement, and make contact with other survivor cells either directly or by leaving signs around the city of who and where we are. Generally light transport, motorbikes with lights, sirens and loud horns and radios to main base. etc.

If enacted in a quick and well organized manner out chances of survival increase beyond 90% at least. What do you think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kromdar wrote: »
    that would be pretty awesome, but how many hits to take down a z? usually bullets take about 5-6 hits, course a shottie would do it in less, if anyone has an airsoft shottie that is. :D
    You can get a cheapo shottie of any of the Irish sellers. But really you need something like this

Why do you say it would take 5-6 hits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

most z-films have like a 5-6 body hits before one goes down. and in airsoft or paintball, you're not allowed shoot at the head [lets play safe now] so i dunno, unless you were to wear a post-it somewhere on you that if it got shot would count as a headshot, makes the accuracy factor kinda fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kromdar wrote: »
    most z-films have like a 5-6 body hits before one goes down. and in airsoft or paintball, you're not allowed shoot at the head [lets play safe now] so i dunno, unless you were to wear a post-it somewhere on you that if it got shot would count as a headshot, makes the accuracy factor kinda fair.
    The only reason they take 5 or 6 shots in movies is Americans like to see guns being fired, accuracy isn't a priority. The fact is you could walk right up to a Zombie, put the gun to it's head and blow it's head off without being in all that much danger, so bang rule wins. I've been shot in the head many times play airsoft I don't think it's a rule that's enforced or one that should be (other than at close range).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

I know everybody is on about shinpads, welders gloves, shinpads for your arms??

Go down to your local motorbike store, you have your kevlar armoured gloves, leather jackets with elbow, forearm, shoulder and back protectors. Its readymade to withstand large impacts and is cut and abrasian resistant. Then of course you've got the leather trousers with pads in all the right places, boots that you'd be lucky to get an axe through (admitably hard to walk in though).
    Plus for those looking for helmets its all there.

So no more mix and match, go to your your local bikestore and grab a dose of 3mm thick kangaroo leather. I know i will.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Got my old hockey goalie gear to protect my body from zed bites. Own multiple swords, and a crossbow with plenty of bolts. Oh yeah, I live in America. Good luck with the outbreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭TheZenWithin

I agree there should be an airsoft day.the thing is you would have to get people to volunteer to try and bite people yet have no guns of themsleves so they will prob get shot ......alot....good luck trying to find enough planks.....

numerical advantage: 4 lads armed, 20~ z's against them. everyone gets turns being the survivors. whoever lasts longest wins.
    or, using sms, eveyone breaks into survivor groups of 4-6. one person from one group gets text: you're infected. then its infect as many people as possible. this group has to sneak up on other groups, infect them, etc.

in terms of 'oh no they've got guns' the zombie nerf days that run in america are similar, yet everyone ends up infected anyway. have you ever tried to [reload] wind an airsoft hi-cap mag, with 20 or so z's running at you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Any idiots with stupid ideas can form their own survivor group. In fact, any stupid ideas will be completly ignored, and if others agree with the idiot, they can leave with them and see how far they get.

You know, the usual - 'We have to leave this very safe and inaccessible place to a) find more survivors, b) collect something of personal value etc.' NO. That will get you killed. Now off you go.

AND, the moron who tries to escape and leaves the door open because he panics when he sees the running hoard will be used as an example to others. If you panic, you will be tied up in a safe place and only the hardest, most unyielding of us will have access to you so that you can't appeal to our emotional side.

the question does arise as to what to do about emotionally 'unstable' people.

We are human after all, but do we have to sacrifice humanity to stay alive? I personally think so. i mean, looking for survivors should be done, but only if:

1) there's a well established base, and you have a means and plan to do so,

2) you're willing to accept that one of the members of the group of survivors you have found could be infected, untrustworthy or just a liability.

3) the survivors you 'rescue' won't agree to your morality of not helping infected people.

i mean everyone has skills, be it a chef, repairman, hell, even down to washing clothes. so survivors are welcome. but should one of them be like ''oh i have to rescue <person> even though they're a z, we could tie him up or something...'' then you'll have to show them the door.

Which raises the next question, do you let them go? say you're nearing the end of the outbreak. now you're just letting whatever few z's are left to reinfect the person and start the outbreak afresh.

should they be confined, as the above post says, with limited contact; do we let them go; or just take em out the back and shoot em [inhumane, but saves resources - we ain't running a prison here - but perhaps causing a mutiny from the people who were friends of that particular person?]

what do we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Fjoem

i think the best idea is to stock up, get to the nearest port and steal a yacht..........and yes 'stock up' does include bringing girls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Mr Fonnen

I'm gonna have to stop you there Dougal no reason just going to have to stop you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cage-fighter

I'm setting up a small, select group of young men and women that, should a zombie attack become a reality, can meet and increase our chances of survival. A knowledge of firearms and tactical combat is preferable. Pm me if your interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

If there was a way of luring the zombies to a large open area like an airport, and if you could get a tank, with plenty of petrol that could be filled from the inside, and plenty of food, could happily spend a day or two making a new zombie tarmac, poping all those heads under tank tracks, superb:pac:.

or even reinforce a few powerful tractors attach some of those hedge trimming blades, lower it to a nice head height, for each opperation there would need to be escape opperations in place,

each community could use their local football pitch as a place to lure the zombies, people could place themselves in a secure cage, a VERY secure cage. the zombies would march towards it(its a pretty massive cage, the people inside are armed, have food, shelter etc) the zombies are so fixiated on the living flesh meters from their grip that they pass no heed to the guy in the tractor as he drives around trimming heads,

The zombies pressing themselves against the cage would also make themselves easy headhits for the people inside, pretty much touch the barrel against there heads and pop. the people would sleep in the massive cage, each morning more and more zombies would turn up, this obvious source of pray would allow others to move undectected. To save ammo other weapons such as pitchforks and slashhooks cud be used though care wud be needed against blood splatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Undead

jayoo wrote: »
    If there was a way of luring the zombies to a large open area like an airport, and if you could get a tank, with plenty of petrol that could be filled from the inside, and plenty of food, could happily spend a day or two making a new zombie tarmac, poping all those heads under tank tracks, superb:pac:.

or even reinforce a few powerful tractors attach some of those hedge trimming blades, lower it to a nice head height, for each opperation there would need to be escape opperations in place,

each community could use their local football pitch as a place to lure the zombies, people could place themselves in a secure cage, a VERY secure cage. the zombies would march towards it(its a pretty massive cage, the people inside are armed, have food, shelter etc) the zombies are so fixiated on the living flesh meters from their grip that they pass no heed to the guy in the tractor as he drives around trimming heads,

The zombies pressing themselves against the cage would also make themselves easy headhits for the people inside, pretty much touch the barrel against there heads and pop. the people would sleep in the massive cage, each morning more and more zombies would turn up, this obvious source of pray would allow others to move undectected. To save ammo other weapons such as pitchforks and slashhooks cud be used though care wud be needed against blood splatter.

True, cos the average joe has access to tanks and huge cages that they can easily transport to a football pitch, and weapons and food inside with a killer tractor outsire...:rolleyes:

who said anything bout the average joe?? Oh tring to be funny, yano it just doesnt suit you.

:pac:your comment is a fail :pac:

wait a minute, did you just say that the average joe doesnt have access to food and water and tractors and guns and slash hooks etc:confused: Man are you a homeless guy in dublin city:pac: Man come to the country, we have nothing but tractors, lets plough those bastards into the ground :D

but seriously, the whole big cage idea is a must, in the same way as the Redeker plan, to lure the zombies to a killing area, and also to allow surivors time and space to plain and build long term defences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Undead

jayoo wrote: »
    wait a minute, did you just say that the average joe doesnt have access to food and water and tractors and guns and slash hooks etc:confused: Man are you a homeless guy in dublin city:pac: Man come to the country, we have nothing but tractors, lets plough those bastards into the ground :D

but seriously, the whole big cage idea is a must, in the same way as the Redeker plan, to lure the zombies to a killing area, and also to allow surivors time and space to plain and build long term defences.

Never said anything about food or water kid.:rolleyes:

"and weapons and food inside with a killer tractor outsire...rolleyes.gif "

can you see the word food there? cuz i can

"Never said anything about food or water kid.rolleyes.gif"

and then your wrote this,

FAIL, and yawn

flame somewhere else.
    the plan makes sense, but the logistics of it are a bit... unrealistic. still.

no one's going canon 'romero-style' survival here. for all we know a post-zombie apocalypse world could turn out something like mad max, and we bet cartons of cigarettes and diesel on unarmed zombie fights.

who knows. just keep it good humored.

Ok what kinda zombies are we talking about? are they quick like a 28days later kinda of situation or slow such as in world war z? Id be hoping they would slowly waste away like in 28days later, so it would be a case of outlasting them

the majority of people in this forum believe it will be the resident-evil or classic 'shambler' zombie, and according to this man they will last anything from 1-3 years before rotting away completely. however the advantage is that one must die first and within a few hours reanimate. and they can't run, climb, jump etc. this is the 'solanum' zombie [the virus which causes it]

what you refer to is the 'rage virus' zombie a la 28 days later.

the zombie survival guide is worth a read, but some consider it a but too closed minded on what a zombie is defined as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Well in fairness the 28 days later ''zombies'' are really just humans infected with a virus but I think if they're gonna be proper Zs then they will be shamblers cause they're walking dead corpses with no circulation and riger mortis set in..I normally use World War Z as my guide so if its true they would freeze in the winter then I think they would be shamblers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Protection

Don't have alot in way of guns knocking around but depending on the outbreak and how quick its spreading,might fit in a trip to a gun shop on the way to location,A quick rumage around the shed i could probably come up with some close combat weaponry. Chainsaw, axe, spade,nail gun, pickaxe,all thrown into the boot.

Rations/Location

Tinned food a must,trip to local shop (across the road) raid the presses and fill car.Location is a difficult one,i'd have to go a have a look at 2 i reckon are half decent but been awhile since i've been there. Fort Lucan is first stop,high walls,1 way in,can easily be secured and locked down,surrounded by corn fields (i think) and liffey 5mins away,fairly secluded.2nd is The Kings inn at Costitution hill in town.If memory recalls theres 2 entrance's in,its again surrounded by high fenced walls,1 main drive in gate and a pedestrian entrance at the back,good building too.

Team work:
    Would try pick up people on the way,preferebly a couple of vans/trucks too,will convert into Z killing machines later,using old machine parts lying around.

Things to do:
    Learn how to hot wire cars.
    Buy vegetable seeds, (source of food when tins run out)
    Keep nail gun on permanant charge
    Buy a van and diesel generator

I'm sure theres a few holes in the plan but i'm open to suggestions/advice, Help!

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

I just want to say that this is a brillant thread. It's not something I put a large amount of thought in to but now I am. A hockey stick would probably be my weapon of choice purely because I have loads of them and I can hit things very hard and very accurately with one. Also, I think this video is a amazing zombie survival guide. I particularly like the "how to recognise a zombie" part:

Just in case in doesn't come up correctly it The Discerning Gentleman's Guide To Zombie Survival by BanjoFella

I think we need to all learn how to make a bow, and how to make arrows. i have often strung up a crapy bow, probly shoot 30 yards it aimed high, but cud provide a weapon against zombies(though hard to get a head hit)and a means of hunting prey like rabbits once ammo runs out.

what excatly would you wear, all it would take would be for one zombie to grab you, slowing you down, prehaps when out and about some kinda skintight fabric or something with a slipperly texture.

Hmmm what excatly would happen if zombies came across an elephant?? its skin would be too thick to pierce, unless in the eyes, and im pretty sure the elephant wouldnt be to happy to see fecking zombies following it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭ancientdog

all you have to do is go to a small island, somewhere, and live there, there wont be any zombies there..bring a helicopter too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 movingsheepdip

step 1: know your zombie.i suggest trapping it in a cattle pen or something and find out what pisses it off( hot tar, cabbages etc) and what it likes(more than likely feasting on human brains)

step 2: venture outside...mad max style!make your own outlandish armour
    and weapons(nails thru a hurley or sumthin).soup up your car(in my case, a berlingo) with more outlandish weapons.the more insane the better.

step 3: befriend some blonde cheerleaders, and perhaps a fat kid to use as some zombie feed.

step 4: venture to the nearest old folks home.enjoy battering the bejaysus out of zombies with your mace-hurley with the hot blondes(whilst listening to death metal,of course), while the remaining zombies dig into old paddy and fat kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'll be on the Aran Islands..surrounded by water so safe enough,
    Plus the pub stays open late :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Guys please stop citing nail guns as an effective weapon! If you've ever used one you'll know just how weak they are. U need to press it against the target for penetration. Also nails are heavy and dont fly well