Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

How can i copy a video from youtube to here so the video shows up and it will play straight away????

I have spaced this out & used a fake link so as to be able to see what it should look like.....Should look somthing like this............

[ youtube ]= htp://www.youtube.com /watch?v=0000000000 [ / youtube ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It's the Troll Mix. Dunno if the other mixes are similar/better/worse.

I have about 3 diffrent versions of this tune, from G.T.O

This Mix I love
    GTO - Elevation (Sonic Love Mix)

How can i copy a video from youtube to here so the video shows up and it will play straight away????

Here's how I do it

Copy the embed code for the video you want off Youtube, into your new post,

now highlight or select all of the code in your message box,

click on the Youtube tag in your message box ,

and you have done it....

Preview it, to see did it work..

still looking for some ratpack/ratty if anyone has any to throw up

Check out this site Johnny,
    You can download mix's and other stuff here
    There's loads of ratpack/ratty for you to download..

http://oldskooltime.blogspot.com/search/label/fantazia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

anyone have any ratpack or ratty??? ratpack were choice tunes with a few spliffs after a night out, i used to have a boxset of them but usual lost between moving gaffs

Not ratpack but if you like Ragga you should get a buzz out of this track........

Leftfield - Check one:cool:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?omrwqddvhci

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭daragh_k

Seems to be a good buzz about the place for this one . Hope to see a few of yis down there tonight
    Set times......

DJ Daranoid 9 - 10
    James Devlin 10 - 11
    Ken Gardiner 11 - 12
    Daragh Kelly 12 - 1
    Ed Case 1 - 2:30

Limited capacity so get down early to avoid disappointment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I have about 3 diffrent versions of this tune, from G.T.O

This Mix I love
    GTO - Elevation (Sonic Love Mix)

Ah good man Al! That's the one I know. As good as the Troll mix is I knew it didn't quite sound right. The Sonic Love Mix is definitely a big anthem from back in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Cray92

I was just thinkin about when i started goin in the Asylum it was early 93 jan or feb so i had about a year and a half goin the place,but when did it exactly open and who gave it that iconic name,a name that suited the place so perfectly,absolute genius.I know eamon ran the place but was he involved in naming the place,if anybody knows post it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Rejuvination gig last night was class, deadly sets from all the djs, ed case was rockin aswel, best old skool night i've been to so far...

Anyone else there???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

if i can remember correctly it was named after a tune forget the name of the track tho:( it might come back to me or sum 1 else can remind me:confused:

Cray92 wrote: »
    I was just thinkin about when i started goin in the Asylum it was early 93 jan or feb so i had about a year and a half goin the place,but when did it exactly open and who gave it that iconic name,a name that suited the place so perfectly,absolute genius.I know eamon ran the place but was he involved in naming the place,if anybody knows post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

realy had a deadly nite music was top class from all djs even you mr-case
    where were you bmooney??:confused: BRAY????????
    Luke G wrote: »
    Rejuvination gig last night was class, deadly sets from all the djs, ed case was rockin aswel, best old skool night i've been to so far...

Anyone else there???

turks wrote: »

He was smashed man, had to fork out money for holliers.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 eissocsref

Anyone remember these mad yokes from Kerry!!

718953238a5293715338l.jpg

Heres a link to a torrent of all their songs:eek:

http://btjunkie.org/torrent/The-Fourth-Dimension-Discography-By-Mistermisfit-224k/43332e52ecf7f841f551045a0f91dad4e35abb1b4836

eissocsref wrote: »

http://btjunkie.org/torrent/The-Fourth-Dimension-Discography-By-Mistermisfit-224k/43332e52ecf7f841f551045a0f91dad4e35abb1b4836

They were deadly....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭keenc

More than likely this mate http://www.discogs.com/release/247761

Should have some somwhere...i'll have a look later & see what i can dig out......
    Couple of tunes i wouldnt mind hearing again but need some direction from all you music junkies on them:pac:

1. Heard this in the ASYLUM once only, Mate of mine told me a week or two before i had heard it that he heard a tune with 'Dire sraits' Money for nothing guitar riff to a bangin beat in there:eek: & i thought he was trippin but i did hear it a week or two later & never heard it again in there.....any one any ideas & have a download to offer:)
    2. Really old track i heard also once in the ASYLUM up stairs i had on tape but it was lost or stolen...it had samples out of the film 'Flatliners' in it with Kiefer sutherland saying 'We lived life so well & loved life so much' followed by Julia roberts saying 'Flatline' & a computerised voice counting down at 1 minute intervals in the tune starting at '5 minutes'
    3. Rave version of U2's tune 'Lemon' i looked for but cant find the one that i heard once on the bottom floor of the ASYLUM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Cray92 wrote: »
    .. and who gave it that iconic name, a name that suited the place so perfectly, absolute genius. I know eamon ran the place but was he involved in naming the place, if anybody knows post it up.
    At short notice DJ Pat Hyland came up with the pentagram/key logo, he didnt design it though, he got it from a book but we dont know which one. I vaguely remember him saying he came up with the name also, but not 100% sure on that. He did however come up with the tag line "Listen to them, the children of the night, what sweet music they make" that was on some of the early flyers and tape covers. The line was nicked from Dracula (1931) and is spoken by Bela Lugosi. See Below .... (Pat added the word "sweet" for some reason).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bmooney

turks wrote: »

ha ha na wasnt out in bray m/8 lol was going but had 2 fork out 2500 grand yesterday 4 the hols so was broke heard it was a top nite was talking 2 luke how your set go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

If you haven't already got a sus on it hears a heads up m/8.
    To put the Youtube vids in a post you just need to use the Youtube tags
    Just click the little Youtube icon which is on the top right hand side of the tool bar.
    You will notice then that the cursor is flashing in the middle of the 2 youtube tags.
    What I do then is open up a seperate second internet page, go to www.youtube.com find your desired song. When you get it just copy the bit you need from the address bar and then go back to your boards.ie page and paste this bit between the youtube tags, at the cursor which should still be flashing once you did your bit in the second internet page!

Example:
    So say if you wanted to put
    Terrorize - Its Just A Feeling up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfNKnRCNvCE

You just put this bit MfNKnRCNvCE BETWEEN the youtube tags.
    So this is what you will see in your post and when you preview it you will see the video box!

BaZmo* helped me out on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

Check out this site Johnny,
    You can download mix's and other stuff here
    There's loads of ratpack/ratty for you to download..

http://oldskooltime.blogspot.com/search/label/fantazia

cheers man that's exactly what i've been looking for, some nice nasty downloads on this that don't want your cc details.!!!!
    Right think i've my head round this youtube thing now lol.....
    I remember towards the end of sides days, it must of been around feb/march 95, it was when those beetles were floating around, really scaggy looking tablets but there was some bouncy buzz off them. There was a few undercover floating around sides, you know the real obivious looking one's, not like the one's you get today, there might of even been one uniformed guard but stand been corrected on that. Either before or after this track was played, mick walsh or pat hyland came on the mic saying the authories wanted the place closed down etc and we should all write off to our local TD to object blah blah blah ............
    Then this comes on, all the undercover must of thought we were all a shower of evil b.astards......pure class!!!! Enjoy!:D

eissocsref wrote: »

I do remember these Mad Yokes, they were from down the country, cheers for the torrent,
    any more good torrents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

is there a recording of carl cox's gig when he played the asylum?
    did mark kavanagh/mr spring ever playthe asylum?

Mediafire is down for Maintenance, I'll try to upload the mp3's later .

Have all these tunes Ripped off 12"'s, give us a shout if you need a copy....

did mark kavanagh/mr spring ever playthe asylum?

Mark Kavanagh or Tim Hannigan never did play in the Asylum. In fact Mark said he was only there a couple of times, he told me this in Radio city only a few weeks ago. He didn't warm to the whole Asylum thing when I brought it up. Dont know him personally I just latched on to him for a waffle.
    The Olympic lost a large chunk of its regulars to the Asylum and there was no love lost between the two sets of people who ran both clubs.

Oh yeah I also remember that Dire Straights tune once in the Asylum. I can remember thinking my Dad would love this, he hated the whole rave scene but loves Dire Straits. The fogies in the Asylum must have loved that one:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

that would be the icing on the cake, i heard it was recorded, someone on boards said they knew someone who had the tape, it was about 2 years ago now, but still no sign of it

senan s wrote: »
    that would be the icing on the cake, i heard it was recorded, someone on boards said they knew someone who had the tape, it was about 2 years ago now, but still no sign of it

I have it, But yiz arent gettin it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

I have it, But yiz arent gettin it

go away da **** to ye :D

senan s wrote: »
    go away da **** to ye :D

Listening to it now it's deadly, ring us and ill play you a clip:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX