"I'm a dope" moments.

• 09-10-2008 08:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭

Earlier this evening, I parked outside a petrol station and went into the shop, beeping my car locked as I went in.
    When I came back out, I beeped the car back open again, and despite the BEEP being loud and clear, the doors weren't opening. I tried another few times and with no joy.
    So then I thought I would try to use the key to open the door and see what happened. Realizing after a moment that the key didn't seem to fit in the door (I'd never used the key to open it before), I looked up to see a young girl standing beside me looking rather inquisitively towards me.
    I said "having a bit a of a problem with my remote locker" to break the stony silence she was directing at me, at which point she mentioned that this wasnt my car, it was hers. She had parked (illegally i might add) right outside the door. I was parked in the nearest proper spot, so thats my feeble excuse.
    Worst part was the 4 pack of Budweiser I had rested on her roof while trying to open the door :o
    If looks could kill, I wouldnt be dead, but I'd be in intensive care.

Damn you dark rainy evenings and black saloon cars that all look the same, damn you all to helll!!!

Any "I'm a dope" moments to share??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Mine was i was fixin the sink and when i took off the u bend i had to drain out the water so of course i poured the water into the sink.......while still holdin the u bend.

Laughed for a good five mins at myself for that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

saying i reckon i'll be home at 11, thinking "feck it, i'll have one more", tipping meself over the edge when it comes to self control and walking home at 5 in the morning saying "i'm a feckin' dope" and then doing it again and again and again and again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭LEIN

Getting out of bed at 5am on a Saturday and driving into work when i never work Saturdays!

Total brain failure morning!

Didn't notice that the traffic was 10 times lighter than it would on a week day!

Work in Dub city Center btw so drove in from north Wicklow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Damo9090 wrote: »
    Getting out of bed at 5am on a Saturday and driving into work when i never work Saturdays!

Total brain failure morning!

Didn't notice that the traffic was 10 times lighter than it would on a week day!

Work in Dub city Center btw so drove in from north Wicklow!

FAIL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Not exactly the same thing but loads of times I have been running for the bus and just as I got there the bus pulls off. I know the people who have seen me are laughing and thinking " f*cking idiot".....figure the only solution is to keep running.Another time was ina chemist with my OH and various Durex products caught my eye. I picked one up and turned around and said we should try this....to some stranger with two kids in tow much to the amusement of my OH a couple of steps behind them....Couldn't get out of the shop quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

I prefer the term 'blonde moments'.

Mine are mostly like those of suspectdevice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

abitlonely wrote: »
    I prefer the term 'blonde moments'.

What has dyeing your hair yellow have to do with being...

Nevermind, I get it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Making myself breakfast one morning, put cornflakes into the toaster - men really can't multitask.

Archeron wrote: »
    Earlier this evening, I parked outside a petrol station and went into the shop, beeping my car locked as I went in.
    When I came back out, I beeped the car back open again, and despite the BEEP being loud and clear, the doors weren't opening. I tried another few times and with no joy.
    So then I thought I would try to use the key to open the door and see what happened. Realizing after a moment that the key didn't seem to fit in the door (I'd never used the key to open it before), I looked up to see a young girl standing beside me looking rather inquisitively towards me.
    I said "having a bit a of a problem with my remote locker" to break the stony silence she was directing at me, at which point she mentioned that this wasnt my car, it was hers. She had parked (illegally i might add) right outside the door. I was parked in the nearest proper spot, so thats my feeble excuse.
    Worst part was the 4 pack of Budweiser I had rested on her roof while trying to open the door :o
    If looks could kill, I wouldnt be dead, but I'd be in intensive care.

Damn you dark rainy evenings and black saloon cars that all look the same, damn you all to helll!!!

Any "I'm a dope" moments to share??

lol good story :D

Mine was in the gym when I first started bench pressing about 2 years back......

Right, I had only done it with my trainer before so I wasn't sure what weight I was lifting etc. So I was going by the sheet and seen 45kg. So like a trooper I piled on 45kgs to a bar without considering the fukn weight of the bar itself (20 extra kgs). So I got lying down and threw it up there. The second I did it I fukn knew and I was like.....''O bollix....., not good!'' .The fukn thing fell behind my head and my legs and the bench went with it making a fukn LOUD noise. About 20-30 people came over to me with ''are you oks etc'' & I just remember one cunt saying ''You shouldnt lift more then you can man....''. I felt like kicking him in the bollix & saying '' Well I fukn know that don't I!!!??? ''

Scarlet for me, I didn't go back for like two weeks :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

I was on the bus a few weeks ago, sitting behind a granny, and I was drinking a bottle of lucozade. Just as I took a mouthfull the bus went over a ramp (fast) which caused me to cough the mouthfull of lucozade all over the back of the granny's head.....needless to say i got the hell up and got off the bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭eyresquare

Searching my room for a good 5 minutes for my remote last night just to turn up the tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭LEIN

eyresquare wrote: »
    Searching my room for a good 5 minutes for my remote last night just to turn up the tv

Even worse looking for the fooking thing when its in you hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Kablam

I'd say i'm not the only one guilty of the ol' throw the sweet in the bin and try and eat the wrapper trick. But almost every day....can't be right:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

Was on holidays with a few of the lads. We were eating ****e all week so me and one of my mates thought we'd go for the healthy option and buy a cooked chicken and some salad and make a chicken salad.

So we buy the neccesary ingredients and set about eating our healthy meal. My mate says to me, "this lettuce tastes real weird", "it does" says me and we continue eating it. A few minutes later my mate says "maybe lettuce tastes different in Russia ", "Must do" says I.

An hour later one of the other lads shouts in from the kitchen "who bought a feckin head of cabbage?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

My brother pulls up outside a shop in his red golf and I get out and run in, come back out and jump into the car (its pissing raining) and I say come on to f*ck, we are gonna be late and elbow him in the arm whilst searching for my mars bar in the bag.

Wrong car - I was elbowing a terrified ol' geezer in a red golf parked right in front of my brother (who was incidentially pissing himself laughing, watching me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Haha good one gary_the_great.

oh thank you for the laughs!

my friend pulls up at garage and goes to put petrol in the car but pump isn't working so she goes into shop and there's a problem with tills so they've to turn the pump on for her - goes back out doesn't work still so runs back and forth a couple of times before saying fook this i'll go somewhere else. Jumps in car, turns radio up full blast playing "Man I feel like a woman" puts foot down and notices alot of people running towards her screaming and waving hands - she cant hear a thing cos of the music. She managed to drive nearly out of the petrol station bfore realising the pump still in her car, the whole pump pulled out of the ground! Petrol station had to be shut down for 2 weeks! DOH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Talking to someone on my phone while simultaneously looking to see where I left my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Lobster

Answering my phone when the phone alarm goes off in the morning. Happens me alot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Similar to the OP...

Came home from the pub some time ago, 3am or so, pissed, key wouldn't work, rang bell to wake flatmate. Nothing. Banged door to wake up flatmate, no answer. Yelled. nothing. Then, what gave the game away: a baby started crying on the other side of the door.

Fvck, I'm on the wrong bleedin' floor, thinks I.

I turn to run before someone sees me, get two steps up the stairs and then the door opens and one very pissed-off woman holding by now SCREAMING child, yells something aggressively at me in German. I very nearly heil-Hitlered here in responce, but not quiet that pissed. I apologised in French (no idea) and legged it up the stairs.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Im always doing such things-
    Standing patiently at glass double doors assuming they were automatic -shop assistant had to pull doors come out ask me was I ok! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

In West Philadelphia, born n raised in da playground is where i spent most of my days, when a couple of guys who were up to no good started makin trouble in my neighbourhood i got in one lil fight n my mum got scared n said your movin with your antie and uncle in bell air.

My brother pulls up outside a shop in his red golf and I get out and run in, come back out and jump into the car (its pissing raining) and I say come on to f*ck, we are gonna be late and elbow him in the arm whilst searching for my mars bar in the bag.

Wrong car - I was elbowing a terrified ol' geezer in a red golf parked right in front of my brother (who was incidentially pissing himself laughing, watching me).

lol good ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

My Dad had borrowed my sister in law's car, a red Golf, to pick me up from school. I see a red Golf, throw in my bag in the boot and sit in the front seat to discover that it wasn't...well, you know the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Had a twisted ankle previously (it probably occurred when I was locked at some stage - was about 18 at the time so many moons ago) - several days later, with still badly sprained ankle, I was driving home from a mates house on my 125 motorbike.

Arrived at my destination (my parents gaff) & stopped the vehicle. Normally when I stop the bike I lean it on to my left foot (the one that was twisted) - which I foolishly decided to do in this instance, my poor auld ankle was unable to take the weight of my well fleshed frame combined with the weight of my heave, but small-engined motorcycle. Cue me and bike falling in a heap to the left, exacerbating the ankle injury further. Getting that bike off me was DAMN hard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

I unfortunately have millions of these. Sometimes my brain switches off at the worst of times; this one took place age 13 - was using a large bowie knife to tune in a very old telly that had weird twisty things for tuning - so that I could play an old NES system I had dug out of the attic - threw knife on bed when operation was successful & then (wait for it) unthinkingly launched myself on to the bed after it, forgetting what I had done moments before. Cue one large bowie knife in leg, quick visit to hospital, stictches & my ma believing my cousin stabbed me, despite me telling her what had actually happened. heh heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I congratulated the best man at a wedding :o I wanted the ground to swallow me up. I *should* have known the groom, but the family all looked the same to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

This isn't me (apologies) but my dad. Passing through the kitchen one night he ate what he though was my sisters discarded pizza topping only to start spitting and spluttering when he realised he'd eaten a mouthful of pencil parings. :o

Not for nothing do we call him Trigger :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Going to sleep at day when i had a hard morning, half awake at 5...looking out the window at the sun going down and panicking thinking that i slept into the next day! :eek: