THE OFFICIAL AFTER HOURS RECCESION THREAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

lol what a bunch of twats, im happy to be on the dole i love it, do you think i would work for 8.65 a hour , not a chance. Ye are the idiots who are up 2 ye eyes in debt not me :D:D:D:D, see ye down the dole office ye fools who believed in all the hype, this country is ****ed and we will be worse than the eighties, cant wait myself looking forward to it:D:D:D

Calm down lad. Your gonna get banned from here with talk like that. Your not allowed to have an opinion that goes against the grain on this site. For the record i couldnt agree with ya more on the 8.65 an hour thing. Anyone out there who works for 8.65 an hour must have no mortgage,family or social life because IMHO there is no way on earth you could get by on money like that unless you worked a 65+ hour week. Anyways most people will head for greener pastures as it's almost impossible to live in Ireland now as the working class man has been priced out of the market for almost everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I agree with Darragh29:eek::eek::eek: ;)

TheDude....you're going to be bitterly disappointed if you reckon the vast majority of the landlord class is in negative equity....if they sell 1 property at a loss they'll still have a few left with an overall portfolio value that's above the purchase levels.

Most of them are not in debt and those that deal in 7 figure sums aren't really bothered as it's a company that they're a director of rather than their personal bank account that'll be in the red.

In the end of the day if you bought a house in 2000 for €200k, it was worth €450k at the height and your current mortgage debt is €80k on that house, you can probably shift it for €250k and come out with €170k less CGT@ whatever it's altered to Wednesday fortnight on €50k, you'll still have over €100k to stick in your bank account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

Im delighted we are in recession hope it lasts for years and turns into a depression. All those idiots who for the last number of years talked about nothing only property and how many houses they had and looked down on everybody else, well now there ****ed negative equity in debt :D:D:D:D i love it its karma. Now i might not have a job at the moment but i dont care i can easily live on 200 per week easy, can we say the same about the spoilt boys and girls of the last few years, no chance , but they will have to get used to it now wont they when more of them go on the dole. Plus most of them are ****ed with credit card bills and the like :D:D:D im delighted no more snooby stuck up women who think the world owes them a living , not any more girls you will be on the rubbbish heap like the rest of us and you had better get ure attidude in order:D:D:D cant wait this is going to be the best ever. And me im sorted never brought a house that is now in neqative equity never had a credit card or overdraft but saved instead now i can afford to buy a property in a year or 2 when they are for sale for half nothing:D:D:D then i will be laughing at all the idiots who were laughing at me the last few years.
    nobodys laughing at you mate,except for your attidude,200 a week,wow must be a pretty low standard of life that you lead,who is losing out ,your missus,the esb,eircom,200euro, are you for real,id drink that on a quiet saturday,stop scrounging because youre losing out big time,unless of course your a drug dealer.or are you still with your mammy..lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

ninty9er wrote: »
    In the end of the day if you bought a house in 2000 for €200k, it was worth €450k at the height and your current mortgage debt is €80k on that house, you can probably shift it for €250k and come out with €170k less CGT@ whatever it's altered to Wednesday fortnight on €50k, you'll still have over €100k to stick in your bank account.
    So eh, if you have already paid off €120k, you therefore have overall lost €20k, without including inflation.

Not bad for eight years work.

greatgoal wrote: »
    nobodys laughing at you mate,except for your attidude,200 a week,wow must be a pretty low standard of life that you lead,who is losing out ,your missus,the esb,eircom,200euro, are you for real,id drink that on a quiet saturday,stop scrounging because youre losing out big time,unless of course your a drug dealer.

You'd drink 200 euro worth of booze on a quite Saturday:eek:. You as hard as nails you are:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭cson

Theres only one thing worse than this oul recession; the oul famine.

Jaysus, I haven't drank tay since the emergency.

you seen the price of pints these days? ..lol,especially when youre in the company of 4 dipsos,and placing the odd bet.

Alcohol is not conducive to well thought out betting decisions. :pac:

cson wrote: »
    Alcohol is not conducive to well thought out betting decisions. :pac:
    no,but it helps when you lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Official recession thread? Fantastic! Here's my first pic:

lol what a bunch of twats, im happy to be on the dole i love it, do you think i would work for 8.65 a hour , not a chance. Ye are the idiots who are up 2 ye eyes in debt not me :D:D:D:D, see ye down the dole office ye fools who believed in all the hype, this country is ****ed and we will be worse than the eighties, cant wait myself looking forward to it:D:D:D

Skanger-nomist ftw ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭TheDude2008

200 euro a week is loads, i pay 15 for rent the rest rent allowance covers, the place im renting is lovely and i keep it in tip top shape, i do my shopping in aldi and lidle and the local butchers which because i live outside dublin is very cheap. I spend about 60 a week on food and i get loads for that i eat like a king, i go to the pub about 3 nights a week , the pub i drink in has pints of beamish for 2.50 each so i usually have about 8 pints for the 3 nights so that is 60 euro, then i pay around 10 euro a week for my internet and cable tv plus i set aside another 10 for esb bill which is about 80 every 2 months, that adds up to 140 euro then i have another 60 left over 80 in winter when i get my fuel allowance. I go to the libary everyday and read the newspaper then go for a nice walk then visit some friends , sometimes go fishing and swimming. So yes you can have a great standard of living on 200 a week no problem, howerver i would say that maybe in dublin it would be harder but it is very easy to live on 200 a week in the rest of ireland.

Fantastic! And this gets you where in life? Existing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Im delighted we are in recession hope it lasts for years and turns into a depression. All those idiots who for the last number of years talked about nothing only property and how many houses they had and looked down on everybody else, well now there ****ed negative equity in debt :D:D:D:D i love it its karma. Now i might not have a job at the moment but i dont care i can easily live on 200 per week easy, can we say the same about the spoilt boys and girls of the last few years, no chance , but they will have to get used to it now wont they when more of them go on the dole. Plus most of them are ****ed with credit card bills and the like :D:D:D im delighted no more snooby stuck up women who think the world owes them a living , not any more girls you will be on the rubbbish heap like the rest of us and you had better get ure attidude in order:D:D:D cant wait this is going to be the best ever. And me im sorted never brought a house that is now in neqative equity never had a credit card or overdraft but saved instead now i can afford to buy a property in a year or 2 when they are for sale for half nothing:D:D:D then i will be laughing at all the idiots who were laughing at me the last few years.

I predict leather coats, big guns, marilyn manson and lotsa news coverage.

holy ****,what a sad life,ah well,everyone to their own...snigger,maybe cowan will raise my taxes in the budget and it might pay for an extra night out for ye,happy scrounging.

cson wrote: »
    Fantastic! And this gets you where in life? Existing?

A lot of suckers wont be even existing if they have paid top dollar for their house and have credit bills up to their eyeballs. They are fuc**d TBH.

gixerfixer wrote: »
    A lot of suckers wont be even existing if they have paid top dollar for their house and have credit bills up to their eyeballs. They are fuc**d TBH.
    bought mine for 24 grand,people buy at the prices at the time they need them,they dont have much choice,just because they settle down and buy their own home and prices plummet,they dont need to be ridiculed,a lot of honest hard working people will suffer because of this recession and what they need is support,not to be laughed at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

bought mine for 24 grand,people buy at the prices at the time they need them,they dont have much choice,just because they settle down and buy their own home and prices plummet,they dont need to be ridiculed,a lot of honest hard working people will suffer because of this recession and what they need is support,not to be laughed at.

I have work friends who got married and bought a house. He moved outside dublin to get a decent house and not at some crazy price. I know this is going to put more stress on him if interest sky rocket.

On the otherhand i have a friend who bought a house and he can barely afford it by the way he talks. I think he was one of the mad people who fell for the "you got to own property" trend that was going on.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

While I agree with you, no-one has to buy a house. You can always rent.

yeah thats right i have a great life, as another poster said do you think i would work for 8.65 a hour you must be kidding no chance, id work for 12 euro a hour or more

agreed mate,but theres no need to run down people who did,plus they werent to know that cowan and his cronies were going to make a proper bo**ox of the boom years and put them in this situation.

yeah right,i d say youre that lazy you wouldnt get out of bed for 50euro an hour.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

agreed mate,but theres no need to run down people who did,plus they werent to know that cowan and his cronies were going to make a proper bo**ox of the boom years and put them in this situation.
    That's why I said I agree with you, I agree that people shouldn't be laughing at them. Also it wasn't cowen or anyone else who fúcked them over. They made an investment in property, as with any investment it can depreciate in value. They took a risk and they lost. No one to blame only themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

plus they werent to know that cowan and his cronies were going to make a proper bo**ox of the boom years and put them in this situation.
    Why not, there were reports released as far back as 2006 detailing in painful detail the utter disaster that the recent goverment has made of the boom. The only question anyone needed to ask was, where has the money been spent?

oh yeah very true,it was their own decision but it wasnt helped by the governments handling of the countrys wealth,or,should i say mishandling.

they were sold the dream by the vested interests , what clowns they were following the pack ;):D:D:D:D there ****ed now, there suit and tie wont save em either lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

gixerfixer wrote: »
    For the record i couldnt agree with ya more on the 8.65 an hour thing. Anyone out there who works for 8.65 an hour must have no mortgage,family or social life because IMHO there is no way on earth you could get by on money like that unless you worked a 65+ hour week.

Yeah, because people earning 8.65 an hour are just doing it for the craic.
    They love serving fast food to people and cleaning toilets, and especially for that low wage. It just makes it all worthwhile. :rolleyes:

The thing there are people out there with mortgages and families (but probably no social lives, I'll give you that) living on 8.65 an hour. And I bet it makes it so much sweeter for them that people like TheDude are scrounging off their hard work. Perhaps the minimum wage would be higher if people didn't sponge off the dole?

And by the way, it isn't big or clever to go on the dole for no other reason than laziness. People working for 8.65 aren't idiots- they're people with a conscience that would rather not be a burden on society. Perhaps they'd like to work their way up to a better career and actually make something of their lives...

There'll be one group of people who'll suffer in this recession and it's the working class. As usual. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

yeah thats right i have a great life, as another poster said do you think i would work for 8.65 a hour you must be kidding no chance, id work for 12 euro a hour or more

Nothing wrong with that, you have to have a certain type of skill that warrants being paid twelve euro an hour though. Do you think certain wages are set just by chance? There's reason low-paid jobs are, by and large, referred to as 'low-skilled' jobs.

See this annoys me. You rely on the State for hand-outs yet have absolutely no intention of contributing anything to the State. In effect, you are a leech. The sad thing about this is your ignorance to this fact. The sadder thing is that people who work for the minimum wage and slightly above it are indirectly subsidising you.

I think two things at this point;
    (a) You're trolling and trying to provoke a reaction in people

(b) You're telling the truth and are utterly oblivious to complete wrongness of your actions.

If it is (b) then that is very worrying. I can accept that certain people are in no position but to seek Social Welfare payments. At the same time there are people like yourself content to, for want of a better phrase, rip off the State and consequently the tax-payer, who includes those on minimum wage and above (And don't give me this shite about minimum wage earners paying no tax, they pay PRSI which incidentally would help fund your medical card).

At this juncture I'd like to point out that what you are doing is illegal if you aren't actively pursuing employment. Which would make you a criminal. Have you anything worthwhile to contribute to this country?

Acacia wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with that, you have to have a certain type of skill that warrants being paid twelve euro an hour though. Do you think certain wages are set just by chance? There's reason low-paid jobs are, by and large, referred to as 'low-skilled' jobs.

Right, just to pull you up on this. Imo some of the minimum wage jobs you could work are the most demanding jobs in the country. Try working in Supermacs/Any fast food restaurant at 2am on a weekend night and tell me thats a low skilled job. The amount of bollocks you have to put up with is off the scale thanks to this countrys fondness for one more pint.