Gaelic Games - do they bring out the worst in the Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    What nonsence. Typical west-brit boards.ie thread. A few people out of thousands and you get this type of crap.
    LOL - anything critical of anything "oirish" is "west brit".
    dlofnep wrote: »
    Dear Mike,

Why do you burden us with such nonsensical questions?

No, Gaelic Games bring out a competitive nature in us, that gives us something to look forward to. A bit of the old competitive spirit on the field.

There are bad apples in all walks of life. You'll find someone on the street labelling people in a similar manner. Does that mean that walking on a street brings out the worst in us? No, absolutely not. The vast majority of people at Gaelic games, are just father and sons - out for a day away from the house.. Or a few friends, who want to go see a game and have a few pints afterwards.

Questions like this bring out the worst in the Irish, IMO.
    See Kev, dlofnep is a committed republican yet he can post a response without resorting to that annoying phrase "west brit".
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Me hoop it is.
    LOL - brilliant phrase!

I think hurling is a superb game - exceptionally skilled. Football, less so, but still a good game.
    But the bogger culture surrounding GAA - I just can't stand it.

And after Dublin play at Croke Park, the Phibsborough/Drumcondra area is SCARY :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Dudess wrote: »

I am of this exact opinion also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Christ but the boggers c**p drives me mad. Last year in my previous job I have to listen to a whole go of Blackrock and Terenure rugger buggers calling the GAA bog ball, as they were going to attend rugby matches in our stadium!!!
    Then I see them after the Leinster Final last year in Mulligans, having been to the match. One of them was wearing a pink jumper over his shoulders :-) Seems bog ball wasn't so bad after all.
    What exactly is bogger about it? The fact it is played in every town, open to everyone? Explain!!

The bogger culture - the "flask of tae and hang sangwiches" stuff. I know: not every GAA fan is a bogger and it's played in many urban areas (look how popular football is in Dublin). Hurling is a real "city" game in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Buck_Naked wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians supporters fight outside Hill 16 pub.

I defy anyone to come up with any footage even resembling this involving GAA supporters.

funnily enough I saw fights between Dublin and Kildare fans outside that pub a few years back.

I've also seen a punch up between a Galway fan and a Clare fan in Croke park at a All ireland hurling 1/4 final

I'm a Kildare woman, himself a Dublin boyo, I've never seen a row or even cross words. Sandwiches and tea, seriously!!! It's more couple of pints and a maccie D's on the way home these days :-) The last time I saw a sambo pulled out at a match it was at a rugby blitz, granted under 8's ;) But the Terenure mama whipped out a sambo for her guy. The Kildare aunty, ahem me, wasn't so healthy, and bought a hot dog, in all fairness though I did cook an excellent home cooked meal when we got into mine :-)
    Sambo and tea, mmmmmm prejudice me thinks, with no good reason.

Sorry just one more thing bogger game!! Ever heard of Kilmacud Crokes, St. Enda's, Round Towers, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It'll never be as bad as compromise boxing rules. Are the GAA still thinking about bringing that series back? I wanted a refund after the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

RuggieBear wrote: »
    funnily enough I saw fights between Dublin and Kildare fans outside that pub a few years back.

I've also seen a punch up between a Galway fan and a Clare fan in Croke park at a All ireland hurling 1/4 final

People fight everyday over any amount of matters. These incidents you speak of are extremely isolated and happen on the spur of the moment.

In soccer they are more widespread and common and in a lot of cases groups of "supporters" go seeking out rivals for a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Deadeyes wrote: »
    As a rugby supporter I've always found it very annoying to watch in GAA and football, more so football the way players react to a referee's decision.
    But the denial in GAA of issues is becoming a joke. Take the Galvin case, any contact with a referee should not be tolerated. Yet people kept saying "ah sure it wasn't his fault he was just upset". or in the case of the U21 game. The goalie broke the rules, but I've heard people saying that "he was only out a couple of steps so that's not really breaking the rules". There seems to be no acceptance of responsilbilty, players will just keep appealling until they get away with it.

Thats up for debate, he had one foot in the square if I remember properly.

And even though the referee in rugby gets a fantastic amount of respect, the laws of the game are less respected, and their are plenty of rugby players who will stamp, eye gouge etc if they feel they will get away with it.

All sports are like this, people will cheat, fans will boo and abuse and scumbags will act like scumbags because their is always a small minority in any sport - like in society in general - that have no respect for the laws or spirit of their sport, and play the sport for despicable reasons. These people need to be punished for their, but it must be understood that sports reflect their creators, and that every sport will be flawed to some degree. As I said, its about reducing these flaws as much as possible, one cannot expect the GAA (or rugby or soccer) to be flawless, or the poeple involved to be flawless.

Compromise rules the last time was a joke. There has to be rules. You cannot take the head off someone in a foul, that in GAA would see you banned, and be back on the pitch in minutes. IF it comes back, the regulations need to be locked down. I always enjoyed it previously but the last series, not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Sorry mike, but violence at gaelic matches? The rare exception to the norm, or at least it always has been in the past...I've gone to plenty of matches and out on the piss afterwards, in pubs with fans of the opposing team, no real trouble, but plenty of rivalry, slagging and the like
    This is wholey dependant on counties mind; there is some fierce passion between certain counties, Tyrone and Armagh for instance, and whilst this can regularly erupt on the field, it's very rare for it to end up as fighting between fans.
    As others have mentioned there's a scum element to everything these days, that's just a sign of the times...that it would turn up at popular sporting evenst, even at GAA grounds is inevitable....the whole racist thing last week was so much more a reflection on a group of morons and their kids, than it was on the game itself...I'd say a lot of those calling names would be exclusionist to anyone other than the "locals" playing for club or county...I'd be very surprised if there wasn't drink involved either.
    I can't speak for other parts of the country but I know amongst Armagh, Louth, Monagahn and Meath fans, the games they play at, there are rarely if ever notable incidents apart from on the field...as it should be.

The bogger culture - the "flask of tae and hang sangwiches" stuff. I know: not every GAA fan is a bogger and it's played in many urban areas (look how popular football is in Dublin). Hurling is a real "city" game in Cork.

I'm not really sure what you mean by 'bogger' culture. I assume its a crack at farmers, except where I come from (and its not the city) its mainly middle class children of accountants, publicans, teachers etc who make up the numbers player wise, not farmers who are an endangered species throughout much of Ireland nowadays anyway.

Beyond that, the only time I have seen ham sandwiches and tea at a match this year was a hippy Waterford family.

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Sorry just one more thing bogger game!! Ever heard of Kilmacud Crokes, St. Enda's, Round Towers, etc etc.
    Yeah I made that point...

And I have never seen fans fighting each other in a GAA match before. At worst its some tongue in cheek name calling.

I have once seen a 'fan' try attack an umpire after a match, but that 'fan' had a horrible temper and I haven't seem him at a local GAA match since. As I said, human flaws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,168 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Detractors of the GAA should go to Clonliffe House or Big Tree this weekend...lets look at masses of fans conregate and all have a laugh...together. Also, the slagging between fans, when done with no sense of viciousness, is part of it. Its taken in gest. Look for the picture in the GAA forum(thread: Favouri GAA images), and look for the one entitled "A Brave Man"...a single Mayo man amongst Dublin fans...no trouble in sight, but I'm sure the comments in gest were great.

Examples of anti-GAA incidents here are vast in the minority of things going on. Considering for about 3 or 4 months of the summer, there are matches on every night(and countless throughout the country), there isn't that much trouble.

So yeah, you can cherry-pick some incidents to try make your arguement appear more valid, but look at the broad picture, and you can see for the majority its a more pleasant experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

25 reasons why the GAA is better than soccer.
    Humphries wrote:
    1 Ronadlo
    2 GAA players lead fuller lives the soccer players
    3 Boheimians
    4 Jimmy Hill
    5 Michael O Muircheartiagh
    6 Nobody copying each others stupid celebrations following a goal
    7 It doesnt matter if you dont have the new jersey, its hardly changes anyway
    8 A new hurley is far more beautiful than any football
    9 Vinnie Jones would cry like a baby if he had to play full forward against the Armagh back line
    10 People who work for Irish soccer clubs double as scouts for english clubs. Wheres the sense in that?
    11 No one in the GAA wore jewellery as bad as Ron Atkinsons
    12 The GAA player who your child sees as a hero on sunday afternoon will be the same one teaching them, or cutting their beef, or laying the floor on monday. The soccer player who wins the FA cup will the same one whos moaning their only paid 100grand a week even though they just won their club the FA Cup.
    13 GAA players dont sell their stories to The Sun
    14 The Sun wouldnt be interested in any story a GAA player would be involved in.
    15 GAA Nicknames: Sambo Hunter, Fat Larry, Babs Bingo. Soccer nickname, Gazza, Wazza, Ronnie, Butty, Scholesy...
    16 Dublin vs Meath is a derby. What does Liverpool vs. Everton mean to Andriy Vorinin or Yakubu?
    17 Television runs soccer, Schoolteachers run the GAA
    18 Vinnie Jones grabbed Gazzas balls. Paidi O'Se decked Joe McNally during the national anthem. McNally learned his lesson, Gazza got worse.
    19 Soccer players go to the VIP in the flashy club. GAA players go to Coppers like the rest of us.
    20 If a GAA player jumped at a player the way Cantona bid the rest of the team would jump in, so would the rest of the crowd because he probably deserved it
    21 Old Soccer players get testimonials, Old GAA players slip down to Junior. Where its twice as rough.
    22 The Shadow cast by GAA goalpost at 6PM in the summer are must nicer than those of a soccer one.
    23 Whens there ever been a scoreless draw in the GAA?
    24 Mullets and bubble perms didnt catch on in Croker
    25 Roy of the Rovers was a prat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

See Kev, dlofnep is a committed republican yet he can post a response without resorting to that annoying phrase "west brit".

*blushes*

tbh Dudess, I'm not even a fan of field sports (GAA included). I'm more of a martial arts fan. There is no loyalty reasons for me responding in this instance. I just felt the question was a bit harsh and labelled the majority of people who are just there for a bit of craic and a day out. I'm not sure of Mikes real intentions for creating this thread. I try to stay away from the whole west-brit term on here. I know what goes with it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

taidghbaby wrote: »
    yes it definitely brings out the worst in a minority of people.......

......but it brings out the best in a majority of people!!

Most definitely. Been to many a hurling match in my time and have never encountered hooliganism!! Always ended up in the pub afterwards and both sides would drink together and enjoy the craic!!

Orizio wrote: »
    I'm not really sure what you mean by 'bogger' culture. I assume its a crack at farmers, except where I come from (and its not the city) its mainly middle class children of accountants, publicans, teachers etc who make up the numbers player wise, not farmers who are an endangered species throughout much of Ireland nowadays anyway.

Beyond that, the only time I have seen ham sandwiches and tea at a match this year was a hippy Waterford family.
    Ah but surely you know what I mean about the bogger culture surrounding GAA...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

mike65 wrote: »
    Rather than be controversial in the GAA forums I thought this could be discussed here as views will be more diverse I think.

Is playing in or supporting a GAA side now licence to behave like a caveman, last week we had that unsavioury business in Carlow as "kill the f**king n-i-gger" was chanted by teenagers with the approval of thier elders while last night saw a pitch invasion and physical assault of match officials and members of the Gardai. Intimidation of match officials now appears to be a standard tactic.

If any of the above happen in soccer for example there would be a crackdown, bans, fines and the meeeja going nutz as they decry thuggery and hooliganism yet in GAA-land it appears to be somehow okay and certainly not worth taking very seriously.

Mike.

There's always murder at those GAA games in Wimbeldon and Crystal Palace. Shocking stuff.

Some GAA fans are also banned from travelling to other counties for away games and are closely monitored by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

mike65 wrote: »
    Rather than be controversial in the GAA forums I thought this could be discussed here as views will be more diverse I think.

Is playing in or supporting a GAA side now licence to behave like a caveman, last week we had that unsavioury business in Carlow as "kill the f**king n-i-gger" was chanted by teenagers with the approval of thier elders while last night saw a pitch invasion and physical assault of match officials and members of the Gardai.
    If any of the above happen in soccer for example there would be a crackdown, bans, fines and the meeeja going nutz as they decry thuggery and hooliganism yet in GAA-land it appears to be somehow okay and certainly not worth taking very seriously.
    Quite the contrary, I think the GAA brings out the best in us Irish. Certainly there will be isolated incidents of trouble/violence such as Carlow last week and Ennis last night, but these are very much the exception to the rule. 99.5% of GAA matches pass off without incident, with most supporters happy to mingle and enjoy the friendly banter. There is never any trouble between opposition fans as is all too commonly the case at football matches across the water. The GAA is the greatest cultural organisation this country has ever produced and long may it thrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Pen1987 wrote: »
    24 Mullets and bubble perms didnt catch on in Croker

Obviously too young to remember the mighty flowing locks of GAA teams in the 70s. Dublin won the 77 all ireland on the strength of their sideburns alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

And after Dublin play at Croke Park, the Phibsborough/Drumcondra area is SCARY :(
    The bogger culture - the "flask of tae and hang sangwiches" stuff.

what is wrong with bringing food to matches, particularly when you have to travel long distances, hundreds of miles to get there? the fans travelling from kerry/donegal/"bogger" areas are the ones that make it on time to croke park, unlike the dublin "fans" who consistently cause matches to be delayed. if a family are travelling from far afield, they may not wish to add to the expense by eating in restaurants, and would rather bring their own food. so what? why does that give you the right to look down on them?

and these salt of the earth ham sandwich brigade generally dont cause the drumcondra area to be "scary", thats caused by the dublin "non-bogger" fans.

i know who i'd rather be near at a match.

Actually, ya know, my mate is comin over from England this weekend, I'm taking him to Croker, he goes to all his local clubs soccer games(home & most away, they a Championship club), I just know he's gonna wonder why nothing is being said when opposition fans are sitting side by ide, cracking jokes. And same as in the pub before/after. Fans of 4 or 6 counties, mixing together, united by a common interest, with no trouble....cant beat the feeling in sport.

sam34 wrote: »
    what is wrong with bringing food to matches, particularly when you have to travel long distances, hundreds of miles to get there? the fans travelling from kerry/donegal/"bogger" areas are the ones that make it on time to croke park, unlike the dublin "fans" who consistently cause matches to be delayed. if a family are travelling from far afield, they may not wish to add to the expense by eating in restaurants, and would rather bring their own food. so what? why does that give you the right to look down on them?

and these salt of the earth ham sandwich brigade generally dont cause the drumcondra area to be "scary", thats caused by the dublin "non-bogger" fans.

Now, I'm not stirring anything here, I love this so-called "bogger" culture of the GAA(the hang sangiches and flasks of tae:D), I think its al part of the match day experience, part of the thing of the GAA to travel to games and bring the food with ya in the car to eat on the way home(dont forget the kilos of butter:D), but, and I'm in no uncertain term a fan of Dublin in football, to say they "consistently cause matches to be delayed" is rubish. How many times has it happened in the last 5 years? I'd say at a push, once a season. Its not "consistant" at all.

Ah it's only a phrase that sums up what I'm talking about - food just happens to be contained within said phrase... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Orizio wrote: »
    I think you mean the FANS involved, what do you accuse the teams of doing?

The couple of dozen fans behaviour was understandable but undeniably wrong. And yes the GAA disciplinary system is a mess.

No, I did mean that the teams could be banned. Fans attacking officials in football could lead to the team being thrown out of the competition, or having to play games behind closed doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Mushy wrote: »
    to say they "consistently cause matches to be delayed" is rubish. How many times has it happened in the last 5 years? I'd say at a push, once a season. Its not "consistant" at all.

i could nt give you an exact figure for how many times its happened, but it does happen and dublin are invariably involved. even if it happens *only* once a season, its once too often, and i'd call a yearly occurence consistent, when it keeps occuring every year. it will keep happening until such time as the gaa refuse entry after the time stated on the ticket and start the match on time, even tho' anto/deco/whatevero are still in quinns.

IIRC, which to me can be hazy:D, I think its only happened once in the last few years.