What do you HATE about boards.ie

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

biko and his band of merry little repressed men.

He's like the guy who turns up to a session with no can's and insists he play's wham

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

biko and his band of merry little repressed men.

He's like the guy who turns up to a session with no can's and insists he play's wham

Quick everybody! Release Smith from his pettycoats! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

This has probably been said already, but i HATE it when boardsies think that everyone is from dublin...especially in AH. Threads like "where to head in town tonight?" or something about the toll bridge on the N fcuking whatever...or "did anyone see what happened on {insert street name in dublin} last night?

Bugs me..
    Fcuking dubs..think ye own boards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The inexplicable cult of personality around a handful posters

Some of the frankly bitter nerds

Stuff designed to alienate new users like in-jokes, ganging up and the like.

Culchies moaning about Dublin threads.

Small gripes though: I <3 boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Dubs who think that people who are not from dublin are automatically "culchies"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Three things

Firstly: Dublin. - Not boards fault per say, but fuckkit, the place is a rancid mess.

and seriously

The no personal abuse rule: If you can't take some random guy on the internet calling you an idiot because after your last 12 posts it's clear you are indeed a blithering fucking retard, then you shouldn't be on the internet. Get out and come back when you can take criticism.

and also Moderators and posters inability to read whats infront of them. If i say "this is the stupidest thing i've ever read" that does not mean that i'm saying you are an idiot. Plenty of smart people say stupid things. Learn to read what's there not what you want to be there.

Femmy wrote: »
    Dubs who think that people who are not from dublin are automatically "culchies"...

I hate that too. Plenty of Dubliners are forced to live outside the capital these days. Not their fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Femmy wrote: »

Apologies I sure he meant to say "Bog warrior" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

that no one loves us english-now i am in tears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Femmy posted what I was about to.

Also, people who sign off their posts. Why?

People in the Cork City forum who start threads ending with ......In Cork? You are posting ina Cork forum, and you are asking a question, why specify?

The utter over moderation of the soccer forum. You can't insult an opposition player without a ban.

Far too many 'wacky' forums

Arts. Talk about pretentious.

Jesus, I dislike alot about here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Don't mind culchies in general, it's just the Cork ones we could do without. Maybe the People's Republic can have their own site. Boards.pr or something.

/awaits first biter....

Wheres the yawn smiley?

Wow that didn't take long at all!

It was not a bite, it was a yawn at a poor effort at winding up.

There's another think I don't like - uptight posters.

Learn to have a bit or craic, it won't kill you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

splinters

^ That link does not work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Three things

Firstly: Dublin. - Not boards fault per say, but fuckkit, the place is a rancid mess.

and seriously

The no personal abuse rule: If you can't take some random guy on the internet calling you an idiot because after your last 12 posts it's clear you are indeed a blithering fucking retard, then you shouldn't be on the internet. Get out and come back when you can take criticism.

and also Moderators and posters inability to read whats infront of them. If i say "this is the stupidest thing i've ever read" that does not mean that i'm saying you are an idiot. Plenty of smart people say stupid things. Learn to read what's there not what you want to be there.

this is the stupidest thing i've ever read!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

this is the stupidest thing i've ever read!

OH!

I see what you did there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

The loser lads that post all day in the ladies lounge.. trying to find a girlfriend.

People from outside the Pale :p

People who take things too seriously, you know those cunts that go and make a big feedback thread over fuk all. Like an infraction they clearly deserved or they don't like the colour of some board's skin(JESUS JUST DONT USE IT THEN). Shit like that.

I hate how there is always someone who is going to defend some outrageous subject matter. Ie - Pedo's , murderers, etc. There is ALWAYS one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

that there's no return to top or forum on each post and I have to waste precious seconds battling to get to the top of the
    screen to go back to the post list.

The "Home" button on your keyboard?
    Oh and the ban on talking about that which shall not be named.
    I support the ban and think it should be extended to the other major player in the market which that which cannot be named is in, as they are both cnuts(OK maybe the ones we can name aren't as bad but still...).

I don't think I hate anything about Boards, it is an information source sometimes, other times a time killer, it's just the internet get over it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

That one's going to cause a ruckus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

**** that get banned from AH and then try and get around it with a second account.

oh wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Don't mind culchies in general, it's just the Cork ones we could do without. Maybe the People's Republic can have their own site. Boards.pr or something.

Shouldn't that be boards.bai?

gimmick wrote: »
    People in the Cork City forum who start threads ending with ......In Cork? You are posting ina Cork forum, and you are asking a question, why specify?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57517542#post57517542
    Huehuehue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Irish Halo wrote: »
    I support the ban and think it should be extended to the other major player in the market which that which cannot be named is in, as they are both cnuts(OK maybe the ones we can name aren't as bad but still...).

Wha?Wha? What arent we allowed mention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

txt spkn tw@ts

anniehoo wrote: »
    Wha?Wha? What arent we allowed mention?

Sticky. Every forum my dear watson.