Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Ye just get on the dual carriageway at the top of ballybrack and take the turn for loughlinstown hospital, and then take the first exit before it and ill be there ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Perfect, was looking at the course there on Microsoft Maps, looking forward to it.

Has anyone else been checking out P&P courses on Microsoft's new Bird's Eye view on their maps? I've been spending ages finding all the Dublin courses I can and checking them out, its a great way to look at courses.

Go to maps.live.com and then zoom in on the map to the course you want to look at, the click the Bird's Eye option on the top of the map. It's a brilliant 3d satellite view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 clare rd.

Tipperman wrote: »
    Parteen is a good course in fairness.. They have some lovely shots but facilities are poorish.. They have a thriving club and are always enhancing the course.. Best Tee Boxes in the country were put in there last year....They are renting the land from a gangster who charges them €6k a year and I heard he looking for more so they could be in trouble..

Rosscarbery is the hidden gem of the P&P world.. They have two courses down there and why they haven't been approached for a National is beyond me.. You could play either course and it would be a legendary competititon.. I know it is in South West Cork but jaysus I would love to play a comp there.. It is massive.. Best course in the country by a mile...Doolin is another great place...

Hows agoin tipper, Doolin is a very nice course, not many competitions on there tho which is a bit strange, What u think of Clare rd, greens are coming on very well at the minute, never seen them as good, think munster inter county on there this year? not 2 shur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

just a note on the hanicap system..
    i will only be in adult 1year next month and already i have went from junior to senior handicap.
    how do u expect young people to be attracted to the game when u get cut for everything????????????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

i will only be in adult 1year next month and already i have went from junior to senior handicap.
    how do u expect young people to be attracted to the game when u get cut for everything????????????????????
    I feel your pain -3faithfull. Been playing the game less than a year myself and have been cut from 10 to 6 (3 shots in the last six weeks alone). I am not too bothered as my aim if good enough is to get to senior status and I have won some nice competitions recently.

Very unfair in your case to get cut so quickly (especially two grades) but you must be very good to get to senior standard so quickly.

I agree that the handicap system is unfair. I see it every week in Open weeks and scratch cups where people with potentially winning scores tear up their cards and don't hand them in for fear of being cut shots. These same people are then winning their club fourballs week in week out as there is no fear of being cut.

To the more experienced lads on the thread, can you be cut for general play?. I think this needs to be looked at.

As regards different clubs policies for getting shots back to their players, don't get me started on that (lets just say some clubs have more liberal policies than others) !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

ur only playing a year????????? wat sort of scores u doin are ya in the all ireland????????????:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

ur only playing a year????????? wat sort of scores u doin are ya in the all ireland????????????:confused:
    On a normal day I typically score between -2 and -4 for a round on my own course. On an outside course normally between level and -2 for a round. I failed to qualify for the All Ireland by one shot which was a bit disappointing but I played terrible on the day (5 duffed chips alone on the 2nd 18) so I have only myself to blame. Hopefully next year when I am more experienced. One major thing I learned this year is that there is a hugh difference between practicing and when there is a card in your hand and that you cannot take anything for granted.

Ye iee ur point mate, some of the system is unfair, especially losing grades that quickly, enjoy the senior grade it will make u a better player in the long run mate

Southside

CPM 3.5 v 5.5 Loughlinstown
    Glenville 5.5 v 3.5 Lucan

Northside

Portmarnock 5 v 4 CYMC
    Ierne 4.5 v Shandon 4.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Alreet young gun.Are you the man who finished 2nd in Erry Scratch Cup?

Loughlinstown 28.5 - Played 5
    Lucan 28 - Played 6
    CPM 20.5 - Played 5
    Old County 17.5 - Played 5
    Glenville 12 - Played 3

Ierne 31.5 - Played 6
    Portmarnock 28.5 - Played 6
    Shandpn 24.5 - Played 6
    RGSC 21.5 - Played 5
    CYMC 20 - Played 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

GerCPM wrote: »
    Alreet young gun.Are you the man who finished 2nd in Erry Scratch Cup?

I don't think it is. I've a feeling I could have marked a card or two of this chap :D

I think you have taken me up wrong.. What I mean is that the Consultancy side of things should run along with the increase in monies that the NEC provide the Club.... Not all courses are like Hillview, Glenville, Tullamore etc where they have a fella that knows what they are doing... I am simply saying that in order to get the courses up to the standard that is required they need outside help and I would say that this consultant takes everything on board from Tee Boxes to Trees to greens etc.... It is imperative to attract new members to the game they have to be able to play on the best courses possible...It just an opinion but I really feels it needs addressing..

Hillview have the All Ireland Seniors there this year:D

There are some courses on that graded side of things that I wouldn't even let cattle into graze on to be honest....

I genuinely feel that clubs want to move in the right direction but they simply don't know how to enhance the course or afraid to in case of ruining it... The PPUI should at least have a contact number for a consultant on their website and let clubs contact him or her at their expense... That website is a joke though.

Tipperman do you know what money the clubs get from the PPUI for hosting National championships? I don't have a clue myself, but I doubt it would be enough to contribute significantly to your idea. That said it would be a quality idea and without doubt all of us in the PPUi should be doing everything in our power to improve the game nationally.
    As you say not all courses have knowledgable grounds staff and a service like this liased through the union would be a good option.

I think the bar is being raised in the last few years in terms of clubs getting the really big championships. In the last few years you've had Glenville, Tullamore, Bridgets, Cashel, Stackallen all having Mplays Splays and I/Ctys. That is the standard. It shouldn't dip. Glenville was the best presented championship I've been at. The greens weren't the best I've played on, but in terms of course and facilities presentation, it was the best.

Parteen is a good course in fairness.. They have some lovely shots but facilities are poorish.. They have a thriving club and are always enhancing the course.. Best Tee Boxes in the country were put in there last year....They are renting the land from a gangster who charges them €6k a year and I heard he looking for more so they could be in trouble..

Rosscarbery is the hidden gem of the P&P world.. They have two courses down there and why they haven't been approached for a National is beyond me.. You could play either course and it would be a legendary competititon.. I know it is in South West Cork but jaysus I would love to play a comp there.. It is massive.. Best course in the country by a mile...Doolin is another great place...

I'd heard good things of rosscarbery alright. Didn't know a thing of Parteen. Doolin I played once on a holiday about 10 yrs ago and loved the place.

Maybe thats another thing that has to be looked at in terms of awarding clubs championships that have less than adequate facilities? If a club has space but no facililites there is always the option of renting marquees or portaloos, outside-the-bnox thinking I suppose.

I blame the people who gave you such a high handicap in the first place you bandit! :D

On a serious note its something I really can't comment on as I've never been good in suggesting alternatives to the current system. I think there might need to be an additional grade introduced as there is a serious gap in terms of quality in the three grades.

Senior +3 - -1
    Inter -2 - -5
    Junior -6 - 9
    Novice -10 +

I don't know if this would be a runner though,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

clare rd. wrote: »
    Hows agoin tipper, Doolin is a very nice course, not many competitions on there tho which is a bit strange, What u think of Clare rd, greens are coming on very well at the minute, never seen them as good, think munster inter county on there this year? not 2 shur.

Hey Clare Rd

I have to say I have always liked Clare Rd.. It is a good challenge with some good shots... Even the loss of the corner there at 4 and 5 didn't make much difference to the course in fairness.. There is a great variety of shots there and if you pitch poorly your in trouble which I think is justified...

The Munster Inter County is on there 10th Aug... You should def come up and watch that as the best players in Munster (Supposedly) will be playing that day...

Glad to hear that the course is good shape.. Last time I played there was in 06 after my Stag Night trying to kill time before the pub opened lol and it was nice that day!!

Explain how you were cut.. What comps did you win and if you remember what scoring did you do...Just give us an insight as to why you were cut and also what handicap did you get as a Junior

Kingdom wrote: »
    Tipperman do you know what money the clubs get from the PPUI for hosting National championships? I don't have a clue myself, but I doubt it would be enough to contribute significantly to your idea. That said it would be a quality idea and without doubt all of us in the PPUi should be doing everything in our power to improve the game nationally.
    As you say not all courses have knowledgable grounds staff and a service like this liased through the union would be a good option.

I think the bar is being raised in the last few years in terms of clubs getting the really big championships. In the last few years you've had Glenville, Tullamore, Bridgets, Cashel, Stackallen all having Mplays Splays and I/Ctys. That is the standard. It shouldn't dip. Glenville was the best presented championship I've been at. The greens weren't the best I've played on, but in terms of course and facilities presentation, it was the best.

Kingdom,

If you host a National your Club receives €500 from PPUI and the Matchplay you get €1000. I tried to get this increased to €1000 for all Nationals at the Convention in 06 but it was defeated... I mean €500 is awful considering what it takes to run an All Ireland...
    In Lakeside in 2005 as you can imagine with me being Captain I had to ensure the course was impeccable.
    Programmes - €400
    Marquee - €400
    New Matts - €1000
    New Cups - €250
    Music over two days €500
    NEC meals over two days €250 approx
    Course Maintainence - €2000 est

The point I make is that running a championship certainly adds huge expense to Clubs. Clubs are doing the PPUI the honour of hosting these events but have any of ye noticed, we are nearly going back to the same clubs year in year out now for National Championships... Clubs know that it will cost big money to run these events... Tullamore and Glenville know they will make a return on the BAR etc but in Lakeside we got in the local Hotel to set up the bar and they got the proceeds..

To be honest though, I am not sure as to how much the PPUI should give each Club for hosting these events but it has to be increased. They are quite comfortable at present and in fairness I would say entries are on the increase so more revenue coming there... Perhaps they should put aside a kitty that Clubs which host Nationals can dip into... The Consultant would do up a Snag List etc of what is required and only this can be used to receive monies.. It is something though I can never see happening..

Kingdom what do u think of the leagues this year in dublin

It be great to have winner of each county play each other in weekend festival of pitch and putt to see who the best club is, what u think??

I think the bar is being raised in the last few years in terms of clubs getting the really big championships. In the last few years you've had Glenville, Tullamore, Bridgets, Cashel, Stackallen all having Mplays Splays and I/Ctys. That is the standard. It shouldn't dip. Glenville was the best presented championship I've been at. The greens weren't the best I've played on, but in terms of course and facilities presentation, it was the best.[/quote]

Kingdom

I have to agree with you here... I was a little disappointed with the speed of the greens in Glenville.. They were lovely but I would have preferred them to be a little faster... Do you think they will be quick in Tullamore....

Isn't it an awful pity though that our game doesn't get the expose it may deserve.. I remember when Lakeside held the Matchplay back in 1989 there was a 2 page spread in the daily Supplement of the Sunday World..Can remember the name of the paper.. It was great for Lakeside at the time as it was it first all ireland and we got rave reviews and gained a lot of members as a result... I mean Murf has won 5 All Irelands in a row and there is only one picture of him on the Website... Never anything on a National Paper... I mean if we can't sell our own we are in trouble... You look up the Dutch website and go to any of the courses, they have pictures going back nearly 2 years and are updated everyday...

Just a thought -3faithful,

What will you do if you get cut to -2 or -1 you won't be able to use the same username :)

Isn't it an awful pity though that our game doesn't get the expose it may deserve.. I remember when Lakeside held the Matchplay back in 1989 there was a 2 page spread in the daily Supplement of the Sunday World..Can remember the name of the paper.. It was great for Lakeside at the time as it was it first all ireland and we got rave reviews and gained a lot of members as a result... I mean Murf has won 5 All Irelands in a row and there is only one picture of him on the Website... Never anything on a National Paper... I mean if we can't sell our own we are in trouble... You look up the Dutch website and go to any of the courses, they have pictures going back nearly 2 years and are updated everyday...

Do you think that there is potentially a gap there for a Pitch and Putt players website, set up and run by players without direct connection to any particular club, county board or the PPUI?

Draupnir wrote: »
    Do you think that there is potentially a gap there for a Pitch and Putt players website, set up and run by players without direct connection to any particular club, county board or the PPUI?

ye there could be Draupnir, in fairness we should get more publicity than we do at the present moment, a few local rags have help but there only 5 line stories which is not enough

Whats the best way to get Erry and have u got the full address havent been there before and have a sat nav so that might get me there without getting lost, crap at directions

I suppose there is in fairness but in the long term we need expose in the National Media.. I mean the Irish Examiner sponsor the Munster Inter Co which is great but the winners photo's or not even a write up is put in the paper, just results...

Would a players website look like we are trying to break away from the PPUI... Playing Devils Advocate here I suppose....

Thats a fair point too! The PPUI website should really have more content though, I mean it could have a full profile of virtually every club in the country quite easily. All they need to do is put together a questionnaire and ask for a member of the club to take photos of the holes with a digital camera.

After that, some things that could be done would be player interviews, course reviews etc. I would say that most of that could be done easily enough over the phone?

Something else that wouldnt take much work would be to integrate google maps and have each PPUI course in the country plotted on it.

Thats a fair point too! The PPUI website should really have more content though, I mean it could have a full profile of virtually every club in the country quite easily. All they need to do is put together a questionnaire and ask for a member of the club to take photos of the holes with a digital camera.

After that, some things that could be done would be player interviews, course reviews etc. I would say that most of that could be done easily enough over the phone?

Something else that wouldnt take much work would be to integrate google maps and have each PPUI course in the country plotted on it.

`This is done already by Jabba da putt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 clare rd.

Hey Clare Rd

I have to say I have always liked Clare Rd.. It is a good challenge with some good shots... Even the loss of the corner there at 4 and 5 didn't make much difference to the course in fairness.. There is a great variety of shots there and if you pitch poorly your in trouble which I think is justified...

The Munster Inter County is on there 10th Aug... You should def come up and watch that as the best players in Munster (Supposedly) will be playing that day...

Glad to hear that the course is good shape.. Last time I played there was in 06 after my Stag Night trying to kill time before the pub opened lol and it was nice that day!!
    Ya ill be up watching it alright, didnt put my name in for it but will next year, im only playing a few years, ive 10 handicap, played fairly bad in esb for the munsters, qualified for the all irelands this year so looking forward to that, my prob at the moment is getn 2 consitant rounds, the last couple of weeks ive being doing -6to-8 for 1st round den level or few over for the other. must try to work on it.

Lads

What do ye think of the NEC having no Juvenile Officer considering that each club and Co Board are supposed to have 2 each...:confused:

clare rd. wrote: »
    Ya ill be up watching it alright, didnt put my name in for it but will next year, im only playing a few years, ive 10 handicap, played fairly bad in esb for the munsters, qualified for the all irelands this year so looking forward to that, my prob at the moment is getn 2 consitant rounds, the last couple of weeks ive being doing -6to-8 for 1st round den level or few over for the other. must try to work on it.

Clare Rd

You playing off 10 and doing -6 to -8 in first round... What your name, I'm backing you for Junior in Tullamore lol... That great shooting... If you do that in Tullamore you will have a great chance;)