Crazy usa news - Young man stabbed & decapitated on Greyhound bus - some sick sh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

antodeco wrote: »
    My only concern is what happened when he pulled the head away?

Did the ear phones not re-tract the head back? Maybe he told the guy he was "heading" to winnipeg :pac:
    The guy that did it was the local headmaster. :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

The guy that did it was the local headmaster. :pac:

Maybe the fella asleep was having a durrty dream and shouted out he'd give yer man head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

obl wrote: »
    http://watch.ctv.ca/news/latest/horrific-ride/#clip70840

Why is this only the third biggest story on the morning news over here?

While the chap being interviewed sounds pretty calm you can see by his eyes that he is traumatised (sp?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭genericgoon

So Highlander is real!:pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I am not as much distressed by the stabbing/beheading, as there are just some nutters out there and there's bugger-all you can do about it. What worries me more is the reaction of the rest of the passengers. Not "Oh my God, he's trying to kill him! Help me stop him!" but "Oh my God, he's trying to kill him! Sucks to be the victim, he's on his own. Let's get out of here!"

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Ok, the guy plans to do something crazy- I mean he has a knife with him on the bus.

Surely he could've worked out how to get off the bus- open the front door, or emergency rear door, or use all that pent up energy to smash one of them escape windows open- not wait till the cops find him, head, knife and body together?

But then again if logic was his strong point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Steez

I've taken 2 greyhound trips in my time, anyone who's been on them can't not have come across their share of weirdos.
    Must be something about the amount of time a person has to actually take one. The most prominent person i can remember was a guy who smelled intensly of pineapple. Unless he had some ****in amazing shampoo, it was just plain odd.
    I know it might seem trivial, but he never ate any pineapple the entire time, nor did anything pineapple related.

Yeah, it was a pretty long trip.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Steez wrote: »
    I've taken 2 greyhound trips in my time, anyone who's been on them can't not have come across their share of weirdos.
    Must be something about the amount of time a person has to actually take one. The most prominent person i can remember was a guy who smelled intensly of pineapple. Unless he had some ****in amazing shampoo, it was just plain odd.
    I know it might seem trivial, but he never ate any pineapple the entire time, nor did anything pineapple related.

Yeah, it was a pretty long trip.

Did he look like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

What worries me more is the reaction of the rest of the passengers. Not "Oh my God, he's trying to kill him! Help me stop him!" but "Oh my God, he's trying to kill him! Sucks to be the victim, he's on his own. Let's get out of here!"

NTM
    Unless you were in that situation, you don't know how you will react. People see a man getting murdered, self-preservation obviously kicked in. The best way to have disarmed the assailant would be to have a group of people tackle him or have an expert in disarming thugs on board.

Being in America :D (well almost ) Im surprised that no one had a gun on them to finish this guy off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Steez

antodeco wrote: »
    Did he look like this?

The pants and shirt, yeah. Seems a bit squarer than i remember, but if you can picture a smell, and if spongebob were made out of pineapple, then that's pretty much him.

Being in America :D (well almost ) Im surprised that no one had a gun on them to finish this guy off.

For the record, Greyhound does not permit passengers to bring firearms on its buses.

Then again, it also prohibits people bringing knives...

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

well it could have been worse, he could of had a gun.

guuy obviously has mental problems, there are crazys everywhere, sure only last year some guy stabbed someone in a dublin apartment something like 60 times with a garden shears and then told the gardai he was killing the devil

For the record, Greyhound does not permit passengers to bring firearms on its buses.

Then again, it also prohibits people bringing knives...

NTM
    I would have thought the driver would have had something, even a baseball bat under the seat!! reading there is no security screening, so people would have had no probs bringing stuff like hand guns on board. If it was the states Im sure a few people including the driver would have had them

I took the same route from Vancouver to Calgary on the Grayhound a few years ago and the security back then was the same as you would have with taking a CIE bus down the country. People just get on and off with out checks.

Here's a bit from a different article on the matter.
    Public Safety Minister Stockwell Day said the violent attack is a "horrific" incident and his heart goes to the family of the victim.

However, Mr. Day played down the possibility of enacting tough security measures in Canada's bus terminals, similar to what already exists in airports.

“People should always be open to looking at precautionary measures. But let's keep in mind that as bizarre and tragic as this is, it is extremely rare,” Mr. Day said.

He also dismissed talk by some opposition MPs of a “knife registry,” saying that millions of them are bought each year simply for kitchen use. He added that there are already provisions in the Criminal Code against crimes and assaults.

My God. A politician with some sense. If this had happened in the US, there would be all sorts of calls for regulations to make sure nobody could bring as much as a nail file within a hundred yards of a bus. Knife registry, my arse. The Candians couldn't get a firearm registry to work, can you imagine trying to register knives? "I wish to buy a steak knife." "Sign these three forms, let me see your ID, enter your fingerprint into the computer..."

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

People who want to do massacres are so incapable these days. I mean 1 out of 35 is pathetic, no matter how cool the mode of death is. The obvious thing to do would be to stab the driver, lock the door, yell out "Now don't go out that there fire escape!" to alert people to the fire escape at the back so they run there instad of charging you, and then pick off the people at the back of the herd trying to escape through the tiny fire escape, provoking a stampede and squashing. Or just drive the bus off a cliff or something, I dunno. Maybe I should start a nightclass. Most of those school shooters could learn a thing or two as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭elmolesto

This is sick.

After incidents like this it will force Greyhound into taking new stringent security measures. Airport type security is totally out of the question because the bus service operate in rural territory and expensive xray equipment would be needed. However it will push Canada into copying the United States into introducing their version of the chipped "Real ID" card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

obl wrote: »
    http://watch.ctv.ca/news/latest/horrific-ride/#clip70840

Why is this only the third biggest story on the morning news over here?

What a crazy thing to witness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Oliver said a truck driver then arrived at the scene and handed out wrenches and crowbars to several men. The small group gathered around the door to the bus and prevented the man from exiting until police arrived.
    Repect to the truck driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

FFS RTDH you don't need to bring up RFID if every single thread, its getting annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Witnesses said the suspect was tall, large and wearing sunglasses, even though it was dark.

Blind guy on a bus, thinks to himself "hmmm, I have a melon somewhere in my bag down the back.....I'd love some right about now" and goes to cut open his melon and have some.

That's what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Must have been playing video games before he got on the bus... ban them I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'll never complain about Burkes bus again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

jester77 wrote: »

While listening to Marilyn Manson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I was on a greyhound only last week, to New York and back.. I travelled to NY by day and back to Boston at night.. Bus was full going, and only 12 on the way back. There were 3 of us, and I didn't feel any way intimidated. However had this story happened and THEN I was taking the Greyhound, I would have shat my pants. This is really sick and really sad.

jester77 wrote: »

They've already thought of that.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/cmp/20080724/tc_cmp/209401184;_ylt=Ag1tanZsMHtP0yM.z1xd9vwK77EF
    New York State will prohibit sales and rentals of video games without ratings prominently displayed on their covers and it will ban the sale of consoles that lack technology for parental blocking.

I have absolutely no idea if our Wii or PS have parental blocking. I don't care. I'm not a parent.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Geez, I guess that's no way to get a-head in life.

Ba-dum-bum...pish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

rossie1977 wrote: »
    for anyone that has been in a greyhound station or on a greyhound bus this won't come as any major surprise. Some of the characters i have met on greyhounds buses were unique :eek:

The bus stations themselves are located in the crappiest parts of town e.g. in the middle of two ghettos in downtown LA, surrounded by homeless in downtown las vegas (far away from the bright lights and giant hotels of the strip), gang central in oakland

Yup and it's the dregs of society seem to end up as passengers too. i've been on 2 Greyhound trips where passengers had to be physically ejected. Never knew why. Both times the driver just stopped the bus and went down the back to drag the guys off (the second time the cops were outside the bus too).

Very disturbing story. Read more in another article: "He calmly walks up to the front [of the bus] with the head in his hand and the knife and just calmly stares at us and drops the head right in front of us,". The attack appeared to be unprovoked and it is thought the killer did not know his victim. (From BBC News)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

darkman2 wrote: »
    Dont let a Canadian see the title of this thread - I mean imagine someone said Ireland was in the British Isles;)
    But Ireland IS part of the British Isles