The annual invasion of foreign students - worse this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

More opportunities OP.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

musicfan wrote: »
    Dont know how much they help the economy - used to work in a sweet shop years ago - and would take about 40 of them about 30 mins looking over the counter to decide to buy 1 bar of chocolate!!!!! Then they all left!

Oh man, that shop must have had a big window. Those little bastards saw you a mile off. :pac:

They were thieving! I used to work in a shop too and they used to pull the same stuff. French students too. They all mill around the counter and distract you while their mates take the taytos and chewing gum.

The Irish exchange students used to do the same when they'd go over to France... fair's fair I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Its probably their revenge for Anto and Deco's annual trip to Saaantaa Poonsa with the missus. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

I have now become accustomed to the fact that every f*ckin street in Dublin during the summer months sounds like someone has set fire to a hen house. They can be absolutely pig ignorant, i know they're only kids for the most part but they should have some manners. I saw a bunch of them all try and force their way onto a train before letting all the people getting off out the door. This woman was just stuck there with a pram screaming for them to move. Little *****hawks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Was up near DKIT a few week ago place was filled with 15 year old Spanish kids all wearing luminous yellow bags.

Last week went to the gym find them all lined up outside to go the swimming pool.

Today walk into Marshes Shopping Centre in Dundalk to find the place filled with Spanish students, I mean filled there was only about 10 Irish people in the place.

Last year when I was doing my repeats (fun times) I found NUIM campus filled with them.

Though one of my mates was a host family to Spanish and French students over for the summer and we got on really well with them maybe because all we did was play football. Remember we took one French lad out drinking with us (we where all about 15 at the time) and we got him hammered on like two cans. In 4th year we had about 10 of them for a year, also got on well with a few of them but I can remember the 1st week back to school we went down to Petersburg in Galway and this was the first time we met them. One of them 'Carla' she was smoking hot but anyway with about 15 lads around her while she was having a smoke and told us in broken English that she had lost her virginity just before coming to Ireland. Great way to introduce yourself.

The other Spanish girls where less attractive, didnt get talking to them that much. We took the piss out of one of the lads Fernando for shaving his legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I hate foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

if another group of spanish students gets in my way when im trying to walk down grafton street im going to fucking lynch someone :mad: they're everywhere!!

We are worse and it is more annoying, when walking down Grafton Street and your way is blocked by people talking or a group watching a busker and you politely ask can you get by and are ignored :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Are many of them here on exchange trips?

Like are there buses full of little Antos going around Barcalona at the minute with those annoying 'I glow in the dark' bagpacks?

Had one little lad come up to me and go "WHERE YOU FROM!?" a few times, to tell me he was from some random ****ehole in spain and then skip off down the road, proud as punch.

Their lungs are grand anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Sherifu wrote: »
    More opportunities OP.
    Dave! wrote: »
    Yeah I hate foreigners
    LOL
    Yeah OP, we know you have a HUGE problem with people who aren't Irish and you start a thread expressing this every so often, but really... this is just scraping the bottom of the barrel - along with the "it's a disgrace how many fardner childer dere are in de oirish skewls" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How many will be legal over 18?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

They all loiter so rudely here cos they know we're soft touches. In Spain, I think they run a big feck off bull down the road every half-hour to stop it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

So seeing as so many of the usual candidates for these type of threads are either gone home or will soon be going, is this going to be the replacement type of general whining about foreigners thread.
    I have to say OP I'm disappointed with your lack of imagination.

they tuk ar jawbs Damn those foreign students with their rudeness and whatnot:rolleyes:.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I like them, they're a lot nicer than our teenagers, at least they're more colourful and don't all have the same shaved head haircuts, and wont knife you, and the girls are pretty to look at too, I know they're young but I don't care, no harm looking. A load of them got on my tram here in Melbourne last week, they were all here for World Youth Day or something, all wearing the Invita schoolbags, they reminded me of home in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Be thankful that foreign students hold your city in high enough regard to come and visit it you shower of complaining b*stards.

Wise up and if you're going to complain about something, then complain about something proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I remember there were loads outside GPO one day. You'd think they'd be nice enough to not block everyone but no there were so many just crowded around that I ended up not realising where the curb was and stumbled. If there was a car, I'd probably have been hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Pros - they are tourists, i.e. income to the country.

They are supposedly here to improve their English (the fact that they stand around in such massive groups as to deter anyone from saying hello would certainly indicate otherwise, so it's probably just a sucker the parents into paying for a holiday situation). Self improvement is something to be applauded is it not?

Cons - the do seem to be ignorent fecks when it comes to not blocking paths and doors, but then I've often found American tourists to also had this trait, where they stop in a large group to talk and people are stuck going out in front of traffic to get past them.

They also seem to be a bit dim when deciding to get on a bus or not which means that the buses are running very noticeably late (about 10-15mins in the evenings) the last week and a half. Though I think CIE are partly to blame for this since they know they'll have a greater delay and more customers => put on another bus or two along these routes during the day.

They also need to learn to STFU in the cinema.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

yea there were some big groups in galway last nite and now that theres a language school in sligo there are a good few there too.i imagine the noise and flocking they do/make is a teenage defense mechanism,i'd say half of them are scared ****less to be in a foreign speaking country without the rents,though they'd never admit it.teenagers wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The only problem i have with them is they are loud. Really loud.

Was on the 44 from town last night and a load of them got on around DunDrum, up to top deck and down the back flooding the place with a load of noise. These were French kids....about 16 or so i assume. I have decent enough French and heard the two guys in front of me talking about how when people give out to them they just pretend they have no English....so i turned to my flatmate and said "Je suis tres desolee mais je ne pas parle le Francais so would you kindly shut the **** up"** which clued in the two in front that i was on to their game.

That worked a treat but the rest of them were still being loud so i just asked them all to shut the **** up and they did.

Once again, who would have thunk it.

**Apologies for the spelling here, it has been a LONG time since i had to use any written French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

I used to teach English to Spanish, French and Italian during the summer and the language school I taught for had a rule. When they're not in school or with their host families, their Leaders are supposed to be with them so as they don't get up to anything and so as all students can be accounted for and no Student would get into trouble. This would go for under 16's as a general rule.

However, in the last 2/3 years the Leaders I've dealt with were unreal. No leadership skills existed. It seemed like they wanted to be friends with Students as opposed to Leaders which is fair enough, but they still need to have some control over them regardless.

I used to spend the trips just tearing my hair out because Students would wander onto the road without thinking, climb up monuments and as ya said OP, just gather on streets with no consideration for the locals. Drove me up the walls. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

farohar wrote: »
    They also need to learn to STFU in the cinema.:mad:

I agree with this...

In general I like to see students from Europe comin over, they spend money etc. all this talk of them being ignorant etc, leave them alone, they bunch up because they are in a strange country, if you went abraod with a group as a teenager to Rome or Madrid, you would all be bunching up on the street too for the first while also i've noticed from being abroad alot of Irish people are ignorant as f*ck when abroad.... so leave it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Dragan wrote: »

That worked a treat but the rest of them were still being loud so i just asked them all to shut the **** up and they did.

Wow, impressive. What do you bench? 220? 225?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Wow, impressive. What do you bench? 220? 225?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

KTRIC wrote: »
    No, been in Madrid a couple of times and I didn't see gangs of kids blocking any of the doorways or footpaths :confused:

I don't know what compels them to do it here !! (by here I mean Ireland, because if it was here then it'd be Germany, confused ?? thought so :rolleyes:)

The ones that go to Ireland are the spoiled rich kids .. little ****ers most of em ... the ones here aren't so bad ...

Steve_o wrote: »
    leave them alone, they bunch up because they are in a strange country, if you went abraod with a group as a teenager to Rome or Madrid, you would all be bunching up on the street too for the first while also i've noticed from being abroad alot of Irish people are ignorant as f*ck when abroad.... so leave it alone.
    (a) the problem is not so much that they bunch up, it's where they bunch up.

(b) sure we'd bunch up if we were just there as tourists, but when we go to learn a language we seek to talk to the natives to actually practice and learn, sure we get laughed at a bit for our epic fails to speak their language but at least we learn from it and come away better, can't say I've ever noticed these "students" attempting to do so, instead they just bunch up, speak their native tongue and shun the opportunity to speak to native speakers of the language.
    A lot of Asians know English quite well, but when they come here to work they find they can't understand people for a long time because there is a vast difference between knowing a language to read and write and knowing a langauge to converse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I've noticed a lot more of them around in the last week or 2 than have been in the last couple of summers

I would've said it was about the same as last year and the year before.:confused: