Quitting Work Stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

kowloon wrote: »
    I've heard a lot of companies like to get rid of you before your notice period is up to avoid damage or "borrowing" of equipment. They still have to pay you for the notice though.

Yep, this happened to me last week. Gave my 1 months notice and was escorted off the premesis shortly after.
    Was told the main reasons for that policy was to avoid people taking company property and also for other staff morale as they didnt want staff unsettled by someone talking for a month about the great new job they were going to :)

No bridges burnt and my new job had arranged a start date for a months time so I could work out my notice, resulting in me having a paid month off before starting in the new place. Everyone's a winner :D

Few years ago I was working in Australia and an agency got me an IT job where I'd be coding on VB/Access. Went in 1st day and it turned out that I was in a call centre, 1st line support. Waited until lunch time and rang the agency to say it wasnt the job they have said and I wasnt doing it. They said to hang in for the day and they would get on to the boss. 5pm came, boss came around to see how everyone had enjoyed their 1st day. I asked if the agent had spoken to him, he said No so I said Adios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

I've seen this with other MNC's before. They don't want to risk giving you the opportunity to steal/sabotage etc..

there is also such a thing called garden leave, payed for your notice period but are locked out of the systems.

one months holiday... WOOO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

mental07 wrote: »
    Just out of interest, why are you leaving?

Joined this company (10 people) after leaving a multi-national (100+ people) and its just too quiet. Its all the little things, instant coffee, eating your lunch at your desk, no plants, no office banter, no sports & social, no craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

In my last job, the manager was a bit of a nutcase.

I went in and told him I was leaving, he turned around and said to me, Im glad your moving to Galway cos if you were leaving for a job in Dublin, then we would have a huge issue! headcase!!

Im leaving my current job soon too...dreading it to be honest....really like the job, but hate the people and Im moving back to Dublin...that will be a fun conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

At the company I used to work for (I worked in an IT Security Admin role), the whole idea behind the "escorting employees" was so that they didn't have any other chances to get hold of confidential information and company specific files. I remember one guy handed in his notice and about a month later HR found out he was sending mails from up to a year before that to a major competitor. I had to recover his mailbox up to 2 years and with HR, Compliance and IS&P had to go through every single email to see what information was sent. Zzzzz...

Haven't left a job dramatically either. Although, some day I will hopefully have a story for ye... :)

In my last job, the manager was a bit of a nutcase.

I went in and told him I was leaving, he turned around and said to me, Im glad your moving to Galway cos if you were leaving for a job in Dublin, then we would have a huge issue! headcase!!

Im leaving my current job soon too...dreading it to be honest....really like the job, but hate the people and Im moving back to Dublin...that will be a fun conversation

well that went suprisingly well! He said he expected it etc etc etc

So a good story for once! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's probably a Boardsie. :p

ha ha no i dont think so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

In my last job working for a huuuge MNC, collegue i worked alongside was a complete and utter scobie, and a nightmare to deal with. Constantly trying to order me about and always dodging work by talking to friends for hours at a time. One day she would be happy and chatty, then at the drop of a pin would flip. Yeah i know woman in her mid 40's single mother type blah blah angry with the world and men.

Managed to keep quiet and bite my lip for 10 odd months, but kept loosing the head with her whimsical bull**** and constant moaning.

Handed in my 1 months notice and sat back and did as little as possible. One of the lads i know from the other office had to come replace me, and hes not one bit happy with working with her at all.

Told my manager about her constantly while working there, but didnt give a flying fock, and wasn't willing to listne to me. So on my last day had a exit interview, so slated the co-worker for being a nightmare and doing next to no work, and my manager for not listening.

But knowing the company and how young and useless their HR department are i'd say nothing would be said.

Back in probably the biggest MNC now, and loving it. Great people, boss is sound out same with collegues. Alls well that ends well !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

When I was 16 and I worked in Londis I didn't get rostered one week, so I never returned, mwahahaha!

I ahted that job so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

one of my first part time jobs was as a waitress in a fairly well known south dublin restaurant. They treated me really badly even though I worked really hard. They used to give me less tips than everyone else just because I was young (very unfair!) :mad:

well there was this horrible manager who was always absolutely obnoxious to me. One day we had a whole load of huge tables in and we were completely understaffed so it was manic in there. I called the kitchen to tell them that i'd cleared the starters away for one table and to let them know to get the mains on. About two minutes later the manager came up to me going mental, telling me that I hadn't called the table away and that I was a little liar.

Well I snapped. Absolutely snapped. I shouted at him and told him I was leaving and that I'd had enough! you shoulda heard me tellin him things like he was a bad manager and didn't know how to run the place and tellin him that it was his poor management that was causing the high staff turnover!

I did regret it afterwards when I was jobless and penniless. ten years on I'm much more sensible and would never do that kind of thing now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

Huh? I dont gettit :confused:

My walkout story was from one summer while I was in college...

Thought I was the bees knees when I was told I had been accepted for a job working in The Sheepskin Factory, a shop that sells leather/ suede coats etc.....now bear in mind it was August... most boring half a shift ever...

The final straw was when the manager asked me to hop up on to one of the chairs to fix one of his awful displays, which I did. Then he commented "Now watch ye dont break my chair!" and began to snigger to himself. I was only 16yrs old a size and a size 10, so I called him a fat pervert n walked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

the OH has a good one. she booked her holidays off and was waiting weeks for approval so she just went ahead and paid for the flights etc. the week before she was due to go her supervisor started talking about the tasks she was to do the following week and the missus turned around "eh no I'm on holiday" the super said i never approved those i told you someone else has the time off. the missus replied "yeah but she applied after me". the boss said Doesn't matter i never approved it, when you go home tonight i want you to think about whether you want to work here or not. the missus laughed at her and said " i was quitting anyway see ya" and walked out the door. turns out teh other one had only applied teh week before an dteh missus had applied months before but person 2 was a drinking buddy of teh super

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I was working in Lidl 4 years ago for 2 months. one of the managers was a real d*ck and eventually one day I had had enough: I removed my work t-shirt, threw it in his face, told him to shove his job up his arse and stormed out feeling like a God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

The Bollox wrote: »
    stormed out feeling like a God

Excellent description :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,004 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Left one job with the following tirade to a standing ovation from the regulars in the bar:

"you're nothing but a playground bully who's own insecurities about her sexuality and incompetence are screamingly obvious to even your customers. Fvck you, fvck your job, I quit you fvcking cvnt."

And yes, she did deserve it.