Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Kinnear Transcript in full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Charlie

Villain wrote: »
    Or maybe he knows he isn't going to get another job and has always wanted a chance to tell the media what he thought of them so here Mike Ashley pays him a nice few quid for managing for a few weeks and he gets to tell the media what he thinks about all the crap they wrote about him when he was in charge at the dons and Notts Forest

If that's the case, Joe shouldn't be using our club as a vehicle to seek revenge against the media. He is being paid very good money to do a job he really shouldn't have gotten in the first place. He should therefore do what he is being paid to do, and put his personal grudges to one side, something he can take up hen he is back working on his own time.

Look, as a Newcastle fan, I have some serious beef with alot of the southern rags (Alot of my posts of the last 6 months will have reflected this). But, there is a time and place for that to be addressed, and JFK going off on one, does us absolutely no favours as we try and get things back on track, keep the club off the front pages, and just try and get on with the job that has to be done. Joe hasn't gotten 'one up' on them, but has been baited into feeding the trolls, and looking the worse for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Villain

If that's the case, Joe shouldn't be using our club as a vehicle to seek revenge against the media. He is being paid very good money to do a job he really shouldn't have gotten in the first place. He should therefore do what he is being paid to do, and put his personal grudges to one side, something he can take up hen he is back working on his own time.

Look, as a Newcastle fan, I have some serious beef with alot of the southern rags (Alot of my posts of the last 6 months will have reflected this). But, there is a time and place for that to be addressed, and JFK going off on one, does us absolutely no favours as we try and get things back on track, keep the club off the front pages, and just try and get on with the job that has to be done. Joe hasn't gotten 'one up' on them, but has been baited into feeding the trolls, and looking the worse for it.

As a newcastle fan you should be glad someone/anyone agreed to be manager as Boggles said a huge number said no, so if part of Joe agreeing to manage the team included him been allowed to slag of the media then so what.

You should be glad Mike Ashley wasn't onto Steve Staunton :eek:

As a newcastle fan you should be glad someone/anyone agreed to be manager as Boggles said a huge number said no, so if part of Joe agreeing to manage the team included him been allowed to slag of the media then so what.

Yeah, I should be getting down on my hands and needs and showing the utmost gratitude??

I more than anyone know how badly my club has been run down, and the perilous position we find ourselves in. However, to suggest that this allows an interim manager, of JFK's standing (or lack thereof) to ride roughshod with the position because he is 'doing us a favour', is nonsensical. If JFK took the job, then he took it with the understanding that he would act professionally, and treat it as any manager would treat their new job, not with a mentality of 'this is my last gig, so I am going to use it as I see fit'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Villain

So Steve Staunton should have got the call :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,406 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So Steve Staunton should have got the call :D

Steve turned it down he was 15th. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Boggles wrote: »
    How many managers turned the job down?, reports were it was as high as 17.

Did you ever consider the fact that Joe might be doing Newcastle a favour?

The role is a very specific short term deal, of course none of the reputable managers would want to take a role with such uncertainty and constraints, and that's more or less how Joe has got the gig - someone desperate and more importantly : available.

Right now, Joe is doing no-one any favours, certainly not Newcastle.

I didn't think there was any real way Joe could lose on this deal, but he seems off to a terrible start, and he hasn't even been in charge of a game yet

zAbbo wrote: »
    Right now, Joe is doing no-one any favours, certainly not Newcastle.

Joe is nearly 62 and by all accounts already a wealthy man, the way I see it he did his friend Wise a favour. It was either him or the binman by all accounts.

If that's the case, why did Joe publicly say that he was surprised to get it, and knows that the only reason he did, was because others turned it down, that he wants to use the gig as a platform to relaunch his carear, because for the last few years, any jobs he went for, he was getting turned down.

This certainly doesn't seem like the language of a man doleing out favours, but of a man grateful for one last chance to resurrect his carear.

that he wants to use the gig as a platform to relaunch his carear

Is he on record as saying that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Is he on record as saying that?

It's out there in text somewhere, I just can't be arsed trawling through the web to dig it up. But here is an audio interview after he just got the job, where he says he hopes he can use his spell at Newcastle to get him back into the game, as he can't seem to get an interview at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Roar wrote: »

I think that actually makes more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I'm back!

That whole thing is like a car crash taking place in slow motion, if Kinnear responds like that in a press conference how is he going to deal with the pressure of the next few games managing Newcastle?

People should put their agendas aside re. red tops for one moment and look at the behaviour of the man responsible for attempting to steady the ship at Sid James'.

I'm back!

That whole thing is like a car crash taking place in slow motion, if Kinnear responds like that in a press conference how is he going to deal with the pressure of the next few games managing Newcastle?

People should put their agendas aside re. red tops for one moment and look at the behaviour of the man responsible for attempting to steady the ship at Sid James'.

This is my point reckless. You probably more than anyone has seen my disdain and contempt for the southern media, and their treatment of my club. However, that's a battle foranother day, and one which JFK should not wager for his own personal gain.

His behavior has only brought more unwanted attention to our club, and I would imagine, has left alot of the players wondering who the fcuk is running the place.

On a more positive note, welcome back. How did you like Vancouver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It's out there in text somewhere, I just can't be arsed trawling through the web to dig it up. But here is an audio interview after he just got the job, where he says he hopes he can use his spell at Newcastle to get him back into the game, as he can't seem to get an interview at the moment.

He said it on Football Focus as well when they interviewed him. He talked about how he could have other opportunities in the game if he does well with Newcastle and that it's a massive chance for him.

As amusing as I found the outburst I can't see it being helpful to Newcastle at all. The club now more than ever needs stability and some semblance of normality so hearing the interim manager coming out and calling people c*nts isn't going to help the players much in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I'm back!

An absolute shambles imo, I am starting to feel sorry for the fans, Kinnear was a mad choice and he has let himself down big time with his stupid outburst, what must the likes of Michael Owen be thinking, he will be gone come January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Dunno if it has been posted but the Mirror link is now unedited :)

Too bad there was no video :( Someone mentioned it being off the record, sounds as if it was papers only, no tv :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,570 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

bit of a conspiracy theory, but is there any chance that JK was encouraged to take some of the pressure off the club during his few weeks there, make a big deal about himself and take the spotlight off whats going on behind the scenes with a more public show of insanity so that it seems like a bad influence is leaving with his baggage when he's done, leaving it more like a fresh start for the new owners and new manager?

I doubt it tbh, but just a thought...

<edit>
    p.s lol at your sig Shane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Establishing yourself as a rebel and an outlaw who says **** the rest certainly has been done before. Mourhino proclaimed himself The Special One in his opener. Capello, while not saying much, said alot with his angry I want results look (still dont rate him personally mind)

And Stan put on a face like a kamikaze and proclaimed himself The Gaffer, The Bawse of course :p Which given Nekys recent success may have a similar result for Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

On a more positive note, welcome back. How did you like Vancouver?

Spent most of my time on the road in Washington and Oregon mate, only had two full days in Vancouver then did the Cascade Loop around to Lake Chelan, drove down to Hood River for a few days, then south to Bend as a base for a trip to Crater Lake, back west to Eugene then Newport and Astoria on the northern Oregon coast, before two nights in a casino in Tulalip (near Everett home of Boeing) and straight over the border this morning to fly home.

Tried to get to see the Whitecaps vs Montreal but some dumbass sent me the wrong way when I got off the train and I missed the entire first half before I decided to call it quits and head back into the city.

You'll be delighted to know I watched your lot vs Hull from the comfort of my hotel bed at 7am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Lol at the subliminal "This is the Daily Mirror" messages in the audio.

Fair play to Joe.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Fair play to Joe.

Wouldn't be saying that if I was a Newcastle fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well he's just saying what we're all thinking really.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Well he's just saying what we're all thinking really.

It was great to watch but if I was a Newcastle fan with their situation I would be pretty mad with him.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    It was great to watch but if I was a Newcastle fan with their situation I would be pretty mad with him.
    Me wrote:
    I'm scratching my head here. Usually, most on here seem all too happy to stick the knife into Newcastle when we fcuk up, but not on this occasion? I say this as a Newcastle fan, I am annoyed at Joe, and this tirade doesn't fill me with confidence.

I posted on another messgae board, before this transcript came out, that Joe seemed to be spending alot of his time moaning, and giving out about the press, spilling the beans on who might be buying the club, and that Keegan might be coming back. Just get on with the job FFS!

Take Keegan, when he came back, alot of the press slaughtered him. There were stories ran where they were analysing the bags under his eyes, and giving him all sorts of sh/t. Stories headlined 'The Madness of King Kev'. What did he do? He stayed positive, concentrated on the job, and just got on with things.

Any of the stories that have been ran in the last week, are much tamer than what Keegan had to put up with (and have by an large focused on the club, and not Joe himself), and I just feel that Joe is showing his ring rust. Joe should know that, with everything that has gone on with the club in the last month, and the fact that his appointment is puzzling to most, there was bound to be a few digs from the press. He should know that, and he should know that it comes with the territory. That's why he is being paid something like £60,000 a week at the moment, whereas for the last 4 years, he has been earning sweet FA.

What annoys me most about this, is that Joe was appointed to settle things down, get NUFC back in the papers for footballing reasons, and put some order of stability in the club whilst a prospective buyer is found. Joe's actions have now made sure that that is impossible, at least for the next week, and that NUFC is back in the limelight, for all the wrong reasons again.

Despite what I have said, come Sunday, I will be fully behind JFK, and I will be giving him the benefit of the doubt irrespective of the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,485 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

shane86 wrote: »
    Capello, while not saying much, said alot with his angry I want results look (still dont rate him personally mind)
    I'm sorry but this bit just irks me so much. What does a Manager have to do to get respect. He has won 7 Serie A titles and 2 La Liga titles as a Manager. He also won a European Cup.
    I cannot think of any manager who deserves respect if this guy does not.