Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your best and worst customer service experiences [rant & praise]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I know Maddie, well I knew her. Will I get away with stuff now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

stek wrote: »
    Esquires, Manor Mills Shopping Centre, Maynooth, tried to charge me 75c extra for a decaf latte(as aposed too regular)!! I know it takes extra work to remove the caffine but concidering the cost to the company is negligable..
    I'd have given you a dirty look for ordering a decaf latte. What kind of coffee wuss are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Lol, only good looking people should work in restaurants?

Our standards may be different (mine being low lol) but i generally consider someone good looking if they don't look like a manky howya that should wax her tache off. Maybe i should have used presentable.

btw, this reminds me of the time i went into a McDonalds to grab a coffee (was in a rush) and the black girl behind the counter had a visible moustache. I was standing there awe struck thinking "Damn she has better facial hair growth then me". I could only think of the hair afterwards so the coffee went in the bin.

*shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

TGI's in prague is what they should be like. Alot cheaper then here, big portions, better taste and nice friendly good looking staff

Try Beijing, like 1/2 the price of here, better service, and better food.

No free refills though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

DenMan wrote: »
    Cold calling. I find this to be extremely irritating. Despite constant reminders not to call again, within minutes or later on the evening the same caller rings again. Can't they harass someone else?

3 Simple and fun solutions to that my friend.
    1. When they say "hello mr.john doe how are you today?" you respond with something like "oh god im terrible you just woulnd't believe it my wife left me for my next door neighbour, they were riding behind my back all along, she said he has a bigger penis than I do, they're going off to Mexico tomorrow now and I don't know when I'll get the car back etc etc....

2. Interrupt and tell them you're busy, asking if you can have their home phone number to call them back after, when they respond saying they can't give out their personal phone number, ask is it because they don't want to be disturbed at home, when they say yes, say now you know how i f*ckin feel

3. Ask them to hang on for a second, put the phone down and go about your daily routine ;)
    That'll learn 'em :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Our standards may be different (mine being low lol) but i generally consider someone good looking if they don't look like a manky howya that should wax her tache off. Maybe i should have used presentable.
    Why say she was black?! I believe this to be racist! And I think all black people are apparently called African American no matter where they originally hail from. Obviously I'm taking the piss. If your are infact black I'm not trying to take your piss I I totally respect your right to keep your own piss, and fine piss it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I'd have given you a dirty look for ordering a decaf latte. What kind of coffee wuss are you?
    A sleepy one, probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Ardent wrote: »

RTE - For letting Beverly Copper Flynn off the hook coz Berties told them to - you'll never get another license fee off me you bastids.

But what if the inspector pops around and you don't have your licence....you could end up in court...how embarrassing...they've heard all the excuses and none of them work...

God, I hate those adverts that are meant to make you feel guilty for refusing to pay for shíte programming. In between 'Celebrity Bainisteoir' and 'Fair City' and 'The Big Big Movie' on Saturday evenings , of course. That's all quality programming.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Remnds me of the Lisbon campaign, local Sinn Fein were going around canvassing for no vote here, never forget what they did - knocked at the same time at each landing (4 flats per landing/floor) and when everyone answered the door they all, at the same time, said "TV licence inspector - can I see your licence please"
    Smart arse buggers but was bloody funny :D
    Even though I have a licence, I still felt guilty and didn't know what to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Nehaxak wrote: »
    local Sinn Fein were going around canvassing for no vote here...and when everyone answered the door they all, at the same time, said "TV licence inspector - can I see your licence please"

Even though I have a licence, I still felt guilty and didn't know what to say.
    "Can I pay the fine using Northern Bank Twenty Pound Notes?" is what you should have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

"Can I pay the fine using Northern Bank Twenty Pound Notes?" is what you should have said.

:D Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Since public houses are game; the UCD student bar. Bought a round of 4 drinks, and as we all started drinking, two of my mates saw chewing gum inside their reused plastic pint cups, right down at the bottom (not to mention the beer was flat too). So I went up with the two of them, and showed the barman both pints. He accused me of sticking the gum to the bottom and would only give us two half pints of the cheapest beer in the place as a replacement.

Also Esso in Greystones for messing up my car and being difficult about it, even though they were obviously at fault for the trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i used to work in the airport andone of the little newsagents there would not accept a torn20euro note i had despite the fact i had both parts of it and it fit perfectly together

i was in a bit of amood andkicked up a bit of a fuss but she stood her groundso i simply bought my credit from the other shop (probably owned by the same people now that i think about it but its the principle)

similarly me and a few of my mates were playing poker at mine and decided at the last minute to go to barcode so i drove in parked went to the door and was promptly refused for being too drunk........tried to explain i jsut drove from my house and hadnt had a drop but they insisted i was buckled and wouldnt let me in but would let my mates who had been drinking in so i never went back there..........having said that i was 18 so my barcode days were coming to an end anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

What sickens me to my stomach is his daughter-in law Rachel Allen getting her own cookery shows all over the place after she publicly defended him.

She along with Allen's wife, defended the man for a very good reason. The reason being that he was innocent, as it was his drug addict, ****ed up son that committed the crimes and charged the porn to his fathers credit card. Allen of course took the blame because he knew his son would not be able to handle the consequences. I heard this from a reliable source who grew up pretty much with the Allen family. I was a bit sceptical when I heard it first but it makes sense when you consider how Allen's wife Darina stuck by him despite everything that happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Conbro wrote: »
    She along with Allen's wife, defended the man for a very good reason. The reason being that he was innocent, as it was his drug addict, ****ed up son that committed the crimes and charged the porn to his fathers credit card. Allen of course took the blame because he knew his son would not be able to handle the consequences. I heard this from a reliable source who grew up pretty much with the Allen family. I was a bit sceptical when I heard it first but it makes sense when you consider how Allen's wife Darina stuck by him despite everything that happened

Yeah I heard this at the time too from my cousins who supply them with ducks/geese. Everyone down there seems to think this is the case, that he was protecting his son. Who knows! I wonder if their value has gone down much since all that happened, presume they lost a lot of customers over it.

And for me, after this week I won't be going near Insomnia in Malahide. Rudest staff I've ever seen. And that's saying something around here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

^^^^ That's the rumours that I didn't want to say for legal reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Seeing a hell of a lot of people seem to know it I doubt it's big news anymore to be honest. Still obviously just a rumour though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

AnonoBoy wrote: »

If we were worried about legal stuff we probably shouldn't have let this thread descend into the current "places i dislike because i was slighted in there once but oHHH THEY ARE ALL SCUMMY BASTARDS" mess that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

I'd never shop in dixons - currys
    Shower of **** heads. Bought an Mini disk player of them and took out the extra warranty on it the thing packed in a month after buying it and they messed me around for months. So people beware of this brand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Wantobe

My local chemists!

My toddler came down with high temp on Monday night. She was pretty sick so I was up most of Mon night, took Tues off work to stay with her, up most of Tues night and Wed morning went to chemists to stock up on calpol ( and by this stage feeling fairly frail myself so some paraceptemol for me too). Nobody else in the shop apart from staff, having a confab behind the counter. Myself and the obviously sick toddler ( lying down in buggy, whinging) at the counter waiting. So after short wait one guy starts to walk towards me when this young girl ( all dolled up) comes up to the counter beside me. He goes to serve her first. So I say- I was here first- and he looks at me and says- I'll be with you in 2 minutes- You won't, I say, I'm going to another chemists and I won't be back. Very, very annoyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

btw, this reminds me of the time i went into a McDonalds to grab a coffee (was in a rush) and the black girl behind the counter had a visible moustache. I was standing there awe struck thinking "Damn she has better facial hair growth then me". I could only think of the hair afterwards so the coffee went in the bin.

*shudders*

Worked in McDonald's years ago and they were constantly telling the lads to shave before we came to work which I never understood. I'd have no problem with a guy with a bit of stubble or whatever serving me food but a girl with facial hair would completely put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Serge

Tesco in Wilton SC - very very very slowly cashiers in the morning hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭NibNib

Quinn Direct - I was involved in a car accident and needed to transfer my car insurance onto a rental car... they charged me for that. I had since found out about a few other things that really put me off. So I have stayed away from them since.

Overclockers - Ordered a 2K PC, never arrived. Abysmal customer service and appalling attitude. No PC and didn't get my money back from them so had to contact my credit card company. Stay away from them!!!

My 1st post! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭DenMan

NibNib wrote: »
    Quinn Direct - I was involved in a car accident and needed to transfer my car insurance onto a rental car... they charged me for that. I had since found out about a few other things that really put me off. So I have stayed away from them since.

Overclockers - Ordered a 2K PC, never arrived. Abysmal customer service and appalling attitude. No PC and didn't get my money back from them so had to contact my credit card company. Stay away from them!!!

My 1st post! :)

1st of many I hope. :)

Sorry to hear about your bad experiences with both Quinn Direct and Overclockers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Tesco and Dunnes - The price / quality ratio for both these stores food products is very poor. Aldi beats them hands down.

Statoil / Topaz - Their instore food / beverages seem to be getting worse in quality by the month.

BT Broadband - non-existent customer service.

Insomnia - Terrible "tar-like" and chemical tasting coffee. How they sell this muck is beyond me.

Sony - has become just a "designer brand" - but is technically poor and offers unreliable products esp. their laptops.

Motorola Phones - Unreliable.

HP IT equipment - Flakey at best - would never buy anything HP. Usually high spec but low reliability.

O'Briens - unimaginative, bland and tasteless food. Altough their offering in their non-Irish branches seems to be better for some reason.

oh and Dublin Pubs - Rude staff and overpriced. Overall they seem to treat most of their customers as dupes. "Lets just ramp up the prices for these idiots at 11pm and hope they don't notice"... most of them deserve to go out of business they treat their customers with such disrespect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭NibNib

DenMan wrote: »
    1st of many I hope. :)

Thank you DenMan. This is my 3rd :D

Spar or Centra...surly staff behind the counter who look at every customer as if they are about to start shoplifting..proof that it's not just Irish customer service that is sh*t as most of the staff are Asian

With the exception of the staff in Spar Ranelagh who are without exception extremely helpful, genuine and friendly

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Collie D wrote: »
    With the exception of the staff in Spar Ranelagh who are without exception extremely helpful, genuine and friendly

Do they have a knife to your throat right now?
    If they do, just thank this post and I will call the cops for you.

Do they have a knife to your throat right now?
    If they do, just thank this post and I will call the cops for you.

Haha, I was hoping somebody would decipher the code in there. Well done, sir. My life is indebted to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Collie D wrote: »
    Spar or Centra...surly staff behind the counter who look at every customer as if they are about to start shoplifting..

Yeah, they always seem to be angry...as if it's the customers fault they have a shít job.

I wouldn't boycott any shop because somebody treated me poorly. I think I would run out of places to buy stuff if I did that.

For the sake of registering my disgust on the internet though, I'll give out about the local Tesco, as twice when I went to buy my Cadbury Turkish Delight bar, there was some young wan on the till who was more interested in her nails and shouting over me to the girl on the next checkout, than in serving me. I've done such jobs myself , I know it's crap, but they shouldn't really be that rude.