When did it become common practise to talk ignorantly at gigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭boosh_fan

At Rock Werchter at the weekend the crowd ruined Radiohead for me - I had to move 3 times right to the back so that I wouldn't have nattering in my ear. Talkers to the back please! The crowd were obviously waiting for Creep & a few other hits which they didn't get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,525 ✭✭✭Morgans

Am i right to class anyone who shout out song requests at gigs, or tries to interact with the "talent" as an eejit? I havent come accross an exception to the rule yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Morgans wrote: »
    Am i right to class anyone who shout out song requests at gigs, or tries to interact with the "talent" as an eejit? I havent come accross an exception to the rule yet.

No you're right.
    I was at Dan le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip in the button factory recently and there was a group of little teenage, nu-rave outfitted tw4ts right at the front who kept chanting out "DAN LE SAC! DAN LE SAC!" and offering a cigarette to Scroobius Pip, daring him to smoke it. The guy doesn't even smoke afaik.

I'm not violent but I was so close to smacking the face off them.

I don't think there's any call for being abusive to turgon. He was giving examples of gigs he goes to - please count to ten before posting ntlbell, you seem to take so many posts as a person affront to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I was at Radiohead and was talking to a friend when Exit Music came on, then I got shushed. I said 'don't you shush me' :D
    Chapman_as_Brian.jpg

Seriously, ffs. Radiohead are my favourite band, I wasn't even talking loudly and it was an open air gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Ah but you need to shut up for Exit Music! Same rule applies for Nude, Pyramid Song, Faust Arp and How to Disappear Completely.

Meh, if you like a band that much you can easily tune out the noise and engage. It's the tall feckers with big heads and ears standing right in front of me that pee me off. They need their own section.

WindSock wrote: »
    Meh, if you like a band that much you can easily tune out the noise and engage. It's the tall feckers with big heads and ears standing right in front of me that pee me off. They need their own section.

If you're at the front it's easy enough to tune out the background noise because it's so LOUD yeah, but not everyone wants to be right up at the front.

I know what you mean about tall people. Do you suggest a roped off stage for them, like the disableds have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

eth0_ wrote: »
    If you're at the front it's easy enough to tune out the background noise because it's so LOUD yeah, but not everyone wants to be right up at the front.

I know what you mean about tall people. Do you suggest a roped off stage for them, like the disableds have?

Perhaps... Or perhaps something a little more permanent...

Yeah, stick them down the back so they don't get in anyones way :pac:

Everyone should be placed in specified areas according to their height. Or else we should all sit down when the band comes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

why punish the lanky when you could give the short-arses stilts according to their height to bring them up to the level of the less vertically challenged :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

There was loads of this at Neil Young and it pissed me off no end. 'Dya think He'll play heart of gold?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

I was pissed off at a Muse gig a few years ago, they played 'Forced In' (without the vocals) and I love that tune but a friend of mine decided that this was the exact best point to talk to me. *sigh*

Fair play to the promoters at the Bon Iver gig, came out to request the audience to get pints etc. before he came out in 15mins so as to minimise noise for his quiet set. Still, the air conditioners shoulda been chucked out cos they refused to keep it down :p

On the whole I can't remember many other incidents. There'll always be people talking and it does piss me off it people are nattering in my ear. If I was at a festival I'd expect it of course - luckily a lot of the bands I like are loud enough not to allow people's sometimes shockingly small attention spans to drift ;) at the more quiet gigs, I haven't had a problem. Still, if I was at a Paul Simon gig, I wouldn't be much happy about people yapping away without any consideration for their volume level. If you can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen - if you can't shut up, get out of the venue. No problems with people having the craic - at MSI I was up the front, didn't care about crowdsurfers or anything (that all adds to it) but nothing will annoy me more than loud talking.

(apologies if I've repeated myself slightly, it's late and I don't much fancy changing it now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Seriously, ffs. Radiohead are my favourite band, I wasn't even talking loudly and it was an open air gig.

Out of interest what were you talking about that was superseding seeing your 'favourite band' live? Could it not have waited until after the show?

You were obviously talking loud enough to distract someone, that's not really fair on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

ntlbell wrote: »
    "real fans"

the snobbery in this thread is a tad sickening..

People out having the craic, talking and drinking with mate's the country is going to sh|t

it is possible to have a chat and a laugh and enjoy the music, you don't need to stand there an analyze every friggin note/lyric...

GIGS!

Serious Buisness!

hahaha so true:pac:

down with music snobs tbh so fucking annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

hahaha so true:pac:

Still a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest.

the fnj wrote: »
    Out of interest what were you talking about that was superseding seeing your 'favourite band' live? Could it not have waited until after the show?

You were obviously talking loud enough to distract someone, that's not really fair on them?

I can't remember what I was talking about exactly, but I wasnt having a full blown shoutathon. I was just saying a few words to a friend who I hadn't seen in ages, which I guess will supersede any band.

Fair? It's a friggin open air gig, not theatre. What would you say to people who sing along to their favourite songs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I can't remember what I was talking about exactly, but I wasnt having a full blown shoutathon. I was just saying a few words to a friend who I hadn't seen in ages, which I guess will supersede any band.

Fair? It's a friggin open air gig, not theatre. What would you say to people who sing along to their favourite songs?

I don't really mind people singing along provided the 'out of key really loud person' isn't within a three meter radius.

I'm happy to concede that some people are too quick to sush but in my opinion they are normally the minority (except at Sigur Ros concerts). Obviously people disagree but in my opinion it is bad manners to talk while an artist is performing. I think it’s disrespectful to the band and the other people that want to enjoy the show.

the fnj wrote: »
    I think it’s disrespectful to the band and the other people that want to enjoy the show.

I agree with that point in certain venues, but at large scale concert with 30,000 + people it's hopeless to expect everybody to stfu. I myself had trouble trying to enjoy Radiohead and Neil Young and anyone else at large scale concerts here because they are so packed. I have decided from now on to go to bands I really like either abroad or in smaller venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭JJ

yevveh wrote: »
    Fair play to the promoters at the Bon Iver gig, came out to request the audience to get pints etc. before he came out in 15mins so as to minimise noise for his quiet set. Still, the air conditioners shoulda been chucked out cos they refused to keep it down :p

Was this at Tripod? I'd rather have a little air conditioning playing in the background then having no noise in the background and everybody sweating like a whore in church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

JJ wrote: »
    Was this at Tripod? I'd rather have a little air conditioning playing in the background then having no noise in the background and everybody sweating like a whore in church.

Heh, 'twas. However it was a fully seated gig and not that cramped so we'd have survived without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

John wrote: »
    And you'd be wearing the pint glass as a butt plug.

LOL

there is actually no getting through to him. He doesnt seem to understand that the point of a song is to tell a story. when we are on stage, the biggest praise i can ever get is for people to pay attention. Melodies are there to create a mood and express what emotion is being portrayed or how the story is ment to feel. Some loud mouth dick chatting in the background ruins the illusion that the artist is trying to portray.

Was anyone at "the festival thats going on now" last year and manage to see interpolice(minus the ice)? A festival like that attracts the biggest nobs going yet that gig was brilliant. Everyone was captured by what was on stage, and gave it their full attention - that gig was possibly the best one i've ever been to.
    Meh, if you like a band that much you can easily tune out the noise and engage.

No, thats not true and certainly not fair. Especially when they are an inch behind you more or less talking in your ear.

Down with ignorant selfish arseholes who feel justified in ruining the majority of peoples gigs.

Nothing wrong with singing along to a song at all, unless you have a pint in your hand, the other arm in the air with a clenched fist, leaning over the person infront of you screaming it in their ear when they are trying to hear the real singer sing it.

Is that acceptable to you?

red_ice wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with singing along to a song at all, unless you have a pint in your hand, the other arm in the air with a clenched fist, leaning over the person infront of you screaming it in their ear when they are trying to hear the real singer sing it.

Is that acceptable to you?

No, that's not acceptable to anyone under any circumstances. There's a difference between singing and screaming and there's a difference between talking (even slightly loudly to be heard) and shouting. Especially in someones ear, which is what I wasn't doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ntlbell wrote: »
    That's rediclous, it's a bit like saying would you be happy if you went to a libary to study and people kept talking..

no i wouldn't be as I wouldn't expecting people to be talking, the samr way i dont expect them to talk at the movies.

but if I go to a gig, I DO expect people to drinking/talking/being loud
    I expect it too, and expect it to be worse at some gigs than others. It became common practise many moons ago, nothing new.
    John wrote: »
    If only all gigs were in the National Concert Hall where they'll actually throw you out for being disruptive.
    If U2 played do you think they might change the "rules", the "rule" is really dictated by the band and song etc, it is not a black/white issue.

If you were to compare a classical performance in the concert hall to a festival or the likes of slane, it is similar to saying "some lout was shouting out loud at the soccer match I went to, what sort of breed are these degenerates, I never come across them at snooker matches."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

rubadub wrote: »
    If U2 played do you think they might change the "rules", the "rule" is really dictated by the band and song etc, it is not a black/white issue.

If you were to compare a classical performance in the concert hall to a festival or the likes of slane, it is similar to saying "some lout was shouting out loud at the soccer match I went to, what sort of breed are these degenerates, I never come across them at snooker matches."

I was obviously not being totally serious. Ever tried to crowd surf over a seated audience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

turgon wrote: »
    Ok, I was at Paul Simon last night. At the start he was playing some "unknown" songs (unknown to the people who had only came to hear "You Can Call Me Al"). Ive no problem with this: I went to Neil Young even though I only knew about 5% of his catalog.

What DID annoy me was that SO MANY PEOPLE were talking, like talking as loud as you would over dinner. He was doing a lovely half-acoustic number ("Duncan") but you could hear constant murmuring in the background. And then people in front talking SO loud, even a person I was with would turn around halfway through songs (ex: "The Boxer") and say loud enough for everyone else around to hear: "I hope he plays a certain song".

So when did being so ignorant become common practice? Because it severely fùcks up the gig for the people who go to actually listen to the music, even the songs that have not necessarily been pumped out on the radio.

I have witnessed this many times. A few years ago I saw Tracy Chapman and she actually had a sign up that asked people not to disturb the performance.

Sometimes I also think that the security guys aren't doing their jobs. Went to Art Garfunkel once and there was a guy on his mobile phone talking to a friend so loud that even Garfunkel himself must have heard him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I think the worst is Over 14s crowds, one in particular being a female fronted band who played in the RDS recently. While its not a band id associate with bucket loads of integrity, id expect the audience to be a little respectful, and not shout out ''Show us yer tits'' etc. I dont think i ll consider a standing ticket when upstairs is 18s ever again now after that, having freakin 14 year olds screeching in my ear is like hell on earth.

As regards to the height thing, i can understand your problem but if you push in front of me and then try and excuse yourself by saying you're taller than me, yer getting thrown back about ten rows :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Was at Sigur Ros in Benicassim on Thursday night. Great festival - however there were a lot of English members of the stereotypical Brits Abroad Chelsea Dagger singing-along-to persuasion there, particularly noticeable during Sigur Ros - their rowdiness really did not suit the set at all.