Online shopping and shopping in the US- cheaper or a con?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Claire121

How could you possibly prove it though? Nobody has receipts from a year ago, or from something that was a present. Obviously if you have a large number of something (I phones, leather jackets etc) it raises suspicion but the majority of Christmas shoppers would just have stuff for their own use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Disco Stu

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Play.com will rip you off. I avoid them.

I've bought over a hundred DVD's, games and CD's from Play.com over the last 7 years and never had a problem with them, way cheaper than the shops here, better choice and normally delivered in a couple of days. If you have to go back to them for a return they are pretty easy to deal with too..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Use ebay and Amazon all the time and save a ****load. Delivered to my door, have never had to collect them from anywhere. Haven't bought a cd/dvd or book in an Irish store in about 2 years. The price here is a joke. Also brought back a new Gibson Les Paul Special from the U.S. - cost $600 in a sale and saw it here for 2 grand. Strolled through customs no bother although the fact that I decided to help a nun with her luggage might have saved me from those clowns, I had Jesus on my side and he loves a bargain so he does.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    I know of one store selling current Arsenal, Celtic, Chelsea and a few national team jerseys for around the 15 euro mark. Never seen that low online.

Where is that please? I wouldn't mind a new jersey or 2.
    RonMexico wrote: »
    I had Jesus on my side and he loves a bargain so he does.

Absolute gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Disco Stu wrote: »
    I've bought over a hundred DVD's, games and CD's from Play.com over the last 7 years and never had a problem with them, way cheaper than the shops here, better choice and normally delivered in a couple of days. If you have to go back to them for a return they are pretty easy to deal with too..!

me too. they save me an absolute fortune on books DVDs and PS2 games. the only real problem i have is it usually takes over a week or two to get them. but hey at that price i'll wait. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Claire121 wrote: »
    How could you possibly prove it though? Nobody has receipts from a year ago, or from something that was a present. Obviously if you have a large number of something (I phones, leather jackets etc) it raises suspicion but the majority of Christmas shoppers would just have stuff for their own use.
    Well as long as its for personal use a warning is ok. But if its iPhones with intent to supply you're in a spot of trouble. :rolleyes:

As for online shopping, I buy a lot of stuff online. Things like memory cards are ridiculously expensive here, Ive found an irish site that sells them at a knockdown price as opposed to a bricks and mortar establishment. Some things are just not available here or are, again, overpriced - a manga is 10.50 here, whereas its about half that elsewhere. play-asia sells games far cheaper even factoring in delivery. Its a disgrace.

But I do buy books here, even if they are dearer just to support some bookshops that I like. I dont buy clothes on the interweb because I have to try something on before I buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

It doesn't bother you that you are being charged more than customers in the UK?

Well as long as its for personal use a warning is ok. But if its iPhones with intent to supply you're in a spot of trouble.

What's with all the talk of smuggling and tax evasion then? Going to New York and taking advantage of cheaper prices to buy some Abercrombie or a designer bag is hardly tax evasion or smuggling. I'm aware of the rules on alcohol, cigarettes etc, but never considered it anything but my own business what clothes or make-up I purchased while I was over there, once it wasn't 50 of the same item or knock off designer goods from Canal Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Disco Stu

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    It doesn't bother you that you are being charged more than customers in the UK?

Not really... still a huge amount cheaper than buying here...

Although the business is based in Jersey, it's essentially a UK retailer and so the cost to the customers in it's main market will always be a bit less. It has to factor in higher delivery costs to everywhere else so they make that back with their exchange rate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

What's with all the talk of smuggling and tax evasion then? Going to New York and taking advantage of cheaper prices to buy some Abercrombie or a designer bag is hardly tax evasion or smuggling. I'm aware of the rules on alcohol, cigarettes etc, but never considered it anything but my own business what clothes or make-up I purchased while I was over there, once it wasn't 50 of the same item or knock off designer goods from Canal Street.

All this tax and whatnot doesnt hold with me at all. Ill evade it if I can, the way I see it if they manage to get it from me they deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

Re customs - how do they know where and when you bought the stuff? I lived in New York last year and bought clothes over there (suits, blouses etc) to wear to work while I was there, surely I should be entitled to bring them home? And how do they know if it's something you just bought or something you've had for a while and brought on holidays with you to wear? What if it was a Christmas present from a relative in the US? Sorry if it sounds stupid but I've never really thought about it.

loose the tags, bags and receipts on clothes, fold them bad to crease them, basically make it ook like you took them with you. scuff shoes a little might draw attention away from them being new, dirty soles means they isn't new . also having 50 pairs of jeans in multiple sizes in your suit case is a dead give away ;) so if you're buying just keep the sizes consistent, of course if its for yourself you've no trouble there.

on the electrical goods, with a camera take some pictures then it's used and you brought it with you. get an envelope stick the user manual in it and post it to yourself including proof of purchase so you can register the warranty and stuff. MP3 players may be more difficult coz you may not be able to upload music to them.

to be honest i think if a customs guy stops you and you're not pulling the piss he'll probably let you off or just make you pay the tax. I think they're looking for people that travel over with empty cases come back with cases full of cloths of various sizes for resale over here without paying the taxes

What's with all the talk of smuggling and tax evasion then?

there is a limit to the value of personal items you can purchase abroad and bring into the country. if you bring it in you are suppose to pay import duty on it. I think someone said the threshold is €175 per person anything above is taxable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭coillcam

I personally love it. I got a new spanking pair of Puma King SL's a few years ago for €60 inc postage in a colour not available in Ireland and they cost €150 here.

Lately I helped my Dad ship over a vintage motorbike from the states and a bucket load of parts for it, eventually reaching about €7k/€8k in costs soon. But upon completing it, the value will be approx €16k+. Only one of it's kind in Ireland at the moment.

So I have great confidence in online shopping from the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just that they have used the sterling->euro exchange rate to make up for the free shipping that they offer for years. They only recently made a small change to it. Still good value most of the time though I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Really depends on what you buy the runners i last bought would be about €130 over here and i got them for $70 shipped
    Tha Gopher wrote: »
    What is your opinion?

Personally cant understand how the likes of eBay keep going, most gear I look to buy on it is either

a- More expensive than the shops

b- The same price

or

c- Cheaper, but by so little that walking the whole way to your local postal depot to pick up the goods is a waste of time

I was reminded of the above by this thread

http://pie.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055314670

In fairness prices in NY that are within 10 euro of Irish prices is nothing amazing.

Im of the opinion people who buy online or buy in the US and think they are making a massive saving even with the flight cost are off the head. ffs Ireland is a place where you soimply need to shop around. I know of one store selling current Arsenal, Celtic, Chelsea and a few national team jerseys for around the 15 euro mark. Never seen that low online.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Electronics can be anywhere from €25-€100 cheaper from American stores.

Just pray you don't get hit by customs duty. Happened to me before and I got so angry I just refused to pay it, so your man walked off. Then I cooled off a little on my way back into my apartment and had to run after him and tell him, rather sheepishly, that I'd pay after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

Jigsaw wrote: »
    **** it i don't care. if you don't like it sort your life out you ****.

Sounds like I touched a nerve there. Hopefully some appropriate karma might sort you out. :rolleyes:

loose the tags, bags and receipts on clothes, fold them bad to crease them, basically make it ook like you took them with you. scuff shoes a little might draw attention away from them being new, dirty soles means they isn't new . also having 50 pairs of jeans in multiple sizes in your suit case is a dead give away wink.gif so if you're buying just keep the sizes consistent, of course if its for yourself you've no trouble there.

Yeah always take the tags off for that reason. I don't see how else they could accuse you of smuggling - I often take new shoes on holidays and don't end up wearing them - it's none of their business! I'd say the reason they don't stop people is that it's so difficult to prove anything. Obviously those who buy in bulk to sell on are doing something dodgy but I don't think those going over to buy themselves a few things are committing a crime. 175 euro is ridiculously low. I spent more than that when I was there, and I wasn't going over on a shopping trip, just getting work clothes and shoes for my job over there. It's bad enough living in rip off Ireland, without not being able to pick up a few clothes while on holidays without worrying about customs charges. Grr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Phlann wrote: »
    Just pray you don't get hit by customs duty. Happened to me before and I got so angry I just refused to pay it, so your man walked off. Then I cooled off a little on my way back into my apartment and had to run after him and tell him, rather sheepishly, that I'd pay after all.

Same happened to me buying a TV in tescos, fecking bitch told me I would have to pay the VAT and Duty on it, went off fuming... The cheeky bastards had already hidden these costs into the price displayed to! nerve of them!

It certainly is a form of smuggling, people do not like to be branded as such, "everybody does it" so it is fine. It is like drinkers getting all upset at being branded drug users, and smokers being called drug addicts. Loads of people have dodgy cable boxes but would not brand themselves thieves.

I see it similar to people avoiding VAT by saying something is for their business, you are taking away from money that should be going into the economy. If everybody pulls scams like this then they just up tax overall to get back the shortfall.

I still do it myself though, and have no problem admitting I am a drug abusing, smuggling, thieving degenerate.