A&F store in Manhattan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Harpy

was there a couple of weeks ago..when i saw the guy on the door i was kind of like thats strange..but he was nice lookin so it was grand..yea its very dark in there which is very annoying and every 2 seconds someone is like hi can i help you..can they not leave you alone for like 5 seconds to actually look..
    i didn't find it too crowded there was a queue outside so they left people in as others left so i thought it was gonna be packed but it was grand could walk around no problem.
    I had no interst in A&F until i went to the shop but then i felt the clothes and they were so soft and nice so i bought a few things there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I've never been in one of their stores but they sound like the pits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Harpy wrote: »
    ..but he was nice lookin so it was grand..

None of those ugly people to ruin 'yer day so :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Stephen P

I was over there last Nov. and I must say I loved the place. Great atmosphere in the place. I like dance music so didn't mind the music, the girlfriend wasn't keen on it though. It was a bit packed alright and very low lights but I think that made it great. Managed to buy a few nice bits. Shame they're not over here but I heard a rumour they're opening a store in Dundrum??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

What I cant understand from this thread is that if these stores are that bad, how come everybody who's been there says they're always packed?

Are the clothes really good?

Thrill wrote: »
    What I cant understand from this thread is that if these stores are that bad, how come everybody who's been there says they're always packed?

Are the clothes really good?

Same $hit fashionable label. Anyone who tries to reason against this is just an easily led idiot. FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,827 ✭✭✭Charlie

The place is a disater zone, and there is some serious homo-erotic vibes in the place, anyone notice the murals of naked teenage boys everywhere?

I was working in NYC last summer and any time someone came to visit me I had the 'pleasure' of bringing them to this hell-hole. I am only 22, but I felt like such an old man when I found the noise levels unbearable.

Funny story though, one of my roomates worked in the store when we were there, and some of the stories he came back with were shocking. For instance, when you first get the job, you have to spend the day at a A&F seminar where you are brainwashed with various aspects of the companies ethos such as how to smile and how flip-flops are mandatory.

The funniest story though was that they take your measurement for clothes when you first get the job, and then subtract 2 inches from it. The poor lad was going to work every day in jeans that looked painted onto him, something I imagine is very unpleasant given Manhattan's humidity during the summer. If he didn't wear the prescribed measurement he was told in no uncertain terms, he would be fired.

Anyway, the whole company is very weird take a look at the owner................................................and the consider the fact he is 62! :eek:

From Wiki
    Jeffries dyes his hair blonde, works out on headquarters in the campus' gym, and wears Abercrombie & Fitch apparel with flip-flops whether cold or wet. He also wears customised clothing from Savile Row, the legendary London tailoring street and where ironically the A&F UK flagship is located. At first glance, he is described as quirky, weird, and insane, but peer workers also describe him as "unbelievably driven and brilliant". His quirks include: going through revolving doors twice, never passing employees on stairwells who in return avoid passing him (he greatly returns the courtesy), parking his Porsche every day at the same odd angle at the edge of the parking lot (keys between the seats, doors unlocked), and wearing a pair of "lucky shoes" when reading financial reports (a worn pair of Italian loafers that a secretary keeps in her desk) – he is superstitious about success. Jeffries is as well "touchy-feely" with some employees, both male and female – decidedly paternal. Jeffries appreciates the rugged, beautifully muscular, male form. He is known to have a picture by Herb Ritts of a torso of a toned man above his bedroom fireplace

Anyway, the whole company is very weird take a look at the owner................................................and the consider the fact he is 62! :eek:

From Wiki

He has a fake head :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Stephen P

kowloon wrote: »
    Same $hit fashionable label. Anyone who tries to reason against this is just an easily led idiot. FACT.

I don't think it's fair to call people who like A&F or any other fashionable label "an easily led idiot". I for one amn't easily led. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Lol, yeah I was there when I was in New York (sister dragged us to all the "hot" clothes shops). I'm over my days of ranting about Abercrombie and other clothes labels for being exploitative and over-priced, but I can tell you that that A&F store was horrible based purely on the atmosphere of the place. It was extremely dark, too dark to actually see what you were buying, the music was as loud as a nightclub (not to mention, it was shít) and the atmosphere was laughably elitist, with these guys with perfectly toned bodies wearing shirts with the buttons open, 3/4 length shorts and flip flops, as well as girls fitting the conventionally "attractive" stereotype standing around the place. I actually found they were less likely to ask you if you needed help, which, while a relief (I fúcking hated the fact that in NY, staff ask you, "hello sir, can I help you?" every 5 seconds), in the context gave the impression of "I'm too good looking to talk to you".

stephen p wrote: »
    I don't think it's fair to call people who like A&F or any other fashionable label "an easily led idiot". I for one amn't easily led. :rolleyes:

Yes you are, now HURRY UP AND BRING ME MY CAKE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

stephen p wrote: »
    You could say that anyone who adheres to any kind of fashion trend is easily led. Of course that would be overlooking the possibility that someone just happened to like something that happened to be in fashion at that time.

So I suppose, to be PC about it, you'd have to say "easily led idiot, except in the case of an interest coincidentially concurrent with the latest fashion trend".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭deisebabe

been there...done that...didn't buy the t-shirt.. yeah it is a bit mental...and anything above a size four is on a shelf so high no normal person can reach...making u feel like a heifer if you ask them to get your size! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Let me tell you of the worst shopping experience in human history. It was in the Abercrombie & Fitch store in Manhattan where my girlfriend insisted on going.

Firstly, standing in the entrance is a topless black guy for some reason. Then when you get inside the store is more like a night club than a shop. It’s so dark that it’s impossible to tell when the clothes look like. There are spotlight type lights coming down from the ceiling in front of the mirrors if you absolutely must sort of see what they look like in daylight.

The music is uncomfortably loud, i.e. as loud as a night club. You have to shout at people for them to hear you.

It was so packed that people kept bumping into me. Imagine the dance floor of a night club but spread across 3 floors and with people milling about to find clothes.

I honestly think that they pump perfume into the air. The entire place stank of it. It was so bad that I kept coughing because it was hurting my throat.

So to recap:
    1. Its too dark and has topless men about the place

2. Its extremely loud

3. The place stinks of perfume so badly you can taste it and can’t breathe

4. People keep bumping into you

So basically it’s offensive to all five senses simultaneously

The final straw, where I told my girlfriend I’d wait outside until she finished was when the following song started blaring:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBGIQ7ZuuiU

Yes, that’s right. I got Rick Rolled by the Abercrombie & Fitch store.

Does anyone agree with me about this store? Should it be added to the axis of evil? or maybe they should send the terrorists there instead of guantanamo? after ten minutes i would have told them whatever they wanted just so i could breathe again

I had to laugh when I read this as it’s so true!:D

I was there last October 2007 I had been asked to pick up some clothes for my nephews and nieces for Christmas by my sister in law. I got to the front door to be met by this half naked guy, struttin his stuff. He immediately made me feel so inadequate in comparison. On entering the store I was herded around through dimly lit walkways trying to communicate with the staff but I couldn’t hear them and I don’t think they could here me over the blasting music. The windows were blacked out with dark wooden sashes, no light, no air, no way out……

I felt like an auld fella for the first time in my life, I couldn’t cope and ran out of the f**ken place gasping for air. :eek::eek:

The sister in law wouldn’t believe me, she thought I wasn’t bothered. :mad:

The worst store I have ever been in my life……never again!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 nakedlykeenthen

I was there at christmas!!!!!! Imagine the pain that was first described and multiply it by 100 and add a queue of 40 minutes to get in the door! Hell on 5th avenue!
    I do like the hoodies though :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭HoneyButterfly

I actually love the A&F stores. Not so much the one in NY as its way too packed. But the darkness(its not really that dark, you CAN see what you're buying) and the loud music (loved the loud music factor, and definitely could hear people speaking to me! :)), the perfume (loved that too, it makes the clothes smell like the shop when you bring them home!)...all that stuff didn't bother me. But it was sooo packed! And I was only there in the summer time, I'd imagine Christmas is a nightmare.

I do however, disagree with the fact that all their 'sales assistants' (who do nothing but dance around the place, literally in your face!) are all actually models, or else hand-picked by the managers (I mean like, you can't actually go and ask for a job or an application form etc, the only way you get a job there is if you fit the Abercrombie 'look' and they go up to you in one of their stores and ask you would you like to work there). Although one might argue, its no worse than models in catalogues wearing the shops clothes for advertisement....A&F just have models right there in their shops advertising their clothes, so whats the difference?! But I dunno, it seems wrong. What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I do however, disagree with the fact that all their 'sales assistants' (who do nothing but dance around the place, literally in your face!) are all actually models, or else hand-picked by the managers (I mean like, you can't actually go and ask for a job or an application form etc, the only way you get a job there is if you fit the Abercrombie 'look' and they go up to you in one of their stores and ask you would you like to work there). Although one might argue, its no worse than models in catalogues wearing the shops clothes for advertisement....A&F just have models right there in their shops advertising their clothes, so whats the difference?! But I dunno, it seems wrong. What do ye think?

Abercrombie and Fitch has 4 clothing stores - A&F, abercrombie (kids), Hollister (tweens and teens), and Ruehl No. 925 (post uni). All of those companies call the kids who work in the store "brand representatives" except for Ruehl, which calls them models.
    There's an employment kiosk in most, if not all, A&F's, abercrombies and Hollisters. Anyone can fill out an application and show up to a group interview which is usually held once a week. They do emphasize that all brand reps on the floor have the "Abercrombie look." In big stores, like the one in Manhatten or Miami, this is very important. In smaller stores, not so much. The bigger stores also have a night staff and a stock crew and having the "Abercrombie look" isn't important because they're not on the floor (and they get get paid more).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

From Wiki:

His quirks include: going through revolving doors twice, never passing employees on stairwells who in return avoid passing him (he greatly returns the courtesy), parking his Porsche every day at the same odd angle at the edge of the parking lot (keys between the seats, doors unlocked), and wearing a pair of "lucky shoes" when reading financial reports (a worn pair of Italian loafers that a secretary keeps in her desk) – he is superstitious about success.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsessive-compulsive_disorder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I was also in the A&F store in Manhattan, I thought the guy at the door was a manaquin atfirst, I actullay couldnt believe it when he moved! they really go out on a limb to sell their whole image anyway, Ill give them that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

I was there at christmas!!!!!! Imagine the pain that was first described and multiply it by 100 and add a queue of 40 minutes to get in the door! Hell on 5th avenue!
    I do like the hoodies though :o

ahh last time i was there was right before xmas as well, it was soooo feckin packed! hot topless guy i didnt have a problem with tho... ;)

Abercrombie and Fitch has 4 clothing stores - A&F, abercrombie (kids), Hollister (tweens and teens), and Ruehl No. 925 (post uni). All of those companies call the kids who work in the store "brand representatives" except for Ruehl, which calls them models.
    There's an employment kiosk in most, if not all, A&F's, abercrombies and Hollisters. Anyone can fill out an application and show up to a group interview which is usually held once a week. They do emphasize that all brand reps on the floor have the "Abercrombie look." In big stores, like the one in Manhatten or Miami, this is very important. In smaller stores, not so much. The bigger stores also have a night staff and a stock crew and having the "Abercrombie look" isn't important because they're not on the floor (and they get get paid more).

Ok, I was wrong about not being able to just go ask for an application. But they still do have a group interview first, undoubtedly to cast aside any rejects that don't fit the "Abercrombie look". But it is true that Managers in the store come up to customers who fit the look and ask them if they want a job. I've had it happen to a friend, who is stunningly gorgeous and has a eye for unique fashion. However, she sooo does not have the 'A&F look', she quite simply is gorgeous, and THAT is they're 'look'.
    So inevitably, anyone may apply and come along to the interview, but if they're not model material they can sling there hook or carry boxes....so long as its not on the shop floor!? ;) lol
    Clearly, you work for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why would anyone queue to go into a hell hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I never want to go to there. The music would go through my head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Ok, I was wrong about not being able to just go ask for an application. But they still do have a group interview first, undoubtedly to cast aside any rejects that don't fit the "Abercrombie look". But it is true that Managers in the store come up to customers who fit the look and ask them if they want a job. I've had it happen to a friend, who is stunningly gorgeous and has a eye for unique fashion. However, she sooo does not have the 'A&F look', she quite simply is gorgeous, and THAT is they're 'look'.
    So inevitably, anyone may apply and come along to the interview, but if they're not model material they can sling there hook or carry boxes....so long as its not on the shop floor!? ;) lol
    Clearly, you work for them.

Yes, the group interview is there to weed out those who don't have "the look." The managers and brand reps are encouraged to recruit customers whom they think have "the look" which usually translates to attractive people. And yes, anyone can apply and they'll even hire you if you don't have "the look" - but you won't be working on the floor, representing the brand.
    And yes, I did work for them. My first job was working as a brand rep for A&F. I just went around to all of the stores in the mall and filled out applications. I'd never even heard of an A&F at the time, much less been in the store. I eventually worked my way up to store manager and was relocated to bigger stores before quitting for better work. Most of the people in this thread hate A&F, but they don't hate it in the special way that I do. :p

kowloon wrote: »
    I absolutely despise these "fashion stores" you know you're paying a premium just for the fact that the shops are in expensive areas and their product is spread over more area than a regular shop, which when you're talking about several grand rent per square metre is taking the pi55. Knowing that the products are made by the same sub-contractors that make the cheaper stuff only adds insult to injury.
    I hold out a weak hope that common sense will prevail over high street "fashion".

Personally,I prefer the one down near south sea port.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

Blisterman wrote: »
    I don't know why you hate the staff asking you if you need assistance, stevoman. It's much better than looking around for 10 minutes trying to find someone.

Nothing annoys me more than this, you want to go in walk around and take a look at stuff, not be asked what type of thing your looking for and what do you think of this one. If I wanted help id ask

I do actually really like the A&F brand, and I think the quality of the clothes are far better than other over-priced stores. But I just don't agree with the way they choose their staff

colly10 wrote: »
    Nothing annoys me more than this, you want to go in walk around and take a look at stuff, not be asked what type of thing your looking for and what do you think of this one. If I wanted help id ask

Agreed.Also seen the hottest shaved head girk ever working in there last summer!!

I do actually really like the A&F brand, and I think the quality of the clothes are far better than other over-priced stores. But I just don't agree with the way they choose their staff

In fairness though.It's only River Island/Topshop level though.

It's not exactly Ted Baker.I wouldn't pay the prices in England for Abercrombie!

In fairness though.It's only River Island/Topshop level though.

It's not exactly Ted Baker.I wouldn't pay the prices in England for Abercrombie!

I think the quality is definitely better than River Island. The hoodies are sooo comfy and warm, good stuff in them.
    But I agree with you that its not worth the price that people pay for them in England in the London store, thats madness