Anyone crack any of their life ambitions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sleepy wrote: »
    I'm 7 weeks away from my life's ambition - being a daddy to a little girl.

(yes, I know this makes me a sap).
    Congrats. Sap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

swam with great white sharks off cape town, what an experience and one that will have to be done again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Started my own company at 27 and made a profit at 29. It was quite satisfying telling off the bank manager for being a prick after many calls from him looking for money. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Toots85 wrote: »
    To-Be-Cracked:
    Get married

I don't think I've ever heard of a man having "get married" as an ambition in life.

Kinda interesting...

(I'm not trying to imply anything, I genuinely think it's an interesting difference between men and women.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

kowloon wrote: »
    My world domination plans failed miserably. On analysis it seems I invested too much in the benevolence of others over the power of subversion or brute force. A heartfelt plea for total submission doesn't cut it these days it seems.

I don't know, at lot of people like begging and pleading.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever heard of a man having "get married" as an ambition in life.

Ambition:

Try to avoid getting married :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Toots85 wrote: »
    Awwwww!!! :) Congratulations!!

Ok, here's my abitions

Cracked:
    Met man I love (sap!)
    Bought property before my 21st birthday (started as a bet, I'll go a long way to prove a point! :p)
    Found a job I really like
    Met my family in Australia
    Went to Hong Kong
    Learned to play Clarinet

To-Be-Cracked:
    Get married
    Have children
    Get promoted
    Get my degree in Financial Services
    Pay off mortgage, loan, credit card - just be debt free in general
    Just generally be happy in life
    AARRRGH wrote: »

Kinda interesting...

(I'm not trying to imply anything, I genuinely think it's an interesting difference between men and women.)

Read the first line of the "Cracked" list, <whisper> I think it's a chick </whisper>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

arseagon wrote: »
    Read the first line of the "Cracked" list, <whisper> I think it's a chick </whisper>

Yeah, that's what I meant, Toots85 is a woman :)

Or a gaylord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭irishcrazyhorse

After 6 years of doing some crazy **** in college which I had to top, while sober I decided for the last college ball(which I was running by the way) to wear a sock to leave a lasting impression which it did!

Graduated with an honours degree when I and my folks were told I was a waster and would amount to nothing and should quit now a save the money(they werent try to motivate me either by the way :D )

Never came home with a scratch after a night out from someone else's doing

Stood on the 18th tee box after winning the qualifier for a singles matchplay which lasted 6 months of 1 on 1's and making an eagle for the win

Also holding the 3 legged pub crawl time from NCAD to this date is also a big moment of mine :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

Marksie wrote: »
    would like to:
    visit machu pichu
    India
    pompeii and herculaneum

Snap!!!!:D
    Macchu Pichu is my ultimate dream! Was planning on doing a charity trek there last year but family stuff got in the way:( But I shall!!!!!!!

As for my other ambitions:
    this year alone:
    (i) My consolation was going to Italy in April and seeing the Colosseum and Pompeii (my second dream location)- it's amazing, and I shall return.
    (ii) Started my own business, it's still getting off the ground, but it's MINE!:D
    (iii) Bought a car and started driving, not much to some people but to me it's a massive deal considering I'd be crippled at the thought of it before I actually bit the bullet

and although it's not technically a life-ambition:
    (iv) Made new friends, courtesy of the Ladies Lounge - some absolute Angels in there! - and BGRH:cool:

Still to do:
    Fall in Love
    Buy my own home
    Get married & Become a mother
    Combine my current business with another that'd work around my children and animals, I already know what it'd be!:o
    If I don't get to Peru before I marry - than it'd have to be an option for the honeymoon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

arseagon wrote: »
    Started my own company at 27 and made a profit at 29. It was quite satisfying telling off the bank manager for being a prick after many calls from him looking for money. :)
    Set up my own company at 16 :cool: Still to turn a profit:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Debt-free and mortgage-free. This makes so many other things possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

spurious wrote: »
    Debt-free and mortgage-free. This makes so many other things possible.

Yep ;).
    Despite the "good" job. Once the debts have gone, you can really work on cracking all our ambitions.
    Cazlou: a friend of mine went to machu picchu (i was dead jealous lol).. go for it.

Congrats on the business.
    when i have my ambitions cracked, I will be doing the same.

Went to the colesseum in rome. Not a crowe in sight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'd like to smell like gone off mince.
    Marksie wrote: »
    would like to:
    visit machu pichu
    A friend of mine did that recently, it's on my list fo' sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Dropped a huge dump in the Shelbourne Hotel Horsehoe Bar Jacks recently,after a very hot curry in Peploe's.

She was half way up the pan ,so I abandoned her for posterity.

Perhaps Dunphy was the next user, kept me on a high for some days and was one of my life's ambitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

not entirely had a whole lot of ambitions. always wanted to travel, and sorta done that, but will never do all i wanted.
    always wanted to swim with sharks, have done it, sorta, but wana do it in the wild, not an artificial setting. was still incredible being so close though.

mostly, growing up, i just wanted to own my own house, which ill never have :(
    always wanted to play camogie for my county, actually, which i got to do, not for long though, as i got a massive injury not long after joining.

i duno, i'd love to skydive, but there's not really all that much i'd have as life ambitions. few short term things, like getting my sleeve done, or a piercing project, or ... emmm. i've no idea what else.

*shrug*

want to learn to surf good. does that count as alife ambition?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Done:
    Travel all over South America
    Skydive
    Jumped off a 20m cliff (strange ambition, I know)
    Swim with the fishes. And dolphins. Those wacky pink toe-nibbling eejits.

Done, but never realised it was an ambition:

Father a child. I suppose the second one is now a short-term ambition

To do:
    Run a marathon. I actually walked a marathon by mistake, up the train-tracks to Machu Picchu, effectively achieving two ambitions in one, but I must try whittle my time down from 10 hours some day!

Write some books. First one is almost done.

Balloon ride. Tickets bought, just need a babysitter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Cracked
    BSc
    PhD
    Published in scientific journals
    Visited Pompeii and Herculaneum (Spent one full day doing this. Awesome!)
    Scuba diving
    Snorkelling on shallow corals
    Earn a good living from (medical) writing
    Work abroad for a couple of years (4 years down already!!)

To be cracked
    Earning a good living from fiction writing
    Get a book published (see above)
    Start my own business (Have the idea, need the time and finance)
    Be mortgage free (This one needs more input from me!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

this thread has got me thinking that i have completely wasted my life thus far.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Cracked:
    Graduated.
    Got a job in my area.
    Went skiing for the first time this year.
    Got to see Radiohead live.
    On my way to visit Machu Picchu

There's a few others that haven't been cracked yet but still plenty of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Cracked:
    Job as a games programmer

To be cracked:
    Sky diving
    HALO jump
    Bungee Jump
    Running of the Bulls in Pamplona
    Work on a title that isn't shit.
    And probably more stuff that involves putting myself in harms way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Cracked
    Play 'November Rain' on guitar.
    Obtain Honours Degree (3 weeks here I come).
    Perform in The High Stool (Before it was shit) and Dolans in Limerick.
    Record demo album.
    Top a videogame leaderboard... (a few now)

To be Cracked
    Obtain Masters Degree.
    Learn to play 'Fantaisie Impromptu' by Chopin. (Will be harder than the Masters)
    Work in the Videogame Industry.
    Spend 1 month travelling around Japan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭runningman

Done -

Got a car
    Got a house
    Got two degrees (1 honours)
    Got my dream job
    Qualified as a diver
    Did a parachute jump
    Traveled a lot

To do -

Get a masters
    Pay off my mortgage
    Travel more
    Find a soul mate
    Get married

In general I'm lucky, lead a good and interesting life to date! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Done
    Honours Degree
    Surfed in Hawaii

Half done
    Learn Spanish

To Do (For now)
    Attain Black Belt in Judo & JiuJitsu
    Travel South America
    Travel Asia/Oz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭needhelpguy

Done: Not die yet

To do: ?

I have no ambition. I'm just lost generally.

Anyway, as they say, trying is the first step towards failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Anyway, as they say, trying is the first step towards failure.
    Why fail tomorrow when you can fail today! :)

Nah! Edison himself is supposed to have said something along the lines of "I haven't failed, I've just found 10,000 ways it doesn't work" or similar depending on what you read...

Wikiquote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭A_M101

I dunnit
    Bungee-jump.
    First in my class and a first overall in my summer exams.
    Teach horse-riding for a summer.
    Travel as much as I can afford.

I wanna
    Graduate with a first.
    Get a job I really like.
    Get a house somewhere I really like.
    Train my young horse successfully.
    Be able to treat my parents well (holidays etc) after all they've done for me.
    Live in France for a while.
    Travel around South America and Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭token56

Haven't done much important but sure I am only young ( almost 21)
    Done:
    Remain debt free through college (3 out of 4 years and looking good)
    Get a car

To do:
    Get a first class honours (1 more year and looking good)
    Get PHD
    Set up my own company
    Get a house
    Run a marathon (under 3 hours)
    Complete a triathlon (also need to learn to swim first which is rather embarressing)
    Live abroad for a few years

Would be nice to do:
    Invent something useful/pratical
    Drive a formula 1 car

I am sure there is more but cant think of much at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

ok did some thinking..

Done
    collage
    honours degree
    career
    house
    cars
    watched a lightening storm over the grand canyon
    Kicked the shi*e out of my brother for years of him beating on me when he was the strongest...
    your ma

to do:
    morgtage free by 30
    move to spain by 30
    speak spanish as a second language( in progress)
    compete in idfpa worlsd (in progress)
    qualifed diver (in progress)
    dance with the devil in the pale moon light
    watch the end of the paris dakar rally along the beach in egypt
    suppoese i better consdier a wife at some stage ( currently holding interviews..)

LEARN TO SPELL!! STUPID ENGLIMSH

man ive a long to do list

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

To Do: BASE Jump.

I was suprised by the number of 'visit machu pichu' ambitions. To the people who got to go: was it as good as you thought it'd be?