Your favourite pub in Ireland

What church the one that features mass?

http://www.thechurch.ie/vtour/java002.html

I think they call it Service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

connundrum wrote: »
    I'll do ye a two for one offer one a comma
    > , + , = :)

Any of the Porterhouses bar the one in Templebar, McGowans in Phibsboro, Bruxelles and Wrights in Swords.

And it used to be the Spa in Portarlington, but then it closed. Tear :(

thought they was still spa's in Port :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Gravediggers, no tv's, decent and diverse crowd, best Genius in the country without a shadow of a doubt, sin e.

Moonbaby wrote: »

Depends on the church i think

cheers for the link it looks cool but whats the crowd like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Moonbaby wrote: »

that place looks wicked.
    Very well devolped.
    2 clubs wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Probably The Roost in Maynooth. Massive pub and loads of room so never too packed even when it is packed but more for the memories (or lack of) in college more than anything else, good times.

Some of the bar staff are not so nice though...

Also big shout out to Costigans in Cork city, Messrs Maguire in Dublin city and Gibneys in Malahide.

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Probably The Roost in Maynooth. Massive pub and loads of room so never too packed even when it is packed but more for the memories (or lack of) in college more than anything else, good times.

Some of the bar staff are not so nice though...

Also big shout out to Costigans in Cork city, Messrs Maguire in Dublin city and Gibneys in Malahide.

remember one time in the roost bar visiting up that way the bartender tried to convince me to pay twenty quid for one pint the luader thought i bought four. some spa

Yeah don't think any of them are going to win Bartender of the year in there alright :pac: Great pub all the same though, I miss it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I quite liked the Rusty Nail in Donegal.

I suppose your favourite pub is a very subjective thing as it will depend largely on the good times you may have had there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Nostalgia I unerstand, but you have to be joking! The Roost isn't even my favourite pub in Maynooth, never mind Ireland! Staff are pr*cks!
    Franciscan Well in Cork City, especially in the summer sitting out in the beer garden.
    Spailpin Fanach in Cork City.
    Foggy Dew in Dublin
    Nancy's ,Ardara in Donegal, it's basically like sitting in somebody's front room, mainly because you are!

Yeah don't think any of them are going to win Bartender of the year in there alright :pac: Great pub all the same though, I miss it :(

yeah its a cool student pub i love the way its real close to the college

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Nostalgia I unerstand, but you have to be joking! The Roost isn't even my favourite pub in Maynooth, never mind Ireland! Staff are pr*cks!
    Franciscan Well in Cork City, especially in the summer sitting out in the beer garden.
    Foggy Dew in Dublin

I know they are but like I said, nostalgia more than anything and it's huge, always a good thing, nothing worse for me than an overcrowded pub.

Also with you on the Franciscan Well....haven't been there in years, must pay a visit next time I'm home.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Foggy Dew in Dublin
    Nancy's ,Ardara in Donegal, it's basically like sitting in somebody's front room, mainly because you are!

Some of there own home brew stuff in the francisan isn't the best though but yeah nice beer garden which is hard to find in cork

The Best Pubs

Abbey Tavern (County Dublin): A short distance from Dublin center, the Abbey Tavern is the perfect place to recover and refuel after spending a day exploring Dublin. The Abbey is known far and wide for its ballads as well as its brew.
    Brazen Head (County Dublin): Nearly qualifying as one of Ireland's ancient sites, the Brazen Head, commissioned by Charles II, is more than 300 years old, but its stout is as fresh as it comes. Among its illustrious alumni are Wolfe Tone, Daniel O'Connell, and Robert Emmet, who planned the Dublin rising of 1803 under the Head's low timbers.
    The Long Valley (County Cork): For anyone who knows and loves Cork, this is a place of pilgrimage. There's one endless, low-slung room with a bar running its full length, doors taken from an ocean liner, barmen in white butchers' coats, and a selection of delectable sandwiches. It's a slice of heaven.
    McGann's (County Clare): Doolin, a dot of a town on the Clare Coast, is a magnet for traditional Irish musicians -- and a wonderful spot to hear impromptu sessions of Irish music. Gus O'Connor's, down the road, is more famous (but also thicker with tourists); McGann's remains the genuine article without the hype.
    Moran's Oyster Cottage (County Galway): Famed for its seafood, this centuries-old thatched-cottage pub on the weir also draws a perfect pint. This may well be the oyster capital of Ireland. It's 19km (12 miles) out of Galway and well worth the drive -- or the walk, for that matter.
    Smuggler's Creek (County Donegal): This place is worth a stop if only for its spectacular cliff-top views of Donegal Bay. Stone walls, beamed ceilings, open fires, excellent fare, and the brew that's true are among the charms that proprietor Conor Britton has on tap.
    Crown Liquor Saloon (County Antrim): This National Trust pub, across from the Grand Opera House in Belfast, is a Victorian gem. Your mouth will drop open at its antique publican splendor even before you lift your first pint.

http://www.frommers.com/destinations/ireland/0226020849.html

Some of there own home brew stuff in the francisan isn't the best though but yeah nice beer garden which is hard to find in cork
    i sure beer gardens are banned i think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Alan Ford wrote: »
    Really? Since when? If it's on the street maybe I know that tables have to be in after a certain time but if its behind the pub and on land owned by the pub there shouldn't be a problem. Do you have any info/links?
    Also good news on the early house front
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhgbqlmhkfql/

Banned why?

Banned why?
    im not saying its banned but as living in the Cork urban council area they wont allow beer gardens which its stupid!

Aw right i know what you mean. It's mad like I remember when i was in darmstadt, Germany all the places would have seas outside and you could sit there all night. Even when the places closed they just left the chairs outside and they weren't even tied down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

Going on pubs I've drank in, not just been in, cos it takes a pint, a bit of banter and a good long sit down to experience a pub for what it is.

At home here in Wexford: The Sky & the Ground (Erdinger on tap mmmm) with Kelly's on the Corner (best pint of Guinness in the county) coming a close second.

In Dublin where I study: Bruxcelles (sp?) on Grafton St. or again Fibber McGees a close second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

The Woolshed on parnell st ftw. love the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

MacCarthys bar, Castletownbere, West Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

fonpokno wrote: »
    The Woolshed on parnell st ftw. love the place.

Good craic to be had in there alright! One of my mates is Filipino' and we ended up there one night while the kareoke thing was on, he ended up singin a few Bob Marley tunes and stuff like that! He didnt live it down too easy though!

And yes! I'm aware Bob Marley IS NOT Filipino! :D

HAPPYGIRL wrote: »
    MacCarthys bar, Castletownbere, West Cork.

Ah yes, what a great pub.....God I'd love to head to West Cork this weekend :(

I think they finally have buses going that way:)

No hence the sad smiley face, won't be able to make it down for another few weekends yet. Ah Glandore, the drinking village with a fishing problem :D

Ha true i think thats the story for the whole area, i used to go down Cape Clear island some laugh there. So whats stopping the buses for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Stephen90 wrote: »
    Good craic to be had in there alright! One of my mates is Filipino' and we ended up there one night while the kareoke thing was on, he ended up singin a few Bob Marley tunes and stuff like that! He didnt live it down too easy though!

And yes! I'm aware Bob Marley IS NOT Filipino! :D

LOVE the karaoke in that place. Best thursdays ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Can't beat Peter's Pub.

Also,
    Slattery's, Rathmines.
    The Long Hall, George's St.
    Beggar's Bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The Carpenter in D15 for a few quiet pints of the black stuff with the boys on a Friday night.

Myos in Castleknock for drunken Christmas Eve shenanigans.

Honourable mention to my college watering hole - The Headline in D8. Good times were had.