Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Army Of One

There are good Taxi drivers, bad ones too and inbetweenies. Much like every other industry.

Bumping up the requirements to be a Taxi driver and deregulating the industry is the only way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

Fiend-Foe wrote: »
    I did not rob him,

I refused to pay for his services as they were unsatisfactory and he very was very offensive, used vulgar language and racial slurs throughout the whole maybe 10 minute journey.
    that other poster held back on calling you SCUM but i wont .
    you are a thief and a low life scum bucket ,plain and simple .
    grow up you retard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I did not rob him,

I refused to pay for his services as they were unsatisfactory and he very was very offensive, used vulgar language and racial slurs throughout the whole maybe 10 minute journey.

Well I'll tell you what Mr. Thief why don't you go to your local Garda station and tell them and see if they agree with you, after all you DonJose and hopalong85 seem to think you didn't do any wrong.

Myself I would be worried about the pensioners you meet in quiet streets, after all they're nice soft targets as well and it is said to be much easier the 2nd and 3rd time around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

that other poster held back on calling you SCUM but i wont .
    you are a thief and a low life scum bucket ,plain and simple .
    grow up you retard

I disagree.

I'm my opinion the taxi driver was a scumbag and should not have subjected us to listening to that sh1te. It was obvious we did not agree with him as we did not acknowledge anything he said.

He was rude, offensive and vulgar. And made us both feel uncomfortable.

You expect me to pay for that?? Take a hike...

If he wanted to get paid he should have been professional, what other job could you do and get away with it? None. You would be sacked on the spot in any other profession for speaking to a customer like that.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Myself I would be worried about the pensioners you meet in quiet streets, after all they're nice soft targets as well and it is said to be much easier the 2nd and 3rd time around..

Yes... Cos I rob old people. Because thats the exact same. Sure. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

I'm my opinion the taxi driver was a scumbag and should not have subjected us to listening to that sh1te. It was obvious we did not agree with him as we did not acknowledge anything he said.

However you dont get to police his views, or not pay for views you find offensive. An religious right winger may, for instance, get into a taxi and hear a taxi driver rant about the Catholic Church and be offended. How would the taxi driver know if not told?

Money is owed anyway.

What you have the right to do is ask for silence, by saying you are offended, not decide at the end of the trip that you are not paying. The taxi drivers remit is to drive you home, not mind-read your opinions and keep contrary opinions to himself. I dont even know if you can refuse to pay if he continues to speak when you ask him to stop. But thats moot. As you didnt.

asdasd wrote: »
    However you dont get to police his views, or not pay for views you find offensive. An religious right winger may, for instance, get into a taxi and hear a taxi driver rant about the Catholic Church and be offended. How would the taxi driver know if not told?

Money is owed anyway.

What you have the right to do is ask for silence, by saying you are offended, not decide at the end of the trip that you are not paying. The taxi drivers remit is to drive you home, not mind-read your opinions and keep contrary opinions to himself. I dont even know if you can refuse to pay if he continues to speak when you ask him to stop. But thats moot. As you didnt.

So say for example I'm a salesman or something,

I'm making idle chit-chat with a customer while finalizing the sale and my topic of choice is how all the **** and chinks are robbing us blind and they are filthy feckers etc. Its not professional and you would not put up with it anywhere else.

He didn't have to mind-read any opinions, he had to have enough common sense and professionalism to know that going on a racist rant is inappropriate at any time, unless your in the pub with your mates.

So say for example I'm a salesman or something,

I'm making idle chit-chat with a customer while finalizing the sale and my topic of choice is how all the **** and chinks are robbing us blind and they are filthy feckers etc. Its not professional and you would not put up with it anywhere else.

Sure I'd walk out. What you think you can do is take the item and run.

Just doing some background checking on Fiend-Foe, maybe your new apartment is haunted by a taximans ghost who knows what you did, hope you sleep happily while a taximans ghost comes after you with a screwdriver...ooer missus just realised its Haloween time soon as well...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055392453

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

In Madrid the swines charge a €5.50 supplement to either go to or be taken from the airport ! better still if they know you dont speak the lingo they try and wack that up to €8 ! I think our fares are not to bad in comparison.

I once paid 200 euro to get into Rome. Was not a real taxi driver.

I am very stupid.

asdasd wrote: »
    Sure I'd walk out. What you think you can do is take the item and run.

Fair enough, maybe thats a bad example.

But still believe that he was in the wrong here, it was obviously making us uncomfortable, we didn't relpy to him once. It was a relatively short trip and we actually got out of the taxi a good bit further away from where we normally would. This wasn't something I planned, I just decided no way I was giving that pr1ck money after that.

Anyway, we're taking this thread off topic. You think I'm wrong, I disagree.

We won't get anywhere else with this...
    Just doing some background checking on Fiend-Foe, maybe your new apartment is haunted by a taximans ghost who knows what you did, hope you sleep happily while a taximans ghost comes after you with a screwdriver...ooer missus just realised its Haloween time soon as well...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055392453

karmas a bitch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭thelurch

Karoma wrote: »
    Dear Mr Taxi Driver,
    You didn't make minimum wage on one day? Why sir, this is clearly a travesty. Nowhere else in Ireland or the world would this happen. It is no less than an outrage!

I hereby offer you a contract to pay you minimum wage. That's right, you sir, are guaranteed the minimum wage each day, every day. In return, you will be expected to hand over all earnings (inc. weekend earnings, and the money you do not normally declare for tax reasons) to me. You will also be expected to read the new employee handbook and will be contractually obliged to be courteous, quiet, attentive and avoid vulgar language. you will be expected to maintain a high standard of hygiene. Any airing of racist views shall result in disciplinary action. You will also work the hours specified, not just the ones that suit you.

If this suits sir, please feel free to e-mail me at igiveacrap@boohoohoo.ie

Kindest Regards,
    K.

Call your bluff....deal ! mark17@vodafone.ie

Fair enough, maybe thats a bad example.

But still believe that he was in the wrong here, it was obviously making us uncomfortable, we didn't relpy to him once. It was a relatively short trip and we actually got out of the taxi a good bit further away from where we normally would. This wasn't something I planned, I just decided no way I was giving that pr1ck money after that.

Anyway, we're taking this thread off topic. You think I'm wrong, I disagree.

We won't get anywhere else with this...

karmas a bitch :D

And you're still a thief

I disagree.

If he wanted to get paid he should have been professional, what other job could you do and get away with it? None. You would be sacked on the spot in any other profession for speaking to a customer like that.
    what age are ?
    sorry retract that
    what mental age are you ?
    what was it a night out with the boys on our fake ids ?
    you in what you did is in the same category as the mugger scum who prays on the drunk tourist .
    get it into your retard brain that you STOLE from that guy
    he provided a service [be it good or bad ]and you being the ah you are ran away like a little scared boy .oh you are a BIG MAN .
    you keep it up and the next guy who in your opinion didnt provide a good service ,so you decide to run .you mighten be so lucky
    because take it from me there are some lunatics driving taxis out there .

I disagree.

Should count yourself lucky that he did not have a bat with him and proceed to knock the ****e out of you. Uncle been a taxi driver for about 15 years and has used the thing at least a dozen times in them 15 years to beat the ****e out of ***** who tried to do a runner. But sure for everyone he caught probabley 2 or 3 would get away.

He didn't have to mind-read any opinions, he had to have enough common sense and professionalism to know that going on a racist rant is inappropriate at any time, unless your in the pub with your mates.

Now do tell, just what makes it acceptable in a pub with your mates, you seem to me to be a troubled man, not only a thief but a closet racist as well..

what age are ?
    sorry retract that
    what mental age are you ?
    what was it a night out with the boys on our fake ids ?
    you in what you did is in the same category as the mugger scum who prays on the drunk tourist .
    get it into your retard brain that you STOLE from that guy
    he provided a service [be it good or bad ]and you being the ah you are ran away like a little scared boy .oh you are a BIG MAN .
    you keep it up and the next guy who in your opinion didnt provide a good service ,so you decide to run .you mighten be so lucky
    because take it from me there are some lunatics driving taxis out there .

As I said, this was a few years ago and I have never had any problems since and would never do something like that under any different circumstances.

Maybe he wasn't so quick to launch into a racist rant with any of his next fares.

I didn't run away like a scared little boy, I walked away as I decided I would not be paying him for my unpleasant trip home. I didn't want a confrontation about it.

He should have been professional and respectful thats not a lot to ask.

(I'm 25 btw and this was about 3 years ago)

I have also never preyed on a tourist...
    Now do tell, just what makes it acceptable in a pub with your mates, you seem to me to be a troubled man, not only a thief but a closet racist as well..

Clearly meant him and his mates dip****...

As I said, this was a few years ago and I have never had any problems since and would never do something like that under any different circumstances.

(snipped)

Once a thief always a thief, maybe you should go to mass and repent your sins before it's too late to save your soul, and don't worry I get a lot of people like you in the car, they always start the conversations with " I'm not a racist but........."

:rolleyes:Yes cos I always start conversations that way...

See you in mass.

Maybe he wasn't so quick to launch into a racist rant with any of his next fares.

I didn't run away like a scared little boy, I walked away as I decided I would not be paying him for my unpleasant trip home. I didn't want a confrontation about it.

He should have been professional and respectful thats not a lot to ask.

(I'm 25 btw and this was about 3 years ago)

I have also never preyed on a tourist...

hope you remembered what he looked like ,car etc
    because it happened me a few years ago two scum done a runner and it must have been two years later that i picked up the same two .asked them did they want to go to the laneway .they nearly sh1t themselves .all apoligies dropped them off only halfway home [in the middle of no where]and got the two fares .
    remember dublin is a small place ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

because it happened me a few years ago two scum done a runner and it must have been two years later that i picked up the same two .asked them did they want to go to the laneway .they nearly sh1t themselves .all apoligies dropped them off only halfway home [in the middle of no where]and got the two fares .

Jesus Travis Bickle, remind me not to jump your cab. :D

Thats a bit of a coincidence isn't it. Never happened to me though.

Where did you drop them off first time, where's this lane? What did they look like?

Are you a racist prick who subjects his customers to long winded rants about "dem foridners"??

You dropped them off in the middle of nowhere?? In Dublin?? How'd ya manage that one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Sure there's a lot of taxis, and sure there's some scumbag passengers. But I'll be fooked if I have to stand 2 hours for a smelly kip of a car like we used to have to do. Bollix, it's a free market. Don't like it, get another job. We're all stuck in this crap at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

redout wrote: »
    Should count yourself lucky that he did not have a bat with him and proceed to knock the ****e out of you. Uncle been a taxi driver for about 15 years and has used the thing at least a dozen times in them 15 years to beat the ****e out of ***** who tried to do a runner. But sure for everyone he caught probabley 2 or 3 would get away.

Sounds like your uncle Walter Mitty is full of shoit.

Mairt wrote: »
    Sounds like your uncle Walter Mitty is full of shoit.

What planet do you live on ? Go ask the older taxi drivers on here and I am sure alot of them carry some sort of a weapon in the car and have done so for many years. Why ? because they work in a bloody dangerous job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

redout wrote: »
    What planet do you live on ? Go ask the older taxi drivers on here and I am sure alot of them carry some sort of a weapon in the car and have done so for many years. Why ? because they work in a bloody dangerous job.

From Post #37 in this very thread...
    Mairt wrote: »

Three spoofs I hear from taxi driver's all the time..

1. How much money they're making.

2. The amount of chic's they shag.

3. The amount of lads they've had to beat up for their fare.

Its bullsh*t.

Tell Walt that Mairt over on boards.ie said he's full of shoit.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Spook_ie and lost marbles banned.

Are you a racist prick who subjects his customers to long winded rants about "dem foridners"??

You dropped them off in the middle of nowhere?? In Dublin?? How'd ya manage that one??
    Spook_ie and lost marbles banned.

But.. But, he never told me how?

Who is walt ?