If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Walterisms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Don't assume his lack of posting as a sign or admission of guilt... I mean, he might not be posting cos he's busy... on nights or something....

Its alright for you to laugh, but we're the ones who will have to go to the barricaded incident in swords:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Just a bit of advice, let's not get into the whole 'slagging/Walter/boatshed at Hereford' posts thing again. It dominated the forum once, but hopefully not again.

If Fyr.Fytr is going to respond, he will do so. If he does not, he does not. Who cares? The facts are there, let sleeping dogs lie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Don't assume his lack of posting as a sign or admission of guilt... I mean, he might not be posting cos he's busy... on nights or something....

I think he's tied up at a 20 pump fire out at Dublin Airport at the moment. The Chief requested his assistance as a special advisor:rolleyes:

Disclaimer-For the gullible on here there is no fire in Dublin Airport at present

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

eroo wrote: »
    Just a bit of advice, let's not get into the whole 'slagging/Walter/boatshed at Hereford' posts thing again. It dominated the forum once, but hopefully not again.

If Fyr.Fytr is going to respond, he will do so. If he does not, he does not. Who cares? The facts are there, let sleeping dogs lie..

Maybe the mans right.... It's been put out there and the guy's obviously not here. If he wants to he will, if not... thats up to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Ok here goes

I didnt respond as i was in work, so thats that cleared up.

Yes i did post on ps.com pretending to be a guard i admit that. I have stopped posting there though.

I know it was wrong and stupid hence why i have stopped.

For the record and i want to make this crystal, not once have i ever claimed to be a guard on here.

Heres a short biography to clear things up

Name: alan
    Hometown: Swords
    No first hand expereince working in the emergency services

I built that fantasy world as a sort of an escape from the world in which i do live. I am no using that as excuse just stating the fact.

I admit i did do it, but do it no longer.

Make of that and me what you will.

Please ask any questions you want and i will answer when i can, i will try answer asap but that may not always be possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

First off I would like to make a public apology to Metman. I have PMed him and gave my reasons but I simply didn't see or notice that we had a fraudster on our forum. I sincerely apologise to you Metman and certainly did not want to upset anyone. I was only trying to keep the peace.

Secondly to fraudster when this forum started I thought the biggest problem we would have is trolls but you have single handedly caused the greatest outrage and suspicion probably to ever fall on the ES forum through your lies. You have some problems to deal with but imo you showed a level of deviousness and deceitfulness that frankly disgusts me. I am so disappointed not only with you but also in myself for thinking that you just had an interest in policing.

I have alot more to say to you which would not be pleasant but quite frankly you are not worth getting banned over. I would hope that you will remove my name from your signature and to never darken the doors of this forum again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

c,mon guys.

Most of you are adults. If I'm right, from reading his posts, I get the impression fyr.fytr is still at school.

And who didn't have a few walter mitty delusions at school. I know I did. I know that when I teach voluntary first aid guys, there's a high rate of walterism there. But so what? It's not the end of the world.

Youngsters will be youngsters.

It can be a pretty unfriendly forum towards those who are not particularly sycophantic towards members of the emergency services, so there's bound to be a selection bias towards guys liek him on the forum.

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Ok here goes

I didnt respond as i was in work, so thats that cleared up.

Yes i did post on ps.com pretending to be a guard i admit that. I have stopped posting there though.

I know it was wrong and stupid hence why i have stopped.

For the record and i want to make this crystal, not once have i ever claimed to be a guard on here.

Heres a short biography to clear things up

Name: alan
    Hometown: Swords
    No first hand expereince working in the emergency services

I built that fantasy world as a sort of an escape from the world in which i do live. I am no using that as excuse just stating the fact.

I admit i did do it, but do it no longer.

Make of that and me what you will.

Please ask any questions you want and i will answer when i can, i will try answer asap but that may not always be possible.

We all have problems, but that doesn't mean we go on the internet pretending to be who we are not. Also, to make matters worse you almost befriended some of us on this site. I stood up for you when you were wrong, and now I feel like a fool. I'm probably not alone.

We all know you never claimed to a Garda here, because you were too busy using info from this forum to post at ps.com. ''I'll stick with my Sig for accuracy''? WTF? You think because you didn't BS in this forum, that everything is all right? You think it makes a difference where you pretended to be a Garda?? It does not.

You've also contributed to a prejudice that us teenagers have to put up with, i.e. we're all dreamers and BS artists. I for one, do not wish to be categorised as a result of your actions.

Finally you betrayed the trust of countless people, myself included, and specifically certain members of this forum who are more than patient with enthusiastic hopefuls such as myself. So I would ask you to apologise to us all, and as TheNog said, never darken the doors of this forum again.

PS I wish to publicly apologise to Metman and JonAnderton, I was fooled by a fool. I would hope you would both continue to post on this forum, so that hopefuls such as myself and ES personnel can learn from your experience, as is the ethos of this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Most of you are adults. If I'm right, from reading his posts, I get the impression fyr.fytr is still at school.

And who didn't have a few walter mitty delusions at school. I know I did. I know that when I teach voluntary first aid guys, there's a high rate of walterism there. But so what? It's not the end of the world.

Youngsters will be youngsters.

It can be a pretty unfriendly forum towards those who are not particularly sycophantic towards members of the emergency services, so there's bound to be a selection bias towards guys liek him on the forum.

He is a young fella but the level of deceitfulness shown by him to others not only on this site is not something I would put down in immaturity at all. Granted I am over it now but will view posters on this forum with a little bit of caution now.

As for this forum my hope was for ES personnel to communicate and forge links and for people to be able to come here and ask questions about the job we do. I am not only talking about people who wish to join but for people whose daily lives may have been affected by our job whether they had been arrested or prosecuted for road traffic offences. That is why I am a regular poster to the Motors forum and others to give people an insight into what we do and why we do it. I still welcome those people and so do the regulars on ES but as long as the questions/debate is reasonable and not fired at us in a trollish manner just because we are guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

Jesus, this is a very interesting thread. Fair play to Metman for the investigation. How come nobody ever pretends to be a journalist, by the way?:)

Anyway, something similar happened on a site of which, perhaps, a few people here are members...it's quite funny how that ended up.

http://forum.irishmilitaryonline.com/showthread.php?t=13507

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

Its a sad day when quality posters have to be concerned with who in fact they are talking to, befriending and receiving advice from. This is an exceptionall good forum, I think this incident and the Metmans piece of investigative professionalism would leave any future poster with the same intent in no uncertain doubt that they will be found out.

I not only think that this forum is great for all the same reasons The Nog has said, but I think its vital that members have the oppurtunity and forum to speak freely with other members as well as the public, this is not only healthy but is also really good for PR etc.

I dont wish anything bad for the lad in question, but am amazed at how long this has been going on from his join date. It leaves me questioning the issues I have raised on behalf of those members who kindly shared their experiences etc with me so that I could relay the needs of those on the ground back to those that may well be able to affect change, this alone is really bad. I wonder if in fact a very specific forum for ES members only could be set up whereby you can talk freely with those in like minded professions without fear of abuse etc, I know this would exclude poster like me but would I think be a value for those on the ground.

Just a thought.

My opinion (for what it's worth, which isn't much) is this: the kid got caught out. The internet attracts such incidents all the time. Unless the site is made private for ES members only, such incidents will happen again. It happens, no need for a major post mortem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Why dont you do what they do over on that police specials forum where they verify if your a member of the police by your email address ( not sure if all guards have access to a work email) and then you have a avatar or sig that proofs it. Then there would be none of this kind of crap. Just an idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Tbh as a lurker on this forum one of its main strengths that I see is the number of active emergency services personnal on it.

I would be confident that if I asked for advice on an issue I would get a reply that would be correct because if someone did try to give an answer pretending they knew about the issue they'd be pulled on it by other posters.

Any people on here living fantasies in their own heads aren't that much of a threat because of the community you guys have.

Think it's a great forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

My opinion (for what it's worth, which isn't much) is this: the kid got caught out. The internet attracts such incidents all the time. Unless the site is made private for ES members only, such incidents will happen again. It happens, no need for a major post mortem.

Im confident that a solution besides making the forum private can be arranged.

As for the original issue, many have hit the nail on the head. Some, myself included were friendly with Al and have been left looking foolish. We operated on a level of trust and being open in what we hoped would benefit all on the site and now its biting us on the ass.

Dinter wrote: »
    Tbh as a lurker on this forum one of its main strengths that I see is the number of active emergency services personnal on it.

I would be confident that if I asked for advice on an issue I would get a reply that would be correct because if someone did try to give an answer pretending they knew about the issue they'd be pulled on it by other posters.

Any people on here living fantasies in their own heads aren't that much of a threat because of the community you guys have.

Think it's a great forum.

Indeed. I don't think it was the smartest thing in the world for the young man to pretend to be comething he's not on a site visited by plenty of police officers...

Im confident that a solution besides making the forum private can be arranged.

As for the original issue, many have hit the nail on the head. Some, myself included were friendly with Al and have been left looking foolish. We operated on a level of trust and being open in what we hoped would benefit all on the site and now its biting us on the ass.

What about this: if you members see someone talking the talk, why don't you PM them and ask for their long or short number, or something similar, so you guys can establish the bona fides of people claiming things. And that way the dynamics are all kept private and beteween yourselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Ultimately I think this forum's success is based on the mixed input of ES personnel and non-ES personnel. As has been previously said, I think to make a dedicated ES exclusive forum would lose something and run against the ethos of why this site was set up; to enhance and exchange knowledge amongst serving persons, to encourage debate on current and/or best practice, to assist those trying to get into the ES, to answer questions from joe public and interested parties.....to seek out new life forms and civilisations..to boldly go...:D

What the forum also achieves is an element of transparency that much of the services lack. Policing, fighting fires, working in A&E departments or on emergency ambulances are all very insular exclusive environments. You see and experience things most people only ever catch a glimpse of on television (though this is not always a plus). I was once accused on here of sounding like a Vietnam veteran ie 'you weren't there so you can't understand', but ultimately that's how many ES personnel feel. This is partly why these jobs attract so much attention from joe public, and also why we as serving ES personnel are so proud and protective (in my case sometimes overly protective) of our colleagues and roles.

What this incident has shown is that occasionally an idiot slips through the net, and on a forum like this the danger, as pointed out, is that someone might act upon advice offered by a Walter Mitty type, neither qualified nor experienced to be offering such advice in the first instance. While I take the view that serving personnel having an identifying badge or symbol on their forum profile might be divisive, at least it'd eliminate the problem of fantasists bluffing unsuspecting members of the boards community.

If PSNI were happy to have a sticky thread of verified people, that'd be one way around it. Something like; username, agency, verified. But the issue then arises that not everyone is happy in passing on personal info etc while others like the 'anonymity' that such a forum presents. I myself have no problem in having my credentials verified (Ooooh matron!) but others might not feel the same.

Food for thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

As a long time lurker on this board I liked knowing that should I have any
    questions on how the Irish emergency services operate/interact with the
    public I could pop on here and ask those who work as professionals in this
    area.

It annoys me that certain individuals seem the need to misrepresent themself and provide misleading information. I'd hate for those
    professionals on here who were misled by fyrfytr to feel culpable or
    that they need to stop posting.

Must say it's amusing how no-one has mentioned that googling fyrfytr.al
    throws up 3 results (boards.ie, police specials, and another more
    'specialised' site profile).

Keep up the great work and I look forward to continuing to read what I
    find both an interesting and informative part of Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭civdef

The "verification" thing is something several people have suggested might be possible, though I think it would have to be in the format described above, i.e. a sticky thread rather than user titles as suggested by others.

The biggest problem though is there's a lot of other emergency services other than Gardai - here's just a few I can think of:

Garda Siochana, airport & harbour police, local authority fire services, airport fire services, HSE ambulance services, private ambulance, Irish Coastguard, RNLI, mountain & cave rescue teams, community inshore lifeboat teams, river rescue teams, Civil Defence, Order of Malta, Red Cross, St. John Ambulance, SARDA, mines rescue teams, industrial emergency response teams, explosive ordnance disposal, etc.

This is not to even begin talking about international services, e.g the UK has 50+ police agencies alone.

A member of any one of these organisations might find it difficult to be verified by other board members, without totally losing any hope of anonymity.

I'm going to try something else, stickying this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055197820
    where posters can let other members know where their area of interest lies. It's voluntary, and to an extent postings have to be taken at face value, but it will let other members have an idea where people are coming from, and if anyone makes a false claim there, which subsequently is likely to be found out based on recent experence :), they will be banned.

As for fyr.fytr, as the lies weren't told on this board, no direct action will be taken, though obviously the users reputation has seriously suffered, it would probably be a very good idea for him to take a break from posting here for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

I don't agree with making the forum closed. I like it because it's the only chance I get to see what ES people do and deal with. When I am ever going to get to have a chat with a bunch of Gardai about using tasers and actually get differing opinions rather than the publicised stuff from various organisations within the Gardai?

The incident does serve to remind people that one simply cannot take anything for guaranteed on the Internet. As part of that I also don't agree with having some sort of vetting system. It's simply pointless on the Internet, particularly on a forum like this. Rather, a simple disclaimer as part of the charter reminding any user of the forum that there are no guarantees the replies and people are who they claim to be. If someone claims to be something their not and posts mis-information, this will quickly be spotted. If it's not, well that's the Internet.

155595430_c5c05260e2.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭civdef

Rather, a simple disclaimer as part of the charter reminding any user of the forum that there are no guarantees the replies and people are who they claim to be.

Eh, this is in the charter, and has been for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Oops. I guess I and everyone else should have read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

Brilliant insights and topics I had not considered, my point in relation to a closed or members only thread was about members of these services having a place they could come to and share in confidence and security as well as having this ES forum and continuing the spirit and reasons why it has been so successful, however I see now that this would not be correct or doable in relation to the extensive level of services involved etc etc.

Its nice though to see everyone out and talking, sometimes out of conflict comes friendships and honesty so there is a positive to this situation.

Must say it's amusing how no-one has mentioned that googling fyrfytr.al
    throws up 3 results (boards.ie, police specials, and another more
    'specialised' site profile).

Saw that - bloody hell, he's been up to a lot for an 18-year-old. Fair play to him!

Oh wait, maybe he's not telling the truth on the specialist website either.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

eroo wrote: »
    I stood up for you when you were wrong

Anyone else find this odd? Why would you stand up for someone when they're wrong? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

FruitLover wrote: »
    Anyone else find this odd? Why would you stand up for someone when they're wrong? :confused:

Uh, let's not start off on this tangent now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

When eroo stood up for him, he believed fyr fytr was right.
    He subsequently discovered he was wrong.......I think:confused:

Well, the time he made a remark that a firearms officer should always know how many shots they have left. I knew he was out of line, and wrong to say that. As a result metman put him in his place. I was friendly with him, and as a result decided I'd post and defend his actions as 'misguided' etc etc. A regret.

Now, what are you implying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

jd83 wrote: »
    ( not sure if all guards have access to a work email) Just an idea
    Hey, there's a comedy forum somewhere else!:D

I've a question fyrftr.
    What age are you (roughly) and what is your occupation? It took [EMAIL="b@lls"]b@lls[/EMAIL] to post again, in fairness.