Are you happy with your nightclub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Liquid Lounge in Cork has the odd techno, house, dubstep night. Not regular enough though and a little steep considering people who tend to appreciate music have no money. That, and their bouncers seem to have awful attitudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

I was in the barcode about a week ago and it had a terrible choice of music. Just terrible.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Smyth wrote: »
    I went to Ianapa

AIYA NAPA maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I'm too pished to notice!
    Foundry is a great place to be.

The music, however, is chronic.
    Stone the DJ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

AIYA NAPA maybe?

Yes, that would be the one....as people have already pointed out.
    Cheers for the input :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I go out to Bacbar and Jim Doyle's in Bray mostly and I'm sick of both of them. The same music and the same people every weekend. It drives me mad. I haven't found a place in town that I'm really happy with yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Yes, that would be the one....as people have already pointed out.
    Cheers for the input :rolleyes:

Ha, she criticises you and then spells it wrongly herself.
    Unreal. Guess the Foxrock bit explains it all :D
    I love the concept of a good nightclub -for me that would be a massive venue playing an excellent selection of music with an electric atmosphere. Throw in some kinda naff feature, waterslide or indoor rollercoaster (for the laaaugh) with a strict 'No a$$holes' door policy.
    I live in hope.

a strict 'No a$$holes' door policy.
    I live in hope.

So do I....so do I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

In the south? F*ck no....head up North or over to the UK if you want decent clubbing...if you want grandad wedding DJ sh*tfests then grab your wallet and head to your local friendly Irish sh*teclub (with very very few exceptions)

The irony is that as every where else has progressed with the emergence of electronic club music, we've gone backwards...used to be during the 90's that there were even good club nights where I live...but they slowly dried up and this R'n'B/70/80's revival took over, playing to the masses...I just don't even bother anymore, and there was a time when you'd have to chain me up to keep me in on a weekend (and it's not just age, still go raving/dancing/mental at a given opportunity)
    Cocaine was the final nail in the coffin for Irish clubbing as far as I'm concerned...any of the wee bit of lovin' left over from the full on ecstasy era was forced out by up their own arse agressive, paranoid punters...promters and owners have a lot to answer for too...ultimately it's they who pick and choose the DJs and indirectly the music policy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

if your 'dj' is placing sexy back then your not in a nightclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,168 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The nightclub I go to most commonly is in Portrush and I'm happy enough with it to drive there and stay in a hotel. Works out as cheap as going to one in Dublin and taxiing back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I voted based on mainstream nightclubs.

Generally I find there are usually a couple of good nights playing proper dance music on in clubs every week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

I work in a bar and I swear to God the exact same songs get played every weekend in almost the exact same order...Footloose, Journey, Galway Girl and then they finish with the national anthem?! WTF? It's not until you go abroad and experience a proper niteclub that you realise that what we call a niteclub is really just a barndance full of paranoid virgins desperately attempting to portray themselves as cool as they bop to the greatest hits of the 1970's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 D. Murphy

No, Stone the DJ! >:(
    Lads, Honestly until you have tried the flavours of ibiza's amnesia or the castle club etc in Ayia Napa you havnt tried clubbing, But as far as Irish clubs go I like trinity rooms in Limerick, Sure its full of 17 year olds but they do book great acts, For instance sander van doorn is here on friday! Cant wait for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

OP did you go to the Jennies night a few weeks back with John O Callaghan and Mark Kavanagh etc? Now that was clubbing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Beau x1 wrote: »
    I was in the barcode about a week ago and it had a terrible choice of music. Just terrible.

Barcode is the second worst club in Dublin, tied with Boomerangs and Coppers. I was in Boomerangs once (the last time ever I hope) and they were playing a bit of 90s pop, Take That and such, so Im thinking sure if we are on the 90s maybe a bit of decent dance from the period. Went up and asked for a bit of No Good 4 Me (I think) only to be told they had a no dance music policy.

I can only think they believe this dissuades people taking pills. Which is odd seeing as you would have to be wired to the moon to enjoy the sh1t they do play :confused: We had ran into some bang on Danish lads on holiday (it was last summer after we had beaten them 4-0 in a friendly a few weeks previously), sound lads but **** they were shocked at how bad a mainstream Dublin nightclub could be. Did we stop playing decent music so English stag dos wouldnt want to come here?

Tramco is the worst club on the planet, never mind Dublin. The only club Ive ever left before closing time on account of being bored off my nut (IIRC the final straw came when they played the theme tune from Skippy the Bush Kangaroo, I sh1t you not).
    phenomenon wrote: »
    Footloose, Journey, Galway Girl and then they finish with the national anthem?!

Indeed. And that "walk on by" song. Utter sh1te wedding music the lot of it.

Honestly like. Most young people know decent tunes yet most young DJs are complete and utter cheesemasters. Nothing worse than a club where they are playing out the decent classic dance at the start when the place is half full and by two o clock they start playing the wedding stuff. ffs, play the crap as she fills up, play the classics towards the end when everyone is out on the floor and mangled drunk.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I'm actually going to defend Coppers. It's a despicable, horrible, ****ty little place that plays awful music, attracts an equally awful crowd and is only ever a last resort, but I've never had a bad night there. There's just something about it. You can't take yourself or anything else seriously while you're there... I mean, you're in Coppers ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

shane86 wrote: »

Honestly like. Most young people know decent tunes yet most young DJs are complete and utter cheesemasters. Nothing worse than a club where they are playing out the decent classic dance at the start when the place is half full and by two o clock they start playing the wedding stuff. ffs, play the crap as she fills up, play the classics towards the end when everyone is out on the floor and mangled drunk.

like it or not the majority of irish people do not want to go to a club and listen to techno and house for 3 hours, the djs play the music the people in the main want to hear depending on the situation, in coppers that means galway girl, hills of donegal, green and red of mayo after a gaa match e.g.

we had a house party in dublin a few months back and my mate was playing his tunes all dance stuff, after about 30 mins 5 or 6 of the north dublin girls came out to the kitchen and asked him to change the music because they didn't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Nope, fairly 'safe' music. Appalling shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

rossie1977 wrote: »
    we had a house party in dublin a few months back and my mate was playing his tunes all dance stuff, after about 30 mins 5 or 6 of the north dublin girls came out to the kitchen and asked him to change the music because they didn't like it.

God I hate tools like that. Was playing a party a while back and the majority of people were really enjoying Squarepusher and the like, a few girls were trying to get me to take that 'techno shite' off. I packed up my **** and let them at it. Dancing dramatically reduced.

Davei141 wrote: »
    OP did you go to the Jennies night a few weeks back with John O Callaghan and Mark Kavanagh etc? Now that was clubbing!

I didn't no, But I'm off to Ayia Napa on Sunday.
    I can't friggin wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭Nailz

No!! More 808 State please!!! :)

rossie1977 wrote: »

Heh. Reminds me of when I was in Spirit one night, mate was playing a psy trance set. Girlfriend of one of the lads said it was alright but "there are no words to this!"

For a laugh, he told her to go up and ask my DJ mate did he have any Girls Aloud or Britney on him :eek: :pac: :pac:

Im not saying your run of the mill club should be a completely pop free zone, as said you have to try cater for everyone, but really come on, how many clubbers dont know the likes of No Good 4 Me or Born Slippy. That is the type of stuff that should end a night, out on the floor for the last completely wingwonged drunk shouting lager lager lager, not the cack they usually play. Id some great nights in Heaven out in Blanch way back when as this is how they always ended the last half hour, belting out the classics, whereas these days it isnt as reliable, as most places arent. tbh it isnt even as if many of the girls seem to go crazy for the 80s stuff, and the lads certainly dont (unless they are severely drunk "farmers tan" types) so who the hell is it being played for? And fook, there was decent 70s and 80s music (jarred up and spinning around to some Jackson 5 and Bee Gees is a bit of craic admittedtly if you are well on), so why do they pick the worst? 25 pints couldnt get me singing Dont Stop Believing.

re the point about the house party, some student parties Ive been to have played the most awful Crawdaddys regular going nowhere Irish tripe bands imaginable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

The type of music I'd like to hear in a nightclub would be more Techo, Electro, Trance. Armin Van Buuren, Paul Van Dyk, Ron Van Den Beuken (amazing dj http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZJ_x6KCSIRc ), 4 strings, John O Callaghan etc. Many more, but just along those lines.

I need sleep now, so post your thoughts and opinions. :D

Youre not gonna get that stuff in general clubs in dublin, if you wanna hear that music then go to nights that PLAY that music. theres constantly nights on in dublin (& all over the country) that play techno/house/trance/whatever you want, if you make an effort to look for them - believe me i know, my ex was mad into dance music & i got dragged to enough things. eg, there seems to be letrik (leitrik? cant remember sorry) on most months in dublin, been to one in the vaults, one in the tivoli i think. think i remember reading JOC was in dublin recently.. theres plenty out there if you make an effort to look for it

sar84 wrote: »
    theres constantly nights on in dublin (& all over the country) that play techno/house/trance/whatever you want, if you make an effort to look for them - believe me i know, my ex was mad into dance music & i got dragged to enough things.

Indeed there are. Finding people to drag along can be a problem though.

The fact at least 70% of people at these nights are foreign further shows how crap the musical taste of many Irish people is. Not sure Ive ever talked to a foreigner who rates our general nightlife. It is cack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Indeed there are. Finding people to drag along can be a problem though.

i was dragged kicking & screaming :p ah for the most part after a few drinks i was happy to just dance away, but im afraid id much prefer the likes of galway girl to dave clarke. ive seen a good few big djs that some people would love to see but i cant even remember the names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

The fact at least 70% of people at these nights are foreign further shows how crap the musical taste of many Irish people is.
    This is painfully true.

I'm mad into my psytrance, personally, but the main group who runs psy nights in Ireland consists mainly of Spaniards, and the nights themselves are full of foreigners.

Then again, I find the electro-house scene consists of mainly Irish people. That said, electro house nights can be extremely hit and miss, and there's often quite commercial stuff played at them as well as retarded drunken students attending.

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    This is painfully true.

I'm mad into my psytrance, personally, but the main group who runs psy nights in Ireland consists mainly of Spaniards, and the nights themselves are full of foreigners.

Yeah I knew one of the lads went to a few before he tipped back to Spain. I was the palest man in Tripod and Radio City those nights I tells ya :P Great tunes but lets face it if we didnt have so many migrants these nights couldnt even run, every other thicko in Dublin is at Barcode, Dandelion, Coppers and wherever else. tbh the only half decent mainstream clubs in Dublin are 21s (yes its late teens/student aimed but they play decent commercial dance) and Club M isnt the worst for it either. Apart from that its ar off small places ike R City in the arsehole of the inner city or massive door prices at the likes of Tripod and Spirit (and Spirit aint all that for the price anyway. Tripod is a long way from the old Red Box). Zanzibar plays some nice electro house but the dance floor aint the biggest.

Then again, I find the electro-house scene consists of mainly Irish people. That said, electro house nights can be extremely hit and miss, and there's often quite commercial stuff played at them as well as retarded drunken students attending.

East European I found. Your drunken student tossers are more likely to be found spilling drink over you and themselves (or stealing your drink) at Barcode on a weeknight. The place is a dive.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

phenomenon wrote: »
    I work in a bar and I swear to God the exact same songs get played every weekend in almost the exact same order...Footloose, Journey, Galway Girl and then they finish with the national anthem?! WTF?

Yeah, what the hell is the deal with that?

I had never seen that happen until I went to The Big Tree in Drumcondra(?). People were getting a bit thick with anybody who didn't stand up for it too!

I'm told it's a bit of a redneck pub though so maybe that's the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Galway has a few decent places to go if you're after more than just chart trash...
    An Pucan can be fun (especially D&B night), downstairs in the cellar can be good craic, as can deburgos...

Having said that, I doubt I'll miss them all that much when I move to London:P
    Can't wait for the messy Saturday afternoons at twist!