Bouncers denying me a social life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Yeah....there's one particular club that always use to refuse me based on my hard looking image. Everything goes off without a hitch when I'm not allowed in.....oh wait there are fights there every week and is laden with underage people.

Too many bouncers make judgement calls without actually trying to talk to you politely. If every bouncer that ever refused me just spoke to me for 20 seconds, they would know that I wouldn't be causing any trouble.

But sure it's no skin off my nose, anytime I wear my glasses I get in(there's a tip for all you trouble makers:pac:).
    how often do you stand on doors at the weekend with a hundred+ drunk people talk ****/try get there hammered mates in/abuse you/want to prove there the hard man by fighting a bouncer???I was on doors for two years and had to take a break because i got sick of people being idiots while drunk.
    I know your going to say "well i've never done anything" How do you know there wasn't someone throwing punches before you showed up??? do you not get annoyed when people try to start on you???

I usually find that bouncers have attended some concept of a bouncer school - you know, those places that accept those that didn't make it into the police force or army but still believe they can act as if they were some law enforcer.

When I was younger, I found strategising was the best way to get into a bar or club that might be somewhat strict. Go in one guy and one girl at a time, looking like you are only there for a nice enjoyable night with one another and not inclined to get involved in any chaos.

Saying that, we could have just been over-thinking the thing. We were students then and really had nothing better to do than over-think and drink ourselves stupid :D
    How about people that train full time and dont wanna take money off mammy and daddy or the dole???

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

How about people that train full time and dont wanna take money off mammy and daddy or the dole???

Typical chip-on-the-shoulder bouncer attitude.

That's the second or third doorman who's come in here defending their profession and managed to display at least one of the traits everybody hates them for.

Please continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

jcoote wrote: »
    i think it might be because i walk past boucers as much as possible rather than stopping for their approval...if u seem like u have something to hide or give of the impression that u won't get in then they'll cop it and stop u...thes my 2 cents anyway

I normally stop at the bouncer because I know I will get ID'd. Only a few times I haven't. Nothing wrong with stopping..
    The fact is mate, you're only 19. Bouncers don't let you in at that age unless you're a girl or you look older and very "respectable".

I'm 19 and never get refused.

OP, what times are you trying to go into the clubs?

p.s. don't even bother with tramco.. it's not the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭krpc

Funnily enough, I've met people on the dole that are far more pleasant as a whole. I'd be happy to pay tax to keep funding their erm .. unemployedness.

Phlann wrote: »

That's the second or third doorman who's come in here defending their profession and managed to display at least one of the traits everybody hates them for.

Please continue.
    Chip on the shoulder attitiude??? yes all 19 year olds dont drink, keep fit and would rather earn there own money than depend on others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

how often do you stand on doors at the weekend with a hundred+ drunk people talk ****/try get there hammered mates in/abuse you/want to prove there the hard man by fighting a bouncer???I was on doors for two years and had to take a break because i got sick of people being idiots while drunk.
    I know your going to say "well i've never done anything" How do you know there wasn't someone throwing punches before you showed up??? do you not get annoyed when people try to start on you???

There's no need to take that out on other people who just want have a good night. Being a bouncer is undoubtedly a stressful job where you have to take a lot of crap, all I ask is for some of them to be reasonable instead of saying "not tonight" before you even reach the door.

As I said, if bouncers(not saying all, just certain ones I've come across) spent just 20 seconds talking to someone they should have a fair idea if that person has an aura of "wanker" or "attitude problem" about them.

By the way, I'm talking about bouncers for clubs. I've never had an issue with bouncers on pubs, even "trendy pubs". I find all of them to be bang on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 AKfortyjimbob

Phlann wrote: »

Please continue.

Bouncers keep the dirt out. They keep scumbags out so nice people that would normally cry if they get one punch in the face can have a good night.

Imagine going to clubs without bouncers :D Ha!

Ive known more bouncers personally that were all real good guys than ive had bad experiences with bouncers.

Actually i dont remember ever having trouble with one. Thats cos i treat them with respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

At worst bouncers are a necessary evil, at best a bloody important sieve.

I was in a 'venue' lately where the bouncers are well known to be pretty relaxed about letting people in.

Now who walks in but a couple of lads I was in school with. Now they're nice blokes, sound enough, etc, etc. But here's the thing, they are absolutely not the kind of person who frequents that bar, they don't look like that kind of person, and all the time I've known them, they've had a propensity for causing trouble.

If I wander up to a door and act like an arrogant little shít, then of course I'll píss off the bouncer. If you've ever had a job, you know that you don't like working for people who are dicks. Whether a boss or a customer.

I've not been refused entry to somewhere unless it was full in years, barring the odd time when I was paralyitcally drunk, and in those cases, I'm bloody glad I got refused. So have I had bad experiences with bouncers, well yeah, I've been turned away because somewhere's full, or because I'm pissed, but is that their fault? No...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

As I said, if bouncers(not saying all, just certain ones I've come across) spent just 20 seconds talking to someone they should have a fair idea if that person has an aura of "wanker" or "attitude problem" about them.

It can be very hard to find the time to talk to certain punters. Normally what happens when i need to stop one person in a group for a further chat is the whole group will stop with them. I don't want to talk to them,just you. And you can be pretty certain when i ask you a question your friend who is already in and clear will butt in.:)

I will normally tell the others to go in and head to the bar and if i need to stop you i'll come in and tell them. If they want they can have one person outside with you!

The most common thing to piss off a doorman is when people won't clear the door. It's a pain in the ass, a trouble hotspot and you want smooth traffic.

I'm not saying the opportuinities are not there. I have stopped people, chatted to them after the stoppage and then allowed them in based off that conversation but at times it's simply not always possible I'm afraid.

There's no need to take that out on other people who just want have a good night. Being a bouncer is undoubtedly a stressful job where you have to take a lot of crap, all I ask is for some of them to be reasonable instead of saying "not tonight" before you even reach the door.

By the way, I'm talking about bouncers for clubs. I've never had an issue with bouncers on pubs, even "trendy pubs". I find all of them to be bang on.
    you'd be surprised...a girl i know about a year from working on th doors is one of the nicest girls i know, i get on with her like a house on fire always have. She's currently been done for glassing some randomer.20 seconds wont tell you anything about anyone. Also we dont make the dress code or other rules, just enforce them.

Ok, someone said "not tonight" to you. Would you qualify that a bad experience? Jeez dont be so sensitive.

Dear bouncers, you guys rock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Ok, someone said "not tonight" to you. Would you qualify that a bad experience? Jeez dont be so sensitive.

It's a bad experience if there is a group of 8 lads who go up in 4 groups of two. The first 3 groups get in and you, in the last group, doesn't get in. And they give you absolutely no reason as to why it's "not tonight".

Care to elaborate on your earlier comment that you get into places because you always treat bouncers with respect? I never try to get into a club when drunk, hell I don't even like drinking before I go to a club because it's too risky. I am always polite to bouncers, even when they are being a dick to me. I make eye contact. I treat them with respect. Now what's the difference between me and you? You probably fit the image they want for the club better.

It's a bad experience if there is a group of 8 lads who go up in 4 groups of two. The first 3 groups get in and you, in the last group, doesn't get in. And they give you absolutely no reason as to why it's "not tonight".

Care to elaborate on your earlier comment that you get into places because you always treat bouncers with respect? I never try to get into a club when drunk, hell I don't even like drinking before I go to a club because it's too risky. I am always polite to bouncers, even when they are being a dick to me. I make eye contact. I treat them with respect. Now what's the difference between me and you? You probably fit the image they want for the club better.
    take a look at your mates in said group, are they all sober??? all dressed up and not wearing runners. just cos your ok dont mean your mates are

And to what extent does the group get blamed for the one?

Honest question here, because I've one 'mate' whose an absolute fúcking disgrace of a drinker, and verging on alcoholism. If someone refused him entry, I'd happily go in without him.

And to what extent does the group get blamed for the one?

Honest question here, because I've one 'mate' whose an absolute fúcking disgrace of a drinker, and verging on alcoholism. If someone refused him entry, I'd happily go in without him.
    most guys dont. Most will start arguing saying he's ok/we'll look after him and so on. I always say to a group if it's one guy he can't come in*insert reason here* 99% of the time the guys argue and try somewhere else

Oh I know. If it was anyone else I'd be the same, try and persuade the bouncer he;s alright, or just wander off elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

hah! this thread is 3 years old.

I'm 19 and I always get stopped (probably to do with the fact that i've long hair and ALWAYS have a naggin on the bus on the way into town :D) , but I still always manage to get in (even though once i got refused and went up again this time with some girls i knew and they begged him to let me in).

I always take off my coat and hang it on my arm just as I'm coming up to the door, this probably helps (the one time above i didn't do it) . I'd say accent has a lot to do with it aswell.

Oh I know. If it was anyone else I'd be the same, try and persuade the bouncer he;s alright, or just wander off elsewhere.
    at least you admit it, now imagine yourself hearing the same argument multiple times in a night, multiple nights in a row.
    I'm fairly laid back when im working sine im usually younger than the drinkers but there are nights when im not in the mood for any ****. The only difference is when your like that in work you'll probably have a few drinks after to cheer yourself up. We just want a quiet night as possible, to go home and go to bed without being spat on, started on or having to throw people out.

at least you admit it, now imagine yourself hearing the same argument multiple times in a night, multiple nights in a row.
    I'm fairly laid back when im working sine im usually younger than the drinkers but there are nights when im not in the mood for any ****. The only difference is when your like that in work you'll probably have a few drinks after to cheer yourself up. We just want a quiet night as possible, to go home and go to bed without being spat on, started on or having to throw people out.

I think most people agree that not all bouncers are the same. There are some pleasant ones, there are some not so pleasant ones. It's like suggesting all clampers are evil. I'm sure clampers are nice people deep, deep, deep, deep down.

The fact is an experience with a bad bouncer will be remembered; an experience with a second bad bouncer in a short period of time since the first bad experience, will just re-enforce the suggestion that all bouncers are bad. It might not be true, but that's how people might feel. It's quite easy to pinpoint clubs that will have the bouncers that are problematic.

I think most people agree that not all bouncers are the same. There are some pleasant ones, there are some not so pleasant ones. It's like suggesting all clampers are evil. I'm sure clampers are nice people deep, deep, deep, deep down.

The fact is an experience with a bad bouncer will be remembered; an experience with a second bad bouncer in a short period of time since the first bad experience, will just re-enforce the suggestion that all bouncers are bad. It might not be true, but that's how people might feel. It's quite easy to pinpoint clubs that will have the bouncers that are problematic.
    ah now....we all know....all clampers are evil:D:D:D

It was the best comparison I could give concerning bouncers :P;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

can any of the bouncers explain the reasons "not tonite" and "regulars only" how can u be a regular if you have never been to the place before.

roakey wrote: »
    can any of the bouncers explain the reasons "not tonite" and "regulars only" how can u be a regular if you have never been to the place before.
    well..if you've never been in the place before you cant be a regular nowcan you????
    As for the not tonight it could be anything. Someone's to drunk/not proper clothing/too rowdy coming up to the pub/ just dont want ya there.

well..if you've never been in the place before you cant be a regular nowcan you????
    As for the not tonight it could be anything. Someone's to drunk/not proper clothing/too rowdy coming up to the pub/ just dont want ya there.

I can understand the principle behind the above - the "not tonight" or "regulars tonight". However, it has been mentioned on this thread that bouncers don't receive enough respect. I am believer in rudeness begets rudeness. It cannot logically {silly word for use in AH, I know} be expected that someone won't get upset when a bouncer, demonstrating clear disrespect, looks someone up and down and not liking the look of them and comes out with "not tonight". That's disrespectful and would clearly piss people off. There's a way to handle things and that's not it. I have seen this been used in a certain club in Temple Bar many times and the punters did not fit the specific bill above (incorrect dress, drunk, too rowdy). So generally speaking, how can a bouncer expect to be treated with respect by some people when s/he would pick and choose who s/he wanted to be respectful back to?

<Disclaimer> Once again, I'm not saying all bouncers are like this</Disclaimer>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

How does one then become a regular:confused:

ya go befor 8, when most doormen start, be there a few weeks in a row and make sure they see you outside smoking/talking and dont fall around the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

I hope you weren't being serious there.

ya go befor 8, when most doormen start, be there a few weeks in a row and make sure they see you outside smoking/talking and dont fall around the place

It sounds like school - attempt to get recognised by the cool kids! :pac:

I'd suggest going before 8PM just to avoid them :D