Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scratch Cups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Well done lads some great scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Anyone going to Naas or Beech Park Junior Scratch Cups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭david2002

I agree with all comments about Woodenbridge. Great course.
    I shot 78 myself.

Anyway, from previous posts I know that 70 won it. (The young lad had a triple bogey on the 17th when homing in on the course record of -4).
    72 was second. Anyone know the full result?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

david2002 wrote: »
    I agree with all comments about Woodenbridge. Great course.
    I shot 78 myself.

Anyway, from previous posts I know that 70 won it. (The young lad had a triple bogey on the 17th when homing in on the course record of -4).
    72 was second. Anyone know the full result?

It's up on howdidido!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Intermediate Scratch Cup (10-18) on in Wicklow on Saturday 30th August.

If you haven't played Wicklow I'd recommend it. Short course, quite hilly, 3 reachable Par 5's, 2 driveable Par 4's, hilly, spectacular views, lots of Gorse, water and O.B. Great Clubhouse also with spectacular views of Dublin/Wicklow coastline.

Go to http://www.wicklowgolfclub.ie/ and 'photos'

Intermediate Scratch Cup (10-18) on in Wicklow on Saturday 30th August.

If you haven't played Wicklow I'd recommend it. Short course, quite hilly, 3 reachable Par 5's, 2 driveable Par 4's, hilly, spectacular views, lots of Gorse, water and O.B. Great Clubhouse also with spectacular views of Dublin/Wicklow coastline.

Go to http://www.wicklowgolfclub.ie/ and 'photos'

Have to say, looking at the website really makes me want to have a go at the course. I'd say on a nice sunny day (remember them?) that is something else in terms of scenery. Love courses by the sea like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

Anyone playing in the Waterford Senior Scratch cup this weekend? 72 holes for those who can hack it and possibly the best Crystal Cup around!! pity you can't bring it home though!!

Played in Naas JSC on my way back from Electric Picnic.

It was 36 holes so not a great idea after 2 nights in a tent at a festival!

Shot 79 in the first round and parred the front 9 in round 2. Think the best score in the morning was +2 so at +8 after 27 holes I wasn't a million miles out of the mix.

Legs were knackerd though and with both my playing partners shooting 80+ in the first round and not going any better later on we hadn't much rythm going and I just threw shots away on the last 9.

New holes and new changes to the course are unreal I must say - was always a decent track, now it's a great one.

Played Forrest Little at the weekend. 36 holes also. First time i'd hit a ball in 3 weeks so was pretty rusty. Triple bogeyed the first hole no less.

Played some decent stuff after that and ended up with a pair of 80s. My putting was desperate though and had 38 and then 37 putts!

I think 72 - 75 won it.

Forrest Little was really enjoyable though. Some great holes, although the rough was really tough! That is one hell of a touch finishing hole too. Keeping the drives on the fairway is key. Definitely a course i want to get back to and play again though.

Not too many more scratch cups left now...

Graeme1982 wrote: »

Yeah feck all.

Shame when you think back how many were on the same day or the same weekend.

Couldn't get over how many local ones (near eachother) were on the same day eg: Naas/Portarlington, Slade Valley/South County, think Beech Park clashed with a nearby club, as well as the Lord Mayor's.

I know you're never gonna please everyone I guess.

Portmarnock Links having theirs on the March bank holiday is a great idea.

Yeah feck all.

Shame when you think back how many were on the same day or the same weekend.

Couldn't get over how many local ones (near eachother) were on the same day eg: Naas/Portarlington, Slade Valley/South County, think Beech Park clashed with a nearby club, as well as the Lord Mayor's.

I know you're never gonna please everyone I guess.

Portmarnock Links having theirs on the March bank holiday is a great idea.

I wish clubs would spread them out a bit more. As you say, so many weekends there were clashes and then the following weekend there was nothing. More clubs should think about playing them in April / May & September.

One thing i've realised is that the 36 holers are a lot about fitness and stamina, not just the golf. Getting a bit fitter over the winter is on the agenda now for sure. Where are those sweat bands?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Played Forrest Little at the weekend. 36 holes also. First time i'd hit a ball in 3 weeks so was pretty rusty. Triple bogeyed the first hole no less.

Played some decent stuff after that and ended up with a pair of 80s. My putting was desperate though and had 38 and then 37 putts!

I think 72 - 75 won it.

Forrest Little was really enjoyable though. Some great holes, although the rough was really tough! That is one hell of a touch finishing hole too. Keeping the drives on the fairway is key. Definitely a course i want to get back to and play again though.

Glad you enjoyed it Graeme, my home course.

Played myself, even though I was dying with the flue. Shot a 76 in round one, with the most pathetic double on index 18. Limped out of round 2 after 6holes because my head was spinning and I couldn't see straight. My buddy and playing partner won it, 75 in round 1 and 73 in round 2 which was damn good considering how tough the rough was.

This was cancelled in July due to bad weather. The rescheduled day is October 4th.

I'm fairly sure it's 18 holes, not 36.

www.southcountygolf.com for course details and contact number etc

Very, very bad weather up on Saturday for the JSC.

I was +9 after 10, then got it together and was +8 playing the 17th only to lose two balls and thought better of going back to hold up the whole show and accepted my only NR of the year. Gutted on my home track.

And it was won with +5 so I wasn't a million miles away from the shake up. Played poorly though.

Dissapointed that we had a lot of good visitors and they had to play the course in such biblical conditions. I would've liked them to see the place as it usually is.

Maybe next July it won't be rained-off :rolleyes:

That's a shame about the weather. My flight ended up being put back so i missed the Scratch Cup. That's the last of the JSCs now too... looking forward to getting round even more of them next year!

Think my favourite one had to be the Headfort one. The other 36 holers i played at Forrest Little and Skerries were good too.

Not a fan of the ones where the junior and intermediate sections are mixed... probably try to avoid them next year if i can't guarantee playing with other juniors.

Although i didn't play it this year, the Lord Mayors has to still be my favourite 18 hole JSC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

Think my favourite one had to be the Headfort one.

+1, but do you remember the heat that day (June BH weekend)? Flipping scorching it was by 9am. Found that day very tough.

Junior Scratch in the K Club this Sunday (December 21st). Anyone else playing?

How did it go in the end Sheet?

I'm ging to miss the Junior Scratch Cups in 2009. I normally play 5-6 a year but went from 7 Hcp to 3 Hcp:D in 2008 and won't be eligable !!!!:):)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

That's an impressive season behind you, well done!
    No bother to you to compete at the senior cups I'd bet in 2009...

How did it go in the end Sheet?

Gah! Was late arriving and legged it onto the first tee. Worse still, Niall Quinn had started on the 10th in a two-ball and arrived right behind us looking to play through for his back nine. (He's actually really nice, as you'd expect - think he's off 8).

Anyway, +4 after 3 holes - not the start Sheet had planned ;)
    12 holes later and I'm still holding in there at +4 but took 5 at the index one 16th. Given that I had earlier figured on such a tough day +5 might nick it I went in to that catastrophic "just par hom" mode and made double on 17.

Saved the best til last though, again beutifully focused on my score (Bob would be proud ;)), thought I'd need to birdie the last par 5. Hit an iffy drive but still in 3 wood range despite the water. Reckond par for +7 was no good to me so went for it and took 7. Of course the best in was +7 with a worse back nine than mine would have been ;)

All in all, a fun course to play - really challengin tee shots in the wind and good (if a bit strange) to be competing this time of year.

Well worth the 80 quid.

Gah! Was late arriving and legged it onto the first tee. Worse still, Niall Quinn had started on the 10th in a two-ball and arrived right behind us looking to play through for his back nine. (He's actually really nice, as you'd expect - think he's off 8).

Anyway, +4 after 3 holes - not the start Sheet had planned ;)
    12 holes later and I'm still holding in there at +4 but took 5 at the index one 16th. Given that I had earlier figured on such a tough day +5 might nick it I went in to that catastrophic "just par hom" mode and made double on 17.

Saved the best til last though, again beutifully focused on my score (Bob would be proud ;)), thought I'd need to birdie the last par 5. Hit an iffy drive but still in 3 wood range despite the water. Reckond par for +7 was no good to me so went for it and took 7. Of course the best in was +7 with a worse back nine than mine would have been ;)

All in all, a fun course to play - really challengin tee shots in the wind and good (if a bit strange) to be competing this time of year.

Well worth the 80 quid.

Good man Sheet! Glad to hear you went down fighting... Neil Young would be proud!!

David2002... congrats on a cracking season. That's one thing i've been thinking of. I'm currently on the border between 4 and 5. The aim this season is to go lower, hopefully to 3 or so. That would obviously rule me out of (most) Junior Scratch Cups.

I absolutely love them. Is the senior scene as good? Are there as many comps? The good thing about staying at 5 would be still getting to play in the likes of the Clontarf and the JSC at Headfort.

Good man Sheet! Glad to hear you went down fighting... Neil Young would be proud!!

David2002... congrats on a cracking season. That's one thing i've been thinking of. I'm currently on the border between 4 and 5. The aim this season is to go lower, hopefully to 3 or so. That would obviously rule me out of (most) Junior Scratch Cups.

I absolutely love them. Is the senior scene as good? Are there as many comps? The good thing about staying at 5 would be still getting to play in the likes of the Clontarf and the JSC at Headfort.

Yeah Graeme I think the problem is there's a limbo area around 3 or 4 where you won't actually get in to some Senior comps that use balloting as per h'cap and obviously you're out of Junior Cups.

But there are some JSCs that are 4-10, usually listed in the title on the GUI site. Some Senior dates are up there already for '09 on the GUI site.

I'm sure there's a few SSCs you'd get into off 4 but not all. There's also Lumsden @ RD.
    It's a good motivator to push yourself towrads 2 or 3 rather than being happy with 4.

In my own experience from a few years back , Senior comps are, as you might expect, slightly more tense affairs. Then again, I used to be a bit more tense myself so maybe it was just me. I'm looking forward to getting cut a shot or two and giving it another try.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Aim to get low enough to get into some of the National Championships!
    I'd love to play the North of Ireland in Portrush and make a great few days of it :)

I think Quinn is off 3 as far as I remember.. I was playing just in front of him at the European Club and I think he had a good score on the day too...

Licksy wrote: »
    Aim to get low enough to get into some of the National Championships!
    I'd love to play the North of Ireland in Portrush and make a great few days of it :)

I think Quinn is off 3 as far as I remember.. I was playing just in front of him at the European Club and I think he had a good score on the day too...

I think that's a good thing to aim for. I'd love to play in some of those. Don't get me wrong, i want to get as low as i can, but i would be quite sad to no longer be eligible for some of the JSCs. As you both say, bigger and better things to aim for.

I'm not familiar with Senior scene at all. Can't imagine it is as fun/relaxed as the Junior scratch scene and definately not as many competitions.

I reckon I'll be eligable for the 4-9ones by May (pesimistic by nature)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I'm sorry to bring the standard down lads I have a hc of 18 (hope to knock a few of it ) and I'm back playing after a 5 year abstance and totally in love with the game but I was wondering what competitions am I elligable to play in
    Cheers lads

I'm sorry to bring the standard down lads I have a hc of 18 (hope to knock a few of it ) and I'm back playing after a 5 year abstance and totally in love with the game but I was wondering what competitions am I elligable to play in
    Cheers lads

Minor scratch cups are 18-28 and intermediate scratch cups are 12-17. Something for everyone!

Have to say, the set up in Ireland with all the scratch cups, interclubs is superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Sammo13

Lads,

Play the Jnr scr cups each year, won 3 nets last year, but as yet to win a cup, love the comps and great value to be had. Got down to 6.2 from 7.6 but now 6.5, aim is to get to 5.0??
    Anyway Rosslare have a scratch cup in April, normally e25 for 36 holes and you get a sambo at HT. Not listed on the GUI yet, but keep an eye out for it, good links track, well worth a visit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 ollieryanisold

Anyone won any of their respective scratch cups? Just wondered.
    Great craic competiting regardless of the level. I played in a scratch cup recently with a special guest (invited to play by the club for some reason!)...anyway this guy was in his early 70's (age) and was still playing off 4...he was telling me that he had won his clubs captain's prize in the 50's, 60,s, 70's, 80's, 90's and 00's How about that! He also won a senior scratch in all decades except the 00's...but he did manage a junior scratch! Impressive eh. After spending most of the round chatting with him I only realised on the 18th tee that he was bettering my score (i'm in my 20's, just!) by one...bloody 70+ year old...couldn't get the shot back either.