Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

fermoyboy wrote: »
    it's a rush for people to get out the door without being stuck with him!!

That's nice to know ;) well hopefully those that are currently in the Reserves that will be intending on going full time won't have the same attitude as that and will remember what it was like for them before becoming a full timer and the more reserves that go full time and that will be in stations with reserves attached to them the better it'll be for reserves especially the young one's starting out as they'll be with people who have time for them.

They're described as immature and agressive and a bit stuck up.

Same can be said for full timers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Just interested, do all reservists intend to join the Gardai as a full-time member?

I realise potental applicants will want some insight before they commit to saying "veh-hickle" for 30 years but I thought the idea behind the Reserve was to involve people, who would have little or nothing to do with AGS, that wanted to give something back to their community.

Has it come to a stage where potential applicants will be asked in interview why they haven't joined the Reserve?

deadwood wrote: »
    Just interested, do all reservists intend to join the Gardai as a full-time member?

No I wouldn't say all of them do but most of the younger ones like myself (I'm 20) would more than likely intend on going full time at some point,well that's what I'll be doing anyway ;) .
    I realise potental applicants will want some insight before they commit to saying "veh-hickle" for 30 years but I thought the idea behind the Reserve was to involve people, who would have little or nothing to do with AGS, that wanted to give something back to their community.

Most of those that intend on joining full time do go into the reserves to get exactly what you said...insight into the workings of it but with attitudes that some full timers have towards the reserves can do more damage than good to them especially if they want to join full time.

The idea of the reserves is to involve people so that they too can police their communities along with the full time force also, so therefore they are part of the force.
    They are giving something back to their community by policing it by giving their free time to do it ;):)

CO19 wrote: »
    No I wouldn't say all of them do but most of the younger ones like myself (I'm 20) would more than likely intend on going full time at some point,well that's what I'll be doing anyway ;) .

Most of those that intend on joining full time do go into the reserves to get exactly what you said...insight into the workings of it but with attitudes that some full timers have towards the reserves can do more damage than good to them especially if they want to join full time.

The idea of the reserves is to involve people so that they too can police their communities along with the full time force also, so therefore they are part of the force.
    They are giving something back to their community by policing it by giving their free time to do it ;):)
    Good on ye. Good reply. Don't let full tie members get to you. We moan a lot about our job, the dangers, hours etc..and when someone volunteers to do it for free, well......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭fermoyboy

Don't let full tie members get to you.

You're making it out like all Gardai bully the reserves!!!!

SOme of the younger people that join the reserves may well be decent skins that will join the job eventually and be an addition.

It's the older guys signing up for the reserves, the guys that never made the cut etc to join full time, that are the ones giving people bad impressions of the reserves.

We've got two of those in our station and the two guys in question are no addition whatsoever!!

May be different in other areas but frm my personal experience of them then then it's not working!

So does that mean you see all reserves as useless etc etc ? cause of the two where you are .
    Reserves are an addition to the force as it is if they're used properly within the station they're in and also they themselves have to be into doing what they're doing and not just looking to wear the uniform otherwise yes they can be useless but it's different for each individual reserve with regards how they choose to carry out their role ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Mountain Man

SOme of the younger people that join the reserves may well be decent skins that will join the job eventually and be an addition.

It's the older guys signing up for the reserves, the guys that never made the cut etc to join full time, that are the ones giving people bad impressions of the reserves.

We've got two of those in our station and the two guys in question are no addition whatsoever!!

May be different in other areas but frm my personal experience of them then then it's not working!

I have to agree with CO19 on this one. I'm one of these 'older guys' about to start GR training shortly. I believe I can bring alot of my own life experiences, 40+ years, to the GS. I've worked abroad for many years and have done varied and tough jobs in my time.

I have over 10 years service with Mountain Rescue, where I meet your colleagues on most occasions when we are called out, by the way, we are actually tasked by GS, and we work very well together and continue to do so.

I've coached a soccer team for the last 6 years, some of these kids have been with me since thet were 7. I'm very fit for my age, do a martial art and therefore can look after myself.

This is not I'm a great lad eulogy, I just can't understand your comment that your 2 GR's are of no addition. Surely, even if they released 2 full time GS in the station to go on patrol, that would be of some benefit. How are they giving bad impressions of the GR? Do the full timers put them straight if they do get out of line?

Regards,

An ould lad.

Certainly not, fermoy boy.
    Maybe I should have said "don't let any full time members get to you."
    If there is some ill-feeling there, I suspect it is fear of the unknown.
    Members used to regard students with suspicion too but I don't think that's the case now.
    Lets give them time - the Reserve is here to stay.

So does that mean you see all reserves as useless etc etc ? cause of the two where you are .

The two where I am, the others in the district and the opinions of other Gardai I've spoke too...give me the opinion I have of the reserves!!!

Ahhh right I see ;) well the Gards in my local station are useless,arrogant and go round acting the big 'I am' so does that mean you's are all like that ?? no- but all reserves are the same yeah? ok so ;)
    It's gas, we're always hearing Gards and others saying 'don't tar all Gards the same cause of a few bad one's (way more than a few might I add) yet there's one after doing that to all the reserves from only knowing 2 and gathering the rest from hearsay :D :rolleyes: .

Ahhh right I see ;) well the Gards in my local station are useless,arrogant and go round acting the big 'I am' so does that mean you's are all like that ?? no- but all reserves are the same yeah? ok so ;)
    It's gas, we're always hearing Gards and others saying 'don't tar all Gards the same cause of a few bad one's (way more than a few might I add) yet there's one after doing that to all the reserves from only knowing 2 and gathering the rest from hearsay :D :rolleyes: .
    I think he makes a fair point there, fermoy boy. We've been throwing out the "few rotten apples" defence for long enough. Shouldn't we give the reservists a break?

Where did I say I only know 2???

I haven't tarred all the reservists with the same brush. Outside the job they may well be very decent people. Even some of the ones willing to give up their free time to try help may be decent folk. But as reserve Gardai with no powers then I feel they are of no addition to An Garda Siochana.
    I think he makes a fair point there, fermoyboy. We've been throwing out the "few rotten apples" defence for long enough. Shouldn't we give the reservists a break?

The ratio of rotten apples to decent Gardai is pretty low when you consider the size of the force.

Again I'm not attacking anyone on here who may be a reserve (even if some of them do insist on putting a winking smiley after evey post!!) Like I say, they may be decent people outside of their volunteer work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

I think he makes a fair point there, fermoy boy. We've been throwing out the "few rotten apples" defence for long enough. Shouldn't we give the reservists a break?

No, I don't think so. The attitude that allowed the reserve to even be contemplated is beneath contempt. They're a sorry excuse for full-timers and I feel sorry for them being caught in the crossfire between rank and file Gardaí and thoroughly incompetent ministers and senior officers.

We should be fully equipped and well trained, these reservists are a sorry compromise.

Where did I say I only know 2???
    The two where I am, the others in the district and the opinions of other Gardai I've spoke too...give me the opinion I have of the reserves!!!

Is that not where you said you know 2 :confused: is it more now ?

I haven't tarred all the reservists with the same brush. Outside the job they may well be very decent people. Even some of the ones willing to give up their free time to try help may be decent folk. But as reserve Gardai with no powers then I feel they are of no addition to An Garda Siochana.

So in the job they stop being decent people ? and to be a reserve you have to give up your free time to do it in the first place :confused: .
    Yes at the moment they have limited powers but that will change so I wonder then what the argument will be against them .

And as far as dealing with reserves, I've come across 4/5 in Dublin city over the last few years and they were brilliant and I'd rather be dealt with by them than the full timer they were with anyday, they were more interested in helping than the full timer was ,so what addition to the force was those full timers that were with the reserves then ?
    Most of the full timers that go out with reserves are very appreciative of them and have relied on them in several occasions when things got rough so I can see how they are no additon.

Is that not where you said you know 2 :confused: is it more now ?.

No, that's where I said there's 2 where I work, not that I only know 2!

And as far as dealing with reserves, I've come across 4/5 in Dublin city over the last few years and they were brilliant and I'd rather be dealt with by them than the full timer they were with anyday, they were more interested in helping than the full timer was ,so what addition to the force was those full timers that were with the reserves then ?
    Most of the full timers that go out with reserves are very appreciative of them and have relied on them in several occasions when things got rough so I can see how they are no additon.

Maybe while the Reserve was trying to save the world with no powers the Garda realised that the matter in question may have been nothing to do with the Gardai and wanted to deal with more important matters!!!!

Now you are the one throwing hearsay into your argument by saying most of the gardai that deal with part-timers appreciate them. I'm guessing you know a very very low percentage of Gardai so have no idea what the general perception of part-timers is.;)

Being robbed and hit I suppose is a bit too much to be expecting the Gards to help you with I suppose, true.

I actually know a fair few,some of my family are in it and friends and I know most of them and the lads at their station who are in regular contact with reserves who don't think like you thank god.
    So what will your opinion of them be when they do eventually get more powers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Who said there getting more powers?

Nobody said that they were but they will eventually now whether thats a year or more down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I imagine the force will sanction the GR getting more powers once they integrate and prove their worth. At present I imagine it must be very frustrating for GR members who cannot intervene in PO situations without the assistance of a regular member.

At the present time this situation is tolerated as the GR is still a relatively unknown quantity. Just wait for caselaw and litigation to catch up.....

Being robbed and hit I suppose is a bit too much to be expecting the Gards to help you with I suppose, true.

I actually know a fair few,some of my family are in it and friends and I'm very fortunate to be able to go out along with one member of my family in particular quite regularly
    Does this mean what I think? You (not a reserve, yet) out on "duty" with your family:eek::eek::eek:

I actually know a fair few,some of my family are in it and friends and I'm very fortunate to be able to go out along with one member of my family in particular quite regularly and I know most of the lads at his station who are in regular contact with reserves who don't think like you thank god.
    So what will your opinion of them be when they do eventually get more powers ?

Would you be tolerated in a station where people hadn't known you before you went there? Having a family member there to tel the lads 'he's alright' kinda gives you an advantage over other members.

And regardless of how many you know, it is still a very very small percentage of the force so there's no way you can know what the general feeling is towards the Reserves.

If the Reserves do eventually get some powers and use them properly and help lighten the work load a bit for the Garda on the street then I will have no problem with the Reserves.

However at the moment, the way the Reserve is set up, and the fact that they can do nothing to actually help, means I have no time for the set-up and do not think it helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Guys try to remember that every single person becomes a 'peace officer' if and when they are assisting Gardai. If thats a reserve, security guard or binman is not the issue. The issue is they are helping you deal with the violent drunks killing eachother outside McDonalds.

Thats alone means you should at least show some respect towards them. Its not their fault the whole thing was handled wrong.

Guys try to remember that every single person becomes a 'peace officer' if and when they are assisting Gardai. If thats a reserve, security guard or binman is not the issue. The issue is they are helping you deal with the violent drunks killing eachother outside McDonalds.

Thats alone means you should at least show some respect towards them. Its not their fault the whole thing was handled wrong.
    Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Like the individuals hate the system is the general feedback i got from members i know.

Its negative comments towards the individuals like those seen on here made me hesitate before applying and even contemplate withdrawing my application, not wasting my time if ill be seen as a pariah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Like the individuals hate the system is the general feedback i got from members i know.

Its negative comments towards the individuals like those seen on here made me hesitate before applying and even contemplate withdrawing my application, not wasting my time if ill be seen as a pariah

There will always be applicants for the Garda Reserve and we will not be able to stop it in its current guise, so you might as well go for it. Just as well perhaps that you know that a lot of full-time members will not take kindly to you, and some will.

I hate the reserve idea, and the attitude displayed by many of them, just power/status hungry and aggressive tools without a shred of feeling for their fellow man. If you are different, you will change these attitudes, mine included. Good luck with your application

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

There will always be applicants for the Garda Reserve and we will not be able to stop it in its current guise, so you might as well go for it. Just as well perhaps that you know that a lot of full-time members will not take kindly to you, and some will.

I hate the reserve idea, and the attitude displayed by many of them, just power/status hungry and aggressive tools without a shred of feeling for their fellow man. If you are different, you will change these attitudes, mine included. Good luck with your application

Thank you, see i know what im getting into. At present im part of a voluntary ambulance organisation and as it happens i often work alongside paramedics, nurses and doctors. I know I am only a first responder and work within my limitations but know they know more and have more skills and experience then me, so i always play second fiddle, 2 ears, 2 eyes 1 mouth, listen and look twice asmuch as you speak.

I know i can learn from them and will assist them as much as i can should they request my help.

I know ill have bugger all powers so im not going to go into it trying to be judge dredd, but for the experience that'll hopefully help me when i hit the streets as an attested full time member of AGS a few years down the road

Also ill hopefully bring something to which ever unit im out with having medical experience and skills that may just come in useful when out on patrol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭gilly0512

metman wrote: »
    I imagine the force will sanction the GR getting more powers once they integrate and prove their worth. At present I imagine it must be very frustrating for GR members who cannot intervene in PO situations without the assistance of a regular member.

At the present time this situation is tolerated as the GR is still a relatively unknown quantity. Just wait for caselaw and litigation to catch up.....

As a reserve member I would have to say that I reluctantly agree with a lot of our full time colleagues, when they say that in its present guise, reserves are not bringing a whole lot to the table, due to our complete lack of powers. Metman states that once reserves integrate and prove their worth that we will get more powers, however I feel that if we don't get more powers first, that we will never get the chance to integrate or prove our worth. Despite what Chief Admiral thinks, most reserves are decent people, who despite all the negativity from rank and file, GRA etc, give up their hard earned free time to work with the Gardai every weekend. To judge us on our lack of powers is unfair, as you wouldn't like to be judged on your hopeless radio system, inadequate cars, no pepper spray, poor technology etc, at the end of the day we all have to work with what were given, and in our case we have been given very little. Hopefully Garda management will remedy this sooner rather than later, and only then can the reserve be truely and properly judged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

What he said.

Whatever you might think about the idea of GR, you shouldn't be taking it out on people who actually joined. The way it was done is not their fault.

I think assuming that every reservist is a power tripping GS reject is just stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 supra888

just read that whole thread on the GR and thought to myself why bother..
    i'm a 35 year old sane bloke ( not power hungry hitler type or any of that sh1t )that was considering applying to become a reservist to do something constructive with my free time ,but while i could handle abuse from drunks etc why should i sign up to be treated with distain from people i am trying to help (full time members )...