Crazy about a Russian girl

• 19-06-2008 12:03AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭

Heres some background.

Last year i went to Russia for a match with the lads. Met a Russian girl one night we were on the booze, she was really cool, amazing looking and a great laugh. We also had this amazing chemistry between us that ive never felt and ive had a few girlfriends in my time.

So spent the next couple of days with her and then kept in contact with her, talked to her all the time on MSN and then arranged to go see her again ( the lads where dying to get back to Russia so we arranged another holiday for there). Met her again, same thing again.

Now im home, we've talked on msn nearly every day and we're just crazy about each other.

Now i know these Russian women have a reputation, but shes not poor or anything, well educated and decent job in Russia, so im basically sayin shes genuine.

we've talked about going on holidays together to somewhere ion europe later in the year, but should i just forget about her (would be near impossible though), like relaistically this aint going to go anywhere is it? I cant move to Russia, would love to but would be just to much and I cant see her really coming to ireland, should i just let go? I can never get her out of my head, she is the most beautiful girl on the planet and the fun we have. I just dont know what to do, its not liek i can just hop on a plane to russia once a month to see her....

And does anyone have any experience/advice about Russian women? They say they do make the best wives :-)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

and I cant see her really coming to ireland

Are you just guessing that or did she actually say it?
    should i just let go?

Probably.
    But I think I'd go have that holiday first ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

A friend of mine is dating a Russian girl he met in Russia while working there. He's absolutely crazy about her and she seems like a lovely person (I haven't met her myself).

He moved away for work for a while and then transferred back to Russia to work with her again.

No real point to this post, just wanted to point out that it can work ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭FibbersON

Cop on and read the charter. This is your one and only warning as you're a newbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I've been a long time lurker here, and until this post, had absolutely no desire to contribute to anything. I don't have any experience with Russian girls - not that I want to divulge in while sober, anyway ;) - but I was in a similar situation.

4 years ago, I met an American in a bar in Dublin. He was on a one week holiday here. We hit it off immediately, and the spark and chemistry was unbelievable. Spent a week walking around town like Siamese twins. I was sad (as was he) when he left, but we kept in touch. Like OP, I honestly didn't see it going anywhere. I was in my final year of college, looking forward to getting a job, starting a professional life, etc. But I was absolutely crazy (still is, by the way) about him and we talked everyday and visited each other as much as possible.

I must add OP, I'm of a South-east Asian origin - granted, I have a bit of English in me, but I can be ridiculously Asian at times. I don't know if he ever thought along the line of 'Ah you know, she's Asian, and they do have a reputation of latching on the next westerner they see for the Green Card/citizenship' - I had never given him the impression of that at all - but I was aware of the stigma attached to such stereotyping and because of that I was hesitant about the future of our relationship.

To make the long story short, we continued this long distance relationship, we took it slowly. It was painful when we parted, absolutely amazing when we were together. A year and a half ago, while I was in the States, he proposed and I didn't hesitate saying yes. Now I'm leaving for the States permanently at the end of the month.

These things do work, I was exactly like you (or your Russian girl) 4 years ago. Didn't see the appeal of moving to the States, hated the idea of some people might think I'm just there for the Green Card, didn't know where we were going, but really liked the way I felt whenever I was with him, physically. But as time passes by and the more we spend what little time we had together, the more 'right' it felt to be with him. Now I'm absolutely sure of my decision to move there permanently.

My advice? Take it slowly. You may not know what you want from the relationship right now, but the decision will come naturally when you've been together for a long period of time. It's not all roses and butterflies though, and you have to have a lot of patience. In the long run, it's well worth it.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Are you just guessing that or did she actually say it?

Probably.
    But I think I'd go have that holiday first ;)

No she never said she wouldnt move to Ireland, in fact from what i hear they'll get the hell out of Russia if they can, but she seems happy there and id hate to take that away from her.

Dam this is depressign, cant get her out of my head. if i could go work in russia I defo would, beleive me im willing to do almost anything within reason to be with this girl - maybe the onyl option would be to teach Englsih out ther eon a Tefl type thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 FairyCake

she is the most beautiful girl on the planet
    I'm not trying to be mean or anything and I think it's great that you think that but I have to I really, really doubt this statement.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

No she never said she wouldnt move to Ireland.

Then take heart in j_kerouacs story above and take it slow.
    Let the cards fall where they may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Indeed, go on the holiday and take it from there. I know you are infatuated now and want to rush things but it's best to take one thing at the time. Perhaps go back a couple more times, for a longer period.

It's easy to fall in love on holidays, the surroundings are different and you tend to live in the moment more.

In a while you two could discuss maybe moving to a 3rd country together? That way you would both be new and not fall into the "away trap" (when one party moves to the others country and have no own friends or language and have to rely heavily on the other for every single thing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

go on the holiday and talk it through....

that way you get to see and know her better and you'l have a good time im sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,694 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Yep, the holiday is the way to go. Maybe someplace like Sunny Beach in Bulgaria, lots of Russians go on hols there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Yep, or Greece, Russians can go there also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

Gordon wrote: »
    Yep, or Greece, Russians can go there also.

I'm sorry but this has to be post of the day hahahahahaha.

On a more serious note - OP what have you got to lose? Very little and you have everything to gain. You only live once. Take the holiday and see what happens, sometimes great things take effort.

Best of luck with it.

Ye ive nothing to lose, well dont think i do, could be weird though but will be good I think. i just dont want to get even more hooked on her than i already I am...

Ha It looks like it will be bulgaria we're going to, she said there will be problems for her getting a visa for Spain (she wants to go to Barcelona)!