How can we make buses safer?

• 20-10-2008 10:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭

Serious question this one. Don't you just hate getting on a bus late in the night and some jerk starts going off on eveyrone and starting fights. My Irish teacher last year told me(and the class) about how rough the bus he used to get home was. He talked about this one guy who got on the bus and started punching everyone, eventually someone had enough and managed to throw the guy off. I also remember a news report a few years ago where a Chinese lad was thrown off the top of a 77 or 77A, well he was thorn out the back on the second floor of the double decker. Anyway, it's a real annoyance to have these little cnuts coming onto buses and causing trouble and i realise it's gonna be difficult but do you think there might be away to make the buses safer. Those security cameras are not very good and the bus driver has enough on his plate as it is with driving the bus. I really think this is a problem that needs to be addressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

You could just try and stop being a pussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

My advice is this:

Get a proper job and get a car. Let the skangers take the public transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

**** buses man. Car it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

i remember that bloke gettin thrown off the bus in tallaght. was comin home from work and saw the bus pulled in at the square bus stop, so ran for it thinkin it was in service. got up closer and saw all the police tape, then the blood all over the place! nasty.

but ye, sit downstairs if ur that worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

The only unpleasant things I've been subject to on Dublin Bus are when people I know that I have no intention of keeping in touch with get on and sit near me (People who I wouldn't necessarily have been best buddies with when I was in school, etc.). I usually end up blanking them usually resulting in an awkward awareness of each others presence on the bus.

I'd be all for stopping that shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

Never ever had a problem on any bus i've ever been on. Guess the 46A(N) and 7(n) just don't attract that type of client :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

A few of these lads up the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The following is being introduced in London.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7678855.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Yeah don't bother with the bus just take the 46A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Buses : Transport for proles

It's loike 'public' transport, no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bus drivers who did their job would be a start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Only problem I've had on buses is people smoking.

The joke's on them though, because my sneezing fits leave all my airborne germs floating around.

They'll finish their smoke, then 10 years later, BAM! Herpes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

OPENROAD wrote: »
    The following is being introduced in London.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7678855.stm

All the Dublin Busse's Alexander's Vivio 400 and 500's which are similar to those in london have 7 on board fisheye CCTV's 4 upstairs and 3 below, although they are not live it would not take much to hook them up to a 3G broadband system (Also used for on board WIFI ) and transmit them live to a central office which could be monitored by both DB and the Gardai.

When the registered smart card comes into full effect vandalism and acting the maggot will be almost down to nill. "Sorry mate, your banned from travel on Dublin Bus for 2 months according to your smart card records for having your feet on the seats on the 7X at 02.07 hours on 07/10/11".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The buses in my town in central Illinois are award winning. Quick and efficient, the bus drivers don't take any lip either. You're out on your backside if there is even a hint of trouble(I noticed it recently and it was an elderly woman who was turfed out). Yep I would say the bus drivers need to do more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

To make buses safer, ban UCD students? :D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055402665

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

When the registered smart card comes into full effect vandalism and acting the maggot will be almost down to nill. "Sorry mate, your banned from travel on Dublin Bus for 2 months according to your smart card records".

Is that like the Oyster card in London?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Is that like the Oyster card in London?
    Yes, same thing different name, The Dublin Bus smart card is only a prepayed disposable card, it defeats the whole purpose of a smart card but never the less it has opened the door for this technology. Give it time and it will eventually become registered with a photo ID.

Just like the London system they will offer some kind of a "carrot" to persuade you to register your card like discounted travel and daily capped fares :rolleyes:.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I used the infamous 77 bus for years and never had a problem. In saying that, i don't envy that particular buses driver.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Dublin Bus is fine. The 'notorious' 77 is ok except for the harmless infrequent oddballs of all routes..

However the passengers of the fortnightly 16A bus window smashing on Dorset St might proffer a differing opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

buses are freaking unsafe now? every couple of years a few people get killed by them causing a huge public outcry which will end up being used as an excuse to push for some more ridiculous, far fetched safety regulations. but really buses are quite safe

anyone remember when they covered up a question on the leaving cert that mentioned a school bus a few weeks after one crashed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Serious question this one. Don't you just hate getting on a bus late in the night and some jerk starts going off on eveyrone and starting fights. My Irish teacher last year told me(and the class) about how rough the bus he used to get home was. He talked about this one guy who got on the bus and started punching everyone, eventually someone had enough and managed to throw the guy off. I also remember a news report a few years ago where a Chinese lad was thrown off the top of a 77 or 77A, well he was thorn out the back on the second floor of the double decker. Anyway, it's a real annoyance to have these little cnuts coming onto buses and causing trouble and i realise it's gonna be difficult but do you think there might be away to make the buses safer. Those security cameras are not very good and the bus driver has enough on his plate as it is with driving the bus. I really think this is a problem that needs to be addressed

Mate of mine, not chinese, and got a few grand off dublin bus for his trouble.

Oh how we laughed.

When the full body cast was off him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Mate of mine, not chinese, and got a few grand off dublin bus for his trouble.

Oh how we laughed.

When the full body cast was off him.
    I don't get it, did the bus driver throw him out the window or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

square wheels?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I don't get it, did the bus driver throw him out the window or something?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Mena wrote: »
    My advice is this:

Get a proper job and get a car. Let the skangers take the public transport.

Well most people get nitelinks because they have been drinking, so a car wouldn't be an option whether you owned one or not.

Mark200 wrote: »
    Well most people get nitelinks because they have been drinking, so a car wouldn't be an option whether you owned one or not.

Thats what taxi's are for. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Ban all D4 and D4 wannabes.

Edit: All we need to ban all the free loading OAP's as well, they get free travel and also all the good seats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

So that's where all those AH bigots hang out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I got the 77, 50 and 65b for years and didn't see as much trouble as people imagine. Few incidents a year tops. Avoid upstairs and the seats right beside the driver. Best place to sit would be beyond the stairs on the lower deck.

Better still: walk small distances instead of being a fat cnut and getting the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

If you can't beat 'em, join 'em.

So I became an Oxfam tracksuit-wearing skanger who sits at the back of the bus all day drinking cans and reading the metro just to intimidate people before they can intimidate me.