Castlepalooza '08

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 2cracks

Rarely Seen Above Ground's performance was legendary. What a surprise (did no music research before going. I like surprises). Highly recommend see live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

hey guys,

shed load of photos from this up at http://entertainment.ie/caughtout - i think the photographer got photos of just about everyone, fair play. i'll be putting up my own photos on flickr over the next day or two, but they'll only really be of the bands.

highlights for me were robotnik, FLA and the chapters. Missed Boss Volenti on saturday as I was to a from the festival all day, wish i could have seen them. i was also brought up to the roof of the castle to take photos which was one of the best parts.

bad parts: the toilets not working - this was because some cut a water line and stole a valve from it I heard. Some people are very unsound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

What a great weekend. I actually think that some of the organzational issues ad to the atmosphere rather than take away. I think Saturday is probably the drunkest ive ever been since I was a teenager. Mixing Koppaberg with vodka is not a good idea. Ended up missing most bands and falling about the campsite. Do remember The Flaws though who I thought were decent.

Sunday I managed to keep it together all day. Fight Like Apes were brilliant and probably my highlight of the weekend. Caught Tu -Ki in the tent to finish up the night and he was brilliant too. Will be back next year for sure just hope they fix the booze situation. I think Toast has said all that needed to be said though.

Here's the first of many photos I'll be uploading in the next few days

2734564329_ba5aa1b7e8.jpg?v=0

Hi-Res Version available by clicking through..

http://flickr.com/photos/daramunnis/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭scruttocks

hey iamnothim, you spent some time in our tent discussing the merits and demerits of jam, marmalade, rams and sheep in the specific arena of sodomy. Good times. You've got some great photos there, any from our palace of madness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Tedious Bore

my girlfriend got kicked out after being passed a 6-pack of cans from over the wall from outside.

they'd seen her from a distance and she hid the cans.
    Then they told her that if she gave them the cans that would be the end of it.
    so she did. They snipped her wristband and kicked her out without letting her get a jacket or tell her mates or anything.

I asked randomers who'd watched the conversation, and they said she wasn't cheeky with them and it was totally unnecessary.

I always sympathise with staff who have to enforce unpopular rules,
    but this was absolute power-tripping with little regard for wrecking someones weekend.

Would never have been so much people trying to sneak booze in if they hadn't been so coy about the rules on alchohol on their website in the first place.
    After several emails attempting to find out the deal with booze, I was eventually informed that off-licence would be available at "competitive prices".

€4 a can is a ****ing joke...
    and not a very funny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Toast

What time was that at do you know? I think they changed the door people at a certain time as Id heard they got much tougher later on on the Saturday.

scruttocks wrote: »
    hey iamnothim, you spent some time in our tent discussing the merits and demerits of jam, marmalade, rams and sheep in the specific arena of sodomy. Good times. You've got some great photos there, any from our palace of madness?

Haha, heard someone try and repeat that joke and get it wrong saying, whats the difference between a sheep and marmalade... very funny. Also - when you say 'our tent' I'm nearly sure you mean Brians. I slept there both nights.

Jesus thats terrible. Any security staff I came accross all weekend were really nice. We only got a very very light search going in and on Sunday morning security called around to our tent to see if we were all OK as there had been reports of people sneaking in and slashing / stealing from tents over night.

i actually saw a pack of scummers seemingly going through someones tent and rucksack with a torch. i followed them for a while, but essentially, did nothing. quite ashamed of myself tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭n.catenthusiast

A beautiful weekend, all in all. Will definately be back next year. Lovely peoples, and it was nice the way it was possible to bump back into them over the 2 days.

Also wriggle room regarding alcohol seemed for the most part sufficient

Yeah, brian's tent. I didn't actually sleep in it, but spent all my drug-addled hours in it.

As for security, I worked on the front gate for a few hours, it seemed like most of the people there were fairly sensible, saw nothing like Tedious Bore's experience, just standard bag checking. This was on Saturday night. The full time security guards complained that it was really badly understaffed and poorly organised, so I'd imagine that by sunday, they were pretty super duper T.O.'d.

To those complaining about booze prices, bear in mind that the maximum you'd pay for a standard weekend ticket to Castle Palooza is about 100 quid (minimum 55), half of other festivals. To spend as much as you would on an Electric Picnic ticket alone, you'd need to buy 35 cans on top of your ticket, which is probably enough for a weekend in anyones book.

Obviously EP and CP are not 100% comparable, but it's clear that the strategy is to have the cheaper ticket prices subsidised by higher booze prices; without the alcohol policy, the ticket would be far more expensive.

To those complaining about booze prices, bear in mind that the maximum you'd pay for a standard weekend ticket to Castle Palooza is about 100 quid (minimum 55), half of other festivals. To spend as much as you would on an Electric Picnic ticket alone, you'd need to buy 35 cans on top of your ticket, which is probably enough for a weekend in anyones book.

Obviously EP and CP are not 100% comparable, but it's clear that the strategy is to have the cheaper ticket prices subsidised by higher booze prices; without the alcohol policy, the ticket would be far more expensive.

Thats a load of crap. It costs a fraction of the cost per head to put on CastlePalooza as it does EP.

There is no getting away from the fact that the booze situation is just plain retarded at CastlePalooza. We were ripped off and lied too and thats all there is to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Doozie

ah come on.....are you telling me you didn't have an excellent weekend?

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Thats a load of crap. It costs a fraction of the cost per head to put on CastlePalooza as it does EP.

What fraction? 23%? (e55/e240) I don't believe it. Obviously it costs more to get the big name bands in, but standard economic theory is that the higher the volume you're dealing with, the less the per head cost is. With 1,500 vs 35,000 attendees, EP have a huge ability to save money on bulk purchasing, wages, and marketing

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economies_of_scale

It's how it works, I knew full well what the story was when i made the decision to go, and anyone who didn't inform themselves has only themselves to blame.

It was Sunday night when she was kicked out so yeah, maybe they were at the end of their tether. It was actually one person who pushed it.

After handing over her booze, the two male security staff dealing with her saw that as the end of the matter, but then the female one (youngish girl with black hair) said "I think she should go."
    The two lads said "ah d'ya think? - we have the booze, that's probably enough." So she said "Let's ring head of security and see what he has to say."
    Presumably, not wanting to undermine their colleague's authority, they said it was "up to her whether she wanted to do that." One of them even shot my girlfriend an apologetic look. Anyway she rang the head of security and got the green light she was looking for (I don't really blame the head guy so much, - if someone's basically asking for permission to eject someone who broke the rules, it's not surprising he'd follow the letter of the law).

on the subject of booze-rules,
    I really think the cheap ticket prices would have a lot more to do with the savings from booking lesser-known bands (including a fair-share of rubbish ones) than takings from the off-licence (open to correction on this), as well as being lightweight on security, and other savings from a scaled down festival.

In 2006, tickets were €65 (was it?), then they had the cheek to charge €125 last year (for what? - where was that money going? What moron decided that 2006 was such a success, they'd DOUBLE the prices?),
    before bringing it back down again this year.

I wouldn't be as disgruntled if they'd just been more upfront and open about their scabby booze policy. If the information was on the website, then I don't think I was the only one who had trouble finding it if it was.
    I found alchohol serving times and info on "no glass or bottles allowed", but didn't see anything saying no booze to be brought in.

I emailed them a few times and was fobbed off with "thanks, please refer to our website for info". I persisted, telling them that I was having trouble finding precise info on the website. They sent back saying "no cans to be brought into the arena".
    Now I think a lot of people would take this to mean the music arena as distinct from the campsite, especially seeing as this is how things work at other festivals. And call me cynical, but I think they phrased it this way knowing that this would be most people's interpretation.

I emailed back again and got another identical message saying "please refer to the website". Only when I pretended that I hadn't yet bought a ticket and wasn't booking if I didn't get details did they cease with the vague generic replies. They got back to me and said that the arena includes the campsite, and in response to my simple question of "how much will cans cost?" They said only that their prices were competitive. - A smart answer if you suspect that €4 a can might put off a potential ticket buyer.

Would anyone here with a good knowledge of event organisation hazard a guess at how successful Castlepalooza '08 was from a commercial point of view. Just curious. I wouldn't know much about what goes into it all, and the main costs and revenues.
    I won my ticket in a competition this year (and was given 15 freebies from a friend who couldn't shift some complimentary ones that they'd been given in work in 2006). I spoke to two separate groups of people who'd been given 50 free tickets this year because their mates were playing.
    None of my friends paid in. That tent was never packed.
    Reckon they did well? Will it defo be on again next year?

don't think I've ever written a post so long.

I must really have been pissed off!

General festival law is if you arent making money by year 3 you should pack it up. Hard to say if they sold out in the end as the campsite looked full to me and there was easily twice as many people there as previous years yet there was tickets on sale up to the last minute.

The huge sponsorship deals (Sony, Metro etc) must have offset some of the cost as well.

The idea that the low price is so you can pay for drink in there is stupid. The difference in price for something like the EP and Castlepalooza is primarily whose playing and what other things are on. The promoters have always said that this was a condition of their license which is something they need sorting. If somewhere like Mantua or Life can get a license without having to worry about this they should be able to as well.

What fraction? 23%? (e55/e240) I don't believe it. Obviously it costs more to get the big name bands in, but standard economic theory is that the higher the volume you're dealing with, the less the per head cost is. With 1,500 vs 35,000 attendees, EP have a huge ability to save money on bulk purchasing, wages, and marketing

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economies_of_scale

It's how it works, I knew full well what the story was when i made the decision to go, and anyone who didn't inform themselves has only themselves to blame.

Did you know cans would be 4 euro because I think we were told prices would be reasonable (which that is not).

Answer this: Did they specifically inform people they would not be able to bring their own booze or was it just left to rumour. It was hidden in the terms and conditions and no one seemed able to get an answer out of the promoter until the day or 2 before the festival at which point they had sold all the tickets they would anyway. Does that show that they have much faith in their own business model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭boosh_fan

I have to say that while I had a great time at Castlepalooza it was by no means what you'd (I'd) call a boutique festival. There was a distinct lack of choice in the food/drink area. We managed to sneak in 2 slabs and a few bottles of spirits with us but if we hadn't then Day 2 would've been a complete disaster.

That and the toilets. I agree with whoever said about portaloos - why not have a few as a back up?? For a 2 day festival they could've gone without the shower facilities! Do people really need to shower there?

But on the whole, as others have said, the atmosphere was great, the setting was lovely & the music was mostly good. Really enjoyed the Mystery Jets DJ set. Really hated the Republic of Loose one though - it was like the 2 lads put their iPod playlist on and played all the wedding cheese they could come up with. The weather couldn't have been better either apary from the odd heavy shower. Would've been worse if it had rained lightly all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ciancastle

this was a bit of my set at palooza hope someone on this was in there if so tell me what you taught of it. I was in the tent on the sunday night about 9:30pm http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4KjMD3CzMAQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Meant to post in here sooner...

Loved it! The music was good, people were friendly and the drink wasn't much of a problem for us. We were camped down in front of the bus (the tents with the tarps and the lanterns and the guys with all the glowsticks.)

That said one of our tents was stolen from, :mad: not much gone though as there one of our group was sleeping in the next tent they tried to rob so they got busted.

All in all though good times were had and we'll be back next year with bigger tarps, more lanterns and thousands of glowlights. Woooo!:D

EDIT: Just watched the vid Cian, nice set. I think I'm in that video too.

mind me asking what got stolen?

just booze or worse?

curious because I'm nearly sure cans went missing from my tent.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Yeah, about 5 can of Kopparberg and a phone. They missed an ipod and around 75 euro.

We were lucky, if there hadn't been someone there I'm sure there'd have been much more gone. Where we were camped was fairly secluded and they could have had their way with all our tents.

Yeh we talked to a security guard at it and he was saying there was 5 lads in tracksuits that were doing the robbing.. theyd caught 4 of them at that stage. Apparently they stuck out like a sore thumb so next year if people see any obvious scum should probably point them out to security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ciancastle

The Gnome wrote: »
    Meant to post in here sooner...

Loved it! The music was good, people were friendly and the drink wasn't much of a problem for us. We were camped down in front of the bus (the tents with the tarps and the lanterns and the guys with all the glowsticks.)

That said one of our tents was stolen from, :mad: not much gone though as there one of our group was sleeping in the next tent they tried to rob so they got busted.

All in all though good times were had and we'll be back next year with bigger tarps, more lanterns and thousands of glowlights. Woooo!:D

EDIT: Just watched the vid Cian, nice set. I think I'm in that video too.

here is part 2 of my set hope you can see your self in it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwxaIEeYass

Toast wrote: »
    so next year if people see any obvious scum should probably point them out to security.

hilarious!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Am considering going to this this year.
    Toast wrote: »
    General festival law is if you arent making money by year 3 you should pack it up. Hard to say if they sold out in the end as the campsite looked full to me and there was easily twice as many people there as previous years yet there was tickets on sale up to the last minute.
    Good point Toast. Since their ticket price has been all over the shop, it's hard to know if they're making money. But it's been on (I believe) 4 times now, so that's a good sign.

Not liking the beer in the campsite rules at all. Thanks for the headsup. However, now that I know, the only thing still bugging me is this 4 quid a can nonsense. No way am I paying that. It's insulting.

As for it being or not being a "boutique" festival, isn't it time that Celtic Tiger crap got knocked in the head? Boutique is just an excuse to charge 9 quid for a falafel. I'd prefer mid priced good food rather than expensive gourmet. It's a music festival for god's sake.