some good people out there

• 05-08-2008 04:13PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

I lost my wallet the weekend in the back of a taxi.I got a phone call to day from a guy who found it.It had the usual stuff in it cash and cards he went to a a lot of bother to trace me.

I met the guy and gave him a few bob back ---so if by chance your wallet was lost don't give up hope.

Thanks dude:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

Rock on, thats rare these days.. too many people would be only too quick about taking the cash and dumping the wallet..

Fair play too him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

henboy wrote: »
    I lost my wallet the weekend in the back of a taxi.I got a phone call to day from a guy who found it.It had the usual stuff in it cash and cards he went to a a lot of bother to trace me.

I met the guy and gave him a few bob back ---so if by chance your wallet was lost don't give up hope.

Thanks dude:)

I must admit I’d be surprised at finding a lost wallet coming back to me. Perhaps we are all too cynical. After all, most people are basically honest and would return a lost wallet.

Mind you, people can be odd. I remember seeing a mobile left on one of them blocks in JR square a while back which was obviously left behind. I decided to “baby sit” it for a few minutes as I guessed the owner might quickly realize it was gone and re-trace their steps. I got talking to a foreign lass (for some reason I assumed she was German) and she nagged me a bit and suggested I should try calling some numbers. Which I did to no avail. She suspected (and told me as much!) that she thought I was going to trousers the phone once she left. Eventually (to stop her bugging me more than anything TBH) I suggested I give the phone to a couple of guards who were patrolling a good bit away near the clock tower. And off I set. But said lass followed me all the way down to them (at a not too discrete distance) to make sure I handed it over!

Actually I am beginning to remember why I assumed she was German!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭freebird23

coiuple of days b4 my wedding my wife lost a few grand it was money to pay for a lot of esentials.i was giving up hope and rang wlr and they said that a guy had phoned to say he had found money, anyway i contacted him and got it back and gave him a nice bit for himself. a good chap if ever. i allways hand in anything that i might find, it does come bact to you karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭magick

yuppers , its actually nice to see good people, i remember coming home from the pub completely wasted, and dropped my phnoe in the taxi , the taxi man pointed it out to me when he could have just kept it, nice to see some honesty around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

Nice to hear there are some honest people left in the world. not too long ago i gave a taxi driver a 50 thinking it was a tenner (drunk). I jumped out of the taxi letting him keep the change (which would have been around 50 cents if i had handed him a tenner like i thought). ****er drove away and pocketed the money. sigh, wont make that mistake again.

I also lost my wallet before in JFK airport in new york. It had 1000 dollars in it. Yes you read that right. sigh.