Micheal O'Leary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

he's a very good business man. A great business man even. A con none the less. Dishonest, sneaky, brash.

Hate the airline. They're among the most vile and ignorant employees with no regard for human decency. Indeed you dont pay much for the flights, and Ryanair is just a no frills taxi service. But they should take responsibility, and they they should still be honest and fair to their customers.

low fairs is now excuse for being treated like a wallet strapped to a hunk of meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

he explained why he cancelled them flights. He had a copy of the tickets. The ticket that the woman booked through the site was €60 and the price the site paid to book through ryanair was €22. If you have the money to buy a taxi plate, to avoid traffic delays, why wouldn ya. Its cheaper and greener then a helicopter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

he's a very good business man. A great business man even. A con none the less. Dishonest, sneaky, brash.

Hate the airline. They're among the most vile and ignorant employees with no regard for human decency. Indeed you dont pay much for the flights, and Ryanair is just a no frills taxi service. But they should take responsibility, and they they should still be honest and fair to their customers.

low fairs is now excuse for being treated like a wallet strapped to a hunk of meat.

their employees have always been polite and efficient with me, and i've used them a lot.

i'm guessing based on your post and your other posts on AH that is just because you had a bad attitude when dealing with them. [there is no need to be OUTRAGED about everything]

be nice to others and they will (usually) be nice back to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

While I dislike Ryanair; however I highly admire Michael O'Leary and his entire attitude. He has transformed the airline industry in Europe and the reason he was able to do it is he consistently argues against Trade Unions. Trade Unions in Ireland have Ireland in economic recession and are responsible for alot of the economic trouble afflicting us currently. He will still turn a profit for that company despite oil costing over $100/barell. An Economic Genius and how I wish he could take his axe to the Public Services here particularly Health and I don't like Irish Rail.

I have nominated him as a legend of boards vote for him here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

Dont know where all these nightmare stories are coming from. I use ryannair 4 or 5 times a year, the staff on the plane are more polite then air lingus. The only staff I can think of that are nicer are aer arann. But yet again ye give out about being cramped into the plane. Hes not breaking any laws, if the plane is designed to take that many peopl then why shouldnt it. With aer lingus ye nearly always end up with some oul fecker with the seat reclined back on top of ya, doesnt happen with ryanair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Ryanair, pile of ****e.

Micheal O'Leary, love him.

Ryanair took 3 different aircraft and 24 hours to fly me and the missus from Dublin to Barcelona (on our honeymoon). I have avoided them as much as possible after that.

First plane failed to take off from Dublin at all, the second plane had to make an emergency landing in Nantes in France (Slept on the floor of the airport overnight with no offers of food/drink) and it was noon the next day before a third plane flew out to bring us the remainder of the trip.

But, yeah, I do admire Michael O'Leary for his straight up approach.

Muppet Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

To be fair are there any airlines besides Qantas and Qatar that don't do that? Aer Lingus, BA, Virgin, AA, Pan Am, they're all the same. Someone mentioned the "what the fukk do you expect for 20 quid". At least Ryan Air are up front about it. You get what you're willing to pay for.

Ahh i think Micheals a legend, sure hes a sneaky, coniving, self obsesed cuunt, but hes a lovable sneaky coniving self obsessed cuunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

their employees have always been polite and efficient with me, and i've used them a lot.

i'm guessing based on your post and your other posts on AH that is just because you had a bad attitude when dealing with them. [there is no need to be OUTRAGED about everything]

be nice to others and they will (usually) be nice back to you.

im actually not in a bad mood, im in a GOOD MOOD, IM GOING HOME TOMO YEY!......with ryanair....*shudders*

Ive had to do case studies on the man in college, the ****e you discover then is unbelievable.

Okay, i admit, the comment stating ALL their employees was overkill. But there have been a good few encounters. mostly about luggage (be it "overweight", not giving it back at the checkin desk when we wanted to take something out...the bag was RIGHT in front of us and there was NOBODY behind us, alot of them are bad tempered in my experience (due to the hours they work i rekon)...and ALOT of problems with my sister. Luis Vuiton bag, like 1200 quid, torn from seem to seem, complaints department....refund? yeah right!. I use them roughly 10 maybe 12 times a year but theres RARELY a bad trip (edited, used wrong word).

Ill use aer lingus when i can, Ryanair suits my pockets though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭thelurch

He has his **** off money, which means he does not rely on you or me or the state or does he give a **** what people think of him. I would love to be in his position and just be nice to people that matter !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's a businessman who has probably never cried himself to sleep after any adverse publicity, so couldn't give a sh1t what anyone thinks of him.

He is probably also "The Stig" on Top Gear.

Hey Michael, can I have a free ticket? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

But there have been a good few encounters. mostly about luggage (be it "overweight"

It's either overweight, or it's not. It's completely black and white. They tell you what the limits are, they weigh your bags in front of you on scales that are a) owned by someone else and b) right in front of you. Why the "overweight" quote? If you were charged extra because you packed too much, tough. Every other airline does exactly the same. There's plenty to criticise them for, don't make stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

theres a very good book on O'Leary by Alan Ruddock called A life in full flight I would recomend it to anyone who has anything negative to say against him.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

theres a very good book on O'Leary by Alan Ruddock called A life in full flight I would recomend it to anyone who has anything negative to say against him.

there is a very funny book called "Ruinair"

everyone should read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

Total cóckknocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm sure O'Leary himself would admit he acts the prick though. That's all I and others are saying. Not dissing his business skills at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Louis vuitton bag on ryanair.Asking for trouble!He's a good business man, but at the end of the day he's in the business of offering a service, and he's pretty bad at it.He moves planes.Not people.
    I was away for a weekend a few years ago, caught a bad stomach bug, and Aer Lingus wouldn't let me fly home.It was a 24hr thing;they took one look at me at the boarding desk and said no.They got me to a hotel in the airport in question (I wouldn't have made it on my own!), I stayed for the night, and I was automatically booked onto the next days flight home.I paid for the hotel, but that was it.The staff at the check-in desk knew about me the next day.If that had been Ryanair, I would have had to pay for another seat to get home, even if it was them that wouldn't have let me fly.Probably wouldn't have been able to get on the next days flight. Been flying Aerlingus for years;wouldn't touch Ryanair.The 2 break even anyway price-wise when you add up ALL the extras.And the transport you need from wherever Ryanair drops you.You get what you pay for, but I'm not prepared to take those risks.And fair enough O' Leary is honest, but he's downright ignorant, and it's not good enough to ask people to pay for stuff and then say tough luck if things aren't up to a standard.Any standard!!Regardless of how little you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭clicli

I think the man is an evil genius, and is probably laughing all the way to the bank, so fair fcuks to the guy!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

All i have to say is

Jealousy is for losers that can't make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm sure O'Leary himself would admit he acts the prick though. That's all I and others are saying. Not dissing his business skills at all.
    o'leary couldnt care less what anyone said about him!!

he said himself that the only bad publicity for any airline is regarding safety!!

he would much rather people on the radio everyday calling him all sorts, rather than never having his name in the meeja!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

slipss wrote: »
    To be fair are there any airlines besides Qantas and Qatar that don't do that? Aer Lingus, BA, Virgin, AA, Pan Am, they're all the same. Someone mentioned the "what the fukk do you expect for 20 quid". At least Ryan Air are up front about it. You get what you're willing to pay for.

Ahh i think Micheals a legend, sure hes a sneaky, coniving, self obsesed cuunt, but hes a lovable sneaky coniving self obsessed cuunt.

Don't be fooled by the 5 star status of Qatar.

In my experience they're just as bad if not worse than Ryanair on the ground.

Yes, in the air they're plush. But they can treat you like crap on the ground and leave you high and dry.

Found out the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

If your're paying that much then you have one person to blame and its not O'Leary

The Ryanair business model is beautifully simple:

-The basic item, the flight is cheap as dirt. You pay to bring yourself to the airport and nothing else
    -You want to bring bags? Pay for them
    -Want a cup of tea? Pay for it
    -Want to choose your seat? Pay for it

Brilliant

Indeed but then in that case they may not always work out cheaper and in my experience they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Micheal O'Leary is a legend but ryanair is crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭elgransenor

There is no getting away from 2 basic facts concerning this mans brilliance
    1) His advice to Tony Ryan when he was sent out to Ryanair was to 'close the place down,it is haemorraging cash and will put you on the road'
    2) The place was going to fold but Seamus Brennan saved it by taking a flight slot to Gatwick/Stansted from Aer Lingus and giving it to Ryanair to save them and foster competition between them and keep the unions in Aer Lingus in check.
    O'Leary confirmed this as recently as a few weeks ago on News at One on radio when paying a tribute to Seamus Brennan when the latter died.

If O'Leary was a great businessman he would have about 10 Centras/Supervalus in the greater Dublin area.
    Because he failed as a retailer at Walkinstown Roundabout when he came out of Trinity with a BBS he went back into the accountancy proffession,not by choice but by necessity, and was sent to work as Tony Ryan's personal secretary/assistant.
    I know this because we discussed it back then outside his shop beside the Kestrel pub in 1987.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    Awh does he, well lets lock him up so. How does he come across as abully??

you have to remember that we in ireland dont like people who are in our face or confrontational and we certainly dont like people who tell it like it is

theese are a few of the reasons bertie aherne won 3 elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

I read his interview in the Sunday independent and it was brilliant. Most of the things that he gives out about I feel strongly about (i.e how the civil service in this country should be run like a business, sack all the wasters etc.)

O'Leary for president ha (actually he probably thinks the role of president is not worth a "bucket of hot spit")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Boo hoo to yiz all. I'm going to London in Oct for 120 rtn. Tell me what other airline would do same? I've had experience of Ryanair and missing flights which weren't their fault. Not going to cry about it. I wouldn't go as far as calling O'Leary a legend but I have to admire his balls when coming up against protectism. Takes no sh1te. If it weren't for him and his team we'd be still be stuck in the backwaters of europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

hannable80 wrote: »
    when you see people crying at xmas because the gate number for a flight has changed and they werent told....and the plane didnt wait for 15 ppl....
    Mental....Also the amount of charges he puts on everything if you do the math its the same price to go with another Airline why not go where their is better service.....people are luled into a false sense of "hey got the flight for a tener"

I disagree. They're still cheaper than rival airlines even if you're taking a bag and checking in at the airport.

I fly regularly with a few different airlines and ryanair are always cheaper than the others, and that's from and to the same airports.

And by they way, it's "maths" not "math".

*heads to Americanisms thread to add to list*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

kraggy wrote: »
    I disagree. They're still cheaper than rival airlines even if you're taking a bag and checking in at the airport.

I fly regularly with a few different airlines and ryanair are always cheaper than the others, and that's from and to the same airports.

And by they way, it's "maths" not "math".

*heads to Americanisms thread to add to list*

So do I but to a different airport Heathrow,and over the year are not the cheapest for me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

.and ALOT of problems with my sister. Luis Vuiton bag, like 1200 quid, torn from seem to seem, complaints department....refund?

anyone who buys a 1200e handbag in the first place. . . never mind checking it in the luggage hold of an airplane, deserves everything they get tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    Anyone else think this guy is a legend. Love listening to him. Hes a great business man aswell. Cant understand why evryone hates him
    A great business man would have taken an oil hedge.

He is good, not great.